Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Arizona, 1864-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 342; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The records consist mainly of communications received by the secretary of state from the governor of the territory from April 1864, to February 1872. Arizona was established as a territory in 1863 and was supervised by the Department of State until 1873 when responsibility was transferred to the Department of the Interior. Many letters relate to Indian uprisings during the Civil War after most Federal troops had been withdrawn for service in other regions. Several letters request military and diplomatic assistance to resolve problems related to crimes committed near the Mexican border. The collection also includes proclamations and messages by the governor.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Arizona, 1864-1872, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 23-27.

FILM 4:2 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Colorado Series [Dec. 28, 1859 – Apr. 22, 1874].

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1941
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 431; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The act establishing the Colorado Territory was approved in 1861. Colorado was admitted to the Union in 1876. The territorial papers in the archives of the Department of State date to 1873 when supervision of all territories was transferred to the Department of the Interior. The Colorado territorial papers also contain one letter dated 1874. The papers are filmed as mounted and bound in volumes by the State Department. Volume one contains letters, proclamations, petitions, and memoranda from December 1859 to April 1874. The papers concern such subjects as the struggle to organize a territorial government, the control of public printing, administration of justice, and the movement for statehood with its related questions of Negro suffrage and party control. Volume two reproduces transcripts of the executive proceedings of the governor and printed documents from July to November 1861.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Colorado Series, available in the Special Collections Office, lists every document. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 44-52.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Colorado Series [Dec. 28, 1859 – Apr. 22, 1874].

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1941 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 431; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The act establishing the Colorado Territory was approved in 1861. Colorado was admitted to the Union in 1876. The territorial papers in the archives of the Department of State date to 1873 when supervision of all territories was transferred to the Department of the Interior. The Colorado territorial papers also contain one letter dated 1874. The papers are filmed as mounted and bound in volumes by the State Department. Volume one contains letters, proclamations, petitions, and memoranda from December 1859 to April 1874. The papers concern such subjects as the struggle to organize a territorial government, the control of public printing, administration of justice, and the movement for statehood with its related questions of Negro suffrage and party control. Volume two reproduces transcripts of the executive proceedings of the governor and printed documents from July to November 1861.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Colorado Series, available in the Special Collections Office, lists every document. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 44-52.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1861-1873.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 309; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The act establishing the Dakota Territory was approved in 1861. The territorial papers date from that event until 1873 When the supervision of the territory was transferred from the Department of State to the Department of the Interior. The Dakotas were admitted to the Union in 1889. The annual reports of the governor include copies of proclamations, messages, and proceedings of the Executive Office and the Legislative Assembly. The reports are concerned to a great extent with the hostility of the Indians, the desire to have the transcontinental railroad pass through the territory, the development of educational facilities, and the encouragement of immigration into the territory. Also discussed are possible mineral deposits in the Black Hills, the improvement of the Snake River for navigation, mail service, and the building of roads.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1861-1873, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 52-62.

FILM 3:5 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Florida Series, 1777-1824.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1946
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 116; v. National Archives record group 59.
11 reel(s)

The majority of the papers predate the establishment of the Territory of Florida (1822) and terminate many years before Florida's statehood was attained (1845). Some of the early documents deal with the attempted seizure of East Florida in 1811-1812; others deal with the Seminole War. The greater part of the material concerns the occupation of Florida by Andrew Jackson and his military government. Of special interest are the manuscript maps and drawings of East Florida that were forwarded to President John Quincy Adams by Jackson in 1821.

The brief introduction on the first reel lists the inclusive dates for each reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 67-122.

FILM 1:11 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Idaho, 1863-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 445; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The act establishing Idaho Territory was approved in 1863. The publications in this collection date from 1863 to 1873, when supervision of all the territories was transferred to the Department of the Interior. Correspondence relates to such subjects as the removal of the capital from Lewiston to Boise, sporadic attacks by the Nez Perce Indians and other Indian difficulties, and proposed solutions to the Indian problem. A few records from 1864 to 1866 and most of the documents from 1866 to 1869 relate to charges of malfeasance in office directed at the governor and the secretary. Other records relate to mining, financial problems, education, Chinese immigrants, and friction between northern and southern sympathizers in the assembly.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Idaho, 1863-1872 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 122-130.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Kansas, 1854-1861.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 218; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

In 1856 the question of whether Kansas' admission into the Union would be as a free or slave state led to open hostilities between opposing factions. The records span the period from the establishment of Kansas Territory until statehood in 1861. Most records are concerned with the conflict between pro-slavery and anti-slavery factions and the use of troops to subdue the violence. Also included are copies of other proceedings of the territorial legislature, correspondence and speeches of the governor, and records of commissions issued to public officials. The official correspondence dates from 1854 to 1861 and the executive minutes date from 1854 to 1859.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Kansas, 1854-1861, is available in the Special Collections Office and is reproduced on the first reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 159-167.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Montana. 1864-72.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 356; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

Four volumes of the Department of State files relate to the affairs of Montana Territory from its establishment until supervision of the territories was transferred to the Department of the Interior in 1873. The records include copies of correspondence, proclamations, messages, and proceedings of the Executive Office and of the Legislative Assembly. The correspondence relates to such subjects as the conflicts between the Indians and the settlers, the effect of the arrival of settlers from the South on territorial politics, and methods used to encourage immigration into the territory. Other records concern education, mining, and railroads.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Montana, 1864-72, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 244-252.

FILM 5:4 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Nebraska, Dec. 31, 1854 – Mar. 27, 1867.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1955
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 228; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The papers relate to the administrative affairs in the Territory of Nebraska from its establishment in 1854 until statehood in 1867. Letters and reports by the governor and secretary of the territory to the secretary of state are included. The records concern a variety of subjects, such as elections, political affairs, the Homestead Law, schools, finances, erection of a capitol building, organization of the militia, construction of wagon roads and railroads, Indian troubles, and the impact of the Civil War upon Nebraska. The Executive Proceedings include proclamations, a list of appointments, commissions, annual messages, and abstracts of census returns.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Nebraska, Dec. 31, 1854 – Mar. 27, 1867, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 252-261.

FILM 1:14 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Nevada Series, Vol. I. May 13, 1861 – Oct. 31, 1864.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 13; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

This publication covers the brief period, 1861-1864, when Nevada was a territory. In 1861 Utah Territory was divided and the western part was designated Nevada Territory. Three years later Nevada was admitted to the Union. The documents filmed concern such subjects as boundary disputes with California, the early years of bonanza mining, the movement for statehood, as well as more routine administrative and legislative matters.

A description of the collection appears at the beginning of the first reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 261-264.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 1:1 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: New Mexico, 1851-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1954
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 17; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

Territorial papers of New Mexico date from its formation in 1851 until supervision of all territories was transferred from the Department of State to the Department of the Interior in 1873. A large portion of the papers relate to personnel disputes in the territorial government, including charges of malfeasance and requests for removal from office. Indian depredations (livestock and other property stolen and persons killed) are enumerated. The availability of rich mineral deposits, especially silver and gold, is discussed in the governor's annual reports as are grape culture and the use of mesquite for consumption and for firewood. Many of the earlier documents are in English and Spanish. The collection is arranged chronologically.

Catalog of National Archive Microfilm Publications lists the inclusive dates on each reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 264-301.

FILM 8:11 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Oregon, 1848-1858.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 419; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Although the stated coverage of the publication is 1848-1858, most of the correspondence (which comprises Part 1) dates from 1792 to 1816 and relates to the voyage of discovery led by Captains John Kendrick and Robert Gray to the northwest coast of America, the purchase of tracts of land, and the discovery of the Columbia River. The Executive Proceedings (Part 2) date from 1853, when the area north of the Columbia River was withdrawn from Washington Territory and designated the Territory of Oregon. Oregon achieved statehood in 1859. Except for routine official documents, appointments, commissions, proclamations, and fiscal accountings, the majority of the records relate to Indian problems, especially the Cayuse War of 1847, the Rogue River uprising of 1852-53, and the Yakima War from 1855 to 1858. A number of documents mention the Hudson Bay Company and the Puget Sound Agricultural Company.

A contemporary manuscript index to the Executive Proceedings (Part 2) precedes the documents filmed. A useful guide is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 317-336.

FILM 5:13 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Orleans Series, 1764-1813.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 260; v. National Archives record group 59
13 reel(s)

The Treaty of Paris in 1763 transferred control of the area later known as Orleans Territory from France to England. Papers in this collection date from that period through 1800-1803, when the territory again became a French possession, to 1804-1812, when the territory was transferred to the United States. The territorial period ended when Louisiana became a state. The controversy over Spain's refusal to cede West Florida to the United States and the ultimate solution are well-documented. Other subjects are French-Cuban refugees, fugitive slaves, and the schism of Catholics. Routine administrative papers and proceedings are also included. The papers related to Aaron Burr's conspiracy to set up a Spanish government in West Florida have been removed and are now part of a Library of Congress Division of Manuscripts collection. A contemporary manuscript chronology on the first reel begins in 1673 with La Salle's explorations and ends in 1803. At the end of the first reel are papers from the United States legation in Madrid (1833-1834) relating to Louisiana.

Useful guides are REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 336-389, and E173 .T4 Carter, Clarence Edwin. Territorial Papers of the U.S., Vol. 9, Orleans Territory.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

The Territorial papers of the United States.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Territory Northwest of the River Ohio, 1787-1801.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 470; v. National Archives record group 59
1 reel(s)

The Northwest Territory, established by the Ordinance of 1787, was bounded by Pennsylvania on the east, the Ohio River on the south, the Mississippi River on the west, and the border with Canada on the north. The exact date of termination of the territory was contingent on the admission of Ohio into the Union. Because Congress failed to act on the matter, the effective date of 1803 was not officially established until 1953. The majority of the documents deal with problems of land claims, especially those of Indians and of those granted land by the French government. The principals in the disputes were the Wyandot, Delaware, Ottawa, and Chippewa Indians and the inhabitants of the Cahokia, Kaskaskia, and Vincennes areas. Lists of the inhabitants of Cahokia and Kaskaskia are given.

Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 301-317. Also useful is E173 .T4 Carter, Clarence Edwin. Territorial papers of the U.S., v. 2 and 3, Northwest Territory.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

The Territorial papers of the United States.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Territory Southwest of the River Ohio, 1790-1795.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 471; v. National Archives record group 59
1 reel(s)

The territory was created by the Organic Act of 1790 and the cession of the claims of the North Carolina to a portion of its western land. The territory was terminated with the creation of Tennessee in 1796. Two documents at the beginning concern pre-Revolutionary land grants and loyalty to the British crown. The remainder relate to territorial business. These include appointments, commissions, organization of counties, licensing of Indian traders, and a census. Negotiations with Creek and Cherokee Indians are also described.

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 389-392.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

The Territorial papers of the United States.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Utah Series 1852-1873.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 12; v. National Archives record group 59
1 reel(s)

Utah was a territory from 1850 until statehood was attained nearly half a century later. The records consists primarily of communications received by the secretary of state from the governor and the secretary of the territory from 1853 until 1873, when supervision of territories was transferred to the Department of the Interior. The bulk of the records in volume I relate to the tumultuous times of 1857 to 1858, commonly referred to as the "Mormon War", and the pacification of the territory immediately following. Most of the documents in volume II are more routine in nature. They include the proceedings of the governor, journals of the proceedings of the territorial court, and routine correspondence.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Utah Series 1852-1873, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 393-410.

FILM 1:1 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Washington Series. [1854-72].

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 26; v. National Archives record group 59
1 reel(s)

The act establishing the Territory of Washington was approved in 1853 and statehood was attained in 1889. The volumes reproduced contain letters and other documents for the period from 1854 to 1873, when supervision of all territories was transferred from the Department of States to the Department of the Interior. The communications, most of which are addressed to the secretary of state from the governor or secretary of the territory, deal with Indian depredations, the discovery of gold in the Fraser River region of British Columbia, as well as disputes with the British over possession of the San Juan Archipelago and over the rights within the territory of the Hudson's Bay Company. Also included are documents discussing road construction, coal and timber resources, lighthouse construction, and routine administrative matters.

A description of the collection appears at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. to 1873, pp. 410-431.

FILM 1:3 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Wyoming, 1868-73.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 85; v. National Archives record group 59
1 reel(s)

The small collection of Department of State papers (fewer than thirty-five existing documents) relates to Wyoming Territory from 1868 to 1873. For papers after 1873 and for documents relating to Indian affairs in the territory from 1868, one must refer to the Department of the Interior collection. Department of State papers include a printed message from the governor to the first Legislative Assembly in 1868. The message discusses the mandated census, the militia, agriculture, and mining. The later papers relate chiefly to requests of the governor for leave from his official duties.

A description of the collection appears at the beginning of the reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. to 1873, pp. 443-445.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. Department of the Air Force. Air Weather Service. Four Technical Service Reports.

Washington, DC: Air Weather Service, 1954
1 reel(s)

The four technical service reports are: 1) “Fjortoft’s graphical method for preparing 24-hour 500-mb prognostic charts.” 2) “Wind temperature and their variabilities to 120,000 feet” by Adam B. Kochanski. 3) “Winds over 100 knots in the northern hemisphere.” 4) “Thermal structure and vertical motion in the lower stratosphere.”

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Utah, 1850-1902.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 428; v. National Archives record group 48.
6 reel(s)

The act establishing the Territory of Utah was approved in 1850 and included portions of Colorado and Utah and most of what is now Nevada. Transcripts of executive proceedings of the territorial governors date from 1877 through 1893. The proceedings record official acts of the governors, and include copies of proclamations, letters of appointment, pardon letters, extradition orders, messages to the legislature, and other official papers. Letters received from 1850 to 1897 relate to the creation of a territorial library, construction of a penitentiary, polygamy, control of the Mormons, inspection of coal mines, and the disposition of the territorial capitol building in Fillmore. Also included are numerous documents concerning the Irrigation Conference of 1891.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Utah, 1850-1902, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Appointment Papers: Territory of New Mexico, 1850-1907

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 750; v. National Archives record group 48.
18 reel(s)

New Mexico was established as a territory in 1850. Originally the territory included parts of Arizona, Nevada, and Colorado. The records pertain to positions in New Mexico Territory normally filled by presidential appointment: the territorial governor and secretary, the surveyor general, registers and receivers in the public land offices, the superintendent of Indian affairs, and Indian agents. Letters of application and recommendation, petitions, oaths of office, removals, and resignations are included in the collection. Land office records from Clayton, Folsom, Roswell, Las Cruces, and Santa Fe are included. Abiquiu, Cimarron, Mescalero, Navajo, Pueblo, and Southern Apache Indian agency appointment records are filmed.

An uncataloged guide titled Interior Department Appointment Papers: Territory of New Mexico, 1850-1907 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. It includes an alphabetical listing of applicants and office-holders.

FILM 8:10 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Alaska, 1869-1911.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 750; v. National Archives record group 48.
18 reel(s)

New Mexico was established as a territory in 1850. Originally the territory included parts of Arizona, Nevada, and Colorado. The records pertain to positions in New Mexico Territory normally filled by presidential appointment: the territorial governor and secretary, the surveyor general, registers and receivers in the public land offices, the superintendent of Indian affairs, and Indian agents. Letters of application and recommendation, petitions, oaths of office, removals, and resignations are included in the collection. Land office records from Clayton, Folsom, Roswell, Las Cruces, and Santa Fe are included. Abiquiu, Cimarron, Mescalero, Navajo, Pueblo, and Southern Apache Indian agency appointment records are filmed.

An uncataloged guide titled Interior Department Appointment Papers: Territory of New Mexico, 1850-1907 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. It includes an alphabetical listing of applicants and office-holders.

FILM 8:10 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Arizona, 1868-1913.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 429; v. National Archives record group 48
8 reel(s)

The papers relating to the administration of Arizona territory span the time from 1868 to statehood. The area that is now Nevada was part of Arizona Territory until 1866. Transcripts of executive proceedings such as proclamations, pardons, election notices, and letters sent by the governors are included. The issues include the smuggling of arms to the Indians, a toll road through the Grand Canyon Forest reserve, the protection of Mexican citizens, statehood, and national forests. The executive proceedings, correspondence, and messages of governors prior to 1907 are arranged chronologically. The documents reproduced from 1907 to 1917 are the subject-classified files of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Arizona 1868-1913, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Arizona, 1868-1913.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 429; v. National Archives record group 48
8 reel(s)

The papers relating to the administration of Arizona territory span the time from 1868 to statehood. The area that is now Nevada was part of Arizona Territory until 1866. Transcripts of executive proceedings such as proclamations, pardons, election notices, and letters sent by the governors are included. The issues include the smuggling of arms to the Indians, a toll road through the Grand Canyon Forest reserve, the protection of Mexican citizens, statehood, and national forests. The executive proceedings, correspondence, and messages of governors prior to 1907 are arranged chronologically. The documents reproduced from 1907 to 1917 are the subject-classified files of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Arizona 1868-1913, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1863-1889.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 310; v. National Archives record group 48.
3 reel(s)

Transcripts of executive proceedings of the governors of the territory date from 1863, when the area that is now Utah was removed, until 1889, when North and South Dakota were admitted to the Union. Included in the territory of Dakota was the area that became Montana in 1864 and the area that became Wyoming in 1868. The proceedings record official acts, proclamations, extradition orders, reports of election results, and lists of appointments. There are no transcripts for portions of 1877, 1880, 1881, 1884, 1886, and 1889. Letters received cover the period 1863 to 1889 and include a lengthy correspondence concerning the United States penitentiary in Dakota.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1863-1889, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced on reel one.

FILM 3:5-3:6 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1863-1889.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 310; v. National Archives record group 48
3 reel(s)

Transcripts of executive proceedings of the governors of the territory date from 1863, when the area that is now Utah was removed, until 1889, when North and South Dakota were admitted to the Union. Included in the territory of Dakota was the area that became Montana in 1864 and the area that became Wyoming in 1868. The proceedings record official acts, proclamations, extradition orders, reports of election results, and lists of appointments. There are no transcripts for portions of 1877, 1880, 1881, 1884, 1886, and 1889. Letters received cover the period 1863 to 1889 and include a lengthy correspondence concerning the United States penitentiary in Dakota.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Dakota, 1863-1889, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced on reel one.

FILM 3:5 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Colorado, 1859-1874.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 431; v. National Archives record group 48.
1 reel(s)

These papers relate to the administration of the territory of Colorado from its establishment in 1861 to twelve years after Colorado was admitted to the Union in 1876. The papers concern such subjects as the appointment of a superintendent for the construction of a penitentiary, books for the territorial library, and administrative matters. Letters dated before 1881 are arranged in a single series under a number of subject headings. Following 1881, the letters are arranged chronologically.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Colorado, 1861-88, is available in the Special Collections Office, and is also filmed at the beginning of the reel.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Idaho, 1864-1890.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 191; v. National Archives record group 48
3 reel(s)

Transcripts of executive proceedings of the territorial governors date from the establishment of the Territory of Idaho until it was admitted to the Union in 1890. The proceedings are a daily record of official acts and include copies of proclamations, messages to the legislature, and certificates of reappointment. Following the proceedings is the official correspondence. A lengthy correspondence related to the penitentiary at Boise City is reproduced. Other issues related to law and order are documented, as are environmental issues and attempts to control the Mormons, Indian uprisings, and anti-Chinese demonstrations.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Idaho, 1864-1890, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Montana, 1867-1889.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 192; v. National Archives record group 48
2 reel(s)

Transcripts of executive proceedings of the territorial governors submitted to the president and referred to the secretary of the interior are filmed followed by official correspondence. The proceedings record official acts, proclamations, pardon letters, military orders, oaths of office, extradition orders, and messages to the legislature. Transcripts for the period from 1873 to May 1877, and from July 1887, to November 1889, are among the records. Fragmentary official correspondence of the governors with federal and territorial officials and with private individuals is also filmed. Letters received relate to the penitentiary in Montana Territory and communications related to the Deer Lodge Telegraph Company.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Montana, 1867-1889, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: New Mexico, 1851-1914.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 364; v. National Archives record group 48.
15 reel(s)

The proceedings of the governors of the territory from 1874 until statehood in 1912, include official acts, proclamations, letters of appointment, oaths of office, pardon letters, and extradition orders. There are no transcripts for portions of 1876, 1885, 1889, and 1903. Letters dated from 1858 to 1907 relate to public buildings and grounds, the Adobe Palace (Palace of the Governors) in Santa Fe, and the inspection of coal mines. The last three reels are subject-classified files of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior. They include correspondence, memoranda, reports, legal papers, and other records about territorial schools, statehood, extradition negotiations with Mexico, and land transactions, especially with the American Lumber Company, the Pennsylvania Development Company, and the New Mexico Fuel and Iron Company.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: New Mexico, 1851-1941, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 5:5 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Utah, 1850-1902.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 428; v. National Archives record group 48
6 reel(s)

The act establishing the Territory of Utah was approved in 1850 and included portions of Colorado and Utah and most of what is now Nevada. Transcripts of executive proceedings of the territorial governors date from 1877 through 1893. The proceedings record official acts of the governors, and include copies of proclamations, letters of appointment, pardon letters, extradition orders, messages to the legislature, and other official papers. Letters received from 1850 to 1897 relate to the creation of a territorial library, construction of a penitentiary, polygamy, control of the Mormons, inspection of coal mines, and the disposition of the territorial capitol building in Fillmore. Also included are numerous documents concerning the Irrigation Conference of 1891.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Utah, 1850-1902, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel.

FILM 5:14 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Washington, 1854-1902.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 189; v. National Archives record group 48
4 reel(s)

The executive proceedings of the governors of the territory from 1877 until Washington was admitted to the Union in 1899 are filmed. These were transmitted to the president who referred them to the secretary of the interior. They record official acts such as proclamations, pardon letters, extradition orders, and letters of appointment. Letters dating from 1854 to 1902 relate to anti-Chinese disturbances, the lynching of an Indian in British Columbia by residents of Washington, and the penitentiary at Walla Walla.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Washington, 1854-1902, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of the Interior. Interior Department Territorial Papers: Wyoming, 1870-1890.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 204; v. National Archives record group 48.
6 reel(s)

Transcripts of executive proceedings of the territorial governors from 1878 until Wyoming's admission to the Union in 1890, record official acts, proclamations, extradition orders, and lists of appointments. Official correspondence follows the proceedings. Letters dating from 1870 to 1890 relate to territorial matters, including a lengthy correspondence concerning the penitentiary at Laramie and events leading to the first constitutional convention.

An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: Wyoming, 1879-1890, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of the Treasury. Bureau of Accounts. Foreign Ledgers of Public Agents in Europe, 1776-1787.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 244; v. National Archives record group 39
2 reel(s)

A note on the fly-leaf of the first ledger describes the records included as an "Account Current Book of Particular Records of the Accounts between the Public and the Persons who have done Public business in Europe." The ledgers record ship expenses, military supplies, and expenses of ministers and other government officials. Recorded are reimbursements for the transportation and lodging of American prisoners. The most notable records are those that detail expenses incurred by members of the Continental Congress's 1776 Commission to France, Silas Deane and Benjamin Franklin.

A contemporary manuscript index appears at the beginning of the first ledger on the first reel.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

United States. Department of the Treasury. Circular Letters of the Secretary of the Treasury, 1789-1878.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1968 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 735; v. National Archives record group 56
5 reel(s)

Circular letters were sent to collectors of customs, officers of the Revenue Service, commissioners of loans, receivers of public money, United States consuls and commercial agents, judges and attorneys, and Army and Navy officers. The letters date from the establishment of the Department of the Treasury in 1789 and were intended to communicate policy to bureaus and other government offices. The department's broad responsibilities ranged from the authorization and issuance of passports to the arming of merchant vessels. The by-laws, ranks, dress, and duties of the Revenue Marine Service are documented. The letters are arranged chronologically.

An uncataloged guide, Circular Letters of the Secretary of the Treasury, 1789-1878, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.

FILM 8:10 - Request access