Library Guides: History 4972: Research Seminar in the Life & Thought of C.S. Lewis: 20th Century Articles

Newspaper Indexes

Most newspapers do not have indexing for the mid-20th century period. For the London Times, we do have indexing for some years.

Palmer's Index to the Times (up to 1938 only)

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Cover-to-cover digital reproductions of every issue (1851-2010). Full page-image and full-text searching.
Date Coverage: 1851-varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Online Indexes To 20th C. Magazines and Journals

ABELL
Contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations related to the study of literature and linguistics.
Contains works published from all over the world with a multitude of English literature covered. Such as but not limited to British, American, Commonwealth and Anglo-Saxon culture.Date Coverage: 1920-present

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?
British Periodicals
An index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals.
Part of C19 database. No full-text.

Date Coverage: 1681-1920

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*
MLA International Bibliography Full Text
Indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1963-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ATLA Religion Database
Contains indexes published annually by the American Theological Library Association focusing on theological studies. Also provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Date Coverage: 1949-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Atla

Printed Indexes To 20th C. Magazines and Journals

Books in the AI call number range are located on the 4th Floor East (Ellis Library) when in the stacks, and on the low shelf near the rear doors of the elevators on the 1st floor of Ellis when in the Reference section.

Subject Index To Periodicals, STACKS AI3 .A72
1915-1961. Periodicals indexed varies by year. The later the year, the more exclusively British the periodicals indexed. Continued as British Humanities Index and British Technology Index after 1961.
International Index To Periodicals, REFERENCE AI3 .R49
Index to mainly U.S. and British scholarly literature in social sciences and humanities, starting in 1920. Title of index goes through several changes over time.
Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines STACKS AI3 .I48
Covers 1963-1984. "Little Magazines" are literary periodicals published by small presses, as opposed to large publishing houses.

20th C. British Newspapers In Ellis

Most 20th-century U.K. newspapers in Ellis Library are on microfilm. The microfilm rolls are stored in boxes, in metal cabinets. The cabinets and the machines used to read, scan, save and print from microfilm are located in the Special Collections area, entered from theWest Stacks or from the 3rd floor north hallway of Ellis Library.

The following list includes newspapers published in the U.K. for which we have mid-20th-century holdings in room 406 (south end of the 4th floor hallway).

London

Daily Herald (d). Ellis has March 31, 1919 – April, 1945; July, 1945 – September 14, 1964.
Sun (d). Ellis has September 15, 1964 – April, 1971.
Sunday Times (w). Ellis has 1822 – December 2003.
Times (d). Ellis has January 1, 1785 – December 2003.
Times Literary Supplement (w). Ellis has 1902 – 1984.

Manchester

Guardian (d). Ellis has January, 1937 – April, 1971.
Guardian Weekly (w). Ellis has 1971 – 1984.

For a complete list of newspapers held at the MU Libraries, see the Special Collections Newspapers on Microfilms page.