Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from the United States Consuls in Ciudad Juarez (Paso Del Norte), Mexico, 1850-1869.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950 
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 184; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
1 reel(s)

Ellis Library owns the first reel of the six-reel collection. The material dates from April 10, 1850, to December 23, 1869 (the full collection covers the years from 1830 to 1906). This period saw considerable upheaval in Mexico with the overthrow of Santa Anna, the promulgation of the Liberal Constitution of 1857, the resulting War of the Reform, the European intervention, the French occupation, and the war between the republicans under Benito Juarez and the French-conservative alliance under Maximilian. The consuls in Paso del Norte kept a close eye on American interests in that city and monitored activities along the border.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Consuls in Ciudad Juarez (Paso del Norte), Mexico, 1850-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the entire six-reel collection, a table of contents for each reel, and a list of related microfilm collections produced by the National Archives. A register of all dispatches in the six-reel collection is located at the beginning of the first reel.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Consuls in Chihuahua, Mexico, 1864-1866.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951 
1 reel(s)

This collection consists of the dispatches from Reuben Creel, United States consul at Chihuahua, Mexico, to the secretary of state, and related documents. Creel reports primarily about those events relating to the war between the Mexican republican forces under Benito Juarez and the French occupation forces under Maximilian. This collection is only a portion of the three reel collection originally published on microfilm by National Archives that covers the years 1830 to 1906.

The dispatches are arranged chronologically. Reels 1-3.

FILM BOOK 0332

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Consuls in Veracruz, Mexico, 1857-1860.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 183; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

In 1857, Mexican Liberals promulgated the Constitution of 1857 igniting the War of the Reform. Conservatives sought foreign assistance against the Liberals and welcomed French intervention. In 1862, the French placed Maximilian on the throne of Mexico but later abandoned him to defeat and execution by forces under Benito Juarez. In these dispatches, the United States consul at Veracruz reports extensively on the war, the French occupation and the reception of Maximilian into Mexico. He also reports on the welfare of North American interests in Mexico during the disruption.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Consuls in Veracruz, 1822-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the material in the entire eighteen reel series (1822-1906), a complete list of related documents in the National Archives on microfilm and a list of reel contents. Only reels 7 and 8 are available in Ellis Library. Each reel contains introductory material similar to that provided in the guide.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Argentina, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 69; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)

This collection contains information on a wide variety of topics concerning United States-Argentine relations. These topics include trade relations, Argentine claims to the Falkland Islands, the Monroe Doctrine and other United States policies toward Latin America, construction of Argentine railroads, as well as Argentine policies toward natives and toward immigration and naturalization. The collection includes official dispatches as well as private communications that might deal with more secret matters.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to Argentina, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background information about United States representatives in Argentina, a list of reel contents for the entire collection, a description of topics covered by the material, an index of authors, and a list of related microfilm materials from the National Archives. The information from the guide is reprinted at the beginning of most of the reels.

FILM 1:7-1:8 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Brazil, 1809-1813, 1868-1869, 1889-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 121; v. National Archives record group 59.
27 reel(s)

These selected reels are a portion of a 74-reel collection of consular dispatches from United States ministers to Brazil from 1809-1906. Some of the topics covered include claims of United States citizens against Brazil, slavery and the slave trade in Brazil, operations of United States naval vessels in the South Atlantic, and trade between Brazil and the United States. The material contains correspondence from United States diplomatic officials in Brazil along with enclosures of pertinent information like pamphlets, newspapers, and other printed material. Private correspondence offers more personal, unofficial views on particular topics.

An uncataloged guide, Dispatches from United States Ministers to Brazil, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a list of reel contents, a description of the topics covered in the material, an index of the authors, and a list of related material in National Archives microfilm. Ellis Library has reels 1-2, 36, and 50-74 of the collection. Reel 1 contains a useful register of correspondence.

FILM 1:11 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Chile, 1889-1905.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942 
National Archives Microfilm Publications Microcopy no. M 10; v. National Archives record group 59.
15 reel(s)

The material in the collection covers such topics as: dispatches between Chile and Peru arising out of the War of the Pacific, the growth of the nitrate industry, the civil war between the forces of President Balmaceda and congressional forces, and the Baltimore affair in which United States sailors were attacked by a mob in Valparaiso. Reels 45 through 51 focus on the ministry of Henry Lane Wilson from 1897 to 1905. During this period, the war between the United States and Spain was a particularly important topic.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Diplomatic Dispatches, Chile Series, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains introductory material for reels 45-51 only. Ellis Library has reels 37-51 of this National Archives collection which covers the period from 1889 to 1905.

FILM 1:1 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Dominican Republic, 1883-1892.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1946 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 93; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

This collection deals primarily with commercial relations between the United States and the island of Santo Domingo. The diplomatic dispatches include correspondence concerning both the Dominican Republic and the Republic of Haiti. A portion of the collection includes dispatches from Frederick Douglass during his tenure as minister. Specifically, much of the material refers to claims of United States citizens and companies against the government of either country, negotiations of commercial treaties, and some references to the Pan-American Congress. Ellis Library has only the first two reels of the collection that covers the years from 1883 to 1906.

An introductory note for each reel appears at the beginning of the reel. The material is arranged chronologically.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in France, 1789-1869.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 34; v. National Archives record group 59.
67 reel(s)

Communications from United States ministers in France to the secretaries of state from 1789 to 1869 are reproduced in this collection. Ellis Library has reels 1-67 of a 128 reel collection that covers the years from 1789 to 1906. This period saw the outbreak of the French Revolution, the rise of Napoleon and his wars with Europe, the reaction after the Congress of Vienna, the accession of Louis Philippe and Napoleon III to the throne, the French intervention in Mexico, and the diplomatic conflict with Prussia. The material also includes despatches from the Netherlands, Poland, and other parts of Europe. A register of the correspondence from 1789 to 1870 appears on reel one. The material is arranged chronologically in most cases.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to France, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains information on the provenance of the collection, a list of United States officials in France sending correspondence through 1825, and a list of related materials on National Archives microfilm.

FILM 1:4 -1:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in German States and Germany, 1799-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M44; v. National Archives record group 59.
106 reel(s)

The documents in this collection deal with such topics as trade relations between the United States and German states, German unification, attitudes of the Germans toward the United States Civil War, the Franco-Prussian War, the Congress of Berlin in 1878, the Berlin Conference of 1885, Bismarck's foreign policy, German reaction to the Open Door policy in China, cooperation of the western powers during the Boxer Rebellion in China, and claims of United States citizens against the German government.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to the German States and Germany, 1799-1801, 1805-1906 is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection, a list of related material also available from the National Archives in microfilm, an index by author, and a list of reel contents.

FILM 1:4-6 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministries in Mexico, 1823-1829; 1860-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 
National Archives Microfilm Publications Microcopy no. M97; v. National Archives record group 59.
23 reel(s)

The reels owned by Ellis Library is part of a much larger collection which ranges from 1823 to 1906. The topics covered in the Ellis collection include claims of citizens of one country for damages on the other, boundary disputes along the common border, Mexican attitudes toward the Civil War in the United States, the French occupation and the reign of Maximilian, and raids across the border by Apaches, Comanches, and Kickapoos. Ellis' collection currently contains reels 2-4 and 28-47 of the set.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers in Mexico, 1823-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a table of contents for all of Microcopy 97 from 1823 to 1906 including this collection, an introduction with a list of topics covered by the collection, a list of related materials in National Archives microfilm publications, and an index of authors.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Paraguay and Uruguay, 1858-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1948 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 128; v. National Archives record group 59.
19 reel(s)

This collection contains correspondence from the United States Ministers to Paraguay who, at times, were responsible for diplomatic affairs in Uruguay. The Paraguay material refers to the regimes of Carlos Antonio Lopez and his son Francisco Solano Lopez and the disastrous war Paraguay fought against Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. Concerning Uruguay, the material refers to the continuing civil strife in that country throughout this period.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to Paraguay and Uruguay, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background on the collection and a list of related documents in the National Archives.

FILM 1:11-1:12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Consular Instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1834.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945 
National Archives microfilm publication. Microcopy no. M 78; v. National Archives record group 59.
7 reel(s)

Correspondence from the Secretary of state to United States consular representatives all over the world are filmed. As such, they demonstrate how an administration might implement stated foreign policy objectives. Reel one, in addition to reproducing the introductory information in the guide, also provides 1) a list of consular posts arranged by geographical distribution, 2) an alphabetical list of consular posts and the names of consular representatives at those posts, 3) a chronological list of special agents, and 4) an alphabetical list of all consuls and special agents. In addition, volumes 1-4 have an index at the beginning of each volume. The material refers to such topics as the Barbary Pirates, the War of 1812, Latin American independence, and the Monroe Doctrine.

An uncataloged guide, Consular Instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1834, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the materials in the collection and a list of other material available in National Archives collections that complement this material.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Decimal File, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 
National Archives microfilm publications; v. National Archives record group 59.

From 1910 to 1963 the Department of State used a decimal classification system for its central files, assembling and arranging individual documents according to subject, and assigning decimal file numbers. Documents in the file include instructions, dispatches, notes, and memorandums between diplomatic and consular officials, Department of State officials, officials of other Government departments, and with private firms and persons. The decimal file consists of nine primary classes, 0 through 8, each covering a broad subject area: 0) general and miscellaneous, 1) the administration of the United States Government, including the Department of State and the Foreign Service, 2) the negotiation, application, and interpretation of extradition treaties and individual extradition cases, 3) the protection of private and national interests, 4) the negotiation, application, and interpretation of treaties on claims and matters concerning individual claims cases, 5) international congresses and conferences, multilateral treaties, and international organizations, 6) commerce, customs, administration, and trade agreements, 7) political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements, and 8) internal affairs of states. Subjects were further defined within each class and identified by a decimal file number. Within several of the primary classes the documents were arranged by country. A two-digit number was assigned to represent each country. Each United States consulate was similarly assigned a three-digit number. Ellis Library has ninety decimal file collections, most of which cover the 1910-1929 period. Each collection is individually described in this guide.

An uncataloged guide, Purport Lists for the Department of State Decimal File, 1910-1944 is available in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains an outline to the decimal classification system, a geographical (numerical) list of country numbers, and an alphabetical list of country numbers. This guide is actually a guide to National Archives microfilm publications Microcopy no. M 973 (not held by the Ellis Library). National Archives M 973 reproduces all the purport lists (lists of documents) that are filmed at the beginning of each collection and that serve as a subject index to the records. A detailed explanation of the decimal filing system is found in the Classification of Correspondence (National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 600, available in Ellis Library under call number FILM BOOK 0058.).

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of State. Correspondence of Secretary of State Bryan with President Wilson, 1913-1915.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 841; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

This collection includes letters from President Wilson to Secretary of State William J. Bryan and copies and/or drafts of letters from the secretary to the president. Occasionally, material from other sources surfaces: notes from foreign embassies, reports from American diplomats abroad, and letters from lobbyists. The largest part of the correspondence concerns Latin American affairs, especially the Mexican Civil War and the involvement of the United States in the internal affairs of the Central American states. There is some material dealing with the problems arising from the outbreak of the First World War: the question of neutral shipping, submarine warfare, British blockade of continental Europe, and attempts of the United States and other neutral countries at mediation. Starting with the third reel, an increasing proportion of the correspondence deals with the relations in the United States-China-Japan triangle.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 92, gives the inclusive dates covered on each reel.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Despatches from United States Ministers to Great Britain, 1791-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 30; v. National Archives record group 59.
200 reel(s)

These dispatches, addressed to the Department of State by United States diplomatic representatives to Great Britain between November 19, 1791, and August 10, 1906, are for the most part the original dispatches, often accompanied by enclosures. The dispatches relate to such subjects as the negotiation of Jay's Treaty, restrictions on American shipping during the Napoleonic wars, suppression of the African slave trade, boundary disputes, a proposed ship canal in Central America, and fishing rights. Also included are unnumbered, informal communications reporting secret matters or personal news, occasional telegrams, and memoranda prepared by State Department officials.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches From United States Ministers to Great Britain, 1791-1906, available in the Special Collections Office, provides access by author and indicates the time period for each reel. Also, reel one includes a description of the collection and a chronological index through 1870 indicating subject content.

FILM 1:3-1:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Diplomatic and Consular Instructions of the Department of State, 1791-1801.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 28; v. National Archives record group 59.
5 reel(s)

Communications addressed the by Department of State to United States officials abroad are included in this collection. They address issues like negotiations of treaties, attitudes to be taken toward different governments, and involvement in the politics of host countries. It also contains copies of communications to foreign diplomats, bankers of the United States in London and Amsterdam, and to other persons who applied for employment, presented claims, or who received thanks for friendly services. Included are communications issued by Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson.

A guide is available in the Special Collections Office. The general order of the letters is chronological. An index follows the introduction to each volume. Following the overall introduction on reel one is a list of communications to officials of the Department of State classified alphabetically according to diplomatic and consular posts, followed by an alphabetical list of the persons addressed. These two lists and the overall introduction comprise the guide.

FILM 1:3 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Diplomatic Instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945 
National Archives Microfilm Publications. Microcopy no. M77; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
174 reel(s)

This collection for the most part contains copies of letters from the Department of State to diplomatic representatives of the United States in all parts of the world. These representatives include ambassadors, envoys, ministers of various ranks, charges d'affaires, secretaries of legations, special agents, consuls when vested with diplomatic responsibilities, and bearers of dispatches or special messengers. Included are four volumes labeled "Special Missions" consisting chiefly of copies of communications to special agents and bearers of dispatches.

An uncataloged guide, Diplomatic Instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. A list of contents is found at the start of reel 1, followed by an overall introduction to the collection. The National Archives have prepared three lists which follow this introduction The first list contains the names of all the diplomats who received the communications that are reproduced in this collection and in other National Archives collections. The second list contains the name and rank of all the persons to whom the Department of State addressed communications entered in volumes 6-13 of "United States Ministers' Instructions". The third list, reproduced at the beginning of reels 152-155, contains all the persons addressed in the four volumes titled "Special Missions." Reel 175, which covers the period from 1900 to 1906, is not available in Ellis Library.

FILM 1:8-1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Division of Library and Reference Services. American Correspondents and Journalists in Moscow, 1917-1952: A Bibliography of their Books on the USSR.

Washington, DC: Division of Library and Reference Services, 1953 
1 reel(s)

This bibliography covers American newspaper correspondents and other journalists in the USSR and their books on that subject, as well as American newspaper correspondents and other journalists in the USSR who did not write books on the USSR. There are a total of 695 books by 190 authors.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Table of contents at the beginning, index at the end. Division of Library and Reference Services Bibliography no. 73

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of State. Foreign Letters of the Continental Congress and the Department of State, 1785-1790.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 61; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The microfilm contains instructions to American ministers and consuls abroad. The instructions were dispatched by John Jay, Secretary for Foreign Affairs, later acting head of the Department of State (January 14, 1785 – March 3, 1790), and by Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of State (March 30 – December 23, 1790). The letters deal with a wide variety of subjects: diplomatic relations with foreign governments (Holland, Great Britain, France, Spain, Portugal, and Morocco), American loans abroad, commerce, shipping, slavery, and relations between the Congress and individual states of the Union.

A short introductory note and an index-register of the letters precedes the letters.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Domestic Letters of the Department of State, 1784-1866.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 40; v. National Archives record group 59..
60 reel(s)

The microfilm contains seventy-one volumes of the Domestic Letters series of the Department of State, starting with December 22, 1784, continuing until January 31, 1866. The first four volumes (called American Letters and constituting a portion of the Papers of Continental Congress) contain copies of both incoming and outgoing correspondence of the Department of State with United States government officials in the country, representatives of foreign states in the United States, and private citizens. From August, 1790, the series contains copies of outgoing letters only. The incoming letters are recorded in the Miscellaneous Letters and Foreign Consuls in the United States series. Starting with the end of 1803, the Domestic Letters series no longer contains the transcripts of the correspondence directed to the foreign representatives in the United States. From January 1804, the series records only the letters sent to federal, state, and local government officials and private citizens in the United States. The correspondence is arranged chronologically and each volume opens with a short introduction and a register or index.

An uncataloged guide Domestic Letters of the Department of State is in the Special Collections Office. This information is also reproduced on the first reel of the microfilm. Ellis Library has reels 1-60 of the 171 reel collection.

FILM 1:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Journal of Charles Mason Kent During the Survey of the Mason and Dixon Line, 1763-1768.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 86; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The reel contains a journal of the activities of Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon, the commissioners who surveyed a boundary between the provinces of Pennsylvania and Maryland. Before the Civil War, the boundary was considered the dividing line between slave and non-slave states. The journal includes a series of topographical notes and letters received by the commissioners during their mission.

An uncataloged guide, Journal of Charles Mason Kent During the Survey of the Mason and Dixon Line, is in the Special Collections Office. The same information is reproduced at the beginning of the reel.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of James Madison, 1809-1817.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 438; v. National Archives record group 59.
8 reel(s)

The collection contains, apart from the letters of application and recommendation to offices in the Department of State, requests for employment in the Departments of War, the Navy, and the Treasury. The letters are arranged alphabetically by the surname of the applicant or the person recommended.

An uncataloged guide, Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of James Madison, 1809-1817, is in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains an alphabetical list of applicants and persons recommended.

FILM 6:2 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of James Monroe, 1817-1825.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 439; v. National Archives record group 59.
19 reel(s)

The letters concern requests for employment in every type of federal office. A considerable number of applicants ask for consular appointments abroad. The recommendations come from members of both the executive and legislative branches of government and from the President's personal and political associates. The letters are arranged in alphabetical order by the surname of the applicant or the person recommended.

An uncataloged guide, Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of James Monroe, 1817-1825, is in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains an alphabetical list of applicants and persons recommended.

FILM 6:2 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of John Adams, 1797-1801.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 406; v. National Archives record group 59.
3 reel(s)

Most of the letters concern appointments to offices within the jurisdiction of the Department of State. Some of the requests also ask for employment in the Departments of War and the Treasury. A few letters deal with other subjects such as dismissals of federal employees. The letters are arranged alphabetically by the surname of the applicant or the person recommended.

An uncataloged guide, Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of John Adams, 1797-1801, is in the Special Collections office. The guide contains a list of applicants and persons recommended.

FILM 5:11 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 531; v. National Archives record group 59.
8 reel(s)

The letters contain requests or recommendations for employment in federal offices, mostly in the Department of State but also in the Departments of the Navy, War, and the Treasury. Many of the applications were forwarded by the government figures to whom they had been originally directed. Most applications come from the Northeastern part of the United States. The letters are arranged in alphabetical order by the surname of the applicant or the person recommended.

An uncataloged guide, Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829, is in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a list of applicants and persons recommended.

FILM 6:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 418; v. National Archives record group 59.
12 reel(s)

The letters contain requests or recommendations for appointment to every type of federal office. The recommendations come from government officials, members of the Congress, and from personal and political friends of Thomas Jefferson. The letters are arranged in alphabetical order by the surname of the applicant or the person recommended.

An uncataloged guide, Letters of Application and Recommendation During the Administration of Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809, is in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a list of applicants and persons recommended.

FILM 5:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Miscellaneous Letters of the Department of State, 1789-1829.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. 179; v. National Archives record group 59.
67 reel(s)

This is part of the collection of the miscellaneous letters of the Department of State covering the period from 1789 to 1829. The collection includes letters received by the Department of State from sources other than American and foreign diplomatic and consular agents. The letters cover both domestic and international affairs. The subjects of the letters include information about the interpretation of the foreign treaties, customs and laws, complaints from American citizens about their treatment abroad, communications from governors, secretaries of state and other officials, diplomatic immunities, and the rights of aliens in the United States.

An uncataloged guide, Miscellaneous Letters of the Department of State, 1989-1906, is in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a short description of the collection and gives inclusive dates for the material included on each reel. On the first reel two "calendars" provide an index to the letters from 1789 to 1825. The calendars list all the letters by the name of the writer, give the date of the letter and an abstract of its contents. Ellis Library has reels 1-68 of the National Archives collection that covers the years from 1789 to 1906.

FILM 1:12-13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Argentine Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1811-1838.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 47; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The collection includes the first communications sent to the United States government by the newly independent Argentine Republic. The notes illustrate early attempts of the Argentine government to win diplomatic recognition from the United States and to obtain financial and military assistance. From the 1820s onwards an increasing proportion of the correspondence deals with internal upheavals as well as with Argentinean conflicts with its neighbors. The notes also touch upon the question of American interference in the internal affairs of Argentina.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 56, gives the inclusive dates of each of the collections. Ellis Library only has the first reel of the collection that covers the period 1811-1906.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Brazilian Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1824-1829.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 49; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

This collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Brazilian legation in the United States between 1824 and 1906 and the full content of notes received between April 5, 1824 and September 3, 1829. The dispatches concern a wide variety of subjects such as the recognition of Brazilian independence, the establishment of diplomatic relations between the United States and Brazil, appointments of diplomatic representatives, proposals for commercial treaties and military alliances, relations with third countries, conflicts between Brazil and Argentina, slavery, and piracy.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel. There is a short introductory note and a register at the beginning of the reel. Ellis Library only has reel one of this collection that covers the period 1824-1906.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Chilean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1811-1853.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 73; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The notes reflect the efforts of the newly-independent Chile to establish diplomatic relations with the United States and to gain an official recognition of its independent status. The collection includes several letters from the leader of the Chilean struggle for independence, Bernardo O'Higgins, asking the government of the United States for material assistance to the independence movement and for a diplomatic support against Spain. From the 1820's onwards, the correspondence deals increasingly with routine diplomatic matters (such as appointments of consular officers) and with the questions of trade (customs and tariffs).

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel on the collection which covers the period 1811-1966. Ellis Library only has reel 1.

FILM 1:8 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Colombian Legations in the United States to the Department of State, 1810-1834.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 51; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
2 reel(s)

The collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Colombian legation in the United States between 1820 and 1853. It also contains letters and dispatches transmitted to the Department of State by the representatives of Colombia and Venezuela between 1810 and 1834. The letters concern the declaration of independence and the war of national liberation of Colombia and Venezuela (which between 1821 and 1829 together formed the federation of Gran Colombia). They reflect the attempts of both republics to establish diplomatic relations with the United States. Included in the collection are letters of the hero of the Colombian and Venezuelan liberation struggle, Simon Bolivar.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel in this collection. There is a description of the collection at the beginning of the first reel. Ellis Library only has reels 1-2 of this eleven reel collection which covers the period 1810-1906.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the U.S., 1793-1834.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 38; v. National Archives record group 59.
5 reel(s)

Most of the material in this collection covers the period from 1811 to 1834. The secretaries of state who signed most of the notes include Thomas Jefferson, Timothy Pickering, James Madison, Robert Smith, James Monroe, Richard Rush, John Quincy Adams, Henry Clay, James Hamilton, Martin Van Buren, Edward Livingston, and Lewis McLane. The topics covered include the War of 1812, the acquisition of Florida, boundary settlements with Great Britain, Latin American independence, and the Monroe Doctrine. Also covered are various trade issues between the United States and specific countries.

An uncataloged guide, Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the United States, 1793-1834, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection and a list of related documents. Each volume has an index at the beginning.

FILM 1:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Legations of the German States and Germany in the United States to the Department of State, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 58; v. National Archives record group 59.
35 reel(s)

This collection includes such topics as the settlement in Europe after Napoleon's exile, the Congress system that developed after the Congress of Vienna, the process of German unification under Bismarck, the Prussian wars with Austria, Denmark and France, the spread of European imperialism, and the development of the European alliance system.

An uncataloged guide to the first reel is available in the Special Collections Office. There is no guide to the collection in general nor to the other reels in particular. The material is arranged chronologically.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Mexican Legations in the United States to the Department of State, 1815-1831.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 54; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The material in this collection covers relations between the United States and Mexico from 1816 to 1831. During this period, Mexicans achieved independence from Spain and Iturbide became the short-lived Emperor of Mexico as Augustin I. Vicente Guerrero became the first President of the new Mexican Republic. Conflict over the United States-Mexico boundary, especially concerning Texas, was a constant theme for diplomatic discussions between the two countries. Mexicans were also concerned about the increasing volume of immigration from the United States into eastern Texas. Many of the documents are in Spanish, but usually are accompanied by English translations.

An uncataloged guide, Notes from the Mexican Legation in the United States to the Department of State, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the material, a list of Mexican representatives to the United States, the dates of their correspondence, and a list of related works. Ellis Library only has reel one of this 39 reel collection which covers the period 1815-1906.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.