Skip to main content

Civil & Environmental Engineering 3200: Fundamentals of Environmental Engineering

Civil Engineering Sites

iCivilEngineer

iCivilEngineer.com is a knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It includes news, career resources, and a web directory covering hundreds of technical topics.

Intute: Civil Engineering Directory

Directory of Civil Engineering websites. Sites may be browsed by field or searched by keyword.

Careers and Jobs

Career Opportunities for Majors in Civil Engineering

Site from Rutgers University Career Services.

Discover Engineering

Created by the National Engineers Week Foundation, this site includes profiles of each of the Engineering fields.

Engineering Fields - Online Resources

Purdue University School of Engineering site.

Construction, Design and Testing

Building Big: Bridges, Domes, Skyscrapers, Dams, Tunnels

Explore large structures and what it takes to build them with BUILDING BIG™, a five-part PBS television series and Web site from WGBH Boston.

Construction Leads from McGraw-Hill Dodge Construction

Search Dodge reports, plans and specifications.

Construction Weblinks

This site, provided by construction law firm Thelen Reid Brown Raysman & Steiner LLP, is designed to be the starting point for web searches by construction industry professionals. Web sites of interest to construction industry professionals are profiled and linked to. Includes organizations, industry topics, and resources.

Wind Energy and Water

Wind Energy

Guided Tour on Wind Energy

Provided by the Danish Wind Industry Association. Covers design, manufacturing, economics and more.

Water

Milestones of Hydrology

Highlights 200 years of developments in hydrologic thought.

National Institutes for Water Resources (NIWR)

NIWR represents the fifty-four state and territorial Water Research Institutes and Centers. Site offers useful links to water-related federal agencies, organizations, resources, and weather and climate information.

U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory

Also Known as: CRRELCRREL aims to advance and apply science and engineering to complex environments, materials, and processes in all seasons and climates, with unique core competencies related to the Earth's cold regions. Site includes research topics, publications, cold regions bibliography and access to the Ice Jam Database and Clearinghouse.

USGS Missouri Water Science Center

Includes district information, maps, real-time water data, publications, and more.

USGS Water Resources of the United States

Provides real-time water data, water information by state, maps, software and publications.

Water Librarians Homepage

Includes links to major portals for water information, news, journal articles, directories and groups, reference sources and water agencies.

Water What-ifs 

Water What-ifs is a web site for encouraging inquiry investigations of water quality in North Carolina and Delaware.

Western Waters Digital Library

The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) contains government reports, classic water literature, legal transcripts, water project records, personal papers, photographic collections, and video materials about the Columbia, Colorado, Platte, and Rio Grande river basins.

Major US Government Sources

Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library (DOE) Subject Pathways

Energy Files is a well-rounded and well-researched collection of over 400 engery-related scientific and technical resources. This virtual library environment contains information, tools, and technologies that support the finding and use of energy-related information and the conduct of energy research. It contains research results in the areas of biology and medicine; chemistry; energy storage, conversion and utilization; engineering; environmental sciences, safety and health; fission and nuclear technologies; fossil fuels; geosciences; materials science; mathematics, computing and information science; physics; plasma physics and fusion; power transmission, distribution, and plants; and renewable energy.

Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database 

Search for EISs filed with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) since January 2004.

National Transportation Library

The NTL maintains a collection of statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels. Includes access to the NTL Integrated Search System, which searches the NTL Digital Repository, TRIS Online, and records for other web accessible transportation resources, including research and policy sites of the State DOT and University Transportation Centers' research publications and document repositories.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications

Environmental Impact Statements

Background on Environmental Impact Statements

How to find EIS's

    U.S. Government Databases