Library Guides: Russian &amp; German 4840W / German 7840: Totalitarianism and Culture: Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

There are several ways to find primary sources in the Library catalog.

Limit by publication date to the period you are studying.
Search for the works of a person from that time period by searching for them as an author, last name first
Include certain words in a subject search:

For example: "world war" and SU: sources.

ARTStor
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee.

Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: _

User's Guide: https://support.artstor.org/Images-Objects
Naxos Music Library
Provides online access to western classical music , world music, and jazz recordings.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: 5
Truncation: Not supported

EuroDocs Primary Sources from the USSR 1917-1991
EuroDocs Primary Sources on National Socialism and World War II
Europeana
Includes various visual materials from cultural institutions across Europe.
The European Library
The European Library searches the content of European national libraries, including digital collections from member libraries.
more...less...
User's Guide: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/organisation/services/userguide_en.htmlStatic page with screen shots and examples

Tutorial: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/organisation/services/video_userguide.htmlVideo tutorial for first-time users
Bundesarchiv
DigiZeitschriften: das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
We have access only to the open access portion of this archive.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive preserves a variety of media. It's helpful for finding older films and photos as well as texts.

ZEFYS: Zeitungsinformationssystem
German American Newspapers
...digitized by the Library of Congress
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
A catalog of international newspaper collections.
The German Language Press of the Americas
Ref. Z6953.5 .G3 A7 1973
This reference work lists German newspapers published in North and South America, arranged by location. Knowing the specific title of a paper makes it easier to locate online or via WorldCat.