Library Guides: History of Ireland: Newspapers & TV

Newspaper Research

Journalism - Newspaper Research
by Vera Elwood Last Updated Sep 12, 2023 497 views this year

Newspaper Archives

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2015), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) and the Washington Post (1877-2002).
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
NewsBank
Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers.
Date Coverage: 1989-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

U.S. Newspaper Program
The United States Newspaper Program is a cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present. Funding is provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Technical assistance is furnished by the Library of Congress.

Recent and Current Irish Newspapers

The Irish Times, a broadsheet daily published in Dublin since 1859, is considered to be Ireland's newspaper of record. MU Libraries has The Irish Times avaailable on several databases: PressDisplay.com (from 90 days ago to present), Newspaper Source (from 7/28/2005 to 11/8/2010), News Bank (from 1/2/1998 to present), Newsstand (from 1/2/1995 to present), and Factiva (from 9/19/1981 to present). In Press Display, go to "Select Title", then "Ireland", then choose from newspaper titles on the left or front pages in the center. In Factiva, The Irish Times can be found by entering "rst=irti AND" your specific topic in the Free Text Search box. Current online version: www.irishtimes.com/‎

Irish Independent Formed in 1905, the Irish Independent is a compact daily paper which has become Ireland's largest selling newspaper. MU Libraries has the Irish Independent on Press Display (from 90 days ago to present), Newsstand (6/16/2006 to present), Factiva (from 6/2/2003 to present), and NewsBank (3/29/2002 to present). In Factiva, the source code to be entered in the Free Text Search box is "rst=iinm AND" your specific topic. Current online version: www.independent.ie/‎

The Sunday Independent Also formed in 1905, the Sunday Independent is a sister publication of the Irish Independent, and is a broadsheet paper published weekly. It is available on Press Display (90 days ago to present), Newsstand (6/25/2006 to present), Factiva (6/1/2003 to present), and NewsBank (3/29/2002 to present). In Factiva, the source code to enter in the Free Text Search box is "rst=fsii AND" your specific topic. Current online version: www.independent.ie/

The News Letter (Belfast) Founded in 1737, the News Letter claims to be the world's oldest continuously published English language newspaper. It is one of three daily newspapers in Northern Ireland, along with the Belfast Telegraph and the Irish News. Coverage can be found in Newsstand from 3/3/1998 to present), and in NewsBank (from 4/1/2002 to present). Current online version: www.newsletter.co.uk/‎

The Belfast Telegraph Founded in 1870 as the Belfast Evening Telegraph, the Belfast Telegraph is a compact tabloid-style daily and is Northern Ireland's largest selling paper. It is available from MU Libraries on Press Display (90 days ago to present) and Newsstand (1/1/2001 to present). Current online version: www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/‎

Television News Archives

Television News Archive
Includes over 835,000 records describing items of news content.
Date Coverage: 1968-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*

Irish Television Archives

RTÉ Irish Television Archives
Founded in 1961, RTÉ Television (Raidió Teilifís Éireann) is Ireland's national television broadcaster. The RTÉ Archives contain notable historical broadcasts back to the early 1960s.
BBC Northern Ireland News Chronicle
A collection of archived television and radio content from 1953 to present from Northern Ireland's largest broadcaster.