Library Guides: Community & Public Health Nursing: Facts & Figures

Demographics

Find population numbers for county, state or all US

US Census 2020
US Census 2010
Missouri Census Data Center
OSEDA - Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis
provides meaningful info on demographic, economic & other trends
Prepare to spend time exploring & searching this site!
Kids Count State Level Data
state-level data for over 75 measures of child well-being See also:
Missouri Kids Count
US Gov data & statistics list
Great place to start - covers a broad listing of info that our government collects.

Sources for facts & figures on schools, employment, work injuries, etc.

Columbia Public Schools
see About us for district info. Not in Missouri? Google for your local school site
IES National Center for Education Statistics
Part of the US Dept. of Education
Bureau of Labor Statistics
data on illness, injuries & fatalities

MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment)
create tables on community assessment data
National Center for Health Statistics
CDC - our gov @ work collecting data
State Health Facts
a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states on more than 700 health topics
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Provides rankings of counties by health outcomes (e.g. mortality) and health factors (e.g. adult smoking, obesity).
Missouri Senior Report 2013 with County Pages
Status of older (senior) adults; includes both county and state data
YRBSS: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System
Researching young adults? Check this out.
CDC Stats on intimate partner violence & violence prevention
reports, statistics and additional links on violence against women of all ages.
WomensHealth.gov
One-stop-shopping for women's health stats. Note, some of the pages are old.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
List of Data Tools and Statistics sites reviewed by folks at the National Library of Medicine for quality & value
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
statistics on motor vehicle accidents, safety belt use, etc.
such as 20% of traffic accidents caused by fatigue

US Census Bureau disability page
Cornell University Disability Statistics
Links to disability stats plus tips on how to find and use them
Disabilities Statistics Center, UCSF
Order data but still useful; some overlap with Cornell
National Institute of Mental Health
Linked to the NIMH stats page. You might want to explore more of the site.

Sites to check for demographic & health data. Very cool!

Global Burden of Disease (GBD)
Data from the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME). Worth taking time to explore this site.
WHO - Data & Statistics
Stats on life expectancy, deaths & disability; Also links to additional international data sources
WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO)
50+ data sets of health topics; plus the annual summary of health-related data for WHO's 193 Member states. (Note: GHO includes the data from WHOSIS.) Search here for statistics.
WHO Global Health LIbrary
Search regional databases, e.g. AIM (Afro); search global databases, e.g. MEDLINE; or search all. NOTE, search here for journal articles.
United Nations Statistics Division
Broad brush stats of economy, demographics, health around the globe
World Bank data sets
Find health, economic and other data for over 200 countries & economies

POPLINE
International resource on population, family planning, and reproductive health. See About for more info: http://www.popline.org/about
more...less...
Date Coverage: 1970-
Population Index
Find articles on the world's demographics and population. NOTE: the citations only span 1986-2000.