Library Guides: Material Properties: Polymers

Polymers

ASM Handbook Online
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 4th edition

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*
Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology : plastics, resins, rubbers, fibers
ELLIS TP156.P6 E5
Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
ELLIS REFERENCE TP9 .U57 2003
more...less...
Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in the handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.
Polymer Handbook
MU Engineering Reference QD388 .P65 1999

Polymers - Article Databases

CAS SciFinder
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html
Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training

Free, Available Resources

MatWeb

A free materials information database with property data on 19,013 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, & composites.

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Promotes U.S. innovation & industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, & technology in ways that enhance economic security & improve our quality of life. Includes:

Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory

Materials Data by Property