Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Salon (Exhibition: Paris, France. Catalogues of the Paris Salon 1673-1880 (Titles Vary).

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwick Healey,
262 fiche

A list of the contents is available in the Special Collections office.

MICF 2742

Salpointe, Jean Baptist. Brief Sketch of the Mission of San Xavier Del Bac, with a Description of its Church.

Tucson: Arizona Star Job Printing Office, 1880 
1 reel(s)

Salpointe (1825-1898) was a Roman Catholic archbishop who was sent to the Arizona territory in 1866 and became the First Vicar Apostolic of Arizona in 1868. He was promoted to archbishop in 1884. The Mission of San Xavier del Bac, located in the Santa Cruz valley nine miles south of Tucson, was established near the end of the 17th century by Jesuit missionaries for the Papago (Tohono O'Odham) Indians. This book gives its history and a detailed description of its church.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX

FILM MISC - Request access

Samber, Robert. Treatise on the Plague.

London: 1721 
1 reel(s)

This short book gives instructions for preventing the plague with regards to apparel and lodging, diet, and antidotes or preservatives. It also contains recipes for medicines to treat distemper and the plague.

Cover states that the author is Eugenius Philalethes. This is a pen name for Robert Samber.

FILM MISC - Request access

Sanborn Map Company. Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Missouri.

Jefferson City, MO: State Archives, 1982 
10447 fiche

This collection includes fire insurance maps for most of Missouri`s towns from the 1880s to the late 1920s. The fire insurance maps contain a wealth of information about the history of urban development. As the maps were drawn to help fire insurance agents, they show the size, shape, and construction of dwellings, commercial buildings, and factories, with such details as fire walls, location of windows and doors, sprinkler systems, and types of roofs indicated. The maps also record widths and names of streets, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps were filmed from originals in the map collection of Ellis Library.

There is an uncataloged list of maps included in the collection in the Special Collections Office. Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division. REF Z6026 .I7U54 1981 Fire Insurance maps in the Library of Congress provides background information.
LOCATED IN ROOM 303

MICF 368.10

Santa Cruz, California. Regional Oral History Project : Economic, Social and Cultural-Central California Coastal Area.

Santa Cruz, CA: University of California, 1974 
2 reel(s)

Contains interviews conducted from 1964-1973 on subjects such as “Santa Cruz County Lumbering”; “Santa Cruz in the Early 1900’s”; “Life on Mount Hamilton, 1899-1913”; “Santa Cruz and the Cowell Ranch, 1890-1964”; “The Pajaro Valley Apple Industry, 1890-1930”; “The Lick Observatory”; “Blacksmithing Life in Santa Cruz, 1890-1930”; and more. A table of contents and indexes to all interviews are located at the start of reel 1, and each transcript contains its respective index at its end.

Typescripts of interviews conducted by Elizabeth Spedding Calciano.

FILM

Sargent, Winthrop, 1753-1820. Winthrop Sargent Papers.

Boston, Mass.: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1965 
7 reel(s)

Winthrop Sargent of Massachusetts served in the Revolutionary Army, helped found the Ohio Company, and participated in General St. Clair's disastrous expedition against the Indians in 1791. He later served as Governor of the Mississippi Territory. His personal interests ranged from meteorology and geology, to botany, horticulture, and archaeology. His papers include a biography of his life by Benjamin Harrison Pershing, diaries and orderly books of the St. Clair expedition, correspondence of Sargent's survey trips to Ohio and the formation of the Ohio Company, correspondence (1789-1801) covering his activities as secretary of the Northwest Territory and administrator of the Mississippi Territory, his return to Philadelphia and Boston, and his later retirement in Natchez. Principal correspondents include Gilbert and John Aspinwall, Manassah Cutler, Samuel Hodgdon, Richard Platt, and James Wilkinson.

An uncataloged guide, Allis, Frederick S. Jr. (ed.). Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Winthrop Sargent Papers is available in the Special Collections Office.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Saumarez Papers: Material Relating to South Carolina Deriving from the Middleton Family in the Ipswich and East Suffolk Record Office.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: E. P. Microfilm, 1974
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

These are the papers of the Middleton family of British descent. Edward Middleton bought property in Barbados and South Carolina. His son, Arthur, inherited large estates in England, South Carolina, and Barbados. Like his father, he became active in public affairs. He served in the provincial government and was acting governor of South Carolina from 1725 to 1730. Despite the political and social prominence of the Middletons, the papers are almost completely concerned with the Middleton business and estate affairs. They have relatively little to say about the events and questions of the period. Occasionally they allude to political and social concerns.

An uncataloged guide, The Saumarez Papers: Material Relating to South Carolina Deriving from the Middleton Family in the Ipswich and East Suffolk Record Office, is located in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The Saumarez papers : material relating to South Carolina deriving from the Middleton family, 1725-1860 PDF

An uncataloged guide, The Saumarez Papers: Material Relating to South Carolina Deriving from the Middleton Family in the Ipswich and East Suffolk Record Office, is also located in the Special Collections Office.

Saviolo, Vincentio. Vincentio Saviolo His Practice.: In Two Bookes. The First Intreating of the Use of the Rapier and Dagger. The Second, of Honor and Honorable Quarrels.

London: John Wolfe, 1595 
1 reel(s)

Saviolo ran a fencing school in England. These books, written in Middle English, deal with weapons, dueling, fencing, and honor. The second book is mostly a translation of Girolamo Muzio's "Il Duello."

Available online.

Schaeffer, Luther Melanchthon. Sketches of Travels in South America, Mexico and California.

New York: James Egbert, 1860 
1 reel(s)

Schaeffer was a miner who kept a record of his three-year journey to and from California by way of South America and Mexico. He sailed from New York in March 1849 on the ship Flavius and stopped in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and Valparaiso, Chile, before reaching San Francisco in September. He worked a number of mines around middle and northern California and sailed for the tropics several more times before arriving back in New York in June of 1852.

FILM MISC - Request access

Schaffer, Franz X. Geological History and Structure of the Vicinity of Vienna.

Leipzig und Wein: Frans Deuticke, 1927 
1 reel(s)

Schaffer was the director of the geological-paleontological [sic] section of the Museum of Natural History. This work covers the geology, flora, and fauna of the Vienna Basin in Austria.

This is a translation of the original German by Philip H. Davis, 1940. It does not contain any of the illustrations or maps of the original.

FILM MISC - Request access

Schnebbelie, Jacob. The Antiquaries Museum : Illustrating the Antient Architecture, Painting, and Sculpture of Great Britain, from the Time of the Saxons to the Introduction of Grecian and Roman Architecture by Inigo Jones in the Reign of King James I.

London : J. Nichols for the Author, 1791

FILM BOOK 0481

Schomburg Center Clipping File, 1925-1974.

New York: NCR for the New York Public Library, 1975 
9673 fiche

This collection reproduces the clipping file in the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. The Schomburg Center is one of the most important centers in the world for the study of black life and history. The comprehensive, international collection covers black activity wherever peoples of African descent have lived. Writings by authors of African descent are collected, regardless of the subject matter or language. The basis of the collection was the private library of Arthur Alfonso Schomburg (1874-1938), a Puerto Rican of African descent, who amassed one of the largest collections devoted to the Negro. The clippings file represent 80 drawers of vertical file materials. Included are clippings, magazine articles, programs, and broadsides. The materials are classified in detail by biographical, geographical, and subject headings. Information can be found on such people as Tom Mboya, Sekou Toure, Abdel Nasser, Nkrumah, and Azikiwe. Geographical emphasis includes Ghana, Nigeria, Togoland (now part of Ghana and the Republic of Togo), and the Mali Federation. Other subjects include civil rights, education, housing, slavery, and theater.

MICF 1686

Guides:

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Index to the Schomburg clipping file.

‘The Schomburg Clipping File Index provides subject access.

Schubarth, Karl Ernst. Letter of Schubarth to Goethe.

1820 
1 reel(s)

Schubarth (1796-1861) wrote this long, handwritten letter in German on Oct. 17-18, 1820, to his fellow philosopher. Includes a “Beilage” at the end dated Oct. 20, 1820, entitled “Uberblick der Motive der Zueignung und des Vorspiels in Faust.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Schwann Long-Playing Record Catalogs

New York: W. Schwann Inc., 
19 reel(s)

v. 1-21, 1949-1969

FILM 4D21:11:4 - Request access

Seabury, Samuel. Congress Canvassed: Or, an Examination into the Conduct of the Delegates, at Their Grand Convention, Held in Philadelphia, Sept. 1, 1774.

New York: James Rivington, 1774

Seabury (1729-1796) was an Episcopalian minister who later became the first bishop of the Episcopal Church in America. He was an opponent of American independence during the Revolution and wrote a series of pamphlets attacking those in favor of freedom from England. This pamphlet is “a brilliant attack on the first Continental Congress, showing the illogic of the arguments that the king and his ministers are evil and the Parliament good, and correctly predicting that the Parliament would eventually back the king and that war would result. Alexander Hamilton's first work, A Full Vindication of the Measures of Congress, &c., written while he was only seventeen years of age, was published in response to Seabury’s first pamphlet, ‘Free Thoughts . . .,’ and indeed Seabury notes in a postscript that he is ‘neither frightened nor disconcerted by it.’ Seabury was perhaps the pre-eminent exponent of Tory thought in America at the time, and the political exchanges between Seabury and Hamilton were some of the most contentious of the Revolutionary era.” (From Resource Books, LLC)

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: “Signed A.W. Farmer,” this work is sometimes erroneously attributed to Isaac Wilkins. Addressed to the merchants of New York. "Postscript" on page 28 dated Dec. 16, 1774, in response to Alexander Hamilton's “Full Vindication of the Measures of the Congress.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Seabury, Samuel. View of the Controversy, Etc., in a Letter to the Author of a Full Vindication, Etc.

New York: James Rivington, 1774 
1 reel(s)

This was Seabury’s third pamphlet in a vitriolic exchange with Alexander Hamilton. In 1774, Hamilton had published A Full Vindication of the Measures of Congress, &c., prompting this Loyalist response by Seabury. The following year Hamilton responded in The Farmer Refuted: Or, a More Impartial and Comprehensive View of the Dispute Between Great-Britain and the Colonies. The printer, James Rivington, had his press seized by Capt. Isaac Sears after publishing Hamilton’s rejoinder.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title in its entirety reads “A view of the controversy between Great-Britain and her colonies: Including a mode of determining their present disputes, finally and effecually [sic]; and of preventing all future contentions: In a letter, to the author of A full vindication of the measures of the Congress, from the calumnies of their enemies.” Signed “A.W. Farmer,” this work is sometimes erroneously attributed to Isaac Wilkins.

FILM MISC - Request access

Seabury, Samuel. Free Thoughts, on the Proceedings of the Continental Congress, Held at Philadelphia, Sept. 5, 1774.

 

New York: James Rivington, 1774 
1 reel(s)

This was Seabury’s first pamphlet of four attacking the Continental Congress and the proponents of American independence. Alexander Hamilton's first work, A Full Vindication of the Measures of Congress, &c., written while he was only seventeen years of age, was published in response to this pamphlet.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “Wherein their errors are exhibited, their reasonings confuted, and the fatal tendency of their non-importation, non-exportation, and non-consumption measures, are laid open to the plainest understandings; and the only means pointed out for preserving and securing our present happy constitution: In a letter to the farmers, and other inhabitants of North America in general, and to those of the province of New-York in particular.” Signed “A.W. Farmer,” this work is sometimes erroneously attributed to Isaac Wilkins.

FILM MISC - Request access

Segar, William, Sir. Booke of Honor and Armes

London: T. Orwin, 1590 
1 reel(s)

Segar (d. 1633) was Norroy King of Arms (1597-1604) and Garter King of Arms (1607-33). This work contains five books on dueling, medieval tournaments, knights, and knighthood. There are also illustrations of knighthood symbols and coats of arms.

Microfilmed by Yale University, New Haven, CT

FILM MISC - Request access

Segar, William, Sir. Honor Military, and Civill, Contained in Foure Bookes.

London: Robert Barker, 1602 
1 reel(s)

Segar (d. 1633) was Norroy King of Arms (1597-1604) and Garter King of Arms (1607-33). The four books are: “1. Justice and Jurisdiction Military. 2. Knighthood in generall [sic], and particular. 3. Combats for life, and Triumph. 4. Precedencie [sic] of great Estates, and others.” Written in Middle English, they deal with medieval sports tournaments, knights and knighthood, titles of honor and nobility, and precedence.

At the end of microfilm reel of Saviolo, Vincentio. (Microfilmed by the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, CA.)

FILM MISC - Request access

Selden, John. Duello; or, Single Combat

London: G.E., 1610 
1 reel(s)

Selden (1584-1654) was an English scholar and jurist who served in Parliament. He was also a legal antiquary, and this work discusses the history of trial by duel in England from the Norman Conquest (1066).

Microfilmed by the University of Chicago

FILM MISC - Request access

Senhouse, Joseph Sir. Senhouse Papers, 1762-1831, from the Cumbria County Council Archives Department.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: E. P. Microfilm, 1977
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

William Senhouse served as Surveyor General of the Customs of Barbados and the Windward and Leeward Islands from 1770 to 1787. He also purchased and developed a sugar plantation on Barbados. His brother, Sir Joseph, served briefly as customs collector on Dominica from 1771 intermittently until he returned to England in 1779. This collection of the Joseph Senhouse papers contains memoirs, observations, letterbooks, memorandum books, plantation estimates, a marriage settlement, a map, leases, and numerous waste books and account books. One item contains the recollections of William Senhouse. All other items belong to Joseph.

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

Material relating to the West Indies from the Senhouse papers, 1762-1831 PDF

An uncataloged guide is also available in the Special Collections Office. It contains information on the provenance of the papers, biographical information on William Senhouse and his brother, Sir Joseph, a description of the material in the collection and a table of contents for each reel.

Serle, Ambrose. Americans Against Liberty, or an Essay on the Nature and Principles of True Freedom.

London: 1775 
1 reel(s)

Serle (1742–1812) was a British civil servant and secretary to Lord Howe from 1776 to 1778. Commissioner in the British government Transport Office, and hymnist. This work is critical of America’s continued use of slaves and its desire for independence from Britain.

Title continues “Shewing [sic] that the designs and conduct of the Americans tend only to tyranny and slavery.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Seventh-Day Adventists. General Conference. Bulletin, 1887-1899.

Dallas, TX: Microfilm Center, 
American Church Records. Series 2.
4 reel(s)

Reel 2 contains the daily bulletins of the annual general conferences for 1887 to 1899. Reel 3 contains daily bulletins of quarterly general conferences. The records on this reel are not in strict chronological order. Reel 4 contains general conference bulletins for 1909 to 1922 followed by the weekly Seventh Day Adventist Newspaper The Advent Review and Sabbath Herald for 1905 to 1936. Reel 5 contains The Advent Review for 1941 to 1966 followed by the numbers for 1864 to 1886. The records include reports from missionaries abroad, information on canvassing, denominational medicine and schools, and reports on the effect of World War II on the efforts of the Seventh Day Adventist Church in Europe.

These records are contained on reels 2-5 of the seventeen-reel series which begins with the Seventh Day Adventist General Conference Statistical Report.

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Seventh-Day Adventists. General Conference. Statistical Report.

Dallas, TX: Microfilm Center, 
American Church Records. Series 2.
1 reel(s)

This collection contains the annual statistical reports of the Seventh-Day Adventist Church for the period from 1967 to 1968. Some of the records are reproductions from the General Conference Bulletin and the Advent Review and Sabbath Herald. A few are copies from Seventh-Day Adventist yearbooks. The records contain statistical information about contributions, membership, churches, and ministers by conference and mission. There are also reports on the status of missions, sanitariums, and schools. The reports indicate the many countries in which the church operated during the period and the numerous languages of its publications.

This is reel 1 of a seventeen reel series concerning the Seventh-Day Adventists church. The records are in chronological order.

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Seventh-Day Adventists. Yearbook of the Seventh-Day Adventist Denomination, 1883-1967.

Dallas, TX: Microfilm Center, 
American Church Records. Series 2.
12 reel(s)

This collection contains the yearbooks of the Seventh Day Adventist Church for 1883-1969 preceded by the report of the General Conference for 1882. The yearbook was suspended between 1895 and 1903 but publication resumed in 1904. The yearbooks contain general conference proceedings, names of ministers, lay workers, officers, composition of committees and boards, and statistics. The collection includes information on denominational medicine and education, temperance, and summaries of missionary work in Africa, Asia, Europe, Australia, and North America.

These records are contained on reels 6-17 of the seventeen reel series which begins with the Seventh Day Adventist General Conference statistical report.

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Seymour, Silas. Incidents of a Trip Through the Great Platte Valley, to the Rocky Mountains and Laramie Plains, in the Fall of 1866.

New York: D. Van Nostrand, 1867 
1 reel(s)

Seymour (1817-1890), consulting engineer for the railroad, took this professional trip September through November of 1866 with Hon. Jesse L. Williams, government director, and Gen. G.M. Dodge, chief engineer for the Union Pacific Railroad. This work contains diary-style entries, letters, speeches, etc. It culminates with the celebration of the completion of the railroad to the 100th meridian of longitude.

Title continues “with a synoptical [sic] statement of the various Pacific railroads, and an account of the great Union Pacific railroad excursion to the one hundredth [sic] meridian of longitude.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Sharp, Granville. Circular Letter to the Several Petitioning Counties, Cities and Towns, Addressed to Their Respective General Meetings, Against the Late Proposition for a Triennial Election of Representatives.

London?: 1780 
1 reel(s)

Sharp (1735-1813) was an English scholar, philanthropist, and advocate for the abolition of slavery. He also sympathized with the American colonists’ revolt against British rule. This work is about Parliamentary reform in Great Britain.

at the end of microfilm reel of Sharp’s “A Defence [sic] of the Ancient . . .” (Microfilmed by the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, CA.)
Note: Second edition.

FILM MISC - Request access

Sharp, Granville. Defence of the Ancient, Legal, and Constitutional, Right of the People, to Elect Representatives for Every Session of Parliament.

London: Galabin and Baker, 1780 
1 reel(s)

Sharp (1735-1813) was an English scholar, philanthropist, and advocate for the abolition of slavery. He also sympathized with the American colonists’ revolt against British rule. This work is about representation in the British government, writs, Parliament, and constitutional law.

Second edition. Title continues “viz. not only ‘every year once,’ but also ‘more often if need be:’ As expressly required in the old statute, and confirmed by the general usage of ancient times, demonstrated by the evidence of the original writs for election: in a letter to a member of the Surry Committee.” Sharp’s “A circular letter to the several petitioning counties, cities and towns, addressed to their respective general meetings, against the late proposition for a triennial election of representatives” is at the end of this reel.
Microfilmed by the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, CA

FILM MISC - Request access

Sharp, Granville. Legal Means of Political Reformation: Proposed in Two Small Tracts, Viz., the First on “Equitable Representation” and the Legal Means of Obtaining it. The Second on “Annual Parliments, the Ancient and Most Salutary Right of the People”.

London: 1780 
1 reel(s)

Sharp (1735-1813) was an English scholar, philanthropist, and advocate for the abolition of slavery. He also sympathized with the American colonists’ revolt against British rule. This work is about Parliament, writs, constitutional law, and fair representation in the British government.

(Microfilmed by the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, CA.)
Note: Third edition. The two tracts have special title pages: “Equitable representation necessary to the establishment of law, peace and good government, shewn [sic] in some extracts from Mr. Prynne's Brevia Parliamentaria rediviva.” (p. [5]); “Annual parliaments, the ancient and most salutary right of the Commons of Great-Britain, being an extract from Sharpe's Declaration of the people's natural right to a share in the legislature.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Sherman, John. Out with General Crook; or, the Twin Scouts of the Sierra Madres.

New York: Frank Tousey, 1883 
1 reel(s)

This work of juvenile fiction is about the Apache Indian wars and General George Crook. Crook (1828-1890) fought for the Union in the Civil War and later campaigned against the Paiute, Sioux, Lakota, and Apache Indians to force them onto reservations. In his final years, he had a change of heart and spoke out against the unjust treatment of the Native Americans. “The Boys of New York Pocket Library” was a weekly series of adventure tales. This work has a black and white engraving on the cover of Crook fighting Indians and sold for a nickel.

Also contains “A Dark Night’s Work” by John Appleton. No. 50 of “The Boys of New York Pocket Library” series.

FILM MISC - Request access

Sinclair, John, Sir. Letter on Parliamentary Representation: In Which the Propriety of Triennial and Septennial Parliaments is Considered.

London: 1783 
1 reel(s)

Sinclair (1754-1835) was a Scottish member of Parliament and proponent of better representation and improvement of the agricultural business of his home country. This work deals with his attempt to have additional Parliaments.

(Microfilmed by the Henry E. Huntington Library, San Marino, CA.)
Note: Title page is missing.

FILM MISC - Request access

Sloane, Hans, Sir 1660-1753. Papers of Sir Hans Sloane, 1660-1753 from the British Library, London.

London: Adam Matthew Publications, 1991 
Series One of the History of Science and Technology series from the British Library, London
20 reel(s)

Sir Hans Sloane was an Irish physician educated in England and Paris and appointed personal physician to Christopher Monck, 2 nd Duke of Albermarle, newly appointed governor of Jamaica. Sloane took detailed notes of their voyages through Madeira, the Canaries, Barbados, Nevis, Santa Cruz, Puerto Rico, and Hispaniola on their way to Jamaica. He immersed himself in the natural history of the region as well as attending to his duties as a physician, which brought him into contact with a number of travelers and reformed pirates who had settled on the island. After the Duke’s death, Sloane sailed for London in 1689 where he later published Voyage to the Islands of Madeira, Barbados, Neves, St. Christopher’s and Jamaica (London, 1707 and 1725). As a collector, Sloane continued to amass a vast library of original manuscripts by other adventurers relating to travel, voyages of discovery, and the sea. The manuscripts in this collection document voyages and travel to Africa, the Americas, China, India, Japan, the East Indies, the West Indies, Russia, and the South Seas, and attempts to circumnavigate the world and find the quickest trade routes to India and China. There is material about North America concerning Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, the Northwest Territories, New England, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, and Florida. There is an account of the travels of Marco Polo and two accounts of Columbus’ early voyages.

Ellis Library has parts 2 (reels 18-37) and 3 (reels 38-57) of this collection – 191 manuscripts. This is a reproduction of selected papers from the Hans Sloane collection at the British Library. Part 2 is Voyages of Discovery, 1450-1750. Part 3 is Manuscript Records of Voyages of Discovery, 1450-1750. The guide is available online at http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/h.aspx under "History of Science and Technology: Series One."

FILM BOOK 0348

Smart, Christopher. Hymns for the Amusement of Children

London: 1775 
1 reel(s)

Smart (1722-1771) was a poet and reverend who won acclaim for is epic religious poem A Song to David. These 39 Christian hymns expound on various subjects, such as prayer, beauty, truth, faith, silence, long suffering, and good nature to animals, among others. They are dedicated to His Royal Highness Prince Frederick, Bishop of Osnabrug. There are many woodcuts throughout and ads for books at the end.

Third edition. Bodleian Library Douce Adds. 280.

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Gustavus Woodson. Confederate War Papers. Fairfax Court House, New Orleans, Seven Pines, Richmond and North Carolina.

New York: Atlantic Publishing and Engraving Co., 1884
1 reel(s)

Smith (1822-1896) was a major general in the Confederate Army. This work is divided into four parts with multiple chapters in each. Part I: War Policy of the Confederate States Administration. Part II: The Defences [sic] of Louisiana. Part III: Notes of the Battle of Seven Pines or Fair Oaks. Part IV: The Defences [sic] of Richmond and of North Carolina in the Latter Part of 1862 and the Early Months of 1863.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Second edition. Contains three appendices, three maps, and an index at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Henry Bascom. Between the Lines; Secret Service Stories Told Fifty Years Later

New York: Booz Brothers, 1911
1 reel(s)

Bascom (d. 1916) was the chief of detectives and assistant Provost Marshal General with Major General Lew Wallace for the Union in the Civil War. This work consists of 49 files that took place during the war.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Pages 27-30 are missing. Map at the end. Three pictures, one of Smith along with his signature.

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Hezekiah, 1737-1835. [Journals, 1762-1805, Papers, Addresses to the Army, Etc.].

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress for the Southern Baptist Conventions, Historical Commission, 1955 
1 reel(s)

Hezekiah Smith, a Baptist clergyman of Haverhill, Massachusetts, is associated with the founding and development of Rhode Island College, later known as Brown University. He acted as a chaplain from 1775 to 1780 in the Continental Army. His journals, arranged chronologically, record the dates and locations of his sermons and details of troop movements during the Revolutionary War. Also included are General Gate's army orders, a list of army chaplains in 1778, and other manuscript addresses and sermons delivered to the army.

NOT IN MERLIN - Request access

Smith, Hezekiah. Papers of Hezekiah Smith, 1762-1805

1 reel(s)

Smith (1737-1805) was a Baptist minister who served as Chaplain of the American army from 1776 to 1780. He became friends with George Washington and gave encouragement and support to the troops. He later established and supported Brown University. There are 12 sets of papers with a number of letters and an additional address to the Army at the end. No. 1: Oct. 29, 1762-April 19, 1764. No. 2: April 19, 1764-Oct. 4, 1764. No. 3: Oct. 6, 1764-Feb. 10, 1767. No. 4: March 16, 1767-Sept. 30, 1769. No. 5: Oct. 1, 1769-Sept. 25, 1773. No. 6: March 18, 1776-Jan. 1, 1777. No. 7: June 17, 1777-April 6, 1779. No. 8: April 16, 1779-Dec. 12, 1779. No. 9: Dec. 1780-Aug. 1788. No. 10: June 17, 1789-Dec., 1798. No. 10: June 17, 1789-Dec. 1798. No. 11: Jan. 1779-Jan. 15, 1805. Also includes Chaplain Smith's list of Major Generals, Brigadiers, Chaplains, etc. in the American Army, Aug. 17, 1778; a sermon composed to deliver in Gallows Hill previous to the execution of eleven criminals Aug. 17, 1778; Chaplain Smith's sermon to the American Army, Oct. 18, 1778; a sermon composed to deliver at the execution of Josiah Edwards on Gallows Hill; Nov. 12, 1779, not delivered for want of time; Chaplain Smith's address to the American Army on swearing, July 31, 1779; address to the American Army, Oct. 17, 1779; a number of letters and another address to the Army, June 1779.

Manuscript; 1762-1805

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Isaac, of Indiana. Reminiscences of a Campaign In Mexico

Indianapolis: Chapmans & Spann, 1848 
1 reel(s)

Smith was in Company “D” of the 1st Regiment of the Indianapolis Volunteers in the Mexican War. He gives a history of the campaign in order to vindicate the conduct of all the volunteers “who have been assailed by officers in the regular army and newspaper writers.” It was written so after his return from Mexico, in the summer of 1847, and also contains resolutions of the Missouri Legislature, a letter of Lt. Kingsbury, and a brief sketch of the 4th and 5th infantries. He writes that the Indiana volunteers “were the victorious conquerors of Huamantla, Puebla, Atlixco, and Tlascala.”

Second edition. Title continues “an account of the operations of the Indiana brigade on the line of the Rio Grande and Sierra Madre, and a vindication of the volunteers against the aspersions of officials and unofficials.” Table of contents and appendix at end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Jack Ernest. Reading, Listening, and Reading-Listening Comprehensive by Sixth Grade Children.

Snelling, William Joseph. Tales of Travels West of the Mississippi

Boston: Gray and Bowen, 1830 
1 reel(s)

Snelling (1804-1848) was an explorer, trapper, and trader in what is now Minnesota. He returned to his hometown of Boston when he was 24 and compiled what he saw in his western travels into several books. He later became a newspaper journalist, poet, and essayist. He wrote this juvenile work of 41 chapters covering the places he went, the people he met, and the things that happened to them. Its subjects include Lewis and Clark, many Native American tribes (Dahcotahs, Kickapoos, Shoshonees, Chopunnish, Sokulks, Echeloots, Pishquitpaws, Chilluckittequaws, Shilloots, Wahkiacums, Ootlashoots, Missouri, Willetpos, and many more), animals encountered, Major Stephen H. Long’s travels up the Missouri River, John R. Jewitt’s background and travels, etc.

Author listed as Solomon Bell, which is a pen name for Snelling. Subtitle: “Lewis and Clark’s Travels; Long’s Expedition; Jewitt’s Narrative.” Map at the beginning and many engravings throughout.

FILM MISC - Request access

Social and Political Status of Women in Britain. Radical and Reforming Periodicals for and by Women, 1870-1928.

Brighton, Sussex, England: Harvester Press Microform Publications, 1983 
17 reel(s)

Eighteen journals chronicling the women's emancipation movement in England represent the period of greatest feminist activity, 1870 to 1928. Topics covered include the suffrage question, the position of women at work and in the home, education, temperance, social reform, birth control, and the role played by the churches as organizing bases for women's activities. A number of titles are devoted largely to single issues such as suffrage. Others provide an overall picture of women's issues.

A listing of contents for the entire series appears at the beginning of each reel.

FILM BOOK 0106

Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (Great Britain) the SPG and the United States of America.

1 reel(s)

This small collection comprises two volumes (CLS/127 & CLS/128), with indices, of copies of the most important US-related correspondence; both received [i.e. those read before the Society] and sent. These reveal the on-going, albeit much reduced, extent of the SPG’s activities in the United States during the latter half of the nineteenth, and into the early twentieth century, covering the periods from March 1851 to March 1916 and from April 1916 to July 1928 respectively. They are accompanied by the only volume of copies of letters received from the Diocese of Honolulu (CLR/217), the first item being from the King Kamehameha V, to the Archbishop of Canterbury and dated 28 January 1871. The second letter, and most thereafter, are from Alfred Willis, Bishop of Honolulu, spanning the annexation of Hawaii by the USA in July 1898, and ending on 21 March 1910 with a letter from Professor Richard H. Thorntory, regarding the transfer of “certain funds held by your Society in trust for the Church in Hawaii, now an integral part of the American Church.” Description from Microfilm Academic Publishers.

Published April 2010. Also available via British Online Archives (BOA) as a supplement to the collection: American material in the archives of the USPG.

FILM BOOK 0474

Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (Great Britain) the SPG and the West Indies and Latin America: Copies of Letters Received and Sent, 1834-1931 : CLR & CLS.

12 reel(s)

Comprising thirty volumes of the most important correspondence between the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) in London and its missionaries in parts of Latin America and the British colonies of the West Indies, including the Honduras, Guiana, Argentina, as well as some items from the Falkland Islands, and Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica, Nassau in the Bahamas, and Trinidad. Beginning in 1834, the year that slavery was abolished in the British Empire, this collection complements the earlier published materials from C and E series records relating to the West Indies, and the X series records relating to Codrington College, Barbados, in the archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, held at the Rhodes House Library, Oxford. Contains both copies of letters sent (CLS) and copies of letters received (CLR). – from Merlin record

FILM BOOK 0475

Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, London. Journal, 1701-1738.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
17 reel(s)

The majority of the society’s work in the eighteenth century was concentrated in the American colonies. Journals of the society record the minutes of their meetings, together with decisions made and letters from missionaries. The early journals record the discussions and resolutions concerning the appointment of missionaries to work in the plantations, their work there, and payments made to them. In the colonies, missionaries set up schools and performed divine service, catechism, and baptism.

Each volume has a contemporary index.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10-11 - Request access

Guides:

Journal of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts PDF

Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, London. Letters, 1701-1812.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
28 reel(s)

The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts was founded in 1701 by the Church of England to provide libraries and clergy for emigrants, soldiers, officials, and merchants in colonial outposts as well as to provide missions to non-Christians. The letters give a full picture of contemporary colonial life before, during, and following the War of Independence. This collection contains correspondence between those outposts and the secretary of the Society. Consult the tables of contents and the indexes to locate information for a specific location or individual.

At the beginning of each of the three series, an introduction gives information on the archives of the Society, a history of the Society, a brief listing of the contents of each volume, and a guide to further reading. Each volume also has a contemporary index listing documents alphabetically by the location of origin. A separate reel contains an index of all the material on all reels. Also useful is SPEC-R Z1236 .C74 1979 A Guide to Manuscripts Relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland, p. 158-159.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:11 - Request access

Guides:

American material in the archives of the USPG PDF

Soley, James Russell. Blockade and the Cruisers

New York: C. Scribner?ó?é¼?äós Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

Soley (1850-1911) was a professor of the U.S. Navy. This introductory volume tells about the general condition and problems of the Navy before and at the beginning of the Civil War. It describes the operations of blockade runners, Atlantic squadrons, gulf squadrons, the commerce destroyers, and has three appendices (“Vessels of the U.S. Navy, March 4, 1861;” “Vessels Constructed or Projected, 1861-1865;” and “Instructions from Flag-Officer Goldsborough to Officers Commanding Blockading Vessels”). There are ads for other naval books at the end of this work.

Volume 1 of “The Navy in the Civil War” series. Index and appendices at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Sotheby & Co. Catalogues of Sales Part 1-5, 1734-1980.

Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1973
538 reel(s)

FILM BOOK 0034

Guides:

Sotheby & Co. (London, England) Catalogues of sales : a guide to the microfilm collection.

South Carolina (Colony). Court of Admiralty. Records of the South Carolina Court of Admiralty, 1716-32.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 309; v. National Archives record group 21
1 reel(s)

Papers of the Carolina Court of Vice Admiralty document the official proceedings of the cases brought before the court. Vice-Admiralty courts were established in the major seaports of the American colonies in the 1600s to deal with matters of maritime law. The Admiralty Courts had jurisdiction over such matters as the taking of prizes, shipwrecks, salvage, insurance, freight and passenger contracts, bottomry, charter parties, and seamen's wages, and enforced it the Acts of Trade. From 1716 to 1732, the Carolina Court of Vice Admiralty met in Charles Town (Charleston), with Nicholas Trott, Esq., as presiding judge for much of that period. At this time, North Carolina and Georgia had not been established as separate entities.

The records are arranged chronologically.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

South Carolina. Group of Pamphlets from the South Carolina Collection, 1822-1834.

Columbia, SC: South Caroliniana Library, 1973 
1 reel(s)

This collection covers the subjects of slavery, free people of color, reflections from a soldier of the Revolutionary War, slave insurrections, Baptist opinions on slavery, the Agricultural Society of South Carolina, the management of slaves and their religious instruction, and essays on the rights of sovereignty of the “Plantation States.”

There is an index in the form of a letter at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

South Carolina. Treasury. Records of the Public Treasurers of South Carolina, 1725-1776.

Columbia, SC: Dept. of Archives and History, 1969 
South Carolina Archives. Microcopy no. 3.
2 reel(s)

With the overthrow of proprietary authority in the colony in 1719, South Carolina entered a crucial period in her history. The confusion set off by the revolution of 1719 prevailed until royal control was established by Governor Robert Johnson after 1730. In 1721, the office of the public receiver (who had managed the finances of the province for fourteen years) was abolished and his duties transferred to several new officers, all responsible to the assembly. Of these, the public treasurer was the most important. All the known surviving records of this officer for the colonial period are issued in this microfilm edition. Taken together, the journals and ledgers reflect the growth of the sources of income and the government role as the colonial population, area of settlement, and the economy expanded.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Public Treasurers of South Carolina, 1725-1776, is available in the Special Collections Office.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

South Carolina. Treasury. Records of the South Carolina Treasury 1775-1780.

Columbia, SC: Dept. of Archives and History, 1964 
South Carolina Archives. Microcopy no. 4.
6 reel(s)

During the summer of 1775, the Provincial Congress began to take up the reins of government in South Carolina. By the end of September, in the absence of both governor and assembly, this informal body was effectively in control of the colony. On April 6, 1776, the new General Assembly finally removed the treasurers from office, appointed a commission to receive their accounts, and transferred their funds to the three treasury commissioners. As the expenses of the Revolution increased and the problems of supplying the new government grew, the Treasury's duties were progressively increased. Apart from issuing currency, the commissioners were responsible for collecting taxes, giving loans, and keeping the accounts of every new division of government. These records are of three types: cashbooks, journals, and ledgers.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the South Carolina Treasury 1775-1780, is available in the Special Collections Office.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Southern Baptist Convention. Annual of the Southern Baptist Convention, 1845-1953.

Nashville: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1953 
16 reel(s)

These are original convention proceedings and annual reports from 1845 through 1953, including reports of the Board of Foreign Missions, the Board of Domestic and Indian Missions, the Treasury, and Missionary Journals.

Reel 16 contains an index of the Southern Baptist Conventions proceedings from 1845 through 1953, but reports of the boards and agencies are not indexed.

FILM 14:6 - Request access

Southern Historical Manuscripts: Plantation Records, 1748-1901 from the Department of Archives, Louisiana State University.

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1971 
526 fiche

Personal papers of southern families, both wealthy landowners and freed slaves, provide insights into everyday life in the South before and after the Civil War. The papers include diaries, land deeds, tax receipts, correspondence, bills and invoices, newspaper clippings, school programs, handbills, almanacs, account books, and pamphlets. Topics include life on the plantations, education and student life, financial transactions, agriculture, attitudes toward slavery, religious beliefs, health concerns, Civil War battles, and travel at home and abroad.

An uncataloged guide, Southern Historical Manuscripts: Plantation Records, 1748-1901 From the Department of Archives, Louisiana State University, located in the Special Collections Office, indicates holdings.

MICF 975

Soviet Union and Republics of the Former USSR.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1995 
Special Studies Series, 1992-1994
15 reel(s)

Information about the Soviet Union, and later the former Soviet republics, became available during the years 1992-1994. The U.S. government commissioned universities, colleges, corporations, think tanks, and individuals to aid in the analysis of that portion of the material that was beyond its resources. University Publications of America gathered some of the most important of the resultant studies and incorporated them into its Special Studies series. Subjects include the military policy, politics and government, and foreign relations of both the Soviet Union (1990-1994) and the former Soviet republics (1991-1994).

FILM BOOK 0296

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of the Soviet Union and republics of the former U.S.S.R. special studies, 1992-1994 supplement

The guide contains a listing and summation of every entry on each reel, and an index to the major subjects in the collection.

Soviet Union Foreign Affairs 1945-1949

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
National Archives records group 59
10 reel(s)

These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.

FILM BOOK 0072

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Soviet Union Internal Affairs 1945-1949

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
National Archives records group 59
39 reel(s)

These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.

FILM BOOK 0071

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Soviet Union, Special Studies, 1970-1980.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 
Special Studies Series
9 reel(s)

This is a collection of ninety-five papers dealing with various aspects of the Soviet Union's past and present. The papers cover military affairs, foreign relations, and economic issues. In the military field, the topics include Soviet military doctrine, the strategy of nuclear warfare, estimates of Soviet military spending, the history and organization of the air force, strategic rocket forces, the navy and civil defense, nationality problems in the armed forces, and the profiles of military leaders (A. A. Grehko and V. G. Kulikov). In the sphere of foreign relations the subjects include arms limitation talks, the Sino-Soviet conflict, the suppression of the Hungarian uprising in 1956, the intervention in the Ogaden War (1977/78), relations with other countries (Indochina, India, Japan, Norway, Cuba, and East Germany), and Soviet perceptions of the United States and NATO. Economic topics include the organization of Soviet industry, grain production, and the assessment of Soviet mineral resources. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from a number of private and governmental "think tanks", such as the National Defense University, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Institute of Naval Studies, and Brookings Institution.

FILM BOOK 0082

Guides:

The Soviet Union, special studies, 1970-1980 : [guide]

The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index.

Soviet Union, Special Studies, 1980-1982, Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special Studies Series
8 reel(s)

Seventy-six papers dealing with various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union during the 1970s and early 1980s. Political topics include the attitudes and aspirations of all of the major non-Russian nationalities, the succession problem, Soviet negotiating techniques, relations with the Warsaw Pact countries, involvement in the Third World, and the use of proxies to project Soviet power. Military subjects include the command structure, military organization, strategic balance with the United States, estimates of military expenditure, the officer corps, the war in Afghanistan, and the Theater Nuclear Forces in Europe. In the economic field the topics include technology transfers from the West, agriculture (especially grain production), and the energy problem. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from private and governmental "think tanks" such as the Rand Corporation, the Army War College, and the Army Russian Institute.

FILM BOOK 0081

Guides:

The Soviet Union, special studies, 1980-1982 supplement : [guide]

The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliations are also provided.

Soviet Union Special Studies, 1982-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1986
Special Studies Series
9 reel(s)

Consists of 121 separate reports dealing with political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union from 1980 to 1983. This collection is a supplement to Soviet Union Special Studies 1970-1984. See numbers 373-374 in Primary Resources in History and entry in History Addendum.

FILM BOOK 0282

Guides:

Soviet Union special studies, 1982-1985 supplement

Soviet Union, Special Studies, 1985-1988 Supplement.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1989
Special Studies Series
10 reel(s)

One hundred twenty-two papers dealing with the various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union from 1985 to 1988. Topics include USSR Energy Atlas; U.S.-Soviet Cooperation in Space; Soviet Ground and Tactical Air Forces; and Moscow’s Post-Brezhnev Reassessment of the Third World. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies for private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Rand Corporation, the Naval Postgraduate School, the Center for Naval Analysis, and the Office of Technology Assessment.

FILM BOOK 0283

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm edition of Soviet Union, special studies, 1985-1988 supplement

The guide contains a listing and summation of every entry on each reel, and an index to the major subjects on the reels.

Soviet Union, Special Studies, 1989-1991, Supplement.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1992
Special Studies Series
13 reel(s)

One hundred sixty-nine papers dealing with various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union during the late 1980s and early 1990s. Topics include Glasnost and Secrecy in the Soviet Military;, Soviet Economic Policy toward Eastern Europe; Soviet Force Structure in an Era of Reform; Soviet Countertrade; Soviet Military Strategy Toward 2010; The Role of Woman in Soviet Armed Forces; and Mikhail Gorbachev’s “New Thinking”: Implications for Western Security. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Rand Corporation, the CIA, the International Atomic Energy Agency, and the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency

FILM BOOK 0284

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of Soviet Union special studies, 1989-1991 supplement

The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index.

Spanish and Portuguese Bibliographies.

New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation, 
666 card(s)

Not cataloged in MERLIN.

MICPT 016.98

Spanish Drama of the Golden Age 1500-1700.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 
86 reel(s)

3200 titles

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

FILM 4D21: 15:2-3 - Request access

Guides:

Regueiro, Jose M. Spanish drama of the golden age; a catalogue of the comedia collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Spanish Rare Books of the Golden Age (1472-1700) Items 1-1301

Sparling & Bolden. Sparling and Bolden Letterbook, 1788-1799.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

The firm of Sparling and Bolden in Liverpool was involved in the American colonial trade, selling British manufactures in Virginia and transporting raw materials to England. The trade was seriously disrupted during the American Revolution. The correspondence in this letterbook reflects efforts by the company to obtain damages, unsuccessfully, for destruction of company property in Norfolk by British forces. Also, it details problems of commerce between the British merchants and the new American nation.

An introduction at the beginning of the reel contains a history of the letterbook, biographical information on the business partners John Sparling and William Bolden, background on the firm and the nature of its business, a list of towns where letters were sent, and a bibliography of related works.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:11 - Request access

Spence, Thomas. Reign of Felicity: Being a Plan for Civilizing the Indians of North America Without Infringing on Their National or Individual Independce.

London: 1796
1 reel(s)

Spence (1750-1814) was a radical political dissenter in England who argued that all land should be nationalized. He was arrested and imprisoned several times for publishing and selling seditious publications, including Thomas Paine’s Rights of Man. He was one of the first advocates of women’s rights and advocated for working people to easily obtain a divorce. This political satire, in which the tenantry of England is alluded to as “Indians,” advocates corporate land tenure.

Title continues “in a coffee-house dialogue between a courtier, an esquire, a clergyman and a farmer.” At end of reel is an excerpt from a speech entitled “On the Liberty of the Press” by Freron on August 26, 1796.

FILM MISC - Request access

St. John de Crèvecoeur, J. Hector. Voyage Dans La Haute Pensylvanie Et Dans L’ Etat De New York.

Paris: Maradon, 1801 
1 reel(s)

St. John de Crèvecoeur (1731-1813?) was born in Paris, educated in England, and sailed for America in 1753, where he settled on a farm in New York. This work is in French and describes his travels in high Pennsylvania and New York. He is most famous for his Letters of an American Farmer (1782).

Note: This reel contains volumes I and II.

Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC

FILM MISC - Request access

Stanton, Robert Livingston. Church and the Rebellion

New York: Derby and Miller, 1864 
1 reel(s)

Stanton (1810-1885) was a professor in the Theological Seminary of the Presbyterian Church of Danville, KY. Chapters in this work against the secession of states from the Union include “Character of the Rebellion,” “Cause of the Rebellion,” “Responsibility for the Rebellion,” “Responsibility for Beginning and Continuing the War,” “Responsibility of the Southern Church for the Rebellion and the War,” “The Church and Slavery,” “Slavery and Polemics,” and more. Stanton dedicated it “To the young men of the United States, of every creed in religion and every party in politics, who prefer freedom to slavery; who are loyal to the country, and who are aiding to sustain its government against rebellion.”

Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC

FILM MISC - Request access

State Constitutional Conventions, Commission and Amendments: Missouri.

Rockville, MD: Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1979
217 fiche

This collection consists of sources pertaining to the constitutional history of the State of Missouri. It includes texts of constitutions of Missouri from 1820, 1875, 1921, 1935, 1969, and 1978, texts of constitutional amendments, and journals of the debates, proceedings and resolutions of the constitutional conventions held in 1820, 1861, 1862, 1863, 1865, 1875, 1922-23, and 1943-44. For the period after the Second World War the collection also includes publications of the executive committees and special studies prepared for conventions by various commissions.

MICF 1362

State Documents

Lexington, KY: Fall City Microfilm,

Official publications from state governments are reproduced in this collection. State constitutions, statutes, legislative procedures, directories, and budgets are included as well as reports, surveys, and proposals covering every aspect of state government or state governmental legislation. Researchers can find documents on revenue sharing and other form of federal aid, housing, energy policy, correctional institutions, natural resources, and public welfare in the collection. Ellis Library has documents published from 1959 to 1976.

MICD 353.9

Guides:

State government research checklist

 

Library of Congress. Division of Documents. Monthly check-list of state publications

State Slavery Statutes.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1989 
354 fiche

This collection includes over 7, 100 state statutes regarding slavery dating from 1789 to 1865 in the United States. Included is every statute passed in the fifteen slave states that dealt with slavery, free blacks, and the broader issue of race. Also included are private laws, special acts, legislative resolutions, and texts of state constitutions and subsequent revisions as they affected slavery. These documents depict how the legislators of the American South maintained slavery from the time of the American Revolution when most of the northern states had abolished slavery to the Emancipation Proclamation of 1863, as well how slavery affected virtually everything legislators did in the South.

MICF 6044

Guides:

State slavery statutes : guide to the microfiche collection

Guide includes inventory listing and subject, name, and geographic location index.

Statistical Reference Index

Washington, DC: Congressional Information Service, 1980

This is a highly regarded source of statistics for business, economics, criminal justice, finance, health sciences, and sociology. This resource indexes statistics collected by trade associations, university research centers, state governments, and professional organizations. The data are indexed under subject and issuing body. Most publications are filmed in their entirety while others may have only certain statistical portions filmed.

 

Guides:

Statistical reference index … annual.

The guide is a monthly index with quarterly and annual cumulations. Access is by subject with detailed annotations to each document presented in the abstract volume.

Steiger, Ernst, 1832-1917. Steiger Collection of German-American Newspapers and Periodicals.

Stuttgart, W. Germany: Heydt and Engesser, 1963
4 reel(s)

This collection was created by the New York publisher Ernst Steiger in 1874. It contains single issue examples of German-language newspapers from twenty-eight states between the years 1872 and 1874. Examples of twenty-five Missouri newspapers are in the collection.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Guides:

Arndt, Karl John Richard. The Ernst Steiger collections of German-American newspapers and periodicals in Heidelberg and Vienna : diligently compared and catalogued for co-operating libraries as a guide to microfilm copies of the Heidelberg collection.

The guide contains background on the Steiger collection, a table of reel contents, and an index of newspapers listed alphabetically by state and city location of each newspaper.

Stevens, Isaac Ingalls. Speech of Hon. Isaac I. Stevens, Delegate from Washington Territory, on the Washing and Oregon War Claims.

Washington: Lemuel Towers, 1858
1 reel(s)

Stevens (1818-1862) was a major with the Corps of Engineers and lead the exploration and survey of the railroad route from St. Paul, MN, to Puget Sound in what is now Washington State. He resigned his commission to become the first governor of the Territory of Washington in 1853. He was killed serving the Union during the Civil War. This speech was delivered in the House of Representatives of the United States, May 31, 1858. It deals with the wars with the Pacific Coast Indians.

FILM MISC - Request access

Stevens, Wallace. Wallace Stevens-Cummington Press Correspondence, 1941-1951.

Wakefield: Microform Academic Publishers, 1992
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Reproduced in this collection is the correspondence between American poet Wallace Stevens (1879-1955) and Katharine Frazier and Harry Duncan of the Cummington Press. This correspondence documents Stevens’s compositional methods and the reception of his poems as well as provides a picture of business relations during that time period. Also included in the collection is the original typescript of the first edition of Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction with emendations by Stevens. Stevens, considered one of the major modern American poets, was also a vice-president of the Hartford Accident and Indemnity Corporation of Hartford, CT, two lives that he consciously kept separate. His first book of poems, Harmonium, was published in 1923, but he was not widely recognized until his Collected Poems was published in 1954. Much of his poetry, including his long poem “Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction,” involves his working out the interrelatedness of reality and the imagination and the role of poetry. Located in Cummington, Massachusetts, the Cummington Press was founded in 1939 by Harry Duncan as part of the Cummington School of the Arts. Using a hand printing press, the press became known as one of the finest small presses in the country. Stevens’s Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction was published in 1942 and Esthetique du Mal in 1945.

FILM - Request access

Guides:

The Wallace Stevens-Cummington Press correspondence, 1941-1951 : from the collection in the John Rylands University Library of Manchester, Deansgate Building PDF

Guide includes detailed inventory of letters and introduction by Carolyn Masel. Also available under call number PS3537.T4753 Z483 1992.

Stevens, William. Revolution Vindicated and Constitutional Liberty Asserted.

Cambridge: J. Woodyer, 1777
1 reel(s)

Stevens (1732-1807) was a serious student of the Holy Scriptures, the auditor of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, and treasurer of Queen Anne’s Bounty. This work discusses the “Glorious” Revolution of 1688.

Title continues “In answer to Dr. Watson's accession sermon, preached before the University of Cambridge, on October 25th, 1776.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Stewart, James. Letter to the Rev. Dr. Price.

London: 1776
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet is critical of Richard Price’s principles and reasoning on the nature of civil liberty and free will.

Note: Located on the reel labeled “Ramsay, Allan.”

Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago, IL.

FILM MISC - Request access

Strickland, William Peter. History of the Missions of the Methodist Episcopal Church from the Organization of the Missionary Society to the Present Time.

Cincinnati: L. Swormstedt & J.H. Power, 1850 
1 reel(s)

Strickland (1809-1884) was an educated clergyman and author of several religious books. This one covers the missions of the Methodist Episcopal Church from 1816 to 1850. Chapter 1: Organization of the Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Chapter 2: Domestic Missions. Chapter 3: Auxiliaries. Chapter 4: Mission Among the Indians. Chapter 5: Mission to Africa. Chapter 6: Mission to Oregon. Chapter 7: Mission to South America. Chapter 8: Mission to Texas. Chapter 9: Mission to the Germans. Chapter 10: Mission to China. Chapter 11: Missionaries. Chapter 12: Appeal in Behalf of Missions.

Contains an appendix at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Subject Index to Art Exhibition Catalogues.

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healy, 1982
244 fiche

The Library has the base index and accumulations to December 1985. Included are indexes by artists, subjects, authors of catalogs, titles of catalogs and agent of publication (museum, gallery etc). This collection indexes the University of California-Santa Barbara Arts Library`s Microform Collection, Art Exhibition Catalogues Republished on Microfiche.

MICF 1319

Suffield, Edward H., Lord. Considerations on the Game Laws.

Norwich, England: Burks and Kinnebrook, 1825
1 reel(s)

Lord Suffield (1781-1835), a game preserver and magistrate, was from one of the top game preserves in Norwich, a leading shooting county in England. After witnessing the hanging of five poachers, he championed the poor by urging the reform of game laws and outlawing man-traps and spring guns. In this work he advocates the adoption of more modern and just game laws.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Second edition. Table of contents at the beginning.

FILM MISC - Request access

Suffragette Fellowship Collection from the Museum of London.

Brighton, Eng: Harvester Microform, 1985 
Women’s social and political emancipation
14 reel(s)

Correspondence, photographs, numerous pamphlets, and ephemeral material concern the struggle for women's suffrage. Correspondence includes special collections by such individuals as Kitty Marion and Flora Drummond, and material relating to the Women's Social and Political Union (founded by Mrs. Pankhurst in 1903) and the Women's Freedom League, which formed in 1907. The collection is particularly useful for papers from lesser-known women of the movement.

A guide to the collection is on the first reel. Also, each reel contains a list of contents indicating sections and accession numbers.

FILM BOOK 0105

Swan, Eliza. Affecting Account of the Tragical Death of Major Swan: And of the Captivity of Mrs. Swan and Infant Child, by the Savages in April Last (1815).

Boston: H. Trumbull, 1815
1 reel(s)

This is the first person account of Eliza Swan, whose husband was murdered and she and her son were kidnapped by Indians in Missouri. They were rescued three months later by a Spanish trader who paid for their release and took them to New Orleans.

Title continues "This unfortunate Lady and her little son were taken prisoners by the INDIANS, at a small village near St. Louis, and conveyed nearly 700 miles through an uncivilized wilderness, where they were fortunately redeemed by a Spanish trader, in July last." This microfilm copy is difficult to read in places.

FILM MISC - Request access