This is the "Finding
  Articles" page of the "Natural Resources 1070: Ecology and Renewable Resource Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Natural Resources 1070: Ecology and Renewable Resource Management   Tags: course guides  

http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/NaturalResources1070
Last Updated: Feb 8, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/NaturalResources1070 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding
  Articles
Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find journals by subject area

Journal Citation Reports is a database that, among other features,  will provide you with a list of top journals in your chosen subject area...atmospheric science, ecology, environmental science, fisheries, forestry, soil science, wildlife. (For some areas, you will have to compile two or more subject  lists.) 

More information on Journal rankings.

Step by step instuctions.

 

Find Full Text

After you've searched for your topic in a database and found citations to articles, while still in the database, you'll usually see this button,  near the citation. 

Just click on  and often you'll be taken directly to the full text (usually a PDF) of the article.

Article Databases

Below is a list of databases or electronic indexes that  will allow you to search by topic keyword, author, etc. to find  citations, abstracts, and full-articles from  thousands of journals, magazines, and other sources.

Search over 40 databases
  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon
    Or, for a more comprehensive search, search using the top article search box under the "articles & databases" tab on the library homepage.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries.
  • CABDirect  
      
      Icon
    Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives.
  • Environment Complete  Icon
    Environment Complete covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, environmental technology & law, urban planning and more. It includes full-text from over 920 journals and 190 monographs.
  • Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide  
      
      Icon
    Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture.
  • GEOREF  
      
      Icon
    GEOREF is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to over 4,500 serial and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics.
  • JSTOR  
      
      Icon
    JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)  
      
      Icon
    SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science.
  • Water Resources Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    Water Resources Abstracts covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle (precipitation), snow, groundwater, lakes, erosion), and water quality (pollution, waste treatment).
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide  
      
      Icon
    Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered.
 

Print Journals

Ellis Library also has a collection of recently published print journals. The newest print journals are arranged in alphabetical order on the shelves in the Reference stacks in Information Commons 2 (IC2), just north of the DVDs and East of the Government Documents. Older volumes/years are stored in the regular shelves of Ellis Library. To find older journals, you can look up the journal by name in MERLIN to get its call number. 

Librarian

Profile Image
Ashley Nelson
Contact Info
Use the button above for live chat help from me. If I am not online, the button will connect you to other librarians.

NelsonAB@missouri.edu
(573) 882-1827
170 Ellis Library

I can also help with EndNote questions
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip