Skip to main content

English 2150: Popular Literature: All-American Apocalypse: Criticism & General Background Information

Background Information

The Literature Online Reference collection focuses on literature.

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of many online reference books.

Oxford Reference Online Premium is a collection of online dictionaries, encyclopedias, timelines.

Dictionaries of Terminology

Scholarly Sources

Use these resources to find scholarly articles, or sometimes book chapters or conference papers. No one database has it all, so you may want to compare different perspectives by running your search in several databases. Note that recently published books and poetry are not always well covered by the specialized databases. You'll probably have more luck in Discover @ MU or Academic Search Complete.

Click on Find it @ MU to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.

Subject Librarian

Library Catalogs

The MERLIN catalog shows materials in the MU Libraries.

The MOBIUS catalog shows materials from Missouri academic libraries.

WorldCat shows materials from many libraries worldwide.

Google Book Search searches the full text of many, many books. It often allows you to preview parts of the books and links to the catalog so you can see if the library has the book.

The Hathi Trust Digital Library searches the full text of many books and allows you to download books that are out of copyright--generally published before 1923.