Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Taylor, Zachary, 1784-1850. Zachary Taylor Papers.

Washington, D.C: Library of Congress, 1958 
Presidential papers microfilm
2 reel(s)

Zachary Taylor, 12th president of the United States, distinguished himself in the War of 1812 and the Black Hawk, Seminole, and Mexican Wars. During his term as president, he presided over the ratification of the Clayton-Bulwer Treaty and encouraged the admission of New Mexico and California as free states. His papers are organized in five series: 1) an autobiographical account, 2) general correspondence, 3) family papers related to the settlement of Taylor's estate, the life of Richard Taylor, his son, and the plantation in Louisiana, 4) miscellany, and 5) a memorial volume. Letters to Thomas S. Jesup from 1818 to 1840 relate largely to the Seminole Indian campaign in 1837 and 1838. Other correspondents include John M. Clayton, George W. Crawford, Jefferson Davis, James K. Polk, Thomas W. Ringgold, and Winfield Scott.

FILM 21:5 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Zachary Taylor papers

The guide provides an index of writers and recipients.

Texas Western Railroad Company. Charter of the Texas Western Railroad Company, and Extracts from Reports of Col. A.B. Gray and Secretary of War, on the Survey of Route, from Eastern Borders of Texas to California.

Cincinnati, OH: Porter, Thrall, & Chapman, 1855
1 reel(s)

Gray was the U.S. Commissioner of the Mexican Boundary Commission; he led the survey of the railroad. This report also includes the cost of the railroad’s construction, extracts from Capt. A.H. Humphrey’s “General Review” of the various Pacific railroad surveys, resolutions of the Board of Directors, and extracts from the proceedings of a meeting of the stockholders of the company in New York on September 10, 1855. The Secretary of War at the time was Jefferson Davis.

Title continues “Nature of country and climate, mineral and agricultural resources, &c., &c.” Contains a fold-out map at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Theatre Costume Design in the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Surrey: Emmett Microfilm Ltd, 1983 
Fashion Costume and Uniforms Series, Part 3
38 fiche

The collection is arranged by artist and then by play title. A title index is provided. Guide is available, fiche missing as of 12/2006.

MICF 2584

Guides:

Victoria and Albert Museum. Theatre costume design in the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Third Party Presidential Nominating Conventions, Proceedings, Records, Etc.

La Crosse, WI: Micro 8 Company, 1973
7 reel(s)

The collection consists of records and proceedings of presidential nominating conventions of third parties between 1830 and 1968. The materials included concern the following parties: the American Party (1856-1888), the Anti-Masonic Party (1830-1836), the Constitutional Union Party (1860-1869), the Free Soil Party (1848-1852), the Greenback Party (1876-1884), the Liberal Party (1840-1852), the Populist Party (People's Party) (1892-1900), the Progressive Party (1912-1952), the Prohibition Party (1872-1968), the Socialist Labor Party (1877-1968), the Union Labor Party (1888), the Socialist Party (1900-1968), the International Workingmen's Association (1871-1873), the Communist Party (1948-1968), and the Union Party (1936). Also included in the collection are pamphlets of the Socialist Party, the International Workingmen's Association, the American Workers Party, the Independent Communist Labor League, the Workers Party of the United States, the Socialist Workers Party, the Revolutionary Workers League, the Conference for Progressive Labor Action, the Revolutionary Workers League, the Industrial Workers of the World, the Revolutionary Workers Party, and of various communist splinter groups.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:6 - Request access

Guides:

Third party presidential nominating conventions, proceedings, records, etc. : [index].

The guide lists all the documents filmed.

Three Centuries of Drama

New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation,

This set contains all available first editions and important subsequent editions of the important and minor English plays from 1500 to 1800, and American plays from the beginning of American drama to 1830. The set also includes foreign plays which were adapted into English. The English titles are grouped into Elizabethan plays, 1515-1641; Restoration plays, 1642-1700, early eighteenth century plays, 1701-1750; and late eighteenth century plays, 1751-1800. There is also a group of the Larpent Collection of Manuscripts, 1737-1800 which are located at the Henry E. Huntington Library and Museum. Finally, the American plays are dated 1714-1830.

Each play is individually catalogued. Consult MERLIN by author or title.

MICPT 822.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. Catalogue of the Larpent plays in the Huntington Library, compiled by Dougald MacMillan.

Times (London, England) Intelligence Files: Ceylon, August 29, 1941 September 17, 1962.

London: The Times, 1941
1 reel(s)

These clippings cover the history, politics, and government of what is now Sri Lanka from 1941-1962.

Composed of clippings from The Times.

FILM MISC - Request access

Times (London, England) Intelligence Files: India and Pakistan, December 12, 1938 July 29, 1969.

London: The Times, 1938
1 reel(s)

These clippings cover the history, politics, and governments of India and Pakistan from 1938-1969.

Note: Composed of clippings from The Times.

FILM MISC - Request access

Tindal, William. Remarks on Dr. Johnson’s Life and Critical Observations on the Works of Mr. Gray.

Tindal, William.

London: 1782
1 reel(s)

Tindal (1756-1804) dedicated his remarks “to the friends of Mr. Gray, and the lovers of poetry.” These remarks defend poet Thomas Gray’s (1716-1771) writings, which were criticized by Samuel Johnson (1709-1784), the English author, scholar, and literary critic. There is a poem at the end entitled “To Mr. Gray, On his Odes.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Tooke, John Horne. Trial at Large of John Horne, Esq., upon an Information Filed Ex Officio by His Majesty’s Attorney General, for a Libel, Before the Right Hon. William, Earl of Mansfield, in the Court of King’s Bench, Guildhall, on Friday the Fourth of

London: John Horne Tooke, 1777
1 reel(s)

Tooke (1736-1812) published this transcript from his trial from the short-hand notes of Joseph Gurney. Tooke was a radical politician, Anglican priest, and agitator for Parliamentary reform who added “Tooke” to his name in honor of a wealthy friend, William Tooke, who named him heir to his estate. This trial was in regard to his attempt to raise funds for victims of the government “murder” at Lexington and Concord. He was found guilty, imprisoned, and fined. He was later tried and acquitted for treason in 1794. In addition to the transcript, this book also lists the people on the jury, where they lived, and their occupations. There are advertisements at the end for other trials covered by Gurney.

FILM MISC - Request access

Topographical and Statistical Account of the Province of Louisiana.

Baltimore: Franklin Press, 1803
1 reel(s)

This book gives a wealth of information about the recently acquired Louisiana Territory under the Louisiana Purchase. The Missouri and Mississippi Rivers are featured prominently.

Title continues “Containing, a description of its soil, climate trade, and produce, its divisions, rivers, lakes, cities, towns, &c. Laws, customs, habits and manners – civil, commercial, political, and ecclesiastical establishments – numbers and pursuits, of its inhabitants, together with new and interesting particulars, relative to the Indian tribes: To which is annexed, a copious preface, and, the recent conventions, between the United States, and the French republic. Compiled by different individuals, possessed of the best information, and from the documents communicated to Congress, by the President.” One of the numerous editions of a compilation made under the direction of President Thomas Jefferson from information furnished by Dr. John Sibley, of Natchitoches, La., and others. The original was transmitted to Congress Nov. 14, 1803, and published as a congressional document under title An Account of Louisiana. An appendix at the end is the census of Louisiana in 1785.

FILM MISC - Request access

Townshend, Charles, 1725-1767. Charles Townshend Papers at Dalkeith: Material Relating to America from the Charles Townshend Papers in the Possession of the Duke of Buccleuch at Dalkeith House, Midlothian.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
3 reel(s)

Charles Townshend, as Chancellor of the Exchequer of Great Britain from 1766 to 1767, angered the American colonists with his firm advocacy of the Stamp Act and his proposals to suspend the New York Colonial Assembly, to remove the Commissioners of Customs from provincial control, and to impose port dues on various commodities. The papers contain materials relating to most of the colonies from Canada to Jamaica. Representative subjects include the establishment of a free port at Dominica in the West Indies, Newfoundland fisheries, the disposition of troops, the settlement of Florida, the economy of Granada, the Cathcart expedition to the West Indies in 1740, and a history of New Hampshire.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of each reel. Also useful is SPEC-R Z1226 .C74 1979 Raimo, John W. (ed.). A Guide to Manuscripts Relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland, page 300.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:11 - Request access

Guides:

A Guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland : a revision of the guide edited in 1961 by B. R. Crick and Miriam AlmanPDF

The guide briefly describes various collections in this series. Each collection in Ellis Library is listed in the card catalog and/or MERLIN, the online catalog. Also available under call number Z1236 .C74 1979.

Travels in the Confederate States

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1956

This collection reproduces most of the items in the bibliography, Travels in the Confederate States. Extremely valuable to students of the Civil War, it contains material written by on-the-scene observers; soldiers, journalists, visitors, and innocent victims caught in the middle of the war. It is especially rich in regimental histories and memoirs of military leaders and common soldiers. Each title is cataloged individually.

MICF

Guides:

Coulter, E. Merton (Ellis Merton), 1890- Travels in the Confederate States, a bibliography.

The guide is annotated to indicate which items are in Ellis Library. The guide provides complete bibliographic information and an annotation for each title.

Travels in the New South.

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1964

This collection reproduces most of the items in Thomas Clark's bibliography, Travels in the New South. This bibliography, covers the period from 1865 to 1900. During this period, many domestic and foreign visitors came to the South to view the results of the war and the process of reconstruction. Travel accounts give first-hand information on political, cultural, and even scientific developments. Most of the guides, directories, surveys, and promotional materials included are based on travel. Each title in the bibliography is cataloged individually.

MICD

Guides:

Clark, Thomas Dionysius, 1903- Travels in the new South, a bibliography.

The guide provides full bibliographic information and an annotation for each title.

Travels in the Old South

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1969

This collection reproduces most of the items in Thomas Clark's bibliography, Travels in the Old South. This bibliography covers the years 1527 to 1860. Spanish explorers and visitors to the colonies before, during, and after the Revolution describe the sights, sounds, social life, and customs of the emerging area. The travel accounts reflect the interests of explorers, soldiers, farmers, teachers, physicians, land hunters, politicians, scientists, and sightseers. Agriculture, industry, folklore, and other aspects of Southern tradition are described. Each title is cataloged individually.

MICF

Guides:

Clark, Thomas Dionysius, 1903- Travels in the Old South, a bibliography.

The guide is annotated to indicate which items are in Ellis Library. The guide provides complete information and an annotation of each title.

Travels in the West and Southwest

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1969

This collection contains material covering the period from the end of the Civil War to 1920. It includes biographies, histories of communities, personal narratives of Indian fights, adventures of mountain men, accounts of the cattle industry, directories, political speeches, promotional literature, and other material to study the history, politics, social, economic, and cultural life of the West. The titles in this collection are catalogued individually.

MICF

Guides:

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney, 1916- The new Sabin : books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies

The guide is arranged alphabetically by author.

Treatise on the Plague and Pestilential Fevers, with Some Useful Hints, for the Better Prevention and Cure.

London: 1751
1 reel(s)

This book discusses plagues throughout the world.

Title continues “together with some observations, on the pestilential fever now raging among the horned cattle; and the reasons for the necessity of rectifying the present ill state of physic, in this nation.” This is an enlarged version of “Plague no contagious disease” from 1744.

FILM MISC - Request access

Tredegar Papers in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: E.P. Microform, 1979
British records relating to America in microfilm
7 reel(s)

The Tredegar Park Muniments are the family papers of the Gould (later Morgan) family. King Gould (d. 1756) of Westminster, an army agent, later a deputy judge advocate, was father of the more famous Sir Charles Gould (afterwards Morgan) (1726-1806), also a judge advocate general. In his post as army agent, King Gould was responsible for the 40th Foot Regiment commanded by Richard Philips (1661-1751), governor of Placentia in Newfoundland and captain-general and governor-in-chief of the province of Nova Scotia or Acadia in North America. The bulk of the manuscripts deal with financial transactions between Gould and the regiment. Shortly before King Gould’s death, his son Charles became his executor and acquired the task of army agent to Richard Philips’ regiment. Their manuscripts offer a fascinating glimpse into army life in North America. Three letter books (manuscripts 284-86) give some indication of the work of an army agent. In general, the letters deal with the routine matters of dispatching supplies or attending to personal issues, but occasionally there are matters concerning the organization and running of the colony.

FILM 22:11-12 - Request access

Guides:

Taylor, Clare. American material from the Tredegar Park Muniments, 1719-1825 : in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth PDF

The guide provides an introduction to the collection, pertinent maps, and a select bibliography of related material. Also available under call number E178 .T3 1980.

Trinity College (University of Cambridge) Library Mediaeval Manuscripts Collection Including Some Post-Medieval Manuscripts Section V. Literature. Part A. General. Part B. The Greek and Later Classics.

London: World Microfilms Publications, 1979 
61 reel(s)

235 titles.

An uncataloged guide, Trinity College, Cambridge. The Mediaeval Manuscript Collection, is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM BOOK 010

Guides:

Trinity College (University of Cambridge). Library. The western manuscripts in the library of Trinity college, Cambridge. A descriptive catalogue by Montague Rhodes James.

Trinity College (University of Cambridge), Library. Mediaeval Manuscript Collection, Vol VI: Secular Manuscripts.

London: World Microfilm Publications, 1979 
80 reel(s)

This collection of secular manuscripts is divided into Part A, General and Part B, History. It includes numerous post-mediaeval manuscripts in addition to the notable mediaeval manuscripts selected from Trinity College's collection. The James catalog gives a description of the manuscripts, often a table of contents within a particular manuscript, and a list of illustrations when appropriate. Examples of works in the general collection are Jacobus de Cessolis de Ludo Scaccarum, correspondence between Sir Isaac Newton and Dr. Robert Hooke, John Hadley's chemistry lecture, and the annals of William Camden. Historical manuscripts include Memoires Historiques de Neufville, Leicester's Commonwealth Diary of Paris de Grassis, and Edmund Campion's History of Ireland.

An uncataloged guide, Trinity College, Cambridge. The Mediaeval Manuscript Collection. (Including some post-mediaeval manuscripts.) Section VI: Secular MSS, is available in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains a reel list with specific reference to the James catalogue.

FILM BOOK 0011

Guides:

Trinity College (University of Cambridge). Library. The western manuscripts in the library of Trinity college, Cambridge. A descriptive catalogue by Montague Rhodes James.

Trollope, Anthony. Harry Heathcote of Gangoil. A Tale of Australian Bush Life.

London: Marston, Low, & Searle, 1874 
1 reel(s)

Trollope (1815-1882) was a prolific English novelist and is credited with developing the chronicle form of fiction. This work is a fictionalized account of 19th century frontier and pioneer life in Australia. The text is available online athttp://etext.library.adelaide.edu.au/t/trollope/anthony/gangoil/index.html andhttp://www.gutenberg.org/etext/5642.

Table at contents at the beginning; contains illustrations

FILM MISC - Request access

Tubbee, Okah. Sketch of the Life of Okah Tubbee, Alias William Chubbee, Son of the Head Chief, Mosholeh Tubbee of the Choctaw Nations of Indians.

Springfield, MA: H.S. Taylor, 1848 
1 reel(s)

Okah Tubbee (1810 or 1811-?) was kidnapped as a baby and brought up as a slave in Mississippi. This work contains a narrative of his life as well as many testimonials to his gentlemanly personality, medical abilities, and musical talents. He practiced as a physician in the 1850s, and some of these letters are from Missouri residents.
Text can be found at http://docsouth.unc.edu/neh/tubbee/menu.html.

Note: Also written by Laah Ceil Manatoi Elaah Tubbee, his wife.

FILM MISC - Request access

Tudway of Wells Antiguan Estate Papers, 1689-1907.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1999
British records relating to America in microfilm
30 reel(s)

The records included in this collection cover over three centuries of the operation of an Antiguan sugar plantation, providing the most complete surviving private records pertaining to these plantations. The plantation, called Parham and located on the eastern part of the island of Antigua in what was the British Caribbean, was owned by the Tudway family of Wells Somerset and was in operation by 1689, contributing to the sugar boom experienced by the island in the 1680s. The Tudway family, a prosperous middle-class family, acted as absentee owners who rarely visited the plantation; thus, they did not witness the slave-labor source of their wealth. Records in these papers cover the years 1689 to 1920 and consist of a virtually complete set of annual accounts during those years, correspondence dating from 1717 to 1898 written from both Britain and Antigua, paylists, slave registers, and records of sugar cane experiments from 1905 to 1907. The records provide full details on all operating aspects of a sugar plantation as well as attitudes on absentee landlords and legislation affecting the sugar business and are valuable for reconstructing the social and economic history of the British Caribbean.

FILM BOOK 0324

Guides:

Morgan, Kenneth. The Tudway of Wells Antiguan estate papers, 1689-1907 : a brief introduction to the microfilm edition of the Tudway of Wells estate papers PDF

Also available under call number HD8244.4 .M67 1999.

Tully, J.D. History of the Plague as it has Lately Appeared in the Islands of Malta, Gozo, Corfu, Cephalonia, Etc.

London: Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1821 
1 reel(s)

Tully was the surgeon to the British forces, a member of the Ionian Academy, inspector of quarantine, and president of the Board of Health of the Ionian Islands. This book gives details about the plague and ways to eradicate it.

Title continues “detailing important facts, illustrative of the specific contagion of that disease, with particulars of the means adopted for its eradication.” Table of contents at the beginning; supplement at the end contains official British Government reports on the plague; appendix at the end contains three proclamations of the Right Honourable Thomas Maitland, Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Island of Malta.

FILM MISC - Request access

Turnbull, Robert James. Crisis: Or Essays on the Usurpations of the Federal Government.

Charleston: A.E. Miller, 1827 
1 reel(s)

Turnbull (1775-1833) was an American lawyer whose parents emigrated from England and founded New Smyrna, Florida, before he was born. He became a leader in the nullification movement, and this book was compiled from a series of articles he wrote on the subject for the Charleston Mercury. The pseudonym “Brutus” is used for the author.

FILM MISC - Request access

Tuttle, Charles Richard. New Democracy and Bryan, its Prophet.

Chicago: C.H. Kerr & Co, 1896 
1 reel(s)

This book is about William Jennings Bryan, a lawyer and Democratic congressman from Nebraska who ran unsuccessfully three times for president of the United States. He served as secretary of state under Woodrow Wilson but resigned in protest when Wilson led the country into WWI. Included are chapters entitled “The New Democratic Platform,” “Mr. Bryan’s Great Speech,” “How Bryan was Nominated,” “Career of Arthur J. Sewall,” “Silver, Bryan, and Victory,” “Heroism and Defeat,” and more.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Table of contents at the beginning; advertisements at the beginning and end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Twain, Mark. Original Manuscript of Tom Sawyer.

1876 
1 reel(s)

Samuel Langhorne Clemens (1835-1910) wrote under the pen name “Mark Twain.” This film is of the 654-page, handwritten manuscript of one of his most famous books. Also included are some of his handwritten letters to writer Moncure D. Conway, who acted as his agent in England, a review of the book by Conway, a letter from The Gentleman’s Quarterly to Conway discussing the Canadian copyright of Tom Sawyer, an article in the Cincinnati Commercial about the book’s release in England, and a publishing agreement for the book dated May 24, 1876.

Microfilmed by the University of Missouri – Columbia

FILM MISC - Request access

 

Two Centuries of Drama: American 1714-1830.

New Canaan, Ct: Readex Corporation, 1963 
327 card(s)

Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN.

MICPT 812.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

Tyler, John, 1790-1862. John Tyler Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1953 
Presidential papers microfilm
3 reel(s)

John Tyler was a congressman, governor of Virginia, United States senator, and vice president. He became the 10th president of the United States after William Henry Harrison died in office. During his administration, he ended the Seminole War, extended the Monroe Doctrine to Hawaii, and opened the first American trade mission to China. The papers are in three series: 1) general correspondence from 1710 to 1861 arranged chronologically, 2) an alphabetically-arranged autograph collection of documents from 1691 to 1916 assembled by his son, Lyon G. Tyler, and 3) additional correspondence of Julia Gardiner Tyler (the second Mrs. Tyler) and other ladies of the Tyler family. Correspondents include George Bancroft, James Barbour, Margaret G. Beeckman, Richard T. Brown, James Buchanan, John S. Cunningham, Henry Curtis, John B. Floyd, Alexander Gardiner, Juliana Gardiner, Thomas W. Gilmer, James Monroe, John Page, Littleton W. Tazewell, St. George Tucker, and Henry A. Wise.

FILM 21:5 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the John Tyler papers

The guide provides an index to writers and recipients of the correspondence.