Skip to Main Content

Library Services for Persons with Disabilities

MU Libraries strives to be as accessible as possible. This webpage will help explain the services the MU Libraries offer and the potential accessibilities you might encounter and how to surpass them.

Our Commitment to You

The MU libraries aim to create equitable access to the resources it offers University of Missouri students and employees. We are committed to providing supports and opportunities in accordance to accessibility standards, responding to user feedback, and providing support and accommodations to the best of our abilities.

Eligibility Statement

All students, faculty, and staff are eligible for the services explained on this webpage. While not promised, the library will aim to support community patrons to the best of our abilities as well, however, some services within the library are only available to MU affiliates. Visitors interested in participating or needing accommodations or supports from the MU Libraires should reach out to Cindy Cotner prior to their visit.

Assistance Services

Pickup Services

MU Libraries provides pickup services that allow you to request a book and have a librarian make it available at any of the MU Libraries or at the Pickup Lockers (located in West entrance to Ellis Library off of speaker's circle). See the links below for more information.

Scan & Deliver Articles

The Libraries will retrieve and scan periodical articles, book chapters, proceedings, technical reports, government documents, and any part of other printed publications held in the MU Libraries (Ellis Library and branch libraries). Once scanned, the material will be available online via ILL@MU. Print or scanned copies of Microforms will be made as time allows. All scanning will be done in accordance with copyright laws and guidelines.

Click here for more Information about our Scan and Deliver Article Service.

Interlibrary Loan Services for Persons with Disabilities

Interlibrary Loan services can now be requested with special format requests to accommodate for accessibility needs of a patron with disabilities. Please note specific accessibility needs in the Notes section of an interlibrary loan request that says "Put any information here that may help us find the item, as well as any other pertinent information".

If you have questions regarding what format might be available or explanation of this service, reach out to Cindy Cotner (cotnerc@missouri.edu).

 

Code 4.5 Communicate requirements for a specific user’s accessibility needs.

Explanatory Text: Accessibility Needs As authorized entities, libraries have the right to request and receive copyrighted materials in accessible formats for the exclusive, individual use of eligible persons with disabilities, per Section 121 of U.S. copyright law (Title 17, USC). The requesting library should denote if the copy is being requested exclusively for use by an eligible person and provide specific information about what is needed. Examples include one page per scan; no black borders or gutters; optimize for Optical Character Recognition (OCR).

Remote Access Assistance

Many of the library resources are made available online. Some of these online resources require either a proxy server, or a VPN (Virtual Private Networking). The following resources can help you access our online resources. 

Research Assistance

The library can provide research assistance at any point in your research process. There are three primary ways you can get research help:

  • Cindy Cotner - Research assistance consultations, especially if accommodations are needed
    • Available with appointment.
    • Meet with a librarian to discuss your research topic. This service is especially helpful for graduate students as they work on their thesis or dissertation. 
  • Ask a Librarian Service - Virtual support for general research questions
    • Available almost 24/7. See the hours here.
    • NOT a bot. There are real librarians on the other end of your chats.
    • You can access the Ask a Librarian Service through the library webpage. Along the right side of your screen click the Ask Us button, it will bring out a chat box. 
    • There are also computers designated to using the Ask a Librarian Service located by the Writing Center desk on the first floor of Ellis in the Information Commons 1 area. 
  • Peer Navigators - Assist in basic resources and directions
    • Open 12pm-10pm Sundays and 10am-10pm Mondays-Thursdays.
    • Peer Navigators are library student employees who are trained to help you with basic research and general library questions. 
    • The peer navigators work at the Ask Here desk, which is located on the first floor of Ellis Library in the Colonnade.

Workshops, Orientations, and Tours

Accommodations for ibrary workshops and orientations are available upon request, if you wish to attend and have special needs of which the instructor should be aware, the libraries will do their best to accommodate as long as advance notice is provided. Please contact Cindy Cotner (cotnerc@missouri.edu) to set up the accommodations.

Most workshops are also recorded and available for viewing here. 

Adaptive tours of the libraries are available upon request as well. Please contact Cindy Cotner (cotnerc@missouri.edu) to set up the tour. 

Assistive Equipment and Software

Hathitrust Resource

HathiTrust is a digital library dedicated to the preservation and access of books and other printed material.

  • HathiTrust consists of millions of books scanned from the collections of large university libraries, all cross-searchable.

  • HathiTrust is free to access.

  • People affiliated with MU, when logged in, are able to read and download full text materials not restricted by copyright. People who are not logged in are able to read full text materials, but downloads are restricted to short sections.

  • Only bibliographic information (author, title, etc. ) can be viewed for materials subject to copyright. Exceptions on access are made for people with disabilities. Contact Cindy Cotner, Head, Access Services, for additional information.

Access Policy

Exceptions can be made for full-view access to copyrighted material for students with disabilities. The following is a summary of our policy.

  • The disability office and Ellis library can provide access to digital versions of books in our university's collection, that would not be accessible for people with certain disabilities. 
  • For questions on if you qualify for access, you can contact either Cindy Cotner or the disability office 
  • In order to access a book on HathiTrust, you'll need to contact either of these places and request access to the book.
  • To determine if a book is in our collection, use the search box below.

MU Libraries Accessible Book Return

MU Libraries has an accessible Book Return box located just south of the Hitt Street Parking Garage. It is near the Southwest corner of the garage. To drive to it, take University Avenue and turn north into the drive way/parking lot to the East of The Flying Cow Shirt Company.

The drive-up book drop will be available 24/7 to deposit books, CDs and interlibrary loan materials. (Reserve items and library equipment -- such as cameras, iPads, and recorders -- must still be returned to the library.) All campus books, MOBIUS, and interlibrary loan materials may be deposited in the book drop. It can accommodate over 700 books or 1800 media cases. The book drop is tall enough to be used for drive-up deposits from all vehicles including SUVs and trucks, and it is ADA compliant for walk-up deposits.

The book drop is made with aircraft grade aluminum alloy that is dent and rust resistant. It is designed to protect contents from inclement weather and drive-by splashes.  It is also designed to deter thefts and suppress fires.

 

To find the accessible drive-up book return, take University Avenue and turn north into the drive way/parking lot to the East of The Flying Cow Shirt Company

ACT Center Adaptive Workstation

  • Located on One East/Central in Ellis Library
    • JAWS for Windows screen reader
    • Kurzweil 3000 LearnStation
    • ZoomText Magnifier/Reader
ACT Adaptive Workstation CCTV Video Magnifier
Adaptive workstation with a computer, rollerball mouse, and adjustable desk. CCTV Video Magnifier Workstation

     

Digital Accessibility Resources

Digital accessibility incorporates resources and tools that allow technology to be usable to the broadest audience possible. Find campus resources and assistive technology below.

For more information on digital accessibility at MU Libraries contact Nav Khanal at khanaln@missouri.edu.