Skip to main content

Interdisciplinary Research for Law Students and Faculty: Getting Started

This guide provides instruction on the process of finding books and scholarly articles for MU School of Law students and faculty.

Using Discover@MU

What is Discover @ MU?

Discover @ MU is a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Library collections. It is the place to start your research in scholarly journals, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results, it's one step to the full text of articles or you can see if a book is on the shelf.

What is in Discover @ MU?

Lots and lots of citations and full text of scholarly materials, which the Library owns or provides access to, are in Discover @ MU now, including:

  • 6,200+ publishers' content included, such as journals and books
  • 94,000+ journal, newspaper and magazine titles
  • 535 million items indexed so far, from journal articles to maps to videos
  • MU Library records for books

How do I use Discover @ MU?

Use the single search box to start and then use the Refine your Search using the options on the left, such as content type, subject or date. For a more specific search, by author or journal title for example, use the Advanced Search option. See the Help link for more search tips that will make your search more precise.

Search Discover @ MU for articles, books, and more!

Finding LibGuides

MU has a variety of research guides on topics that might overlap with law. Browse their list of LibGuides or the Law Library's LibGuides.

Ellis Library also has a variety of subject guides.

Databases on topic

PsycINFO - new interface from Ebsco

PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided.

More information on PscyINFO can be found here.

Subject Guide

Cindy Bassett
Contact:
224C Hulston Hall
Columbia, MO 65211
573.884.9150
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Law