Skip to Main Content

History, Recent U.S.: Scholarly Journals

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Tips for Searching

Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Top History Journals

Ranked by 2007 Impact Factors, from highest to lowest:

American Historical Review, Environmental History, Journal of American History, Past and Present, Journal of African History, Journal of Modern History, Journal of Social History, Comparative Studies in Society and History, English Historical Review. Linked titles connect to MU Libraries journal holdings (online and print).

(Data from: Times Higher Education Supplement, 14. August 2008, “Top Journals in History, Ranked by 2007 Impact Factor.”)

SCImago Journal and Country Rank
	Calculates journal and nation rankings from a formula similar but not identical to the one used to calculate journal impact factors, using cited reference data from the Scopus database. To see a ranking of history journals, with a good deal of archaeology and history of science thrown in, go to the Journal Indicators section, choose Subject Area: Arts & Humanities, Subject Category: History

Databases for Scholarly Articles by Historians

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Date Coverage: 1995-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2024 2:52 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/usrecent
Print Page

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, History, Humanities

Tags: history, social sciences, subject guides, united states