Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Race, Slavery and Free Blacks, Series I: Petitions to Southern Legislatures, 1777-1867.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1998 
Black Studies Research Sources
23 reel(s)

This collection contains all 2,917 extant legislative petitions on the subject of race, slavery, and free blacks in the South dating from 1777 to 1867. The petitions come from the following states: Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Written by slaveholders and nonslaveholders, blacks and whites, men and women, slaves and freemen, petitions include requests for emancipation, mass campaigns demanding the total abolition of slavery, and complaints about the activities of free blacks and address issues such as manumission, colonization, religion, laws governing slaves, racial mixing, and black military service. They provide a portrait of the political, legal, economic, social, and cultural life of the American South in the nineteenth century.

FILM BOOK 0319

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series I. Petitions to southern legislatures, 1777-1867

Race, Slavery, and Free Blacks, Series II: Petitions to Southern County Courts 1775-1867.

Bethesda, MD: LexisNexis, 2002
Black Studies Research Sources
116 reel(s)

See also the website for the Race and Slavery Petitions Project:  http://library.uncg.edu/slavery_petitions/ (last accessed 4 October 2006).

Ellis Library has Parts A-E

FILM BOOK 0351

Ramsay, Allan. Thoughts on the Origin and Nature of Government, Occasioned by the Late Disputes Between Great Britain and Her American Colonies.

London: 1796 
1 reel(s)

This book discusses whether Great Britain has the right to tax her American colonies.

Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago, IL.
This reel also contains three pamphlets: “Candid Thoughts,” “A Letter to the Rev. Dr. Price” by James Stewart, and “A Letter to the Rev. Dr. Cooper.” See their separate entries for more information.

FILM MISC - Request access

Randolph, A. Philip, 1889-1979. FBI File, A. Philip Randolph.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1990 
1 reel(s)

An avowed anti-communist, A. Philip Randolph was a black labor leader who refused to allow membership to any Communists in his Pullman car porters' union or any other organization in which he played a leadership role. Yet, he was the subject of an FBI investigation because he had been a Socialist during World War I and continued to have Socialist leanings during the Second World War when he declined the Vice-Presidential nomination on the Socialist ticket. Randolph was also instrumental in the planning of protest marches on Washington, D.C., thus arousing FBI suspicion that his activities may be subversive.

FILM BOOK 0286

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on A. Philip Randolph.

An introduction provides a brief biography of A. Philip Randolph, tells what kind of documents are included in the contents, and how they are organized. Roll notes outline some of the contents. This information is also provided at the beginning of the roll.

Ravenscroft, Thomas, and John Bennet. Briefe Discourse: Of the True (but Neglected) Use of Charactering the Degrees by Their Perfection, Imperfection, and Diminution in Measurable Musick Against the Common Practise and Custome of These Times.

London: Edward Allde, 1614 
1 reel(s)

Ravenscroft (1592?-1635?) was an English composer, writer, theorist, and editor. He composed catches and rounds and compiled collections of British folk music. This is one of his two treatises on music theory.

Available online.

Read, James Alexander, & Donald F. Read. Journey to the Gold Diggins, by Jeremiah Saddlebags.

Cincinnati: U.P. James, 1849 
1 reel(s)

This book of pictorial humor is about Jeremiah Saddlebags, a fictitious prospector, and his quest for gold in California.

FILM MISC - Request access

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution Through the Civil War: Series A, Selections from the South Carolina Library, University of South Carolina.

Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1985
41 reel(s)

James Henry Hammond, plantation owner, served in the House of Representatives (1835-1836), as Governor of South Carolina (1842-1844), and as United States Senator (1857-1860). His papers reflect his interest in scientific agriculture, providing information on cotton growing, fruit and vegetable production, and livestock management. Other subjects include social customs in the ante-bellum South, the state of education at the University of South Carolina, political ideology among educated southerners, the practice of law, and slave management. The miscellaneous collections include records of plantation owners from various South Carolina regions. Certain selections, such as the Wade Hampton papers dealing with sugar plantations in Louisiana, refer to the westward expansion of the plantation system in the nineteenth century. The correspondence offers insight into the social and family life of the South Carolina planter. Plantation journals and account books provide details on crop production and the work and health of plantation slaves.

FILM BOOK 0064

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War [guide] : series A, selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

The guide provides reel content notes.

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations: Series B. Selections from the South Carolina Historical Society.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1985 
10 reel(s)

Papers of families and individuals from the South Carolina low countries include a concentration of materials from St. John's Parish of the Charleston District. Included are the proceedings of the Black Oak Agricultural Society, the confession of a participant in the Denmark Vesey slave rebellion of 1822, the auction book of Charleston slave trader, Alonzo White, extensive slave records, a parish diary, and a number of plantation journals. The diaries, daybooks, plantation records, and estate accounts for the Thomas Porcher Ravenel family (1731-1899) are also included. These papers relate to lands, plantation management, slaves, and crops, especially rice and cotton.

FILM BOOK 0111

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War [guide] : series A, selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

The guide provides reel content notes.

Répertoire bio-bibliographique des auteurs latins, patristiques et médiévaux

Paris: Chadwyck-Healey, 1987 
492 fiche

A cumulative bibliography with over 210,000 entries covering the field of literature in Latin from Tertullian to Jean Trithème. Authors and titles of anonymous works are listed in a single alphabetical sequence from Abelard to Pope Zosime.

Reproduces a card catalog compiled at the Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes between 1940 and 1984, chiefly by Elisabeth Pellegrin. The catalog constitutes a retrospective and cumulative bibliography of works by and about Latin authors who lived and worked between ca. 200 A.D. (Tertullian) and ca. 1500 (Johannes Trithemius). The bibliographical references encompass critical essays about these authors, critical editions of their writings, and works about their manuscripts. The catalog indicates which of the works listed are available at the Institut.

MICF 3416

Reports on the Cotton Market, 1848-1863.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

By 1795 Liverpool had become the leading cotton port in England. Britain imported large amounts of cotton and combined it with linen to produce cheap calico cloth. By 1860 almost 80% of the cotton imported was from America. When the reports in this collection end in 1863, less than 1% of cotton imports were from America due to the Yankee blockade of southern ports. A brief comment on trade during each week indicates the volume of trade, the selling climate, and the political climate.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Republican National Committee. Republican Campaign Manual, 1880-1940.

Wilton, CT: National Micropublishing Corp, 
146 fiche

The Republican Campaign Book served as the basis for a unified political campaign on a national scale. It consists largely of the party platform along with position statements by presidential and vice-presidential nominees and other prominent members of the party. It also contains attacks on the performance and positions of the Democratic Party and its candidates. The Campaign Books taken individually reflect the Party's stance in a particular election campaign. Taken together, they reflect the evolution of the Party's approach to national issues as the country made the transition into the twentieth century.

The material is arranged chronologically. There is a table of contents at the beginning of the volume for each campaign.
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 329.6

Republican Party. National Convention. Official Report of the Proceedings, 1856-1968.

Wilton, CT: National Micropublishing Corp, 
3 reel(s)

This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater.

FILM MISC - Request access

Guides:

Republican National Convention. Index to the Republican National Convention proceedings, 1856-1968.

This guide has a name and subject index for each convention and is reproduced at the end of reel 3.

Revistas Hispanoamericana.

Cambridge, MA: General Microfilm Company,

Titles are individually cataloged in MERLIN. An uncataloged guide is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM

Guides:

Leavitt, Sturgis E. (Sturgis Elleno), b. 1888. Revistas hispanoamericanas : ?â?¡ndice bibliogr?â?ífico, 1843-1935

Rhodes House Anti-Slavery Papers, Material Relating to America from the Anti-Slavery Collection in Rhodes House Oxford; Mainly 1839-1868.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963 
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

This is a collection of the London Anti-Slavery Society (1823-1840), the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society (founded 1839), and the Aborigines Protection Society. The latter two societies merged in 1909 to form the Anti-Slavery and Aborigines Protection Society. Originally, the Anti-Slavery Society concerned itself only with the abolition of slavery in the British sugar colonies. This achieved in 1838, they turned their attention to American slavery. The change in focus led to the founding of the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society, whose goal was the abolition of slavery throughout the world. British and American abolitionists cooperated to convince the British and the American public of the sinfulness of slavery. Selections relating to America are from the minutebooks, memorials, petitions, and correspondence of the society. The Rhodes House Library houses the largest anti-slavery collection in Great Britain.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the first reel. Also useful is SPEC-R Z1236 .C74 179 A Guide to Manuscripts Relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland. p. 205.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Richardson, John, Sir. Fauna Boreali-Americana; or the Zoology of the Northern Parts of British America

London: Various publishers, 1829 
2 reel(s)

This four volume guide describes animals, birds, fish, and insects found during expeditions to the northern provinces of America (now New England). Dr. Richardson (1787-1865) was a surgeon and naturalist to the expeditions. Volume 1: The Quadrupeds by Richardson. Volume 2: The Birds by William Swainson and Richardson. Volume 3: The Fish by Richardson. Volume 4: The Insects by the Rev. William Kirby. All contain illustrated plates and indices at the ends.

Note: No. 39 in the Plains and the Rockies series.

FILM MISC - Request access

Robeson, Paul, 1898-1976. FBI File on Paul Robeson.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1987 
2 reel(s)

Paul Robeson was a black scholar-athlete who graduated from Rutgers University in 1919. He was a two-time football All-American and a member of the academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa. He later earned a degree from Columbia University School of Law. However, his talents as an actor and singer brought him international acclaim. Although a successful theatrical artist, Robeson became actively involved in national and international political issues. He supported movements concerning peace in the world, better labor conditions, racial equality and independence for African colonies. Some of the organizations with which he was affiliated were suspected of being Communist fronts. His friendship with the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and with known Communists drew the attention of the United States government, and Robeson became the subject of an FBI investigation. The government concluded that his travels and speeches abroad were not in the best interest of the United States, and in 1950, Robeson's passport was canceled. Eight years later, he regained his passport after a legal battle. He moved to London to resume his theatrical career. Robeson returned to the United States in 1963 because of ill health.

FILM BOOK 0293

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on Paul Robeson.

The guide contains a brief biography of Paul Robeson, explains the reasons for the FBI investigation, and tells how the material is organized. The guide also contains a listing of some of the contents in each section of the roll. This information is also provided at the beginning of the first roll.

Rogers, Robert. Concise History of North America.

London: J. Millan, 1765 
1 reel(s)

This book contains details on Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Cape Breton, St. John’s Island, the Province of Quebec, New England, the Province of Massachuset’s [sic] Bay, New York, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, New jersey, the Province of Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, the Province of Georgia, Florida, the interior country, the St. Lawrence River, Lake Heron, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Lake Erie, Niagara Falls, Lake Ontario, the Christino River, the Mississippi River, as well as customs and manners of the Indians in these areas.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX
Title continues “Containing a description of the several British colonies on that continent, including the islands of Newfoundland, Cape Breton, etc. as to their situation, extent, climate, soil, produce, rise, government, religion, present boundaries, and the number of inhabitants supposed to be in each. Also of the interior, or westerly parts of the country, upon the rivers St. Laurence, the Mississipi [sic], Christino, and the Great Lakes. To which is subjoined, an account of the several nations and tribes of Indians residing in those parts, as to their customs, manners, government, numbers, etc.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Roosevelt, Franklin Delano, 1882-1945. Press Conferences of Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Hyde Park, N.Y.: Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, 1957 
12 reel(s)

The first press conference was held on March 8, 1933, three days prior to the first of Roosevelt's "fireside chats". The subjects discussed over the next twelve years include banking, currency, credit, the budget, the national debt, income tax, inflation, actions of Congress, the Civilian Conservation Corps, the Federal Reserve Board, foreign affairs, the Hatch Act, munitions, national defense, the Selective Service System, war production, post war plans, and the United Nations.

The conferences are arranged chronologically, each year preceded by a subject index with scope notes.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:5-6 - Request access

Roscoe, William, 1753-1831. Roscoe Papers, 1793-1831.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

William Roscoe was a well-known British reformer who advocated prison reform and the abolition of the slave-trade. This collection contains papers and correspondence that fall into five categories: 1) letters of travelers to the United States, 2) letters on the exploration and natural history of the United States, 3) letters concerning the Orders-in-Council that contributed to the causes of the War of 1812, 4) letters on prison reform, and 5) letters on cultural and personal matters with noted literati in the United States.

An introduction at the beginning of each reel contains the information on the provenance of the papers, a biographical sketch of William Roscoe, a description of the Roscoe papers in the collection, suggestions for further reading, and an annotated list of items on each reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Ross, James, and George Gary. From Wisconsin to California, and Return.

Madison, WI: Atwood and Rublee, 1869 
1 reel(s)

These two accounts of the Wisconsin Excursion Party trip to the Pacific from Chicago to California and back by railroad were written in a series of letters. Ross was the secretary of the excursion party, and Gary wrote for the Oshkosh Journal and the Oshkosh Northwestern. Each work discusses details of the locations visited on the trip. Gary’s account follows Ross’.

Note: As reported for the Wisconsin State Journal.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX

FILM MISC - Request access

Ross, William P. Indian Territory: Remarks in Opposition to the Bill to Organize the Territory of Oklahoma Before the Committee on Territories of the House of Representatives, Monday February 9, 1874.

Washington, DC: Gibson Brothers, 1874 
1 reel(s)

Ross (1820-1891) was the principal chief of the Cherokee Nation. This speech was given to remind the committee of previous agreements giving or selling land to the Indians in the Oklahoma territories. The federal government was about to renege on those agreements and open parts of the territories to white ranchers and settlers.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX

FILM MISC - Request access

Roxburghe Club of London Publications Roxburghe Club of London Publications.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 
28 reel(s)

206 titles.

A catalog of the Collection is on reel 1. Each title is cataloged and listed in MERLIN.

FILM BOOK 0279

Royal Commission on Historical Monuments (England). Historic Buildings in Britain.

London: H.M.S.O,
Inventories of Historic Monuments, 1910-1975

MICF 2587: England Buckinghamshire; MICF 2588: England Dorset; MICF 2589: England Herefordshire; MICF 2590: England Hertfordshire; MICF 2591: England Huntingdonshire; MICF 2592: England London; MICF 2593: England Essex; MICF 2594: England Cambridgeshire; MICF 2595: England City of Cambridge; MICF 2596: England Middlesex; MICF 2597: England City of Oxford; MICF 2598: England Westmoreland; MICF 2599: England City of York; MICF 2600: Scotland Argyll; MICF 2601: Scotland County of Berwick; MICF 2602: Scotland Caithness; MICF 2603 Scotland County of Dumfries; MICF 2604: Scotland East Lothian; MICF 2605 Scotland City of Edinburgh; MICF 2606: Scotland Fife, Kinross, and Clackmannan; MICF 2607 Scotland Golloway; MICF 2608: Scotland Midlothian & W. Lothian; MICF 2609: Scotland Orkney & Shetland; MICF 2610: Outer Hebrides, Skye & the small isles; MICF 2611: Scotland Peeblesshire; MICF 2612: Scotland Roxburgshire; MICF 2613: Scotland Selkirkshire; MICF 2614: Scotland Sutherland; MICF 2615: Scotland Stirlingshire; MICF 2616: Wales Anglesley; MICF 2617: Wales Caernarvonshire; MICF 2618 Wales Carmarthen; MICF 2619: Wales Denbigh; MICF 2620: Wales Flint; MICF 2621: Wales Merioneth; MICF 2622: Wales Montgomery; MICF 2623: Wales Pembroke; MICF 2624: Wales Radnor.

Each inventory is separately cataloged. An uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.

MICF

Royal Society of Arts (London). American Correspondence of the Royal Society of Arts, London, 1755-1840; Guard Books (1755-70) and Loose Archives (1755-1840).

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963 
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

The Royal Society of Arts, founded in 1754, encouraged such activities as potash manufacture and silk production in the American colonies by awarding premiums. Important correspondence, kept in the guard books, covers such topics as the cultivation of maize, winter food for cattle, and the erection of a hemp mill. Loose archives contain references to mulberry trees in Georgia, a perpetual motion machine, new American grasses, and the introduction of British machines into the United States.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Ruffin, Edmund, 1794-1865. Diary of Edmund Ruffin, 1856-1865.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1966
7 reel(s)

Edmund Ruffin made his reputation from the 1830s to the 1850s as an innovator in southern agriculture. He wrote the important agricultural work An Essay on Calcareous Manures and edited the Farmer's Register beginning in June 1833. As the struggle over states rights evolved, Ruffin became an ardent secessionist. He reportedly fired the first shot against Fort Sumter. With the defeat of the Confederacy, Ruffin committed suicide on June 18, 1865. This collection contains the manuscript diary to the day of his death. It provides considerable information about southern politics before and during the war and repeated observations about conditions on the Confederate domestic front.

The manuscript diary through June of 1863 has been edited and published in two volumes by William Kauffman Scarborough (F230 .R9314). Volume one is titled Toward Independence, October 1856-April, 1861 and volume two is titled The Years of Hope, April 1861-June 1863. Only routine personal affairs were omitted in this edition and it is thoroughly indexed.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Russell Diaries, 1731-1801.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

William Russell (1740-1817) was a prosperous iron-founder, merchant, and manufacturers' agent in Birmingham, England, in partnership with his brother George. He married Martha Twamley (1741-1790). Their three children, Martha (1766-1807), Mary (1768-1839), and Thomas Pougher Russell (1775-1851) are the authors of the diaries. Some writings by James Skey, a kinsman by marriage, are also included. The Russell family emigrated to America, sailing from Falmouth in 1794. Captured by a French frigate, it was not until June 1795 that they were released to continue their voyage to America. The diaries, covering the period July 1794 to September 1801, describe the journey from Matson to Falmouth, the abortive voyage and the captivity by the French, the voyage to America in 1795, some travels in America and observations on the American scene (1795-1801), and the return voyage to England of Mary and Thomas in 1801.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Russian Futurism 1910-1916: Poetry and Manuscripts.

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healy, 
77 fiche

An uncataloged contents list is available in the Special Collections office. Each title is individually cataloged. Also useful is NC985 .C65 The World Backwards by Susan Compton.

MICF 700.947

Guides:

Compton, Susan P. The world backwards : Russian futurist books, 1912-16