Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Ogden, Peter Skene. Traits of American Indian Life and Character, by a Fur Trader.

London: Smith, Elder & Co., 1853
1 reel(s)

The author was a chief factor of the Hudson's Bay Company in British Columbia and Washington State from 1835 to 1854. Ogden had frequent observations and interactions with the Indians of the western part of North America beyond the Rocky Mountains. The chapters in this book include: “Experience of the Indian Character;” “The Burial of the Living and the Dead;” “The Bloody Tragedy;” “The Burning of the Dead;” and “The Death of Our Favorite Donkey.” Social life and customs are covered.

FILM MISC - Request access

Ogilvie, J.S., Editor. Life and Speeches of William J. Bryan.

New York: J.S. Ogilvie Publishing Co., 1896
1 reel(s)

William Jennings Bryan was a lawyer and Democratic congressman from Nebraska. He first ran for president of the United States in 1896, and eventually ran twice more, all unsuccessfully. He later served as secretary of state under Woodrow Wilson but resigned in protest when Wilson led the country into WWI. This book contains a biography of Bryan, proceedings of the National Democratic Convention of 1896, various speeches from the convention, Bryan’s speeches on various political issues, and illustrations.

Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC. Peerless Series, No. 100. Title continues “Containing a Sketch of his Eventful Life–A Collection of his Best and Most Thrilling Speeches–Proceedings of National Convention, Chicago–Platform of the Democratic Party–Sketch of the Candidate for Vice-President–and Other Valuable Information for Every Citizen.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Oldroyd, Osborn Hamiline. Lincoln’s Campaign; or, the Political Revolution of 1860.

Chicago: Laird & Lee, 1896
1 reel(s)

This book contains records of events of the presidential campaign of 1860 and includes campaign songs for Lincoln, illustrations of Lincoln medals for 1860, political cartoons, summaries of the presidential conventions, and much more. It ends with illustrations and biographies of leading presidential contenders for the election of 1896.

Title continues “With Fourteen Portraits and Biographies of Presidential Possibilities for 1896.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Organization of American States. Official Records. Oea/Ser. A – Jan. 1960-.

Washington, D.C.: Microcard Editions, 1961

The Organization of American States (OAS), an association of thirty-two countries in the Western Hemisphere, promotes information exchange and consultation on matters of mutual interest, settles disputes, and sponsors multilateral agreements between countries. This collection consists of certain official records from six agencies of the organization: the Inter-American Conference responsible for policy, the Meeting of Consultation of Ministers of Foreign Affairs, the Council of the OAS, the Pan American Union, the Inter-American Specialized Conferences which deal with technical matters, and the Inter-American Specialized Organizations. In addition, the material includes multilateral agreements, conventions, treaties, and final acts of meetings and conferences of the OAS.

NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 341.1

Guides:

Documentos oficiales de la Organizaci?â??n de losEstados Estados Americanos.

It also includes an alphabetical subject index until 1974. After 1974 the only alphabetical subject index available is found in series Z at the end of each annual microfiche collection.

Owen, Robert. Robert Owen Papers, 1821-58, in the Library, Co-Operative Union Ltd., Holyoake House, Hanover Street, Manchester.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1966 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

A successful British cotton manufacturer, Robert Owen supported trade unions, co-operatives, and socialism. He visited the United States four times between 1824 and 1828. On the first trip, he founded New Harmony, Indiana. In 1828, he petitioned the Mexican government for a massive grant of land (the whole of Texas). From 1844 to 1847 he lived in the United States. The papers document the purchase of New Harmony, Owen's plans for settlement in Texas, his involvement in the Oregon question, and his belief in spiritualism. Letters of Robert Dale Owen, his son, relate to national education in the United States, the Panic of 1837, Cuba, the Wilmot Proviso, and the Texas and Oregon issues in which both he and his father were involved.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:9 - Request access