History of Ireland: Other Resources

Reports on new items of interest at the National Library. Features an archive of past editions and is searchable.

A collection of well researched articles written for a general audience from a publisher of e-books.

A collection of audio podcasts freely available through Itunes. Podcasts chronicle everyday life as well as larger historical events.

Interesting articles and photos about archaeology in Ireland, from ancient times to present. Excellent source for ancient history articles.

A Doctoral candidate shares interesting aspects of her research.

A collection of Irish snapshot and vernacular photography, chronicling everyday Irish life.

This ad-driven website contains a variety of resources on Irish music, including videos, lyrics, chords, and the stories behind the most famous traditional Irish songs.

Hosted by the Royal Irish Academy in Dublin, Irish History Online is an authoritative online bibliography of what has been written about Irish history. Features a searchable database containing books and pamphlets, journal articles, and essays, as well as conference proceedings covering Irish history from earliest times to the present.

This website is part of WESSWEB, the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) website. It is a collection of resources strong in primary source material and digital photographs from the National Library of Ireland. There are also numerous links to other helpful websites on Irish history.

The Library Ireland project is an ad-funded site which was started in 2005 with the mission of providing free information on Ireland. The site covers history, social history, genealogy, names, folklore, places and people, and also has lists of resources with helpful annotations. E-books are also available for download, for a fee. There is no statement of authorship for the site.

This website, hosted by the University of Ulster, provides background information on "The Troubles", as well as searchable databases and bibliographies on Irish history, specifically on the Northern Ireland Conflict. It is searchable by title, author, and year of publication. Covers 1960s through 2000s, and was last updated in 2009.

8-episode documentary series on the Troubles in Northern Ireland

Explore the most famous and influential works of Irish art through the online collections of the National Gallery of Ireland. The portion of the collection offered online is searchable, and allows the viewer to zoom in for more detailed viewing. In the section on Refurbishing the Historic Buildings, the viewer is taken on a virtual tour of the oldest gallery buildings, showing what they were like in the past, and what they will be like in the future.