A guide designed for MU Law students on select Law Library resources regarding Criminal Procedures.
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) has over 850 lessons in its library that can be used as preparation for class or as review for an exam. This link provides access to topics relevant to Criminal Procedure.
MU Law School has no prior Criminal Procedure exams available online. However, there are practice exams available in the reserve room for use. Please stop by the Reserve Room to determine if any are available.
MU Law RESERVE materials are located on the 1st floor plaza level in the room behind the circulation desk.
MU Law REFERENCE materials are located on the 1st floor plaza level of the law library.
MU Law refers to treatises located on the 3rd floor of the law library.
DISCLAIMER: Please remember that supplemental materials are meant to enhance, not replace, the assigned classroom material. If you have a question whether a particular supplement may be useful as a classroom or exam prep aid then ask your professor for guidance. And, as always, you can ask a librarian for assistance.
Criminal Procedure : Examples & Explanations - Robert M. Bloom and Mark S. Brodin.Call Number: MU LAW RESERVE CRIMINAL PROCEDURE - MU LAW
ISBN: 0735539685
This source provides an overview of constitutional criminal procedure, and covers: when the Fourth Amendment applies; requirements of the Fourth Amendment; the doctrine of justification; search and arrest warrants; warrantless searches and seizures; the Exclusionary Rule; rationale, operation, and limitations; the voluntariness standard; the Miranda approach; the Sixth Amendment; "right to counsel" approach; investigative procedures; eyewitness identification, bodily intrusions, examination of physical attributes, entrapment, and "high-tech" and computer searches; and September 11, 2001, and its aftermath.
Emanuel Crunch Time: Criminal Procedure - Steven L. EmanuelCall Number: MU LAW RESERVE KF9619.5 .E44 2009
ISBN: 0735578913
CrunchTime offers capsule summaries of major points of criminal procedure and critical issues, exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers, and recommended approaches for crafting essays. This source also uses flow charts to explain pertinent concepts and capsule summaries to help prepare for exams.
Understanding Criminal Procedure - Joshua Dressler and Alan C. MichaelsCall Number: MU LAW RESERVE KF9619 .D74 2010 v.1
ISBN: 1422426785
Investigation. Introduction to criminal procedure ; Overarching policy issues in criminal procedure ; Incorporation of the Bill of Rights ; Fourth Amendment : overview ; Fourth Amendment : "persons, houses, papers, and effects" ; Fourth Amendment terminology : "search" ; Fourth Amendment terminology : "seizure" ; Fourth Amendment : "probable cause" ; Arrests ; Search warrants : in general ; Warrantless searches : exigent circumstances ; Searches incident to lawful arrests ; Searches of cars and containers therein ; "Plain view" and related doctrines ; Inventory searches ; Consent searches ; Terry v. Ohio : the "reasonableness" balancing standard in criminal investigations ; More "reasonableness" balancing : searches and seizures primarily conducted for non-criminal law purposes ; Fourth Amendment : standing ; Fourth Amendment : exclusionary rule ; Interrogation law : overview ; Interrogation law : due process clause ; Interrogation law : privilege against compelled self-incrimination ; Interrogation law : Miranda v. Arizona ; Interrogation law : Sixth Amendment right to counsel ; Eyewitness identification procedures ; Entrapment ; The right to counsel : at trial and on appeal
Criminal Procedure [sound recording] - Charles H. WhitebreadCall Number: Reserve Room, Law A/V KF9619 .W5 2005
ISBN: 0314160922
On these audio CDs, Professor Whitebread delivers lectures covering numerous topics in criminal procedure. Included are exam tips and hypotheticals to help you master the subject.
Practical Criminal Procedure: A Constitutional Manual - Brent E. NewtonCall Number: MU Law KF9625 .N49 2005
ISBN: 1556818971
Written for law students, criminal defense attorneys, and criminal prosecuting attorneys, Practical Criminal Procedure helps legal professionals understand complex criminal legal issues in context and how legal issues commonly arise in real-world litigation. This pragmatic guide by Brent Newton examines the major topics in constitutional criminal procedure and includes a reference to every significant decision of the United States Supreme Court that affects them. This text also addresses many issues of constitutional procedure not yet addressed by the United States Supreme Court that have been given extensive treatment by lower state and federal courts.
Constitutional Rights of the Accused - Joseph CookCall Number: MU Law KF9619 .C642
An analysis of the constitutional rights of individuals accused of crimes by a leading authority in the area of civil rights and constitutional law. Provides commenary on the development of the United States Supreme court's position on such matters as standards of ereaosnableness under the 4th Amendment, the exclusion of evidence, admissibility of confessions, self-representation, and punishment.
Wharton's Criminal Procedure - Barbara E. Bergman, Nancy Hollander, and Melissa Stephenson.Call Number: MU Law KF9619 .W43 2002
This treatise tracks the development of a systematic body of procedural principles which guide the criminal law. Among other topics, chapter coverage includes: arrest, extradition, preliminary hearing, search and seizure, grand jury, indictment and information, privilege against self-incrimination, immunity, and right to counsel.
Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment - Wayne R. LaFaveCall Number: MU Law KF9630 .L26 2004
ISBN: 0314118136
Discussion covers the exclusionary rule and other remedies, protected areas and interests, probable cause, and search warrants. This work also addresses search and seizure of persons and personal effects, entry and search of premises, search and seizure of vehicles, and consent searches. Explores stop and frisk and similar lesser intrusions, along with inspections and regulatory searches. Also examines the administration of the exclusionary rule.
Many thanks to law student Branden Gregory, original author of this guide.
- Criminal Law
The Criminal Law Section provides information on relevant Criminal Procedure Cases; Current, Pending, and Proposes Statutes and Regulations; Secondary Sources; Briefs; and Motions, Pleas & Memoranda
- Criminal Procedure Handbook
This database analyzes more than 3,700 decisions relating to criminal procedure. Includes all the noteworthy federal and state decisions of the past year. While emphasis is placed on Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law, also contains in-depth coverage of cases involving pretrial matters, guilty pleas, trials, evidence, sentencing, appeals, post-conviction proceedings, juries, and habeas corpus.
- Criminal Defense Techniques
This resource provides coverage of criminal law, from pretrial to appeal. Criminal Defense Techniques includes more than 120 chapters of insight, guidance, and analysis to assist in effectively defending a client.
- Missouri Criminal Practice (MoBarCLE)
This deskbook covers criminal practice from arrest through post-conviction remedies. It was written by experienced Missouri lawyers for Missouri lawyers and is loaded with practical advice. It provides an overview of the criminal law in Missouri and helpful practice tips, checklists, and forms to guide attorneys through the practical considerations of criminal cases.