Library Guides: Philosophy: Home

Citation Management

Zotero
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Dec 14, 2023 1611 views this year

Citing Sources

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Z253 .U69
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
17th edition shelved in Ellis Library Ready Reference and Journalism Library Reference. Earlier editions are available for checkout.

Chicago (or the closely related Turabian) style is a frequently used style for the discipline of philosophy. It allows you to use either footnote or parenthetical author-year citation -- ask your professor which (s)he prefers. There is a brief online guide to citation using the Chicago style at the University of Wisconsin Writing Center. The University of Georgia has produced a brief online guide to the Turabian style.

Ellis Library also has a copy of the latest edition of both guides in the Ready Reference section.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369 .T8
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Part 1 covers the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 provides a guide to the Chicago two styles of citation (notes-bibliography and author-date). Part 3 covers editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material.

Philosophy Dictionaries & Reference Online

Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
Produced by philosopher Garth Kemerling, with frequent reference to other published works
InPhO Taxonomy
An entry point for finding information on philosophical ideas. With it you can explore related ideas and conduct focused searches at the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Noesis, and Google Scholar with a single click
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference work that maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the site's Archives

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Oxford Reference Online Premium
A cross-searchable collection of subject dictionaries and quotations books published by Oxford
more...less...
Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

Key Reference Books in Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Ellis Library Reference Area
Call Number: B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 0415073103
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by (available online and in print)
Call Number: B51 .E53 2006 10
ISBN: 0028657802

Librarian

Rachel Brekhus

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

168 Ellis Library

(Mon and Fri only). I work from home by default Tuesdays and Thursdays, but come to campus for in-person classes and meetings as needed.

MU faculty and staff can reach me quickly in Teams chat.

Students can reach me using the Email Me and Student Appointments buttons above.

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, Environment, History, Humanities, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Affairs, Sociology & Social Work

Dissertations

For graduate students, it's good to know how to search for dissertations in your field, both from MU and from other universities. MU librarians maintain a page showing available databases for doing this.

Dissertations and Theses