This is the "Home" page of the "Censorship Issues In America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Censorship Issues In America  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/content.php?pid=190317 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Muchow
Contact Info
171 Ellis Library
573 882-6824
Send Email
 
 

Find a topic

Censorship is a broad topic that can be approached from many different angles. This guide will provide you with some topic ideas and point you toward sources where you can get research information.

Throughout the guide the value of bibliographies, a list of books or articles on a subject, is stressed. Bibliographies save you time by pointing out  the best sources. Take the hint and use bibliographies to make your research easier.

Here is a suggested plan of attack:

  1. Use the resources in Getting Started tab or Online Reference Resources tab to brainstorm a topic. The links go to resources that have bibliographies.
  2. Use the Books tab locate books in the MU Libraries cited in the bibliography.  If the MU Libraries do not have the book or if the book it is checked out, see if it is available elsewhere in the state by clicking the MOBIUS button. If you find a copy, request it. You are affiliated with the MERLIN group. Books normally take two or three working days to arrive. You will receive an e-mail when they come in.
  3. Use the Find Full Text journals tab to see if the articles mentioned in bibliographies are online. Put in the name of the journal or fill in all the citaiton information if you have it.
  4. If you are not using a bibliography or you need more journal articles, use the Finding Journal Articles tab and search either Summon or Academic Search Premier. Both databases will have a great many full-text articles.  If the article that interests you is not full-text, click the Find-it@MU button to see if there is full-text on another database.
  5. If you need assistance, come to the Reference Desk on the 1st floor of Ellis on the south end or send me an email.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip