Skip to main content

Exhibits at MU Libraries

Guide Creator

This guide was created by Matthew Sigmon (Graduate Reference Assistant, Ellis Library, 2014 - 2016).

Comics on Display

Comics on display at MU Special Collections

Comics on display at MU Special Collections in Ellis Library, April 2015.

Verba Sacra Exhibit

Shows a book from the Verba Sacra exhibit, December 2013

From the Verba Sacra exhibit, December 2013-January 2014.

Generations Exhibit

Life Sciences and Society exhibit, Generations: Reproduction, Heredity and Epigenetics, 2015

Generations: Reproduction, Heredity and Epigenetics, 2015.

Superhero Science Exhibit

Photo shows the March 2014 Exhibit, Superhero Science: Fact vs Fiction in Superhero Comics

Superhero Science: Fact vs Fiction in Superhero comics, March 2014 exhibit in the first floor colonnade

Pied Piper Jug

Photo shows the Pied Piper Jug from the John Schweitzer collection of Royal Doulton Loving Cups

The Pied Piper Jug from the John Schweitzer collection of Royal Doulton Loving Cups

Exhibit Hours

Exhibits described below are available all hours that Ellis Library is open, unless otherwise noted.

Monthly Exhibits at Ellis Library

Art at the Bookmark Cafe

The Dorothy Doughty Collection of North American Birds

Three bird sculptures from the Dorothy Doughty Collection of North American Birds

The John Schweitzer Collection of Royal Doulton Loving Cups

Loving cup from the John Schweitzer Collection of Royal Doulton Loving Cups

MU Special Collections

Picture shows decorated papers on display at MU Special Collections in Ellis Library

Circulation Exhibits at MU Libraries

  • New circulation display every six weeks
  • Books on display can be checked out for one month
  • Each display is centered around a theme or genre
  • Location: 1st floor, near the reference desk, Ellis Library
  • Examples of past exhibits:

The St. John's Bible Heritage Edition

Photo of the St. John's Bible heritage Edition at Ellis Library

The St. John's Bible is an artistic, cultural and spiritual endeavor. The Bible is an expression of the Benedictine monk's daily focus on scripture and commitment to books, art, and religious culture. It is the first handwritten and illuminated Bible commissioned since the invention of the printing press, and a unique blend of ancient methods, materials and tools with modern themes, images technology and text.