Skip to main content

Newspapers on Microfilm

Newspapers by Title

The newspapers are entered on this list as they are shelved in Special Collections. Cross references are provided for title variations. Each entry on the alphabetical list gives title, frequency, place of publication and call number. The entry also gives information on title variations, frequency variations, mergers and absorptions when applicable

Key to Newspaper Frequency

  • d - daily
  • tw - thrice (3) a week
  • 2w, sw- twice (2) a week
  • w - weekly
  • bw - bi-weekly (every two weeks)
  • m - monthly
  • sm - twice (2) a month
  • ir - irregular

Key to Newspaper Call Numbers

FILM, FILM NEWS

Ellis Library's collection of newspapers that are not part of any other collection.

Location: Room 406, filed alphabetically by title. Newspapers indexed in the National Newspaper Index are shelved in Room 404.

FILM APS

American Periodical Series.

Location: Room 406.

FILM MENSH

Menshevik Collection of Newspapers, Periodicals, Pamphlets, and Books Related to the Menshevik Movement. A guide to the collection is located in Room 406 with the call number SPEC-R DK 265 .A237.

Location: storage. Ask for assistance.

FILM RECORD

U. S. Library of Congress. Records of the States of the United States. Contains the official gazettes in each of the colonies and the first newspapers in each territory. A guide to the collection is located in Room 406 with the call number SPEC-R Z 1223.5 .A1 U47 and Z1223.5.A1 U47 Suppl.in Room 406.

Location: storage. Ask for assistance.

FILM UTAH

Utah and the Mormons. A guide to this collection is located in Room 401 with the call number SPEC-R F 826 .U83 Microfilm Index to Utah and the Mormons.

Location: Room 406, with call number FILM BOOK 285, in cabinets at the end of the other newspaper collections.

MICD

Ellis Library's collection of newspapers on microcard. Arranged by the number following the MICD prefix.

Location: Room 303.

MICPT

Ellis Library's collection of newspapers on microprint. Arranged by the number following the MICPT prefix.

Location: Room 303 or offsite. Ask for assistance.