Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Palmer, William Jackson. Report of Surveys Across the Continent, in 1867-68.

Philadelphia: W.B. Selheimer, Printer, 1869

General Palmer was a veteran of the Civil War and builder of the Denver & Rio Grande railroad. This work covers the route of the 35th Parallel on which the Union Pacific Railway or Kansas Pacific Railroad traveled from St. Louis to San Francisco. It compares the route of the 32nd Parallel to the 35th Parallel and contains extracts from geological and nature surveys, distances, elevations, and distributions of military troops and Indian tribes along both routes. There are many detailed railroad route maps at the end.

Title continues “On the Thirty-fifth and Thirty-second Parallels, for a Route Extending the Kansas Pacific Railway to the Pacific Ocean at San Francisco and San Diego.” Report made to the Union Pacific railroad company, Eastern division.

FILM MISC - Request access

Palmerston, Henry John Temple, 3rd Viscount, 1784-1865. Palmerston Papers (Add Mss 48495, 48675-6) in the British Museum.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Division, 1971 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Henry John Temple, third Viscount Palmerston, was Junior Lord of the Admiralty and secretary of state at the War Department under Perceval and others, 1809-1828. In 1830 he was made foreign minister under the Whigs. He continued to serve as Foreign Minister except when the Whigs were out of office. In 1855 he became Prime Minister, was defeated in 1858, regained office in 1859, and remained in that office until his death in 1865. Compiled from the Foreign Office, the papers contain notes of diplomatic correspondence with the British ministers in Washington from 1835 to 1841 and from 1846 to 1850. Chief topics are Britain's offers of mediation in the American-French dispute over the French blockade of Mexican ports, Canadian fisheries, the selling into slavery of a British subject in Florida, Canadian boundary disputes, and the Caroline incident.

A description of the contents and their arrangement is at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:9 - Request access

Papers of Graffin Prankard (Dickinson Papers), 1712-1757, in the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: EP Microform Ltd., 1976
British records relating to America in microfilm
9 reel(s)

Correspondence of Graffin Prankard, an iron merchant of Bristol involved in foreign trade, contains details of his complicated ventures in shipping. Items such as bills of lading, instructions to ship commanders, and promissory notes relate to trade with Newfoundland, New York, Philadelphia, Maryland, and the Carolinas. Rice and logwood imported from South Carolina played important roles as commodities in Prankard’s trading connections. Details of the trading ventures of three ships include sailing orders and expenditures for repairs, wages, and duties. Iron and salt trading accounts, marine insurance ledgers, and miscellaneous loose accounts provide additional information.

FILM 22:9-10 - Request access

Guides:

The Papers of Graffin Prankard (from the Dickinson Papers) PDF

An uncataloged guide, Papers of Graffin Prankard (Dickinson Papers), 1712-1757, in the Somerset Record Office, Taunton, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide provides background and a list of reel contents.

Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
98 reel(s)

The League of Women Voters grew out of the women’s suffrage movement and is a non-partisan group that seeks to inform voters and encourage women to work for the political goals they deem important. Pt. 1. Meetings of the board of directors and the executive committees, 1918-1974 (14 reels). Pt. 2, Series A. Transcripts & records of national conventions, 1919-44, and of general councils, 1927-43 (20 reels). Pt. 2, Series B. Transcripts & records of national conventions, 1946-74, and of general councils, 1945-73 (30 reels). Pt. 3, Series A. National office subject files, 1920-32 (34 reels).

FILM BOOK 0390

Guides:

Lester, Robert. Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974 : [guide]

The general introduction, reproduced in each part, includes a bibliography. Reels numbered 1-14 (Pt. 1), reels 1-20 (Pt. 2, series A), reels 1-30 (Pt. 2, series B), reels 1-34 (Pt. 3, series A).

Papers Relating to the Providence Island Company and Colony, 1630-1641.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

The Providence Island Company was founded by a group of “Protestant Imperialists” in the 1620s to grow crops on Providence and Association Islands, off the coasts of Nicaragua, and revive England’s cloth manufacturing industry and to challenge Spain in its area of power. One reel contains minutes of the company meetings, and the other reel copies of official letters written by company agents. Subjects discussed are the company’s problems with debt and attacks by the Spanish.

FILM BOOK 0245

Guides:

Papers relating to the Providence Island Company and colony, 1630-1660s in the Public Record Office, British Library and other repositories PDF

The guide contains a brief history and bibliography of the Providence Island Company. Also available under call number F2281.S15 P3 1989.

Parker family. Parker Family Papers, 1760-1795.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
4 reel(s)

James Parker, a merchant of Norfolk, Virginia, fought as a captain in the British Army during the War for Independence. He was captured twice and held as a prisoner of war in France. The papers relate to his career in Virginia and his experiences during the war, and to the careers of his sons, Patrick and Charles. The letters discuss personal, political, and business matters. One group of papers deals with Parker’s claims for his lost American property. In addition, the papers contain such items as the Virginia Almanack for 1771, accounts and correspondence related to prize money, an account of Benedict Arnold’s attempted betrayal of the West Point Fort, and letters exchanged while James was a prisoner of war.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:9-10 - Request access

Guides:

The family papers of James Parker, 1760-1795 PDF

Parker, William Harwar. Recollections of a Naval Officer, 1841-1865.

New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

Parker (1826-1896) writes about his career in the United States and Confederate Navies, which began in 1841 at the age of 14. This book contains his first-hand accounts of serving on numerous ships and taking part in various battles. It is a particularly valuable primary source for information regarding the operations of the Confederate Navy throughout the Civil War.

FILM MISC - Request access

Pattison, James, 1724-1805. James Pattison Papers, 1777-1781, from the Library, Royal Artillery Institution, Woolwich, London, S.E. 18.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

James Pattison, a British army officer in the American War of Independence, was commander in New York from 1779 to 1780. In April of 1777, Pattison became colonel commandant of the 4th battalion of the Royal Artillery. In September he arrived in New York to assume command of the Royal Artillery, serving under Sir Henry Clinton, Sir Thomas Wilson, and Sir William Howe during their American campaigns. The papers include brigade and general orders giving details of military operations such as the strength and movements of British forces. Other registers record appointments, bills of lading, commissions, and passes. Pattison’s official correspondence contains accounts of military operations from October 1777, to January 1781. Papers related to his administration in New York provide insights into local history.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The papers of James Pattison, 1777-1781 PDF

Pennsylvania. Historical Society. Manuscript Minutes of 1691 and 1692 in William Penn’s Papers, Assembly and Provincial Council of Pennsylvania.

1 reel(s)

These are handwritten minutes of Pennsylvania Assembly and Provincial Council meetings in 1691 and 1692. The author is unknown.

Microfilmed by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PN

FILM MISC - Request access

Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. Papers of the Pennsylvania Abolitionist Society.

Philadelphia, Pa.: Rhistoric Publications, 1969
5 reel(s)

The Society for the Relief of Free Negroes Unlawfully Kept in Bondage was the first society formed for the abolition of slavery. It was founded in 1775 in Philadelphia. Suspended during the Revolutionary War, the society was reactivated in 1787. Containing minutes and manuscripts from 1787 to 1816, the collection forms an extremely rich source for the study of the early abolitionist movement. The first reel contains the constitution and minutes of the society.

Reels 2-5 contain 11 volumes of manuscripts with an index for each volume. A manuscript history of the society, located at the end of the fifth reel, provides a chronological summary of important events and thus can be used as a guide to the collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Perry, William Stevens, Editor. Historical Collections Relating to the American Colonial Church.

Hartford, CT: Church Press Co., 1870 
2 reel(s)

Perry (1832-1898) was a Protestant Episcopal bishop who served many areas throughout the United States. He wrote or edited numerous books, most of which are about church history. These volumes cover five states. Vol. 1: Virginia. Vol. 2: Pennsylvania. Vol. 3: Massachusetts. Vol. 4: Maryland. Vol. 5: Delaware.

Microfilmed by the University of Chicago, Chicago, IL. Original is at the Yale Divinity School, New Haven, CT. Five volumes; includes bibliographical references. Two hundred and fifty copies printed; this is no. 58. Much of the material was originally collected by Francis Lister Hawks, historiographer of the American Church. Also published under the title “Papers Relating to the History of the Church.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Pickering, Timothy, 1745-1829. Timothy Pickering Papers

Boston, Mass.: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1966 
Massachusetts Historical Society, Boston. Microfilm publication. no. 2
69 reel(s)

Timothy Pickering served as postmaster general, secretary of war, and secretary of state under President George Washington. Later, as a Senator and Representative, he opposed the policies of President Thomas Jefferson and of James Madison. A leader of the extreme Federalists, Pickering urged New England's secession from the Union. The papers are a major part of Timothy Pickering's personal collection, dating from the Revolutionary period up to his retirement from public life in the 1820s. Principal correspondents include John Adams, John Quincy Adams, Fisher Ames, George Cabot, Alexander Hamilton, Stephen Higginson, Major Samuel Hodgdon, Colonel David Humphreys, John Jay, Rufus King, Henry Knox, James McHenry, John Marshall, William Vans Murray, Richard Peters, John Pickering, Charles Pinckney, William Smith, Jacob Wagner, George Washington, Timothy Williams, and Oliver Wolcott.

An uncataloged guide, Allis, Frederick S. Jr. (ed.), A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Timothy Pickering Papers, is in the Special Collections Office. It provides a short biography, a summary of the reel contents for reels 1 through 4 and 63 through 69, and a supplemental list of correspondents. Also, SPEC-R F61.M41 58 Historical Index to the Pickering Papers provides a limited subject and more extensive personal name index to reels 5 through 62. Notations in the index indicate the subject content of each document. Reel 69 includes an additional index to personal names appearing in lists and registers not indexed in this second guide. Massachusetts Historical Society, Boston. Microfilm publication. no. 2
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 18:14-19:2 - Request access

Pierce, Franklin, 1804-1869. Franklin Pierce Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1959 
Presidential papers microfilm
7 reel(s)

Franklin Pierce, 14th president of the United States, led the country during the period of increasing bitterness between the North and South before the Civil War. Prior to his presidency, Pierce took part in the 1847 expedition to Mexico City during the Mexican War. During his administration, Congress passed the Kansas-Nebraska Act and negotiations were completed for the Gadsden Purchase. This remnant of his papers includes a diary kept by Pierce during the Mexican War, drafts of his messages to Congress (1853-1856), and letters from political advisers, journalists, and members of his cabinet. Correspondents include Charles G. Atherton, Samuel D. Bell, James Campbell, Lewis Cass, James L. Curtis, Caleb Cushing, Jefferson Davis, Asa Fowler, John H. George, Albert R. Hatch, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Elizabeth A. McNeil, John McNeil, William L. Marcy, Charles H. Peaslee, Benjamin Pierce, Jane A. Pierce, James K. Polk, Thomas H. Seymour, and Sidney Webster.

FILM 21:5 - Request access

Guides:

Index to the Franklin Pierce papers

The guide provides an index to writers and recipients of the letters.

Plains and Rockies

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1957 
3200 fiche

This collection includes over 400 books, magazines articles, federal documents, some compilations, and newspaper items of personal experiences written between 1800 and 1865. The geographical scope includes the region lying between the Missouri River and the Sierra Nevadas from Mexico to the Arctic (excluding Texas and Louisiana). Subjects covered include the fur trade, Lewis and Clark, Mormon migrations, the Oregon trail, Indians, and railroad construction. Each title in the collection is separately cataloged and classified.

Each title catalogued separately.

MICF

Guides:

Wagner, Henry Raup, 1862-1957. The Plains & the Rockies : a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West, 1800-1865

The Wagner and Campbell guide is arranged chronologically with an index.

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney, 1916- The new Sabin : books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies

The guide is arranged alphabetically by author.

Playbills: North American Non-Profit Repertory Theatres, 1958-1975.

Plays Printed After 1640.

Stratford-on-Avon: Shakespeare Institute, 
9 reel(s)

Plays are listed by author and title in the card catalog. Partial contents are listed in contents note on main entry catalog card for the collection.

FILM 4D21:14:5 - Request access

Plays Printed Before 1640.

1 reel(s)

Contains six plays: “The Tragedy of the Duchess of Malfy” by John Webster; London: Nicholas Okes for John Waterson; 1623. “Devil’s Law Case” by John Webster; London: A.M. for John Grismand; 1623. “Women Beware Women, A Tragedy” by Thomas Middleton; London: [n.p.]; 1657. “The Changeling” by Thomas Midleton [sic] and William Rowley; London: [n.p.]; 1653. “The Late Lancashire Witches” by Thomas Heywood and Richard Broome; London: Thomas Harper for Benjamin Fisher; 1634. “The Tragedy of Albertus Wallenstein, Late Duke of Fridland, and Generall [sic] to the Emperor Ferdinand the Second” by Henry Glapthorne; London: Thomas Paine for George Hutton; 1639. Also contains one published letter entitled “ A Letter Written by a Catholicke [sic] Gentleman, to the Lady Jane Clement, the Haulting Princess of the League” by Capitaine Viques; London: John Wolfe; 1590.

FILM MISC - Request access

Plumsted, Robert, fl. 1752-1760. Plumsted Letter Book, 1756-1758: In the University Library, Cambridge.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Robert Plumsted, a Quaker merchant in London, corresponded with several merchants in New England, especially Philadelphia. Plumsted specialized in iron wares and imported American iron. He traded guns, anchors, nails, and other items for American logwood, furs, and corn. Plumsted's Philadelphia correspondence contains his advice on the withdrawal of the Quakers from the government of the colony. Later correspondence reflects the difficulties of trade both because of the Quaker political conflicts and the formal declaration of war with France in May of 1756.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Plunkett, Horace Horace Curzon), Sir, 1854-1932. American Letters of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1883-1932.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

Sir Horace Plunkett was a rancher in Wyoming during the 1880s prior to devoting himself to agricultural cooperatives. In the pursuit of this interest, first in Ireland and later in Great Britain and the United States, Plunkett formed intimate friendships with such prominent Americans as Colonel House, Theodore Roosevelt, Gifford Pinchot, and Charles McCarthy. The letters discuss the affairs of the Powder River Cattle Company and the Western Live-Stock and Land Company, agricultural reform, conservation, rural affairs, British and Irish politics, American attitudes during World War I, and Plunkett’s work with the Reciprocal News Service in London that aimed to influence American opinion during the war.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The American Letters of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1883-1932 PDF

Plunkett, Horace Horace Curzon), Sir, 1854-1932. Diaries of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1881-1932.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microfilm
8 reel(s)

Sir Horace Plunkett ranched in Wyoming in the 1880s before devoting his life to the cause of agricultural cooperatives. In pursuing this cause, Plunkett forged intimate friendships with such prominent Americans as Colonel House, Theodore Roosevelt, Gifford Pinchot, and Charles McCarthy. The diaries describe his ranching ventures from 1881 to 1888, the beginnings of his cooperative work in Ireland, Irish politics, his work with the Department of Agriculture and Instruction in Dublin, as well as his impressions of Roosevelt and the Country Life Commission. Later volumes cover his work for an Irish settlement, his return to England, and the subsequent formation of the Plunkett Foundation.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The Diaries of Sir Horace Plunket, 1881-1932 PDF

Political Balance, in Which the Principles and Conduct of the Two Parties are Weighed.

London: 1765 
1 reel(s)

This book discusses the two political parties in the British government at the time, the Tories and the Whigs.

Printed for T. Becket and P.A. Dehondt.

FILM MISC - Request access

Political Reorientation of Japan, September 1945 to September 1948: Report of Government Sections, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1983 
2 reel(s)

The Political Reorientation of Japan contains a series of reports by various authors on the first three years of the allied occupation, with an introduction by General Douglas MacArthur and foreword by Brigadier General Courtney Whitney. The twelve sections cover such subjects as the constitution, the national Diet, popular elections, and political parties and education. There is an index of names and subjects at the end of the reel.

FILM BOOK 0209

Polk, James Knox, 1795-1849. James K. Polk Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964 
Presidential papers microfilm
67 reel(s)

James K. Polk, elected 11th President in 1844, had previously served a long career in Tennessee politics as state legislator, Congressman, and governor. During his presidency, the United States acquired Oregon and the Mexican Cession took place. He also led the country into the Mexican War in 1846. This collection contains diaries, correspondence, messages and speeches, notes, account and memoranda books, as well as papers left by his wife Sarah Childress Polk. Principal correspondents include Robert Armstrong, A. V. Brown, S. H. Laughlin, William L. Marcy, Sarah Childress Polk, and J. Knox Walker.

FILM 21:8-9 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the James K. Polk papers

The guide contains the provenance, a description of the papers, a reel list and an index.

Popular Stage: Drama in Nineteenth Century England. The French Pettingill Collection of Plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury Series One. Part One.

Brighton: Harvester Microform Publication, 1985 
22 reel(s)

330 plays.

A guide to the collection is on reel one. Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN. An uncataloged guide is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM BOOK 0031

Guides:

The Popular stage : drama in nineteenth century England : the Frank Pettingell collection of plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury : an inventory : [guide to the microfilm edition].

Povey, Thomas. Papers Relating the English Colonies in America and the West Indies, 1627-1699 in the British Museum.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: E. P. Microfilm, 1974 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

This material was collected by Thomas Povey, who served in several positions as an administrator of colonial affairs in England. The documents focus heavily on the sugar producing islands of the West Indies, with specific material on the conquest of Jamaica, the sugar boom in Barbados, and affairs in the Leeward Islands. In addition, because he had a relative involved, Povey's collection includes important information on Bacon's Rebellion in 1675-76 in Virginia. The collection also reflects the role that London merchants played in formulating mercantilist policy in the middle of the 17th century. The vast majority of the documents were written between 1655 and 1680 and are arranged chronologically.

An uncataloged guide, Papers Relating to the English Colonies in America and the West Indies, 1627-1699 in the British Museum, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains information on the provenance of the collection, general background description of the material, an annotated list of film contents, and a bibliography of related works. The guide is reprinted at the beginning of the reel.

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Pratt (John J.) & Hunt. Guide to the Gold Mines of Kansas.

Chicago: Printing Office of C. Scott, 1859 
1 reel(s)

Pratt and Hunt were civil engineers of the Kansas Territory. This book includes the history of gold mines in the western border of Kansas, descriptions of the country near the mines, character and value of gold, cost of supplies for gold digging, where to buy supplies, the best routes and modes of conveyance from New England, Atlantic coast cities, and the Missouri River, testimonials from those who have found gold, and more. A map prepared by Pratt shows the most direct railroad routes from Atlantic coast cities to the Missouri River. The book also contains advertisements at the end for supplies and services, including businesses in Hannibal, MO, for travelers heading west to the mines.

Owned by the Newberry Library, Chicago, IL; Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX.
Title continues “containing an accurate and reliable map of the most direct railroad routes from the Atlantic cities to the farthest point west now reached by railroad communication, via Hannibal and St. Joe Railroad, and from thence to the gold mines; also, all other practicable routes.” Item no. 342 of Wagner-Camp's bibliography The Plains and the Rockies series.

FILM MISC - Request access

President Truman’s Committee on Civil Rights.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
Black Studies Research Series
10 reel(s)

The President's Committee on Civil Rights (PCCR) was established by Harry S. Truman in 1946 in order to reinforce the commitment of civil rights groups and the the government to civil rights progress by preparing a report with recommendations for the President. The collection brings together the various manuscript materials in the Harry S. Truman Library at Independence, Missouri, relevant to the PCCR, 1946-1948. The Committee's report, "To Secure These Rights", is the first item in the collection. The bulk of the collection is composed of the records of the PCCR. These include some documents illuminating the origin of the PCCR, and the operation and organization of the Committee. In addition, relevant documents from the papers of Attorney General Tom Clark and the George Philleo Nash Papers are included. The material contains both private and official correspondence as well as transcripts of PCCR meetings and testimonies before the Committee. The collection also contains staff background studies, digests of information, agenda minutes, news clippings, interim reports, discussion and decision papers, and drafts of speeches.

FILM BOOK 0016

Guides:

President Truman’s Committee on Civil Rights [guide]

The guide contains an introduction to the documents and a listing of the order in which they appear on the microfilm.

Prevost, Abbé Antoine-Francois. Lettres De Mentor, A Un Jeune Seigneur.

London: Paul Vaillant, 1764 
1 reel(s)

Abbé Prevost (1697-1763) was a French novelist and Jesuit priest who led an adventurous life around Europe. This book contains eight letters with a table of contents at the end. Lettre Premiere: Sur l’Etude en general. Lettre II: Sur l’Etude de l’Histoire. Lettre III: Sur le meme sujet. Lettre IV: Sur la Biographie. Lettre V: Sur le Gout. Lettre VI: De l’influence que la Liberte a sur le Gout. Lettre VII: De l’influence de la Liberte sur le Gout, & du siecle de Louis XIV. Lettre VIII: Pourquoi la Poesie est plus stroissante en Angleterre que la Peinture & la Sculpture.

Entire contents in French.

FILM MISC - Request access

Prevost, Augustine, d. 1821. Journal of Augustine Prevost, 1774.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Augustin Prevost was a major in the Royal Americans Regiment of the British army. The journal dating from April to September of 1774 contains details of travel through Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Virginia. It discusses negotiations with the Shawnee Indians conducted by George Croghan, Indian agent and trader.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:11 - Request access

Price, Henry Edward, 1824-1908. Diary of Henry Edward Price.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Henry Edward Price, originally a resident of a workhouse in Warminster, Wiltshire, was sent to America under the Poor Law emigration scheme in 1842. He returned to England in 1848. The diary (1842-1848), apparently a copy with assorted clippings inserted, describes the cargo and passengers on the ship, his employment as a varnisher and polisher, and his later work as a cabinet-maker in New York, Staten Island, and Oswego. The diary mentions the arrival of the telegraph in New York, Phineas Barnum, mesmerism, and racial segregation. It also contains a collection of poetry, essays, and photographs and articles on British sights.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Priestley, Joseph, 1733-1804. Letters to the Rev. Theophilus Lindsay and the Rev. Thomas Belsham, Deposited in Dr. William’s Library.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1965
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Joseph Priestley, English clergyman, chemist, and physicist, moved to the United States in 1794. He lived in Northumberland, Pennsylvania, until his death in 1804. The letters were written to his friend, Theophilus Lindsay (1723-1808), a Unitarian minister closely associated with Priestley in England. The letters deal chiefly with religious ideas, activities, and writings, but Priestley makes observations on American politics, including the strength of Federalists and anti-Federalists and the intensity of American party feelings. References are made to George Washington, John Adams, the Jay Treaty, and Congress. Priestley also mentions the Alien and Sedition Laws, which he feared might apply to him. He comments on Negro emancipation, southern fears of slave insurrections, and American western expansion.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The letters of Dr Joseph Priestley, 1766-1803 & 1789-1803 PDF

Prime, Benjamin Young. Patriot Muse; or Poems upon Some of the Principas Events of the Late War, Together with a Poem on the Peace.

London: 1764 
1 reel(s)

Prime (1733-1791) was a New York physician and writer. This work is a compilation of his poems and songs about the French and Indian War.

FILM MISC - Request access

Prime, William Cowper. Mcclellan’s Own Story; the War for the Union, the Soldiers Who Fought it, the Civilians Who Directed it, and His Relations to it and to Them.

New York: Charles L. Webster & Co., 1887 
1 reel(s)

This book covers from April 1861 to November 1862 the life of Major-General George Brinton McClellan (1826-1885), commander of the Union armies during the Civil War. It contains a biographical sketch by the author, as well as McClellan’s private letters to his wife, the causes, beginning, campaigns, and battles of the Civil War in his own words. There are also illustrations by Mr. A.R. Ward drawn from his originals made while accompanying the Army of the Potomac in 1862.

There is an index at the end of the book.

FILM MISC - Request access

Prompt Books and Actor’s Copies: Theatre Museum, Victoria and Albert, London.

London: Ormonde Publishing Ltd, 1983 
102 fiche

Each title is individually cataloged in MERLIN.

MICF 1632

Guides:

Prompt books and actor’s copies [guide] : Theatre Museum, V&A, London.

Province in Rebellion: A Documentary History of the Founding of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1774-1775.

Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1975 
31 fiche

This collection of 1140 documents, many of which had never before been published, relate to the founding of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in 1774-1775 and the history of the preceding colonial government. Arranged in seven broad chronological periods, the papers date from the arrival of Governor Thomas Gage in 1774 through the end of the Third Provincial Congress in 1775. Within each period, the documents are arranged by governmental institution. Executive documents, town records, Superior Court records, General Court journals and papers, county conventions, and Provincial Congress journals make up the collection. An appendix gives brief biographical sketches of all the members of the three Massachusetts Provincial Congresses.

NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 974.4

Guides:

Province in rebellion : a documentary history of the founding of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1774-1775

This guide includes extensive background notes and a detailed list of contents, and provides an index of persons, places, and topics.

Publications Proscribed by the Government of India.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1985
35 reel(s)

The rising tide of nationalism in India in the early twentieth century and the mounting communal tension between Hindus and Muslims found expression in the variety of propagandist literature published in both Indian and western languages. This literature emanated from movements in India and from expatriate communities in Europe and the United States. The British government attempted to suppress much of this material through censorship This collection contains just over 1600 items banned by the British government in India prior to 1947. It contains monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, and posters. Within the collection the researcher will find material on such topics as the Hindu-Muslim conflict, Islam, Sikh politics, boycotts, British administration, communism, Ghandi, the “Mutiny” of 1857, the Indian National Congress, armed forces, the non-cooperation campaigns, World War II, “Quit India,” and patriotic poetry. Titles reproduced are from collections in the India Office Library and Records and the Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books, British Library.

FILM BOOK 0013

Guides:

Publications proscribed by the government of India.

The items are arranged according to the language of publication. Within each language section the items are in alphabetical order by author or by title.

Punjab (India). Financial Commissioner’s Office. Report on the Working of the Income Tax Acts.

Punjab (India). Financial Commissioner's Office. REPORT ON THE WORKING OF THE INCOME TAX ACTS.

Lahore: Various publishers, 
1 reel(s)

This reel contains income tax reports for the years1869-72, 1886-91, and 1891-1924.

Microfilmed by the India Office Library, London.

FILM MISC - Request access

Punjab (India). Memorandum Submitted by the Government of the Punjab to the Indian Statutory Commission.

London: Recordak Microfilm Service, 1963 
1 reel(s)

This film contains volume 10 of the Report of the Indian Statutory Commission, held at the India Office Library with reflections on a few Punjab political problems by Gulshan Rai Bhatnagar.

FILM MISC - Request access

Punjab Legislative Assembly. Punjab Legislative Assembly. Debates 1937-1946.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
445 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-25 of the daily official reports of the Legislative Assembly of the British-Indian province of Punjab. Each volume is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the assembly. Two major cities within the Punjab are Lahore, which is where the assembly met, and Amritsar, which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. The records cover the period from immediately after the implementation of the Government of India Act (April 1, 1937) to shortly before partition in 1947 when the region was divided into the Indian Punjab state and the Pakistani Punjab province. The collection illustrates the processes of Indian government during a period of increasing nationalist and religious tension in the Punjab.

The records are in chronological order. Each daily report has a table of contents on the title page. Some volumes are preceded by a table of contents and some conclude with an index.

MICF 328.454502

Punjab. Education Department. Report on Popular Education in the Punjab and its Dependencies for the Year 1860-[1901].

London: Recordak Microfilm Service, 1968 
6 reel(s)

The reports discuss financial and general statistics, universities and government colleges, primary and secondary schools, private institutions under government inspection, normal schools, scholarships, employment of students in the public service, the English language in Indian education, and the Book Department. Appendices include extracts from reports made by principals and inspectors. Later reports discuss schools of law, medicine, and art, Moslem education, the education of native chiefs, and educational conferences.

The title of the report varies. A table of contents usually precedes the report for each year. Ellis Library does not have the reports for 1862-1863, 1865-1866, or 1879-1880.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3 - Request access

Punjab. Legislative Council. Debates: Official Reports, 1921-1936.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
565 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-29 of the official daily reports of the Legislative Council of the Lieutenant Governor for the British Indian province of the Punjab (now divided into the Indian Punjab State and the Pakistani Punjab Province) during the period from 1921 to 1936. The Punjab was the frontier province of north-east British-India. Two of its major cities are Lahore, where the council met, and Amitsar which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. Each volume of the collection is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the council. The Punjab legislative council was established to make laws and regulations under provisions of the Indian Councils Acts of 1861 and 1892. The council was dissolved in 1936 and replaced by the party system of government within the new Punjab legislative assembly as dictated by the new Indian constitution. This transformation occurred as a result of the 1935 Government of India Act which granted full autonomy to the provinces. The period covered includes the depression and is one of increasing religious and racial tension. The collection includes material on education, public health, industry, irrigation, religion and corruption.

The records are in chronological order. The daily reports include tables of contents.

MICF 328.454502

Punjab. Legislative Council. Proceedings, 1897-1918.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
132 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-9 of the proceedings of the legislative council of the Lieutenant Governor for the British-Indian province of the Punjab (now divided into the Indian Punjab State and the Pakistani Punjab Province). Each volume is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the council. Two major cities within the Punjab are Lahore which is where the council met, and Amitsar, which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. The Punjab legislative council was established to make laws and regulations under the provisions of the Indian Councils Acts of 1861 and 1892. The 1861 act contemplated the establishment of the council but it was left to the Governor General as to when it should be implemented. The older provinces received their legislative councils at once though it was only in 1886 that legislatures were constituted in most north-western provinces. Finally in 1897 the Punjab, the frontier province of north-west British-India received its legislative council along with Burma, the eastern frontier province of British-India. The 1861 Indian Councils Act would have severely limited the actions of the Punjab legislative council because it prevented local councils from repealing or amending any existing laws or regulations made after the passing of the act by the Governor General. This limitation was removed by section 5 of the 1892 act. Section 2 of the 1892 act conferred on the council the authorization to discuss the annual financial statement and budgetary scrutiny was to be the main business of the council. The collection is a record of debates and question and answer sessions covering such topics as education, sanitation, public health, crime, famine, industry, and transport. There is also material on the Punjab role in World War I and the distribution of land to pensioned soldiers. These subjects may be of particular interest as much of the Indian army was recruited in the Punjab.

The records are in chronological order. The later volumes include a table of contents and an index.

MICF 328.454502

Pye, Henry James. Doubts Concerning the Legallity of Slavery in Any Part of the British Dominions.

London: 1774 
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet deals with whether or not to abolish slavery in the West India Islands due to its illegality in the British Constitution.

Microfilmed by Yale University, New Haven, CT.

FILM MISC - Request access