This is the "Cultural Resources" page of the "Film Studies 3845: Modern Israeli Film" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies 3845: Modern Israeli Film   Tags: course guides  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/israelifilm Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Cultural Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background Information

  • The Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Background Notes: Israel
  • CIA World Factbook: Israel
  • Israel: A Country Study
  • New Encyclopedia of Judaism
    BM50.E63 2002
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
    Ref. BM50.O94 1997
  • Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture
    DS102.8.B46 1989
  • Encyclopedia Judaica
    Ref. DS102.8.E496 2007
  • Timetables of Jewish History
    DS114.G78 1994
  • Historical Atlas of the Jewish People
    Ref. DS117.J8513 1992
  • New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel
    Ref. DS149.N6 1994
  • Atlas of Israel: Cartography, Physical and Human Geography
    Ref. G2235.K3 1985

News Sources

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
  • Factiva  
      
      Icon
    Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      Icon
    Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
  • Newspapers of Israel

Scholarly Sources

Use these resources to find scholarly articles, or sometimes book chapters or conference papers. No one database has it all, so you may want to compare different perspectives by running your search in several databases.

Click on Find it @ MU to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.

  • Summon
    Summon searches a wide selection of databases all at once. It's speedy and easy, but lacks the precision that some of the other databases have. Use the left sidebar to refine your search, including limiting to peer-reviewed sources.

  • Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies  Icon
    This database is an index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900- present.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES  
      
      Icon
    PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided.
  • PAIS  
      
      Icon
    PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text.
  • ATLA Religion Database  
      
      Icon
    ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date.
 

Library Catalogs

  • The MERLIN catalog shows materials in the MU Libraries.
  • The MOBIUS catalog shows materials from Missouri academic libraries.
  • WorldCat shows materials from many libraries worldwide.
  • Google Book Search searches the full text of many, many books. It often allows you to preview parts of the books and links to the catalog so you can see if the library has the book.

Subject Librarian

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip