Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

United States. Embassy. France. United States and France: Correspondence Dealing with Economic Relations, 1811-1930.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1975 
7 reel(s)

In an effort to ascertain why economic relations between the United States and France have been so difficult, an attempt was made to examine and analyze all the records from 1811 to 1930 in the American Embassy in Paris dealing with economic questions. All relevant documents were copied. The documents (1816-1823) are principally the communications which passed between the United States Department of State and the United States Ambassador to France, Albert Gallatin. They relate to commercial agreements, French and American administrative restrictions, and complaints about tariffs, especially on cotton and wine. Discriminatory practices in the automobile, aviation, and motion-picture industries are documented.

A subject index is on reel one and a table of contents is on reel two.

FILM 14:6 - Request access

United States Government Publications (Depository).

New Canaan, CT: Readex Microprint, 1956
478200 items

Every depository document listed in the Monthly Catalog has been reproduced in microformat. The depository collection consists of those publications distributed through the Government Publishing Office’s depository library program. These include agency annual reports, Congressional hearings, reports, and documents, public laws, general publications from federal agencies, regulations, and decisions of regulatory agencies. All issues of major government periodicals are filmed at the end of the year in which they were issued. The title is listed once each year in the periodical supplement.

Guides:

Monthly catalog of United States government publications

The guide provides an index to the collection. The entry numbers in the Monthly Catalog and the designation, depository, are the keys to finding the appropriate microform.

Guide to U.S. Government publications.

This lists the publications by SU-doc number. It has both a title an agency index. Ellis Library has the publication for the years 1973, 1976-80, 1982-83, and 1985-.

United States Government Publications (Non-Depository).

New Canaan, CT: Readex Microprint, 1953 
25576 items

Every non-depository document listed in the Monthly Catalog is reproduced in microformat. This collection includes materials mailed directly from federal agencies to libraries, and also publications not included in the Federal Depository Library program. Examples of these materials are speeches, excerpts from reports, Congressional committee prints until 1977, and new releases. In recent years, earlier non-depository materials have been included in the depository program so that a title found in the non-depository collection one year may be in the depository collection the next year

Guides:

Monthly catalog of United States government publications

The guide provides an index to the collection. The entry numbers in the Monthly Catalog and the designation, depository, are the keys to finding the appropriate microform.

United States. Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Daily Report.

Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)

These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.

A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.

Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.

FILM 11:6-12:6 - Request access

Guides:

Daily report, Eastern Europe. Index.

United States. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part I, 1942-1945: The Soviet Union.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981 
2 reel(s)

The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the principal group of military advisers to the president of the United States. This is a collection of papers from the JCS focusing on the Soviet Union from the period 1942-1945. The collection also includes records of the combined United States-British Combined Chiefs of Staff (CCS). The material contains operational reports, intelligence estimates, policy studies of the Soviet Union, and a number of illustrative maps. The records focus on World War II, but also include estimates of Soviet post-war capabilities and intentions. Examples of subjects covered are Lend Lease, Russian combat estimate (1942), disclosure of technical information to the Soviet Union (1943), collaboration with the Soviet Union (1943), convoys to Northern Russia (1943), Anglo-American-Soviet cooperation (1944), and the Red Army offensive action to facilitate the invasion of Normandy in 1944 (Operation Overlord).

FILM BOOK 0012

Guides:

A Guide to Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff : Part 1: 1942-1945, the Soviet Union

‘Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part I, 1942-1945: the Soviet Union. The guide provides a brief description of the contents of each reel. It also provides a detailed subject index.

United States. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part II, 1946-1953: The Soviet Union.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1979 
7 reel(s)

The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the principal group of military advisers to the president of the United States. This collection contains papers of the JCS that focus on the Soviet Union for the period 1946-1953. The material includes operational reports, research and development studies, intelligence estimates, policy studies of the Soviet Union, and adds a number of illustrative diagrams, maps and tables. Of particular interest are the details of contingency plans for war with the Soviet Union. These include operation "PINCER", a plan for the defeat of the Soviet Union in 1946-1949 and operation "DROPSHOT", a long-range plan drawn up in 1949 for war with the Soviet Union in the post-war period (1946). Also included are strategic studies of the area between the Alps and the Himalayas (1946), capabilities of the Soviet Union in the Persian Gulf Area (1947), the Soviet threat in the Far East and the means required to oppose it (1947), intelligence estimates of Soviet capabilities to engage in espionage, subversion, and sabotage in the Western Hemisphere (1948), Soviet capabilities for biological and chemical weapons (1948), an estimate of the scale and nature of a Soviet attack on the United Kingdom (1949), a review of foreign policy and strategy of the Soviet Union (1951), estimates of the scale and nature of the immediate communist threat to the security of the United States (1951), and detailed information pertaining to the Soviet political system (1952).

FILM BOOK 0014

Guides:

A Guide to Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part 2, 1946- 1953 : the Soviet Union

‘Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part II, 1946-1953: the Soviet Union. The guide provides a brief indication of the contents of each reel in a reel index. It also provides a detailed subject index.

United States. National Archives. Publications of the National Archives, 1936-59.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1957 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 248
11 reel(s)

The National Archives was established as an independent executive agency in 1934. In 1949 it was transferred to the General Service Administration where it became a part of the National Archives and Records Service. Reproduced in the collection are the publications of both the independent National Archives and NARS, the publications of the Federal Register Division, the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, the Office of Records Management, and the National Historical Publications Commission for 1936 to 1956. Annual updates for 1957 to 1959 are reproduced on reels 9-11. Staff information papers, bulletins, annual reports, reference information papers, preliminary inventories and checklists, finding aids, exhibit catalogs, circulars, and miscellaneous other publications are filmed. Lengthy descriptions of World War II records are on reel Seven. A guide to National Archives microfilm publication T 120, Index of Microfilmed Records of the German Foreign Ministry, is on reel ten and the guides to fourteen collections of German Records Microfilmed at Alexandria, VA (Microcopy nos. T 71, T 74, T 81, T 76, T 84, T 82, T 253, T 73, T 178, T 78, T 177, T 312, and T 77) are on reels 10 and 11.

An uncataloged guide, Publications of the National Archives, 1936-1956, is available in the Special Collections Office. It lists each publication that is included.

FILM 3:1 - Request access

United States. Office of Censorship. History of the Office of Censorship.

Washington, D.C.: Office of Censorship, 1945 
Administrative Histories of World War II Civilian Agencies of the Federal Government Series.
3 reel(s)

The following is contained in these seven volumes: 1) Censorship as viewed fro the office of the director; 2)Press and Broadcasting Divisions; 3) Liaison and Digest Office, Administrative Division, Technical Operations Division, Legal Office; 4) Office of the Chief Postal Censor; 5) District Postal Censorship Stations; 6) Office of the Chief Cable Censor; 7) Cable Censorship Stations.

Filmed from the collection of the Bureau of the Budget War History Program.

FILM BOOK 0289 REELS 6-8

Guides:

Administrative histories of World War II civilian agencies of the Federal Government ; Administrative histories of U.S. civilian agencies, Korean War : a guide to the microfilm collections.

‘Administrative Histories of World War II Civilian Agencies of the Federal Government provides access by agency, author, title of report, and subject, with a full bibliographic citation for each report.

United States. Office of Naval Records and Library. Area File of the Naval Records Collection, 1775-1910.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 625; v. National Archives record group 45
414 reel(s)

This collection contains the records collected by the Office of Naval Records and Library. These records concern virtually every naval operation and engagement of the United States Navy between 1775 and 1910. This first reel also contains a few documents concerning British Navy in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. The records include official documents, reports and private correspondence. The records are arranged according to the geographical area. Thus for example area five includes documents from the Civil War period which concern the activities of the Union fleet on the Mississippi river and its tributaries, especially during the blockade and conquest of New Orleans

An uncataloged guide, Area File of the Naval Records Collection, 1975-1910, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 7:8-14 - Request access

United States. Office of Ordnance Research. Proceedings of the 4th Ordnance Conference on Operations Research.

Durham, N.C.: Office of Ordnance Research, 1959 
1 reel(s)

This conference was held at the headquarters of the U.S. Ordnance Missile Command, April 1-3, 1959. These conferences were held “to disseminate information on the methods and new developments in the field of operations research to a large number of government personnel.” Thirteen of the papers presented are on this reel.

Report no. 59-3. Table of contents and program schedule at the beginning, attendance list at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. President (1801-1809, Jefferson). Account of Louisiana

London: 1804 
1 reel(s)

The first page states “the object of the following pages is to consolidate the information respecting the present state of Louisiana, furnished to the Executive by several individuals among the best informed upon that subject.” This book describes the boundaries, divisions, parishes, towns, rivers, effect of hurricanes, inhabitants, militia, fortifications, Indians, and more of the newly purchased Louisiana territory. Appendix no. 1 is the 1785 census of Louisiana. Appendix no. 2 is the census of the districts or posts of Louisiana and west Florida. Appendix no. 3 is a statement of the population of the settlements of upper Louisiana, with the births, marriages, deaths, stock and productions of 1799. Appendix no. 4 is the census for the city of New Orleans for 1803. Appendix no. 5 is the population approximations of other areas.

Title continues “Being an abstract of documents delivered in, or transmitted to Mr. Jefferson, President of the United States of American, and by him laid before Congress, and published by their order.” Five appendices at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. President (1801-1809, Jefferson). Account of Louisiana, Laid Before Congress by Direction of the President of the United States, November 14, 1803.

Providence, RI: Heaton and Williams, 1803 
1 reel(s)

This is a shorter version of “An Account of Louisiana, Being an abstract of documents delivered in, or transmitted to Mr. Jefferson, President of the United States of America, and by him laid before Congress, and published by their order.” There are no appendices. Taping and stains have made parts difficult to read.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. President (1801-1809 : Jefferson). Appendix to an Account of Louisiana: Being an Abstract of Documents in the Offices of the Departments of State, and of the Treasury.

Philadelphia: T. & G. Palmer, for J. Conrad, 1803 
Early American Imprints. Second series ; no. 3622. American Antiquarian Society
2 card(s)

Transmitted to Congress November 29, 1803. Also found in American State papers; Miscellaneous. Washington, 1834, v. 1, p. 362-384, under title : Digest of the laws of Louisiana. Collection of documents pertaining to the Louisiana Purchase and the description, travel, politics, and government of Louisiana to 1803.

MICPT 810.8 ser.2 3622

United States. President (1953-1961 : Eisenhower). [Press Releases] 1953-1961

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 
9 reel(s)

Press releases, executive orders, and the text of some cablegrams of Dwight David Eisenhower, 34th President of the United States, are included. Also filmed are the full text of inaugural addresses, State of the Union messages, and other addresses to Congress. Subjects include the war in Korea and its armistice, relations with Cuba and the subsequent termination of consular and diplomatic relations, and disarmament and the Soviet Union. Domestic issues such as conservation, selective service, farm surpluses, and Social Security are treated. The collection concludes with reports of cabinet officers and directors of agencies such as the Atomic Energy Commission, the Federal Aviation Agency, and the Small Business Administration. These reports summarize the units' accomplishments during Eisenhower's terms of office.

The releases are arranged chronologically.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:7 - Request access

United States. President (1953-1961: Eisenhower). Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Eisenhower, 1953-1961.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1980 
Presidential Documents Series.
10 reel(s)

Eisenhower relied on his Cabinet as a vital component of his policy making machinery. To insure the smooth operation of this policy council, Eisenhower instituted a Cabinet secretariat with a wide range of responsibilities: arranging agenda items, working with the executive departments to prepare background papers, and keeping the record of Cabinet business. The cabinet addressed such issues as education, agriculture, social security, health and welfare matters, Congressional relations, civil rights, government organization and administrative procedures, foreign relations and foreign economic policy, emergency defense planning, the budget and the economy, civil rights, immigration, and labor relations. This collection includes minutes of Cabinet meetings, official correspondence and memoranda, copies of discussion papers, department reports, summaries of decisions Eisenhower approved at each meeting, analyses of the implementation of Cabinet decisions, and related papers of the president's staff. Some specific issues reflected in the records are the Rosenberg decision, Korean truce negotiations, Congressional investigations of executive departments, communism in American labor unions, the McCarthy hunt for communists in government, the Geneva Conference on Indochina, steps to strengthen the national economy, federal budget reduction policies, school desegregation, the prospects for disarmament, the Cold War, federal programs in housing, education, public works, the national debt, the Chinese 'Great Leap Forward Program', the Castro Revolution in Cuba, ways to cooperate with the commission on civil rights, and air pollution.

FILM BOOK 0102

Guides:

A Guide to Minutes and documents of the cabinet meetings of President Eisenhower (1953-1961) : [and] Minutes of telephone conversations of John Foster Dulles and of Christian Herter (1953-1961)

In the same volume as Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Eisenhower (1953-1961) (described elsewhere). The John Foster Dulles telephone memoranda cover the period December 30, 1952 to May 8, 1959. They are contained on reels 1 through 8 of the collection. The John Foster Dulles telephone conversations with the White House are on the the remainder of reel 10 and cover the period of January 3, 1959 to January 19, 1961. Reel 11 contains the Christian Herter telephone memoranda for the period of January 1, 1959 to January 16, 1961. The records are divided into fifty-five files, each of which has been filmed in reverse chronological order. The guide contains a reel index which indicates the date of each conversation and the identity of the other party. A name index is also provided.

United States. President’s Science Advisory Committee. Papers of the President’s Science Advisory Committee, 1957-1961: Microfilmed from the Holdings of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Library.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1991 
Science and Technology: Research Collections in U.S. Public Policy
3 reel(s)

President Dwight D. Eisenhower created the President's Science Advisory Committee (PSAC) on November 29, 1957 by elevating and enlarging the Science Advisory Committee to the White House level. Detailed reports were created by the Committee for distribution to the appropriate government agency. Drs. James B. Killian and George B. Kistiakowsky served as chairmen. About half the studies produced dealt with scientific support of U.S. national security. Some major subjects were the creation of NASA, the development of missiles, satellites, and nuclear weapons, and arms control. Another major area was the strengthening of science and engineering studies in the United States and allied nations. These projects included studying the exchange of scientific information in NATO, oceanography, radio astronomy, and high energy physics. The series is arranged in three parts; notes from meetings of the committee; subject files, composed of correspondence, memoranda, and reports; and alphabetical files consisting of correspondence.

FILM BOOK 0287

Guides:

United States. President’s Science Advisory Committee. The Papers of the President’s Science Advisory Committee, 1957-1961 : microfilmed from the holdings of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Library : a guide to the collection

The guide contains a history of the President’s Science Advisory Committee, an introduction to the collection, a key to names and acronyms, a reel index and a subject index.

United States. Research and Development Board. Committee on Geophysics and Geography. Selected Papers on Photogeology and Photo Interpretation.

Washington, DC: The Committee, 1953 
1 reel(s)

These papers cover subjects relating to photo interpretation, including military use, terrain intelligence, photogeologic evaluation, teaching photogeologic interpretation, studies of Arctic Alaska, and mapping with aerial photographs.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Table of contents at the beginning.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Research and Development Board. Committee on Geophysics and Geography. Selected Papers on Photogeology and Photo Interpretation: Presented at Meetings Sponsored by the Committee on Geophysics and Geography, Reseaerch and Development Board,

Washington, D.C.: The Committee, 1953 
1 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers published in response to continuing demand for suggestions that might lead to improvements in methods and techniques of military photo interpretation. They were presented at meetings sponsored by the committee during 1952. The authors are leading reps of military and other government organizations and nongovernment institutions specializing in extracting from photo coverage information of vital importance to their respective missions.

Includes bibliographies.

FILM

United States. Superintendent of Finance. Statement of the Accounts of the United States During the Administration of the Superintendent of Finance, 1781-1784.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 293
1 reel(s)

Filmed in this collection are the accounts of Robert Morris, who as superintendent of finance, managed the financial affairs of the Continental Congress from February 1781, until January 1783. The accounts contain the listing of government revenues (taxes, sales of bills of exchange, and loans from the French government), and of government expenditures, mainly for the conduct of the Revolutionary War.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 9:5 - Request access

United States. Supreme Court. Revolutionary War Prize Cases: Records of the Court of Appeals in Cases of Capture 1776-1787.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1954 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 162; v. National Archives record group 267
15 reel(s)

Reproduced are records of prize cases heard on appeal from colonial and state courts by committees of the Continental Congress and by the Court of Appeals in cases of capture. The cases constitute a valuable source of documentary material for the maritime and commercial history of the Revolutionary War and for the development of admiralty law. The printed guide indexes by claimant, appellant and name of ship, and lists appeal-committee members.

An uncataloged guide, Revolutionary War Prize Cases, is available in the Special Collections Office, and is also reproduced on the first reel.

FILM 1:12 - Request access

United States. Treaties. Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 668; v. National Archives record group 11
16 reel(s)

Indian treaties were made by the Continental Congress, by the Congress of the Confederation, and under the authority of the Constitution adopted in 1789. The treaties were ratified by the Senate and had the same status as agreements with foreign nations. The most important purpose of the majority of the treaties was to extinguish Indian title to land. Other common subjects of treaty provisions were the ending of hostilities and the maintenance of peace, the status of tribes as dependent nations, criminal and civil matters, control of tribal affairs, and regulation of trade and rights-of-way across Indian lands. Some unratified treaties are also included.

An uncataloged guide, Ratified Indian Treaties 1722-1869, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 8:6-7 - Request access

United States. War Department. Records of the Office of the Secretary of War: Letters Sent to the President, 1800-1863.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1948 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 127; v. National Archives record group 107
6 reel(s)

The letters deal with such topics as the operation of the army, administration of the War Department, appropriations, military commissions, military posts, general court-martials, and annual reports of the secretary of war.

There is an index to the collection on the first reel.

FILM 1:11 - Request access

United States. War Department. Records Relating to Confederate Naval and Marine Personnel.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 260; v. National Archives record group 109
7 reel(s)

This collection of Confederate naval and marine records divides itself into three parts. Part one is concerned with Union and Confederate hospital records as well as Union and parole prison records of naval and marine personnel. The second part reproduces reference cards and papers relating to naval personnel and the third part reproduces those of marine personnel. Reference cards indicate rank of sailor or marine, payroll, and include references to vessel papers. Entries were obtained from hospital registers, prescription books, and prison and payroll records. The records are arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sailor or marine.

Military Service Records: a Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (p. 310-311) provides a reel guide.

FILM 3:2 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.

United States. War Department. Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Civilians.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 345; v. National Archives record group 109
300 reel(s)

The Provost Marshal’s file relates to civilians who came in contact with the army from 1861 to 1866. Provost marshals served as military police. They sought out and arrested deserters, Confederate spies, and civilians suspected of crimes or disloyalty. Provost courts tried cases involving civilians and military personnel accused of civil crimes. The documents include correspondence, provost court papers, orders, passes, and paroles. The documents are arranged alphabetically by the name of the civilian concerned.

An uncataloged guide, Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Civilians, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 406

United States. War Department. Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Two or More Civilians.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 416; v. National Archives record group 109
94 reel(s)

The Provost Marshal's file from 1861 to 1867 relates to civilians who came in contact with the army. Provost marshals served as military police. They sought out and arrested deserters, Confederate spies, and civilians suspected of crimes or disloyalty. Provost courts tried cases involving civilians and military personnel accused of civil crimes. The papers include correspondence, provost court papers, passes, and paroles. Generally the arrangement is chronological. Separate groups of reels relate to civilians in military prisons and to civilian prisoners confined by the Middle Department, 8th Army Corps, at Baltimore.

An uncataloged guide, Union Provost Marshal's File of Papers Relating to Two or More Civilians, is available in the Special Collections Office. An incomplete place and subject index is on the first reel.

FILM 5:12-5:13 - Request access

United States. War Department. Revolutionary War Rolls, 1775-1783.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1957 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 246; v. National Archives record group 93
138 reel(s)

The service records for regiments, companies, battalions, and militias in Connecticut, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Continental troops are filmed. The records are arranged by state and then by unit. The company commander and his dates of command are given. Muster rolls, payrolls, and miscellaneous other company records are filmed.

Military Service Records: a Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Also, the first reel is an index arranged by state, regiment (or other grouping), and jacket (envelope) number.

FILM 2:11-2:12 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.

United States. War Department. Unfiled Papers and Slips Belonging in Confederate Compiled Service Records.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 347; v. National Archives record group 109
442 reel(s)

The War Department placed papers in this series when, for one reason or another, the records could not be positively connected with any soldier for whom there was a compiled service record. In some cases, the soldiers served in a home-guard unit or Another state organization never called into the service of the central government. The card abstracts contain entries taken from original muster rolls, returns, rosters, payrolls, hospital registers, and parole rolls. Also included are references to original records, letters, vouchers, requisitions, and oaths of allegiance. The records are arranged alphabetically by surname.

An uncataloged guide, Unfiled Papers and Slips Belonging in Confederate Compiled Service Records, available in the Special Collections Office, indicates the surnames included on each reel.

FILM 4:13-5:2 - Request access

United States. War Department. Records Relating to Confederate Naval and Marine Personnel.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 260; v. National Archives record group 109
7 reel(s)

This collection of Confederate naval and marine records divides itself into three parts. Part one is concerned with Union and Confederate hospital records as well as Union and parole prison records of naval and marine personnel. The second part reproduces reference cards and papers relating to naval personnel and the third part reproduces those of marine personnel. Reference cards indicate rank of sailor or marine, payroll, and include references to vessel papers. Entries were obtained from hospital registers, prescription books, and prison and payroll records. The records are arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sailor or marine.

Military Service Records: a Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (p. 310-311) provides a reel guide.

FILM 3:2 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.