Skip to main content

Researching Comics and Graphic Novels

Introduction to the Comic Art Collection in Special Collections and resources for research on comics and graphic novels at MU Libraries.

Librarian

Kelli Hansen
Contact:
401 Ellis Library
(573) 882-3755
Website / Blog Page

Know Before You Go

If at all possible, please register as a Special Collections user in advance.  Online registration form

Bring a photo ID!  Your MU student ID or a driver's license will be fine.

Most materials can't be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the reading room.

Allowed at the reading tables: pencils, paper, laptop computers, mobile devices (silenced), and cameras.  You'll be asked to store your backpack, coat, and other personal belongings elsewhere.

You can take pictures with your phone or a camera.  But remember - no flash!  Special Collections staff can make photos or scans for you for a fee.

More information on using Special Collections

 

Comic Collection Overview

Did you know Ellis Library has over 4,000 comic book titles?  They're in Special Collections and Rare Books, on the west fourth floor of the library.

The Comic Art Collection has particular strength in underground comic books, graphic novels, and classic comic strips and cartoons. Special Collections also has the papers and original artwork of five American cartoonists with ties to Mizzou.

Overall, the collection contains 1000 pieces of original art, 100+ syndicate proofs, over 30 cubic feet of manuscript materials, hundreds of clippings, and over 4,000 catalogued comic books, journals, and monographs. More information

The Comic Collection is a closed stacks collection (meaning that users need to request materials to be delivered to the reading room). However, you can browse the entire Comic Collection in the MERLIN catalog.

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections and Rare Books houses rare and unique materials that span over four thousand years.  The collections include books, maps, posters, pamphlets, comics, artwork, artifacts, personal papers, and over 8 million titles on microform. Many of these materials are valuable primary sources. 

The materials in Special Collections are here because they are fragile, one-of-a-kind, and they have lasting value for research.  Because of this, the procedures for using books and other materials are a little different from what you may be used to in libraries.  This guide will walk you through the process of finding and requesting materials in Special Collections.

 

Requesting Materials

Here's a step-by-step guide to requesting materials from Special Collections to use in your research.

  1. Find items on your topic in the MERLIN catalog (or ask a librarian for help).  See the Search Strategies tab above for a tutorial on how to limit your MERLIN search to Special Collections.
     
  2. Come to the Special Collections reading room.  It's room 401 in Ellis Library.
     
  3. Check in and store your stuff.  For security reasons, everyone must put all personal belongings on the shelves to the left of the reading room door.  Please silence your cell phones, and leave any beverages or food outside the room.  
     
  4. Fill out a short form.  We'll ask you to fill out a request slip for each item you'd like to see.  You'll need to provide your name, address, telephone number, and a photo ID.  It's helpful if you have the call number or title of the item you're requesting, but the librarians can help you look it up.
     
  5. Special Collections staff will get your books for you.  Special Collections has non-browsing stacks, which means that staff members will bring books to the reading room for your use.  This process usually takes less than 5 minutes.  You can get settled at one of the reading room tables while you wait.
     
  6. Research to your heart's content!  But while you do, remember:
    1. Leave any marks you find in the books alone (and don't make any new ones).
    2. Use the cradles supplied, and leave the books in them as long as they're in use.
    3. Make sure your hands are clean - no gloves necessary in most circumstances.
    4. Return the materials to the desk (or let the desk attendant know) before you leave the room.
    5. You're welcome to take photos without flash.  Staff can make scans for a fee, if the condition of the material permits.
    6. Most of the books can't be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the reading room if you need to consult them over more than one visit.