Skip to Main Content

History: Primary Sources: 17th & 18th C.

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Letters and Diaries

Letters and diaries
published as books can be found in the UM LIBRARIES CATALOG by adding keywords:

DIARIES
CORRESPONDENCE
PERSONAL NARRATIVES

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides access to full-text letters & diaries by North American women from colonial times to 1950. This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Date Coverage: Colonial times-1950.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: .; Capitalized: #

Elections

A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
Election returns for municipal through federal offices from 25 states and territories that existed at the time. Includes Missouri.
more...less...
Compiled by Philip Lampi and maintained online by the American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

17th & 18th Century Publications

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)
Contains searchable PDF's of materials published in Colonial America and the early U.S. such as books, pamphlets, and broadsides. The collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase,etc.)
Date Coverage: 1639-1800

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains English-language titles and editions based on the English Short Title Catalogue, made available online over the course of the next two years.
Date Coverage: 1701-1800

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wilcard: ?

Search Guide: http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?locID=morenetuomcolum&ste=24
Early American Newspapers. Series I and II, 1690-1900
Images and full-content access to historic newspapers from the 18th to mid-19th Century, based on the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and 90 other institutions, from every region of the United States.
Date Coverage: 1690-1900

Maximum Users:

Truncation:

Book: History and annotated bibliography of American religious periodicals and newspapers established from 1730 through 1830
This 2-volume set is in the Special Collections Reference collection (4th Floor, northwest corner Ellis Library). Its call number there is PN4888.R4 A43 1994.

Government

For further information about state and federal government sources, see the guides to Federal Government Documents, Missouri Government Documents, and the Primary Sources By Decade page. For Britain and foreign governments that were part of the British Empire, see the Parliamentary Papers guide.

U.S. Statutes at Large
Provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes.
Date Coverage: 1789 -date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1970
Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Access provided by the MU Law Library.
Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources.
Date Coverage: 1800-1926
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MOML?locID=mizzou_law&ste=24

Papers of the Early War Department, 1784-1800
The War Department office was established in 1790. It burned in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource.

Courts

Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926
Contains trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York that give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
Date Coverage: 1600-1926
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MMLT?locID=mizzou_law&ste=24

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States
Presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported