Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Microforms

The MU Libraries have one of the largest collections of microforms in North America. All microforms in Ellis Library except United States government documents, United Nations documents, and ERIC documents are centralized in the Special Collections. Specific collections and guides are listed in the menu.

Microform materials technically are any materials containing miniaturized images requiring magnification to be viewed. Microform in Special Collections may be available in four different formats, microfilm (FILM), microfiche (FICHE), microcard (MICD), and microprint (MICPT).

Print indexes and guides to microform collections are designated SPEC REF in MERLIN and are located in room 406. These materials are for library use only, but patrons can consult them during all library hours.

Microform Equipment Locations

Publicly accessible microfilms are in Ellis Library 4 West, in rooms 404 and 406. Microfiche and film marked 4D21 are in storage and will need to be requested in advance. 

Equipment to view, print, and digitally scan microform materials is located in room 403. Be sure to bring a flash drive to save your scan!

To make paper copies from microforms, MU students may use their existing PrintSmart quota.  Faculty, staff, and visitors may make copies and pick them up at the Ellis Library Circulation Desk.  Prints are $.07 each.

Ask the Librarians

About Special Collections

Location

The Division of Special Collections is located on the fourth floor west of Ellis Library, the main library for the Columbia campus. More information

Using Special Collections

Special Collections provides a variety of services to MU students, faculty and staff. Services are available to all researchers and scholars not affiliated with the University of Missouri as well. Get started