Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

United States. Adjutant General’s Office. General Index to Compiled Military Service Records of Revolutionary War Soldiers.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 515; v. National Archives record group 93. 
58 reel(s)

Arranged by surname, the index gives the name and unit of a soldier or civilian and sometimes his rank, profession, or office. The index may refer to more than one jacket or envelope if a soldier served in more than one unit. Besides soldiers, the entries include sailors, members of army staff departments, and civilian employees, such as teamsters, laundresses, carpenters, and cooks. The compiled service records to which this index refers is reproduced in the collection, Compiled Service Records of Soldiers Who Served in the American Army During the Revolutionary War, (National Archives M 881), which is not presently owned by Ellis Library.

The National Archives catalog, Microform Resources for Research now lists this collection as Microcopy no. M 860

FILM 9:5-6 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.

United States. Adjutant General’s Office. Index to Compiled Military Service Records of Revolutionary War Naval Personnel.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 516. 
1 reel(s)

There are approximately 1,000 cards that have been filmed for this collection, each giving the name of a sailor or civilian employee. Rank of profession is sometimes given, typically as seaman, surgeon, lieutenant, pilot, quartermaster, carpenter, or midshipman. Cross references refer to the correct envelope for variant spellings. The names in this index are duplicated in the general index, General Index to Compiled Military Service of Revolutionary War Soldiers (National Archives T 515, renumbered M 860).

The National Archives catalog, Microform Resources for Research now lists this collection as Microcopy no. M 879

FILM 9:6 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.

United States. Adjutant General’s Office. Index to Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Soldiers Who Served During the Revolutionary War in Organizations from the State of North Carolina.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 257; v. National Archives record group 93
2 reel(s)

This collection contains an index card for each individual for whom there are records of service as a volunteer in the Revolutionary War. The cards are arranged alphabetically by name. The introductory pamphlet explains how to locate additional information for any particular individual in the card index.

An uncataloged pamphlet describing the collection is available in the Special Collections Office. At the beginning of the first reel there is reprint of the introductory pamphlet.

FILM 3:1 - Request access

United States. Adjutant General’s Office. Negro in the Military Service of the United States, 1639-1886.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 823; v. National Archives record group 94.
5 reel(s)

Between 1885 and 1888 the United States Adjutant General's Office compiled federal documents relating to military service of blacks from miscellaneous sources such as secondary works, colonial records, and state legislative records. The largest portion of the material focuses on blacks during the Civil War. Fugitive slaves, black laborers, the Confederate use of blacks, the changing legal status of blacks, and black military service are covered. Blacks served in the Georgia, Louisiana, North and South Carolina militias before the Civil War. Often they were laborers, but sometimes they served as fighting men. They also served in the American Revolutionary Army and in other wars.

There is a description of the contents at the beginning of each reel.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

United States. Atomic Energy Commission. High Flux Isotope Reactor Preliminary Design Study.

Oak Ridge, TN: Oak Ridge National Lab, 1959 
1 reel(s)

The Oak Ridge National Lab was operated by Union Carbide Corporation for the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Chapters in this study include “Description of Facility,” “Required Research and Development,” and “Construction Schedule and Cost Estimate.” Also contains graphs, charts, tables, and diagrams.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Table of contents at the beginning, appendix and bibliography on flux-trap reactors at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Minutes of the Federal Open Market Committee, 1936-1960, and of its Executive Committee, 1936-1955.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 591; v. National Archives record group 82
15 reel(s)

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System determines the monetary, credit, and operating policies of the institution with an eye to managing the growth rate of the national economy. Members of the Board of Governors also sit on the Federal Open Market Committee along with representatives of the Reserve Banks. This committee carries out open market operations with the purchase and sale of securities to provide reserves for the credit and money necessary for long term economic growth. This collection contains the minutes of the Open Market Committee from 1936 to 1960 and of the Executive Committee from 1936 to 1955.

An uncataloged guide, Minutes of the Federal Open Market Committee, 1936-60, and of its Executive Committee, 1936-55, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 7:4-5 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1956 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 234; v. National Archives records group 75
962 reel(s)

This collection contains most of the correspondence received by the Office of Indian Affairs from its inception in 1824. The Bureau was organized on a system of superintendencies and agencies, with superintendents presiding over a geographical region while agents bore responsibility for particular tribes. The guide provides essential information on the Bureau, how the material in the collection is organized, and what parts of the correspondence are located in other collections.

Uncataloged guides, Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 and Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-80, are in the Special Collections Office. These guides contain background on the collection and the Office of Indian Affairs, a tribal index to the material, a jurisdictional index to the material, and a list of contents for each reel. The guide Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 1:13-2:11 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Report Book of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1838-1885.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 348; v. National Archives record group 75
53 reel(s)

This collection contains the correspondence from the commissioner of Indian affairs to the secretary of war and occasionally to the president. These "reports" may range from extended narratives to short letters. The guide provides essential information for deciphering the contents as well as explaining the record system of the Office of Indian Affairs. Some report books provide an index of the individuals mentioned. Also, each reel contains notes at the beginning giving information about that particular portion of the collection.

An uncataloged guide, Report Books of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1838-1885, is located in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains background on the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the report books, and also a list of contents for each reel in the collection. The guide is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 5:2-3 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1882.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 21; v. National Archives record group 75
166 reel(s)

This collection of correspondence from the commissioner of Indian affairs includes instructions to superintendents, agents and other field officials of the Bureau, reports to the secretary of war, and other communications covering all aspects of Bureau operations. Before 1869, the letters were recorded chronologically. After 1869, the letters were recorded chronologically but under broad topics (land settlement, finance, accounts, and miscellaneous). Most of the volumes are indexed by the name of the addressee of a particular letter. The guide provides essential information about the contents of the letterbooks.

An uncataloged guide, Letters Sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background on the Office of Indian Affairs and this collection of outgoing correspondence, a description of related records in microfilm, and a list of contents on each reel. The guide is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 1:2 -3 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 752; v. National Archives record group 105
74 reel(s)

The Bureau was established by the War Department through an act of Congress approved on March 3, 1865, and assumed responsibilities previously shared by military commanders and agents of the Treasury Department. Besides disposing of abandoned and confiscated lands, staff of the Bureau issued rations, clothing, and medicine to refugees and freedmen. They established hospitals, dispensaries, and supervised housing or camps for the homeless. They cooperated with others to establish schools, employment offices, and relief stations. They supervised the writing of labor contracts and the terms of indenture, registered marriages, helped black soldiers file and collect claims for pensions and pay, and generally tried to improve the lives of the freedmen.

An uncataloged guide, Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 8:10-11 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Selected Records of the Tennessee Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land, 1865-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 142; v. National Archives record group 105
73 reel(s)

The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land was in charge of helping freedmen and refugees find food, shelter, clothing, and medical care. It also distributed abandoned lands following the Civil War. Types of records include letters and telegrams sent by the commissioner, letters sent by other government officials to the Bureau, claims entered by freedmen, letters relating to seized land and property, monthly reports by teachers, and labor contracts.

An uncataloged guide, Selected Records of the Tennessee Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land, 1865-1872, located in the Special Collections Office, indicates the contents of each reel.

FILM 8:14-9:1 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Agricultural and Manufacturing Census Records, Alabama.

Chapel Hill. N.C.: University of North Carolina, 1963 
29 reel(s)

The agricultural census for Alabama (1850-1880) enumerates agricultural products, livestock, produce, and the value of individual farms. The manufacturing census gives numbers of workers, production, and value of products. The census is organized by geographical area. This census and other agricultural and manufacturing censuses are also filmed in the collection United States Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970 described in this guide.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:5-6 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Agricultural and Manufacturing Census Records, Georgia.

Chapel Hill. N.C.: University of North Carolina, 1962 
21 reel(s)

The agricultural census covers the years 1850-1880 and the manufacturing census covers 1880. The agricultural census enumerates agricultural products, livestock, produce, farm value, and other such items. The manufacturing census gives numbers of workers, production, and the value of products. The census organizes this data by geographical area. This census and other agricultural and manufacturing censuses are also filmed in the collection United States Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970 described in this guide.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:5 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Agriculture and Manufacturing Census Records, Louisiana.

Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University, 1969 
10 reel(s)

The agricultural census covers the years 1850-1880 and the manufacturing census covers 1880. The agricultural census enumerates agricultural products, livestock, produce, farm value, and other such items. The manufacturing census gives numbers of employees, production, and the value of products. The census organizes this data by geographical area within the state. This census and other agricultural and manufacturing censuses are also filmed in the collection United States Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970 described in this guide.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:4-5 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Federal Nonpopulation Census Schedules in the Custody of the Pennsylvania State Library, 1850-1880.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 597; v. National Archives Record Group 40.
23 reel(s)

This collection contains a wide variety of information about the counties of Pennsylvania from census data in the years 1850-1880. Included is such information as total value of real estate and personal estate, wages, taxes paid, lists of educational and religious institutions, libraries, newspapers and periodicals, and lists of those individuals who are considered "defective, dependent or delinquent".

FILM 7:5 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Agricultural and Manufacturing Census Records, Mississippi.

Chapel Hill. N.C.: University of North Carolina, 1963 
18 reel(s)

Census records cover the period 1850-1880. The agricultural census enumerates agricultural products, livestock, produce, farm value, and other such items. The manufacturing census gives numbers of workers, production, and the value of products. The census organizes data by different geographical areas. This census and other agricultural and manufacturing censuses are also filmed in the collection United States Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970 described in this guide.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:5 - Request access

United States. Bureau of the Census. Records of the 1820 Census of Manufactures.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 279; v. National Archives record group 75.
27 reel(s)

Congress mandated a detailed census of manufactures to better legislate for the economic development of the county. In 1820, Secretary of State John Quincy Adams ordered marshals throughout the nation to enumerate all "non-household" manufactures within their districts. This collection contains the census statistics for each state arranged by county. At the beginning of each state section appears an index of manufacturers as well as an index to the types of industry for that state. The guide is invaluable in describing the specific contents of the collection and the processes by which the material was gathered. Record 411 in this guide describes Ellis Library's full collection of census data, United States Decennial Census Publications, 1790-1970.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the 1820 Census of Manufactures, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the 1820 Census of Manufactures, background of this census, a list of manufacturing schedules contained in the 1810 census records, a revised list of industries, classes of goods and products, and a list of contents for each reel of this collection. The introductory pamphlet is reprinted at the beginning of the first reel.

FILM 3:5 - Request access