Library Guides: Biochemistry 4974W: Library guide for Biochemistry Lab: Articles

Databases for finding journal articles

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Instructions for placing FindIt@MU links in Google Scholar

Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
CAS SciFinder
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1966-date.
Maximum Users: 44
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Tutorial: http://www.screencast.com/users/lottes/folders/Jing/media/a7a0252d-37e8-4b6e-8d59-29f60369ada3

Create search strategy to use in a database

Use the Search Strategy Builder is a tool to create a search string using Boolean logic. Then cut and paste the results into the search box in a database.

Search strategy builder

Find a specific article

Use the Looking for? A specific article link on the University of Missouri Libraries homepage.
If you are searching a database like Scopus or Pubmed, click on the FindIt@MU icon to access the full-text.

Anatomy of a research article

A research article in a journal normally has the following sections:

Title--simple summary of the main idea of the paper
Name of authors(s) and institutional affiliation
Abstract--brief summary of the article
Literature/Introduction--discusses prior research and states the study's purpose, rationale and hypothesis
Methods--detailed description of how study was conducted
Results--summary of data collected and statistical treatment of data
Discussion--reviews, interprets and evaluates results of the study particularly with respect to the original hypothesis
Conclusion
References--literature cited

Biochemistry 4974W: Library guide for Biochemistry Lab

Subject Librarian

Databases for finding journal articles

Create search strategy to use in a database

Find a specific article

Anatomy of a research article