MU Libraries

Documentary Films: Journal Articles
 

What is a Database?

A database is an online index to magazine and journal articles, book chapters, etc. Databases often provide access to full-text of articles.

Why Use a Database?

You use a database to save yourself time and effort!  A database scans thousands of journal and magazine issues to find articles that match your topic, so you don't have to look at individual pages and issues .  It shows exactly which issue has the article(s) on your topic. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines.

Subject Specific Databases

For scholary, subject specialized journal articles, use databases geared toward different disciplines.  For information on documentaries, try the following:

Find Full-Text of an Article

If you don't see a link to the PDF of an article, click on the Find It @MU icon  FindIt@MU to find full-text.  Check out our FindIt@MU guide for detailed instructions.

Databases to Search First

MU Libraries have over 650 databases in all subject areas. 

Start here: Find articles using the "Articles & Database" tab (40 EBSCO databases) on the library homepage. 

Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri is another good place to start for a multi-disciplinary search.



 

Search & Find (Summon@MU) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri is a simple search engine that searches articles, books, videos, etc.