Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Wales and America: American Material from the National Library of Wales.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform, 1984
British Records Relating to America in Microform
19 reel(s)

This collection contains a wide selection of items, relating to links between Wales and America. The material is divided into ten consecutive sections ranging from “The Colonial Years, 1600-1800” to a section on literary connections between the two countries. Section three is devoted to material relating to the legend of the Welsh prince Madoc who is said to have discovered America in the twelfth century. It contains transcripts from the papers of Sir Walter Raleigh and Sir John Hawkins concerning the legend. Within the other sections the researcher will encounter such subjects as colonial taxation and trade, the Revolutionary War, Welsh emigration to America, the Civil War, slavery, and David Lloyd George. Also included is material relating to the Welsh cultural festival of the Eisteddfod.

FILM 22:12 - Request access

Guides:

Taylor, Clare. Wales and America : American material from the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth PDF

The guide contains notes on the provenance of each of the sections. It also includes a complete annotated list of the records as they appear on the microfilm. Also available under call numberE184.W4 T38 1984.

Walsh, Louis S. Early Irish Catholic Schools of Lowell, Massachusetts, 1835-1852.

Lowell, MA: Daily News Job Print, 1901 
1 reel(s)

Rev. Walsh was a member of the New England Catholic Historical Society. This is a historical address in which he quotes extensively from old documents. The Lowell Catholic schools at that time were supported at public expense.

FILM MISC - Request access

Walt Whitman Collection.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 2001
British records relating to America in microform
12 reel(s)

The Walt Whitman Collection (1880-1948) consists primarily of correspondence between members of the Bolton Whitman Fellowship and with other English and North American Whitmanites, correspondence with Whitman himself, addresses and lectures composed by various members of the group, journal and newspapers articles, and photographs. Whitman (1819-1892), noted American journalist, essayist, and poet, garnered a loyal following in Britain, especially in Bolton, Lancashire where James William Wallace (1853-1926) and a group of educated working class and lower middle class admirers met as the “Eagle Street College” (later known as Bolton Whitman Fellowship) to discuss literary works, especially Whitman’s poetry, and social and political issues. The group was drawn to Whitman by the revolutionary, democratic ideas in his essays and poetry. Other figures prominent in the collection include John Johnston, Charles Frederick Sixsmith, and Edward Carpenter. This collection will be of interest to scholars studying Whitman, the reception of Whitman’s poetry, early British socialism, and utopian visionaries in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The original material is held at the John Rylands University Library Manchester, England.

FILM BOOK 0347

Guides:

Masel, Carolyn. The Walt Whitman collection : introduction to the microfilm edition PDF

Also available under call number PS3230.5 .M37 2002.

Warning for Faire Women.

London: Valentine Simms, 1599 
1 reel(s)

This play is considered a “domestic tragedy” based on a real double homicide in which four people were subsequently executed. Although there is no hard proof, some scholars believe that Shakespeare may have helped write it.

Title continues “containing the most tragicall [sic] and lamentable murther [sic] of Master George Sanders of London marchant [sic], nigh Shooters Hill, consented unto by his owne [sic] wife, acted by M. Browne, Mistris Drewry, and Trusty Roger, agents therin [sic], with their severall [sic] ends. As it hath beene [sic] lately diverse times acted by the Right Honorable, the Lord Chamberlaine his servants.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Warren, William. Journal, 1796-1831.

1 reel(s)

Warren (1767-1832) was an actor who was born in England and came to America where his career continued. He was the manager of the Chestnut Street Theatre in Philadelphia, and owned interests in the Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington, DC, theatres as well as opening his own. The four journals on this reel begin in London in 1796 and end in Baltimore in 1831. Many of the entries relate to the activities of the theatres; unfortunately, some pages are impossible to read. Also included are programs of the Baltimore Theatre and Circus, and of the performance of “King Henry the IV” in the Warren Theatre.

(Microfilmed by Catholic University of America, Washington, DC.)

FILM MISC - Request access

 

Washington, George, 1732-1799. George Washington Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1961 
Presidential papers microfilm
124 reel(s)

The Washington papers, numbering 64,786 pages, were arranged in eight series: 1) Exercise books and diaries (1741-99), 2) Letterbooks (1754-99), 3) Varick transcripts (1775-83), 4) General correspondence (1697-1799), 5) Financial papers (1750-96), 6) Military papers (1755-98), 7) Applications (1789-96), and 8) Miscellaneous papers (1775-99). The material deals with Washington's relations with the Continental Congress, his command of the Continental Army, his presidency, and other aspects of his career. Principal correspondents include Benedict Arnold, Clement Biddle, George and James Clinton, Bartholomew Dandridge, Horatio Gates, Nathanael Greene, Alexander Hamilton, Robert Harrison, William Heath, Robert Howe, David Humphreys, Thomas Jefferson, Henry Knox, Lafayette, Tobias Lear, Henry Lee Jr., Benjamin Lincoln, William Livingston, Alexander McDougall, James McHenry, William Maxwell, Robert Morris, Stephen Moylan, Samuel Parsons, Timothy Pickering, Israel Putman, Edmund Randolph, Joseph Reed, Rochambeau, Philip Schuyler, Charles Scott, John Sullivan, Benjamin Tallmadge, and Jonathan Trumbull.

FILM 21:6-8 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the George Washington papers

This name index lists names of writers and recipients of letters. Diaries, general orders, and survey records are indexed under President Washington’s name.

Wattenberg, Diedrich. Peter Apianus Und Sein Astronomicum Caesareum Peter Apianus and his Astronomicum Caesareum.

Leipzig: Editon Leipzig , 1967

FILM BOOK 0482

Webster, Daniel, 1782-1852. Microfilm Edition of the Papers of Daniel Webster.

Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms, 1971 
41 reel(s)

Documents relating to Daniel Webster in the Dartmouth College Library include correspondence about Webster's triumphs before the Supreme Court and his lengthy correspondence with Edward Everett, Millard Fillmore, and John Tyler. Also included are family and business papers, speeches, drafts of editorials anonymously published in the National Intelligencer, legal papers (notably those of the Dartmouth College and Charles River Bridge cases), congressional documents, and diplomatic papers not included in the official State Department files. Reel one also contains an index to letters available in other repositories.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 15:6-7 - Request access

Guides:

Webster, Daniel, 1782-1852. Microfilm edition of the papers of Daniel Webster : Guide and index to the microfilm

The guide provides a general chronology, a description of the contents of each reel, and an index of correspondents. This guide is also reproduced on reel one.

Webster, Daniel, 1782-1852. Papers of Daniel Webster, 1800-1895.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1967 
8 reel(s)

The collection includes 2500 letters, speeches, and press clippings of Daniel Webster in the Library of Congress as well as transcripts of letters from 1800 to 1860 in the New Hampshire Historical Society. Topics covered include legal matters, the Bank of the United States, diplomacy, boundaries of the United States, Latin American relations, the tariff question, Webster's early life, the administrations of John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson, the anti-Masonic movement, and Webster's role in the Tyler cabinet. The letters dated after Webster's death are responses to George Ticknor's requests to Webster contemporaries for letters and other Webster-related items. Ticknor was one of Webster's literary executors. Reel eight reproduces the alphabetical card file of the New Hampshire Historical Society.

A description of the collection is in the Handbook of Manuscripts in the Library of Congress (1918), p. 518-520, which is not in the Ellis Library collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

The Weekly News and Courier, Charleston, SC. Our Women in the War. The Lives they Lived; the Deaths they Died.

Charleston, SC: News and Courier Book Presses, 1885
1 reel(s)

This book is a compilation of 79 personal narratives during the Civil War as told by southern women and appearing in The Weekly News and Courier. The subjects include the siege at Vicksburg, MS, poets of the Confederacy, talks with children, foraging around Nashville, TN, heroism at home, war times in Alabama, and many more.

FILM MISC - Request access

Weld Papers, 1839-1889, Letters and Other Papers of the Weld Family of Lulworth Castle, East Lulworth, Wareham, Dorset.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods and British Association for American Studies, 1963 
British records relating to America
1 reel(s)

Owned by the Weld family, the Maryland and New York Iron Company, Mount Savage, Maryland, and its successor, Mount Savage Ironworks, are early examples of direct English investment in a United States company. The company initiated the exploitation of the rich coal reserves of the Cumberland region for the manufacturing of rails. About 160 letters and business documents are filmed.

A description of the collection appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:12 - Request access

Welford, Richard Griffiths. Influences of the Game Laws.

London: R. Groombridge and Sons, 1846 
1 reel(s)

Welford (1804-1872) was a member of the Royal Agricultural Society of England and a barrister-at-law. This work is argues against game preserving.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “Being classified extracts from the evidence taken before a select committee of the House of Commons on the game laws, and some introductory remarks.” Table of contents at the beginning; appendices and advertisements at the end. Also contains an address to the tenant farmers of Great Britain by John Bright, Esq., M.P.

FILM MISC - Request access

West Indies Records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1710-1908.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Limited, 1984
British records relating to America in microform
19 reel(s)

The material in this collection covers the growth of the Society and its work in the Bahamas, Jamaica, Barbadoes, Antigua, Trinidad, British Guiana (Guyana), Honduras, and the Mosquito Coast. A central issue for several reels concerns the Codrington bequest to the Society for creation of an institution to convert and educate slaves.

FILM 22:12-13 - Request access

Guides:

West Indies records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, c. 1710-1908 [guide] PDF

The guide contains the provenance of the collection, background information on the Society and a description of its records, a list of contents for each reel and a bibliography of related works, both primary and secondary. The guide is reproduced at the beginning of reel one. Also available under call number BX5611.W47 W4 1984.

West Indies Records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel ‘E’ Series, 1901-1950.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987
British Records Relating to America in Microform
13 reel(s)

FILM

Guides:

West Indies records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel ‘E’ series 1901-1950 [guide] PDF

The guide gives a description of each chronologically arranged reel, and a bibliography. Also available under call number BX5611.W47 W4 1987.

Western Americana; the Trans-Mississippi West and Travels in the West and Southwest.

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press,

The period from the end of the Civil War to the 1920s was one of formation and growth to maturity of the region beyond the Mississippi. This collection assembles a corpus of fundamental printed works relating to the West. The collection includes biographies of obscure frontier personalities, histories of towns and counties which were key points in the winning of the west, personal narratives of Indian fights and of Indian sympathizers, adventures of trappers and mountain men, accounts of ranch life and cattle drives, and other documents of the vast western region. Directories, obscure historical serials, and speeches in Congress are included. Each title is cataloged individually.

An uncataloged guide, Library of Western Americana, available in the Special Collections Office provides a complete list of the titles in the collection.

MICD

Western European Census Reports. 1960.

White Plains, N.Y.: Kraus Microforms, 1973 
1085 fiche

Census data from seventy-four published censuses for twenty-two European countries are included. The censuses are written and compiled in the language of the issuing country. Excluded are housing censuses and preliminary population censuses. The census of Monaco is not included.

MICF 0310

Guides:

Blake, Judith. Western European censuses, 1960; an English language guide

The guide provides translations of table titles and captions, glossaries, and bibliographic data for each published census.

Wharncliffe Manuscripts Relating to the American Civil War 1864-1872: In the Sheffield City Library.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: EP Microform, 1975
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

Letters to the third Lord Wharncliffe relate to the Confederacy during the Civil War. Lord Wharncliffe, like many aristocratic Englishmen, was a strong southern sympathizer and had business interests in southern cotton. Letters concern the Committee for the Relief of Southern Prisoners of War, chaired by Wharncliffe from 1864 to 1865. In 1864, the committee raised 17,000 pounds for southern prisoners of war held in the North. United States secretary of state, William Seward, refused the money on the grounds that it was unnecessary. Letters to Lord Wharncliffe after this refusal tell of southern hardship and alleged atrocities of the North. Other correspondence concerns the business affairs of Alexander Collie, a blockade-runner during the later stages of the war, and James Spence, a British supporter of the South.

FILM 22:13 - Request access

Guides:

Wharncliffe manuscripts relating to the American Civil War, 1864-1872 PDF

Whitbread, Samuel, 1764-1815. Whitbread Papers, 1807-1815.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods in conjunction with the British Association for American Studies,
British Records Relating to America in Microform
1 reel(s)

Whitbread was a member of the English Parliament from 1790-1815 and was a spokesman for causes connected to civil and religious liberties. He denounced slavery and urged negotiations with France. He was a friend to the U.S. and opposed the War of 1812. Most of this collection is political papers in the form of letters, some with reports.

FILM - Request access

Guides:

The selected papers of Samuel Whitbread, 1807-1815PDF

Wilkins, Roy, 1901-1981. FBI File on Roy Wilkins.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1990 
1 reel(s)

Roy Wilkins served as Executive Secretary of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1955-1977. He was not a Communist and fought its infiltration into the NAACP. The FBI investigated Wilkins, however, because of death threats and strong criticisms directed toward him.

FILM BOOK 0294

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on Roy Wilkins.

The guide contains an introduction that provides a brief biography of Roy Wilkins and summarizes the film’s content and its value to researchers. Roll notes list some of the contents of each section of the roll. This information is also provided at the beginning of the roll.

William Davenport and Company. Papers of William Davenport & Co. (1745-1797).

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1998
British Records Relating to America in Microform
3 reel(s)

These papers provide a remarkably full account of the eighteenth-century British slave trade. Born in London in 1725, William Davenport was apprenticed to a Liverpool merchant and later set up his own overseas trading company there. His business involved commerce in the Mediterranean area, especially trade in beads in Venice, and to Virginia, Grenada, and Dominica, as well as Cameroon, the Bight of Biafra in the Niger Delta, and Calaba in Africa. An important figure in the British slave trade, Davenport died in 1797.
Included in the collection are trading invoices and accounts of ships owned by Davenport and his associate William Whaley from 1761 to 1784. Also contained in the collection are letter and bill books, waste books, ledgers, and other account books. The more detailed of the accounts include data on voyage costs, supplies of trade goods, demographics, markets, and proceeds. From these records, the financial history of well over half of Davenport’s slaving voyages may be reconstructed. The collection offers insights into the impact of geographical change in the pattern of slaving in Africa on profits in the British slave trade.

FILM BOOK 0322

Guides:

Richardson, David. The papers of William Davenport & Co., (1745-1797) : a brief introduction to the microfilm edition of the William Davenport papers PDF

The guide contains a brief biography of Davenport, contents of the three reels, and bibliological references. Also available under call number HT1161 .R53 1998. (Filmed from the collection owned by Keele University Library, Special Collections and Archives, Staffordshire, England)

William R. Perkins Library. Index Iconologicus.

Sanford, NC: Microfilming Corporation of America,
421 fiche

Most elements in Index Iconologicus are photographs of art works published as illustrations to Adam Bartsch's Le Peintre Graveur (NE90 .B213, 1978).

MICF 016.709

Guides:

Langedijk, Karla. Index iconologicus : a guide to the microform edition.

Wirt, William. William Wirt Papers.

Baltimore, MD: 1971 
24 reel(s)

The William Wirt Papers provide insight into the cultural, political, and legal history of three decades of American history. William Wirt was most famous as an orator and lawyer, but was also successful as an author, essayist, and historian. He served as Attorney General of the United States from 1817 to 1829, and as a lawyer in litigation in cases from the Callender Trial in 1800 to the Cherokee cases of 1831-32. In 1832 he was the presidential candidate on the anti-masonic ticket. His voluminous correspondence with his wife Elizabeth makes up the bulk of the correspondence, but he had many famous correspondents as well. These included John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Daniel Webster, St. George Tucker, Dabney Carr, James Madison, James Monroe, and Albert Gallatin.

FILM BOOK 0260

Guides:

Boles, John B. A guide to the microfilm edition of the William Wirt papers [by] John B. Boles.

The guide contains a biography and bibliography of William Wirt, and a brief description of the subjects covered on the reels.

Wodrow, James, 1730-1810. Wodrow-Kenrick Correspondence, 1750-1810.

Wakefield, England: Microform Limited, 1982
British records relating to America in microform
2 reel(s)

This collection consists of correspondence between James Wodrow (1730-1810), a Scottish Presbyterian Minister, and Samuel Kenrick (1728-1811), a Dissenting English banker. Up to 1774, the correspondence concentrates on personal matters. From 1774 to 1782, it focuses on the American War of Independence. From 1789, the two men discuss the phenomenon of the French Revolution and its impact on the domestic British scene. The letters also touch upon such topics as Presbyterianism in Scotland, dissent in England, banking in the industrializing West Midlands, and the affairs of the University of Glasgow.

FILM 22:13 - Request access

Guides:

Bonwick, Colin. Wodrow-Kenrick correspondence c 1750-1810 : in Dr. Williams’s Library, London (DWL MSS 24:157) PDF

The guide provides a calendar of the correspondence listing all letters and summarizing their content. Also available under call number DA810.W6 B4 1982.

Women and Victorian Values, 1837-1910 Advice Books, Manuals and Journals for Women. Parts 1-4: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

Marlborough, Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthews Publications, 1966 
20 reel(s)

There are more than 200 titles in Part One and Part Two. They are grouped by the following subjects: Cookery and Domestic Life, Education and Etiquette, Entertainment, Fashion, Society and Beauty, Language and Literature, Letter Writing, Marriage and Divorce, Miscellanea, Mothers and Daughters, Religion and Morality, Travel, Women and the Law, Women and Work, Women's Health, Women's Rights and Status. Parts Three and Four contain rare periodicals and journals (arranged alphabetically by titles) that address a variety of topics.

Ellis Library has Part 1 (20 reels) of this 83 reel collection. The guide is available online athttp://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/w.aspx.

FILM BOOK 0300

Guides:

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910 : advice books, manuals and journals for women. Parts 1-4, Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

The guide is illustrated and contains a publisher’s note that explains the scope of each of the following subject areas. It also has a technical note that describes the difficulties the publisher had while microfilming material, some of which was not in good condition. There is also a listing of the contents of each reel, and an index by title.

World Conference on Faith and Order

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Service and Sales Company, 1960 
10 reel(s)

The General Convention of the Episcopal Church made the suggestion, in 1910, that a world conference be held to decide matters of faith and order. A Joint Commission was formed to invite all churches to join and Robert H. Gardiner was appointed Secretary of the project. The publications in this series were published in four series, from 1910 to 1974. See entry for World Council of Churches for Gardiner's correspondence and minutes of the Commission.

FILM

Guides:

DeGroot, A. T. (Alfred Thomas), 1903- Check list, Faith and Order Commission, official, numbered publications: series I, 1910-1948; series II, 1948-to date (1962)

The Guide contains a bibliography of publications by the Faith and Order Commission, and a brief explanatory note.

World Conference on Faith and Order. Minutes, 1910-1949, and Minutes of its Executive Committee, 1910-1927. Filmed with the Correspondence of Robert H. Gardiner, 1910-1924 and Correspondence of Ralph W. Brown, 1924-1932.

Chicago: University of Chicago Library, 1960 
11 reel(s)

For a description of World Conference on Faith and Order see entry on the Faith and Order Paper. This collection contains papers from the Faith and Order Archives in Geneva of the correspondence of R.H. Gardiner, first secretary of the Episcopal Church's Commission on a World Conference on Faith and Order and Ralph W. Brown from 1924 to 1931.

FILM BOOK 0244

Wüst, Ernst. Lexicon Aristophaneum.

München: K.G.Sauer, 1984 
34 fiche

Contains a microfiche lexicon (German/Greek) for the comedies of Aristophanes.

Microfiche issued in portfolio form – see guide to view items.

MICF

 

Wykeham Martin Papers: Material Relating to the Problems of Settlement in America, Especially After the War of Independence.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1969 
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

In 1649, along with other cavaliers, John Culpeper was granted the Northern Neck in Virginia by Charles II. At the Restoration in 1660 he returned to England. When he died the same year, the estates passed to the related Fairfax, Martin, and Wykeham families. Papers of these families illustrate the difficulties inherent in owning American property after the American Revolution. The focus of this series is the large property in Virginia, which finally escheated (reverted to the government) after the war. The papers include family correspondence dealing mostly with the finances of the estate (rents, debts, revenues) and with the attempts to regain the property after the War of Independence. Some of the letters describe current events like the wars with the French in the 1740's and 1750's, the unrest in America after the Stamp Act, Indian incursions, the Jacobite rebellion in Scotland in 1745/46.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:13 - Request access