Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Macaulay, Catharine. Loose Remarks on Certain Positions to be Found in Mr. Hobbes’s Philosophical Rudiments of Government and Society.

Macaulay, Catharine.

London: 1767 
1 reel(s)

Englishwoman Macaulay was a prolific writer, most extensively on political history, and admired the American revolutionaries. She was a firm believer in individual rights and in the equality of women. This pamphlet is in response to philosopher Thomas Hobbes’ pro-monarchical, anti-libertarian views of government and society.

FILM MISC - Request access

Maclean, Charles. On the State of Vaccination in 1810.

London: 1810 
1 reel(s)

In May of 1796, English doctor Edward Jenner experimentally used cow pox germs to immunize a child against small pox. What followed was a boom in the English medical community to immunize as many people as possible with the cow pox vaccine. The author of this letter, a medical doctor and lecturer on diseases of hot climates to the Hon. East India Company, rails against Dr. Jenner and his vaccine as quackery and uses Dr. B. Moseley’s work to support this finding. Included are reports from the National Vaccine Establishment, and two sections entitled “Vaccine Doctrines Disputed by Reasoning” and “Dr. Moseley’s Nosology [sic] of New Diseases Caused by the Subtile [sic] Poison of the Cow Pox.”

Title continues “in a letter to the Right Hon. Richard Rider with remarks on the Report of the National Vaccine Establishment. Printed by order of the House of Commons, on the 1st of June, 1810. Forming a guide for parents in deciding for the safety of their children.” No. 6 in a collection of pamphlets lettered “Cow pox tracts, 4.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Madison, James, 1781-1830. James Madison Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964 
Presidential papers microfilm
28 reel(s)

James Madison strongly influenced the structure of the United States Constitution and the development of a republican form of government. As Secretary of State under Jefferson, he guided the negotiations for the Louisiana Purchase. Madison, as fourth president of the United States, brought the country into the War of 1812 and faced an apparent threat of secession in the Hartford Convention of 1814. The papers include general correspondence (1723-1837), additional correspondence used by Senator William C. Rives in his biography of Madison, correspondence between Madison and John Armstrong (1813-1836), Madison's autobiography and legal documents relating to his estate, Thomas Jefferson's notes on debates in the Continental Congress, and Madison's notes on debates in the Congress of the Confederation and the Federal Convention. Principal correspondents include J. Armstrong, T. Coxe, J. Dawson, A. Gallatin, T. Jefferson, J. Jones, J. Monroe, and E. Randolph.

FILM 21:4 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the James Madison papers

The guide provides an index to writers and recipients.

Mahan, Alfred Thayer. Admiral Farragut.

New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1892
1 reel(s)

David Glasgow Farragut (1801-1870) was an admiral in the U.S. Navy and began his naval career at the age of 10. Although born in Tennessee, he remained loyal to the Union during the Civil War and was named commander of the Western Gulf Blockading Squadron in 1861. He led his fleet to the capture of New Orleans in 1862 and Mobile Bay in 1864 and was the first man in the U. S. Navy to be made an admiral. This book contains chapters on Farragut’s family, early life, naval career, Civil War experiences, his character, later years in life, and his death, as well as several illustrations.

Part of the “Great Commanders” series edited by James Grant Wilson. Mahan was a captain in the U.S. Navy and president of the U.S. Naval War College.  

Available online

Mahan, Alfred Thayer. Gulf and Inland Waters.

New York: Charles Scribner?ó?é¼?äós Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

This narrative is based on official reports and witness accounts of naval activities in the Gulf of Mexico and inland waters during the Civil War. Chapters include “The Recoil from Vicksburg,” “The Mississippi Opened,” “Minor Occurrences in 1863,” “Texas and the Red River,” and more as well as maps and plans. An appendix and index appear at the end of the book.

No. 3 in the “Navy in the Civil War” series. The author was a captain in the U.S. Navy and president of the U.S. Naval War College.

FILM MISC - Request access

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1979-80 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1980 
10 reel(s)

This collection contains studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1979-1980. The studies fall into the following categories: legal and constitutional issues, governmental and political affairs, environmental affairs, transportation and communications, foreign relations and defense, social and health issues, and economy and labor. The studies in the first two categories deal with topics such as the electoral system and its reforms, areas of competence of different branches of government, church/state relations, Indian affairs, race and sex discrimination, affirmative action, legal aspects of corporate mergers and of lobbying. Environmental studies concern oil production, nuclear power safety (reports on the Three Mile Island accident), and water pollution. The studies on communication and transportation deal with mass transit problems, airline deregulation, the highway system, and American space policy. Foreign relations and defense topics include American relations with the Soviet Union and China, Soviet and Cuban involvement in Africa, the Egypt-Israeli peace treaty, the Morocco and Western Sahara conflict, American interests in Korea and Turkey, the situations in Ulster and Namibia, nuclear proliferation, and the Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT) process. The last two categories covered include information on social security, public housing, education, national health insurance, exchange rates, labor laws, taxation, labor-management, unemployment, inflation, prices and wages, and foreign investment in the United States.

FILM BOOK 0311 1979-80

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1980-1981 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1981 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1980-1981. The papers deal with issues of current interest for policy-makers in the following areas: legal and constitutional, governmental and political, transportation and communications, energy and environment, foreign relations and defense, economy and labor, and social and health policy. The subject of the papers illustrate the problems faced by the political leadership in the early eighties. In the area of defense and foreign relations, the subjects dealt with include the East-West military balance, Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT), the crises in Poland, Afghanistan, and the Persian Gulf, and social unrest in Latin America. Domestic studies concentrate on issues like economic recession, unemployment, social security reform, national health insurance, inflation, energy conservation, environmental protection, merger laws, freedom of information, discrimination against the handicapped, the impact of imports on the American industry, and the influence of social benefits on the attitudes towards work.

FILM BOOK 0311 1980-81

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1981-82 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.

FILM BOOK 0311 1981-82

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
12 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.

FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1983-1984 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.

FILM BOOK 0311 1983-84

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1984-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.

FILM BOOK 0311 1984-85

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1993 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1994 
14 reel(s)

Research divisions of the Congressional Research Service, a department of the Library of Congress, prepared studies to meet the legislative and investigative needs of committees and individual members of the United States Congress. Therefore, their accuracy and thoroughness are of the highest quality. University Publications of America received 604 of them in 1993. With the aid of this supplement, the user can access these outstanding sources for the study of current topics of national and international interest.
The following lists the research divisions, and describes their functions:
The American Law Division analyzes legal and constitutional issues and concerns such as separation of powers, constitutional law, judicial ethics, criminal procedures, and the courts.
The Government Division covers governmental and political issues such as classification of documents, government and business, government contracts and procurements, political action committees, and political broadcasting.
The Environment and Natural Resources Division is concerned with matters of energy, the environment, natural resources and agriculture. Land use, marine resources, water pollution, and energy conservation are among the subjects that are analyzed.
The Science Policy Research Division studies all fields of science and technology. Transportation and communications with cable television, the Voice of America, the automobiles and the automobile industry, and Federal aid to transportation are some of the topics considered.
The Foreign Affairs and National Defense Division investigates the relationship between foreign and military policy. It covers issues such as immigration policies, services of the intelligence community, arms control and disarmament, foreign assistance, and defense budgets and appropriations.
The Economics Division examines issues relating to both domestic and international finance. These would include such subjects as the balance of trade, labor policy issues, gambling, and specific industries. Social and health policies are the concerns of the Education and Public Welfare Division, and its subjects are diverse. Examples include abortion, the Ku Klux Klan, narcotics and drug traffic, obscenity and pornography, and racial discrimination.
The Congressional Reference Division maintains an updated listing of publications that chronicle congressional activities.
The Library Services Division maintains the Public Policy Literature DataBase, and also creates bibliographies of works on specific topics. If needed, the Office of Research Coordination provides members of Congress with more in-depth analyses of miscellaneous topics.

FILM BOOK 0311 1993

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1994 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1995 
14 reel(s)

This supplement provides access to documents received by University Publications of America in 1994. Research divisions of the Congressional Research Service, a department of the Library of Congress, prepared the documents to meet the legislative and investigative research needs of the United States Congress. Therefore, their accuracy and thoroughness are of the highest quality, and they are outstanding sources for the study of current topics of national and international interest.
The following is a list of the research divisions and a description of their functions.
The American Law Division analyzes legal and constitutional issues and concerns that cover diverse topics such as the analysis of specific U.S. district court rulings, certain Federal laws, and internal actions taken within the Congress against its members.
The Economics Division examines issues of both domestic and international economics. Examples include housing assistance for special needs persons, the impact of Federal and State highway taxes on alternate motor fuels and Russia's economic options.
The Education and Public Welfare Division researches many diverse subjects of social and health policy. They include child support enforcement program goals and services, Clinton welfare reform proposals, and the phase-out of the emergency unemployment compensation program.
The Environment and Natural Resources Division is concerned with matters of energy, the environment, natural resources, and agriculture. A sampling of topics include provisions of two wetland bills, meat and poultry inspection, and a review of major international environmental policy accomplishments.
The Foreign Affairs and National Defense Division focuses upon the relationship between foreign and military policy. Representative subjects include the ABM treaty, instances of use of U.S. Armed Forces abroad, 1798-1993, and the results of a review of the Department of Defense.
The Government Division answers questions relating to the Congress, the executive branch, intergovernmental relations and planning. Studies include statistics compiled by the F.B.I, state agencies, and interested organizations on hate motivated crimes, secret sessions of the U.S. Congress, public opinion of Congress and its members.
The Science Policy Research Division studies all fields of science and technology. Among the topics are studies of the U.S. National Science Foundation, ethanol and clean air, technological solutions proposed for limiting children's access to violent television programming.
The Congressional Reference Division maintains an updated listing of publications that describe the activities of Congress. Examples include frequently asked questions about U.S. Government holdings in gold, governors and lieutenant governors of the states and other jurisdictions, and available industry statistics and data concerning handguns and small arms ammunition.
The Library Services Division creates various topical bibliographies and selected reference lists. Examples include a bibliography on the powers of the Presidency, a list of books and articles providing background on the ethnic conflict in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and citations to recent CRS products and published literature on the transformation of the Soviet Union to the Commonwealth of Independent States, 1992-93. It also maintains the Public Policy Literature DataBase.
Finally, the Office of Research Coordination provides members of Congress more in-depth analyses of specific topics.

FILM BOOK 0311 1994

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1997 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1998 
13 reel(s)

This supplement provides access to documents received by University Publications of America in 1997. Research divisions of the Congressional Research Service, a department of the Library of Congress, prepared the studies to meet the legislative and investigative research needs of the United States Congress. Therefore, their accuracy and thoroughness are of the highest quality, and they are outstanding sources for the study of current topics of national and international interest.
The following is a list of the research divisions and includes a description of their functions.
The American Law Division analyzes legal and constitutional issues and concerns that cover diverse topics such as exceptions to the First Amendment of the Constitution, attorneys' fees in Federal courts, and Presidential emergency powers.
The Economics Division examines issues of both domestic and international economics. Examples include studies of the Federal Reserve System, the Export-Import Bank, and the use of highway funding for mass transit projects.
The Education and Public Welfare Division researches many diverse subjects of social and health policy. Included are health care in rural areas, Social Security, food stamps, and funding of the arts and humanities.
The Environment and Natural Resources Division is concerned with matters of energy, environment, natural resources, and agriculture. A sampling of topics include federally designated wilderness areas, national school lunch programs, and Federal farm promotion programs.
The Foreign Affairs and National Defense Division focuses upon the relationship between foreign and military policy. Representative subjects include abortion services to military personnel and dependents stationed overseas, long-range bombers, and UN force commanders and chief military observers.
Researchers in the Government Division answer questions relating to the Congress, the executive branch, intergovernmental relations and planning. Studies include selected privileges and courtesies extended to former members of the House of Representatives, sexual orientation discrimination in employment and the legislative process in the House of Representatives.
The Science Policy Research Division studies all fields of science and technology. Topics include studies of institutions such as the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Science Foundation, and studies of topics such as Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and autism.
The Congressional Reference Division maintains an updated listing of publications that describe the activities of Congress. Examples include radiation hotlines and other sources of information, a checklist of Congressional Research Service products on Latin American topics, and an overview of appropriations for FY1997.
The Law Library of Congress keeps members informed and up-to-date on domestic, international, and comparative law.
The Library Services Division creates various topical bibliographies and selected reference lists. Examples include a bibliography of materials published since 1994 on the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), lists of banking, securities and insurance products of the Congressional Research Service, and a list of groups that examine American competitiveness in the world economy. It also maintains the Public Policy Literature DataBase.
Finally, the Office of Senior Specialists provides members of Congress high-level analyses for a wide range of topics.

FILM BOOK 0311 1997

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1976-1978.

Washington, D.C: University Publications of America, 1978 
13 reel(s)

The collection consists of studies written for the United States government in the years 1976-1978. The studies cover a wide range of American domestic and international issues. Domestic topics include racial and sexual discrimination, unemployment, welfare reform, crime, prison reform, trade union legislation, alcohol and drug abuse, veteran assistance, social security, food assistance programs, anti-trust regulations, traffic safety, regulations of elections and political campaigns, the functions of the Federal Reserve System, inflation, agricultural policy, and wage-price policy. Among the international issues covered are relations within the United States-Soviet Union-China triangle, American grain exports, American relations with Western Europe, the Arab-Israeli settlement, detente, international terrorism, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Cyprus crisis, the Panama Canal Treaty renegotiation, and reports on the situations in individual countries (Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia, China, Cuba).

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

FILM BOOK 0311 1976-78

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1978-79.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1979 
11 reel(s)

This collection contains studies prepared for the United States government on international relations as well as social, constitutional, legal, and economic issues. Among the international subjects covered are Soviet-American competition in space, terrorism, Strategic Arms Limitations Treaties (SALT I and SALT II), American-Soviet and American-Chinese relations, American arms sales, Soviet economic growth, the conflict in the Horn of Africa, Soviet and Cuban involvement in Africa, the Sadat-Begin negotiations, atomic weapons proliferation, and the situation in South Africa. Domestic issues include: the energy problem, air and water pollution, nuclear safety and waste, civil rights, affirmative action, wage-price policy, social security, education, drug abuse, the impact of imports on the American industries, American balance of payments, and export subsidies.

FILM BOOK 0311 1978-79

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1975/76

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1977 
6 reel(s)

This collection contains studies written for the United States government in the years 1975-1976. The studies fall into the following categories: legal and constitutional issues, environmental affairs, international affairs, intelligence activities, social issues and economic matters. Legal and constitutional studies deal with election regulations, church/state relations, civil rights, immigration, relations between the branches of the government, and the administration of justice. The studies on environmental affairs are largely concerned with energy problems and pollution. International affairs subjects are Soviet-American detente, the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, American relations with Cuba and Spain, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)/Warsaw Pact balance of forces, American arms transfers, Communist participation in West European governments, and American policy on the use of nuclear weapons. The studies on intelligence activities concern covert activities of the CIA and FBI, both abroad and at home. Social issues topics include crime, unemployment, education, health insurance, social welfare programs, child abuse, and abortion. Economic topics include: taxation, the public debt, financial regulations, American foreign indebtness, and New York City's financial crisis.

FILM BOOK 0311 1975-76

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies of the Legislative Reference Service/Congressional Research Service.

Washington, D.C.: 1977 
17 reel(s)

This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.

FILM BOOK 0311

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Manuscripta; Late Medieval, Renaissance and Early Modern Philosophy and Theology.

St. Louis, MO: Manuscripta; St. Louis University, 1962 
17 reel(s)

This is a collection of rare and out-of-print books in Latin from the Late Medieval/Renaissance/Early Modern Period of philosophy and theology. Examples of books in the collection are: Acanthius, Georgius. Philosophiae Platonicae…(1554); Guevara, Pedro de. Arte General y Breve, en Dos Instrumentos…(1584) and Terelius, Dominicus. De Generatione et Partu Hominis.

A brief table of contents precedes the collection which is in alphabetical order by author.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:4 - Request access

Manuscripta; Libraries, Their Histories and Their Holdings: List Number 22, [25,55].

St. Louis, MO: St. Louis University, 1961 
25 reel(s)

Filmed in this collection are catalogs and histories of European libraries printed in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. These catalogs contain the titles and sometimes short descriptions of the medieval manuscripts and books printed in the fifteenth to eighteenth centuries. Included among others, are the manuscript catalogs of the Bodleian, Vatican, British Museum, Burgerische Staatsbibliothek in Munchen, K. K. Hofbibliothek in Vienna, Royal Library in Dresden, Royal Library in Copenhagen, University Library in Leipzig, National Libraries in Turin and Naples, the Laurentian Library in Florence, and the Municipal Libraries in St. Gall, Bern, and Bamberg. There are also the histories of the Vienna, Heidelberg, Augsburg, and Vatican Libraries.

The first reel of each list gives the titles of all works that are filmed.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:4 - Request access

Manuscripts from the American Museum in Great Britain, 1759-1891.

East Ardsley, England: E.P. Microform, 1980
British Records Relating to America in Microform
2 reel(s)

The collection is divided into four sections. Section I contains the papers of the Curtis, Conkey, Wortendyke and Rhinelander families. Section II contains an account book of Samuel Niles (1766-1794). Section III contains the Peter Cornell letters (1778-1786), miscellaneous letters, and the journal of Henry Francis Wigg (1888). Wigg’s journal includes photographs of New York, Philadelphia, Washington, Montreal, and Boston. Section IV consists of newspapers, certificates, and miscellaneous items. Among the newspapers are two editions of the news sheet, Brother Jonathan, one of which, published in 1847, is an illustrated history of the war between the United States and Mexico.

FILM 22:8 - Request access

Guides:

Candler, G. M. Manuscripts relating to America in the American Museum in Britain, Bath, 1650-1903 PDF

The guide gives the provenance of the collection, a brief description of each group of papers and a reel guide that lists the documents filmed. Also available under call number E267 .C7 1980.

Manwood, John. Treatise and Discourse of the Lawes of the Forrest

London: Thomas Wight and Bonham Norton, 1598 
1 reel(s)

Manwood (d. 1610) was a barrister of Lincoln's Inn, game-keeper of Waltham Forest, and justice of the New Forest. He wrote this treatise to show how to preserve and maintain forests and how to punish those who spoil and trespass upon them.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “wherin [sic] is declared not onely [sic] those lawes [sic], as they are now in force, but also the originall [sic] and beginning of forrestes [sic]: And what a forrest [sic] is in his owne [sic] proper nature, and wherein the same doth differ from a chase, a park, or a warren, with all such thinges [sic] as are incident or belonging thereunto, with their seuerall [sic] proper tearmes [sic] of art, as more at large doth appeare [sic] in the table in the beginning of this booke [sic]: Also a treatise of the purallee [sic], declaring what purallee [sic] is, how the same first began, what a purallee man may doe, how he may hunt and vse [sic] his owne purallee, how far he may pursue and follow after his chase, together with the lymits [sic] and boundes [sic], aswell [sic] of the forrest, as the puralley [sic].” Table of contents at the beginning.

FILM MISC - Request access

Markham, Francis. Booke of Honour, or Five Decads [Sic] of Epistles of Honour.

London: Printed by A. Matthewes and J. Norton, 1625 
1 reel(s)

Markham was muster master of Nottinghamshire, England, and author of several books of "honour." This study of honor and shame includes the definition of honor, general sorts of honor, secular orders, royalty honor, etc.

FILM MISC - Request access

Marshall, John Hubert Sir, and Albert Foucher. Monuments of Sanchi.

Calcutta: Government of India Press, 1947 
1 reel(s)

This book contains descriptions and photos of the Buddhist monuments at Sanchi, India. Part I: The Monuments. Part II: The Art of Sanchi. Part III: The Meaning of the Sculptures. Part IV: Inscriptions. It contains over 100 plates.

The texts of inscriptions were edited, translated, and annotated by N.G. Majumdar.

FILM MISC - Request access

Martin, Francois Xavier. History of Louisiana, from the Earliest Period.

New Orleans: Lyman and Beardslee, 1827 
1 reel(s)

Martin was a senior judge of the Louisiana Supreme Court, and first president of the Historical Society of Louisiana. This book has two volumes. Volume I includes chapters on “A Topographical View of the State of Louisiana,” “Discovery of America,” “The Bourbons,” “The French Are From of Acadie,” “Le Febvre de la Barre,” “Treaty of Paris,” and more. Volume II contains chapters that include “Commission and Powers of O’Reilly,” “Buccarelly,” “The Garrison Driven Out of Fort Panmure,” “Treaty Between Spain and the United States,” “Claibone’s First Proclamation,” etc.

The narrative ends with 1815. Vol. II has imprint: New Orleans, Printed by A.T. Penniman, & Co., 1829.

FILM MISC - Request access

Martin, George, Solicitor. Diary of George Martin, 1779-1800.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

John Martin immigrated to America from Dublin in the middle of the eighteenth century. He acquired property in Virginia and passed it on to two of his sons. One of these sons, Samuel, returned to live in England while retaining ownership of property in Goochland and Albemarle counties. This document, rather than being a true diary, is a record of a series of claims advanced by Samuel and his son, George, in order to secure compensation for the loss of their Virginia properties during the American War for Independence. The material contains detailed information about the estates and about losses in shipping sustained by the family. The claims were presented to both the British Commissioner of Claims and the Virginia General Assembly.

An introduction at the beginning of the reel contains background information on the Martin family, a general description of the diary contents, and a brief bibliography.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:8 - Request access

Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI File.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
16 reel(s)

FBI documents released under the Freedom of Information Act record King’s role in the civil rights movement and his Southern Christian Leadership Conference. The activities of the Communist Party, USA are documented. The file dates from 1958 through the campaign for a King national holiday in the 1970s. Documents that might be viewed as a violation of King’s personal privacy and information gained by telephone wiretaps and hotel room “bugs” remain classified and thus are not included in the collection.

FILM BOOK 0062

Guides:

The Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI file PDF

Also available under call number E185.97.K5 M295 1984.

Martin, Samuel. The Papers of Samuel Martin, 1694/5-1776, Relating to Antigua

3 reel(s)

Samuel Martin was an eighteenth-century civic leader and plantation owner on the island of Antigua. His views on plantation management, including the treatment of slaves and land use, were progressive compared those held by his contemporaries. Martin advocated for better treatment of slaves, arguing that a healthy and well trained slave would make plantations more successful. Martin also supported better use of farmland, including crop rotation. Active in the public life of Antigua, Martin served as speaker of the assembly and colonel of the militia. “The papers include the commercial, political and personal lives of the Martin family of Antigua and county Berkshire from the mid-eighteenth through the last nineteenth centuries. Volumes included in this microfilm edition are the letter books of Samuel Martin (1694/5-1776), and related documents. The core of this collection are the six volumes of Martin’s outgoing correspondence, beginning with his return to Antigua in 1750, after many years residence in England, and ending with his death in 1776.” The collection is an “important source for the study of eighteenth-century West Indian planters, and of the island societies which they shaped and were shaped by at the height of the era of sugar and slavery” — p 4, Guide

FILM BOOK 0476

Guides:

Zacek, Natalie. The papers of Samuel Martin, 1694/5-1776, relating to Antigua [microform] : from the collections of the British Library.  East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2010. PDF

Also available under call number SPEC REF  F2035 .M377 2010

Martyn, Carlos. Wendell Philllips: The Agitator.

New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1890 
1 reel(s)

Wendell Phillips (1811-1884) was a Boston lawyer who became involved in the abolitionist movement after witnessing a near-lynching of anti-slavery crusader William Lloyd Garrison from his office window. At a meeting discussing the murder of Elijah P. Lovejoy, another abolitionist, Phillips gave a speech linking emancipation with freedom of speech and freedom of the press. From then on he became known as the greatest orator of the abolitionist movement. This biography traces his lineage back to 1630, includes a facsimile of his penmanship, and ends with a chapter of his sayings, stories, and epigrams. Three of the orator's masterpieces: "The Lost Arts," "Daniel O'Connell"(delivered in Boston in 1870), and "The Scholar in a Republic" (delivered to Harvard College in 1881) finish the book.

Part of the “American Reformers” series edited by C. Martyn. Contains an index at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Material Relating to Ellen Sharples and Her Family (1794-1854): From Bristol Central Library and Bristol Record Office.

Wakefield, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 2001
British records relating to America on microform
2 reel(s)

The Anglo-American career of the Sharples family of artists exemplifies the artistic exchange between Britain and America in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth century. English-born James Sharples built his career on drawing profile portraits in pastel and, upon spending several years in America, became known for portraits of George and Martha Washington and other eminent Americans. Ellen Wallace Sharples, his third wife and former pupil, copied her husband’s portraits on commission and taught herself how to paint miniatures. The couple trained James’s son by his second wife, Felix, and their own two children, James Jr. and Rolinda, all of whom followed in the footsteps of their parents and became successful portrait painters in their own right.

FILM BOOK 0317

Guides:

Waggoner, Dianne. The Sharples collection : family & legal papers (1794-1854) PDF

The guide provides background, contents of reels, select bibliography, and Appendix. Also available under call number N6766 .W28 2001.

Material Relating to the American Revolution from the Auckland Papers in the British Museum (Add Mss 34412-17).

Yorkshire, Eng: EP Microform Ltd, 1974
British records relating to America in microform
5 reel(s)

William Eden (1744-1814), first Baron of Auckland, took an interest in American affairs perhaps because his elder brother, Robert, was governor of Maryland. After the Declaration of Independence, Eden was in charge of British espionage. Dr. Bancroft, secretary to the American commissioners at Versailles, informed him about the diplomatic activities of Franklin and Deane. The loyalists Paul Wentworth and the Rev. John Vardill, also provided information. His brother-in-law, Hugh Elliot, British ambassador at Berlin, raided the correspondence of the American mission to the Prussian court. Eden later helped draft conciliation proposals that offered the Americans their demands on taxation and autonomy in exchange for their continued union under the Crown. Eden accepted appointment as a member of the Carlisle Commission that went to America in 1778 to offer the proposal. The proposal, however, was consistently rejected by the American Congress. Papers which relate to these events are arranged chronologically.

FILM 22:8 - Request access

Guides:

Material Relating to the American Revolution From the Auckland Papers in the British Museum PDF

Mayo, Hope. Three Merovingian Rules for Nuns.

McCoy, Isaac. Annual Register of Indian Affairs within the Indian (or Western) Territory.

Shawanoe Mission: J. Meeker printer, 1835 
1 reel(s)

Isaac McCoy was a skillful surveyor, providing precise locations of Indian agencies, settlements, mission stations, and forts. He published his first register of Indian affairs in January of 1835 to raise public awareness and support of Indian missions.

Four volumes on one reel [no.1 (1835) – no.4 (1838)].
FILM NOT IN MERLIN
Also available in paper copy, E98.M6 M36 1998.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

McCoy, Isaac. Remarks on the Practicability of Indian Reform, Embracing Their Colonization.

Boston: Lincoln and Edwards, 1827 
1 reel(s)

This work contains chapters on the first meetings between the American Indians and Europeans, the character of the Indians, reforming the Indians through colonization, where to establish an Indian colony, how to remove the Indians to it, the regulations of the colony, and more.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

McGlashan, Charles Fayette. History of the Donner Party, a Tragedy of the Sierra.

Truckee, CA: Crowley and McGlashan, 1879 
1 reel(s)

Considered one of the most important sources on the Donner Party tragedy, this book contains a bibliography, maps, photographs, notes, and an extensive foreword by George H. and Bliss McGlashan Hinkle.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

McKinley, William. Life and Speeches of William Mckinley.

New York: J.S. Ogilvie Publishing Co., 1898 
1 reel(s)

This book contains illustrations, a short biography, eulogies for Abraham Lincoln and General U. S. Grant, as well as selected speeches on bills laws, tariffs, etc., by McKinley before he became the 25th president of the United States (1897-1901).

Title continues “Containing a Sketch of his Eventful Life — A Collection of his Best and Most Thrilling Speeches — Proceedings of National Convention, St. Louis — Platform of the Republican Party — Sketch of the Candidate for Vice-President — And Other Valuable Information for Every Citizen.” Edited by J.S. Ogilvie with introduction by Hon. Stewart L. Woodford. No. 98 of the Peerless Series.

FILM MISC - Request access

McKinley, William, 1843-1901. William Mckinley Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1961 
Presidential papers microfilm
98 reel(s)

William McKinley, 25th president of the United States, was elected on a platform supporting high tariffs. He played a large role in coordinating the nation's military force during the Spanish-American War. After the war, he engineered the campaign that brought the Phillippines under the influence of the United States. He was assassinated by Leon Czolgosz, an anarchist, in September of 1901. The papers date from about 1847 to 1902. They include correspondence, speeches, messages, thirty-four scrapbooks, and some records kept at the time of McKinley's assassination. They also include copies of letters signed by John A. Porter and George B. Cortelyou, secretaries to the President. The bulk of the material falls within the period 1897-1901. Correspondents include Alvey A. Adee, Russell A. Alger, John R. Brooke, Joseph H. Choate, Grover Cleveland, Henry C. Corbin, Shelby M. Cullom, Charles G. Dawes, William R. Day, John Fowler, Lyman J. Gage, James A. Gary, Murat Halsted, Marcus A. Hanna, John Hay, Garret A. Hobart, Philander Knox, Henry C. Lodge, John D. Long, John T. Morgan, Henry C. Payne, Thomas C. Platt, Theodore Roosevelt, Elihu Root, John Sherman, William Howard Taft, James Wilson, Leonard Wood, and John Russell Young.

FILM 21:2-4 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the William McKinley papers

The guide provides an index by writer or recipient.

McKinstry, George. Thrilling and Tragic Journal Written by George Mckinstry, Jr., While on a Journey Overland to California in 1846-47.

West Hoboken, NJ: Albert A Bieber, 1847 
1 reel(s)

A group of settlers left Missouri in May, 1846, for California, but lost their way in the snowy mountains in October of that year before finding a small log cabin at Trucky’s Lake, CA. This broadside gives nearly a day-by-day account of the four month journey by a small band of settlers that continued from Trucky’s Lake and ended with a rescue by Lieut. Woodworth, and brought to Capt. Sutter's Fort in Sacramento, California.

Title continues: “Including an account of the death of many of the party, the last three who died, being beaten by the survivors. Journal from October 31st 1846 to March 1st, 1847.” Originally printed in St. Louis Reveille and The Dollar Newspaper 1847. 1st Separate Edition.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Memminger, Christopher Gustav, 1803-1888. Christopher Gustavus Memminger Papers.

Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Library, 1966 
1 reel(s)

Christopher G. Memminger was a South Carolina politician who became heavily involved in the secession controversy in 1860. He chaired the committee that drafted the new constitution of the Confederate States of America in 1861 and he served as secretary of the treasury in the cabinet of Jefferson Davis. After the Civil War, he returned to Charleston where he practiced law and helped develop the state's public school system. This collection of his papers dates from 1803 to 1915, but most heavily concentrates on the period from 1858 to 1868. It includes a number of official reports submitted by Memminger as treasury secretary to the Confederate Congress. It also includes papers on the "slave problem" and Reconstruction. The material is arranged chronologically and includes a few papers from Memminger's son, Thomas B. Memminger.

An uncataloged guide, Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Christopher G. Memminger Papers, is available in the Special Collection office. The guide contains background information on Christopher Memminger and the collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Memoir on the Actual Relations and Future Policy of the United States with the Indian Tribes.

1813 
1 reel(s)

This short pamphlet cites the “benevolence displayed by the United States” government towards the American Indians and the latter’s “treacherous and cruel conduct.” It argues that the U.S.’s charitable behavior towards the Indians has not worked in the past to secure peaceful relations and that a different course of action must be taken with them in the future.

FILM MISC - Request access

Memorial Collection of Newspapers on Microfilm Chronicling Events of the Assassination of John F. Kennedy, November 22-26, 1963.

Wooster, OH: Bell & Howell, 1964 
10 reel(s)

The assassination of John F. Kennedy on November 22, 1963, brought to journalism the most demanding challenge in its history. A sudden event of world-wide impact, the tragedy touched Americans in an exceptionally personal way. This collection gathers the journalistic coverage from all over the United States into a memorial to the late President. The first reel reviews the events and describes the significant achievements in coverage by the media. Included are comments in the press on Kennedy's relationship to the media. Following this introduction are the newspaper articles, arranged by state and then chronologically.

NOT IN MERLIN
Filed under "Bell and Howell"

FILM MISC - Request access

Menshevik Collection of Newspapers, Periodicals, Pamphlets, and Books Related to the Menshevik Movement.

Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution, 1966 
76 reel(s)

A rival faction to the Bolsheviks, the Mensheviks represented the moderates of the Russian Social Democratic Labor party. Led by Julius Martov, they preferred a more loosely organized party system. They functioned as a separate party in Russia from 1912 to 1921, at which time all opposition parties were abolished. The pamphlets, newspapers, books, and journals of the movement, 266 titles in all, date from 1898 to 1940 and originated from many locations in Europe and Russia, such as St. Petersburg (Leningrad), Vladivostok, Berlin, Zurich, Helsinki, Geneva, and Moscow. The collection also contains material related to other organizations and parties, for example, Bund, Bolsheviks, Red Army, Ukranian Republic, Soviets, and trade union parties.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 15:9-11 - Request access

Guides:

Menshevik collection : newspapers, periodicals, books, etc.

The guide lists the Russian titles contained on each reel.

Microfilmed India Office Library Records; Selected by Robert I. Crane and Richard Park.

Ann Arbor, Mich: University of Michigan Library, 1959 
45 reel(s)

India Office Library records selected by Crane and Park include a wide variety of printed and manuscript sources pertaining chiefly to the period from 1859 to 1920. These include political secret files, reports from the India Council and India National Congress, letters and telegrams from India, selections from English and native language newspapers published in India, proceedings from various meetings, pamphlets, and tracts. Topics selected include aspects of the British administration of India, Indian nationalism, Indian foreign relations, military affairs, the native army, the National Congress movement, Europeans in India, educational matters, proposed legislation, and public works

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3-4 - Request access

Guides:

Calendar of items microfilmed at the India Office, London.

The guide provides a detailed list of the contents of each reel. Ellis Library lacks reels 12 and 13.

Middle East, Special Studies, 1970-1980.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
18 reel(s)

This is a collection of one hundred forty-four studies concerning the problems of the Middle East in the years 1945 to 1980. The papers deal both with problems of the whole region and with the separate countries of Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, and Yemen. The topics include the Arab-Israeli conflict, the military situation and the internal problems of individual countries, superpower involvement and their policies, an analysis of the oil problem, tension in the Persian Gulf region, United States arms sales and their implications, the Palestinian problem and terrorism. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Army War College, Rand Corporation, and the Center for Naval Analyses and Operations Research, Inc.

FILM BOOK 0083

Guides:

The Middle East, special studies, 1970-1980 [guide] PDF

The guide gives a precis of each paper and includes a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliations are also listed. Available in print under the call number DS63.1 .M53 1970-1880.

Middle East: Special Studies, 1980-1982, Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special Studies Series
3 reel(s)

This is a collection of forty-two studies dealing with various aspects of the Middle East’s political, economic, and military situation. The studies deal with problems concerning particular countries (Afghanistan, Iran, Israel, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and Turkey), and those problems concerning the region as a whole. The topics include the Iran-Iraq war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the Kurdish national problem, the influence and the policies of the superpowers, the economic ties between the United States and the Arab countries, the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, the Iranian Islamic revolution, and the rise of Islamic fundamentalism. These reports were commissioned by various United States government agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Naval Postgraduate School, the Center for Naval Analyses, the National Defense University, and the Economic Research Service.

FILM BOOK 0084

Guides:

McClure, Ruth. The Middle East, special studies, 1980-1982 supplement : [guide] PDF

The guide contains a precis of each paper and includes a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliation are also listed. Available in print under the call number DS63.1 .M53 1980-1982 Suppl.

Middle East: Special Studies, 1985-1988, Supplement.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1989
Special Studies Series
8 reel(s)

The reels in this collection cover the politics and governments of the Middle East including Afghanistan, Cyprus, Ehypt, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Morocco, Pakistan, the Persian Gulf, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, and Yemen. Subjects include ethnic conflicts, foreign policies, food aid programs, arms sales, and much more.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM - Request access

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm edition of Middle East special studies, 1985-1988 supplement PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS63.1 .M53 1985-1988 Suppl.

Middle East: Special Studies, 1989-1991, Supplement.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1992
Special Studies Series
10 reel(s)

Ninety-six papers dealing with the various political, military, and economic aspects of the Middle East from 1986-1991. Included are the countries of Afghanistan, Egypt, India, the Indian Ocean Region, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Pakistan, the Persian Gulf region, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, and Yemen.

FILM BOOK 0369

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm edition of Middle East special studies, 1989-1991 supplement PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS63.1 .M53 1989-1991 Suppl.

Miller, David Hunter. My Diary at the Conference of Paris.

New York: Appeal Printing Co., 1924
10 reel(s)

David Hunter Miller was appointed as legal adviser to the United States delegation to the Paris Peace Conference in 1918 by Secretary of State, Robert Lansing. He worked closely with Colonel House and helped write the final draft of the Treaty of Versailles. This collection contains a diary, dictated daily at the Peace Conference, and a large number of minutes, reports, and other documents Miller felt were significant to the proceedings. They are arranged under descriptive titles located in the table of contents preceding each volume.

Contains 21 volumes plus maps of the various councils and committees at the Paris Peace Conference in 1918 after WWI.. Miller was the legal advisor to the American Commission to Negotiate Peace. Vol. I: Diary, memoranda, personnel. Vol. II: Documents 1-104. Vol. III: Documents 105-215. Vol. IV: Documents 216-304. Vol. V: Documents 305-424. Vol. VI: Documents 425-547. Vol. VII: Documents 548-710. Vol. VIII: Documents 711-835. Vol. IX: Documents 836-1008. Vol. X: Belgium and Denmark. Greece. Morocco. Poland and Ukraine. Vols. XI-XII: Ports, waterways and railways. Vol. XIII: New states (Minorities).Vols. XIV-XVI: Minutes of the Supreme Council. Vols. XVII-XVIII: Bulletins. Vol. XIX: Annotations. Vol. XX: Conference minutes, miscellaneous papers. Vol. XXI: Indexes, errata, and corrections, separate maps, A-Q.

(Microfilmed by Columbia University Library, New York, NY, 1940.) Printed for the author, this is a microfilm edition of copy #12.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Mills, Robert. Papers of Robert Mills, 1781-1855.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1990 
15 reel(s)

Robert Mills (1781-1855), an early American architect, designed buildings throughout the United States, but focused his attention on the District of Columbia and Maryland. Some of his more famous designs include the Washington Monument, the Smithsonian Institution Design, and the Treasury Building. This collection includes correspondence with prominent people, including Thomas Jefferson, John Quincy Adams, Millard Fillmore, and Robert Dale Owen. Documents by and about Mills include published and unpublished books, pamphlets, articles, drawings and photographs, diaries, and government documents.

FILM BOOK 0262

Guides:

Guide and index to the papers of Robert Mills, 1781-1855

The guide contains a chronology of Mill’s life, a list of his works and projects, works attributed to him, a bibliography of sources on Robert Mills, and an index to the collection.

Mineral Statistics of the United Kingdom, 1853-1881, in the British Library, London.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1985
British Records Relating to America in Microform
6 items

The Mineral Statistics of the United Kingdom contains a specific accounting of each type of mineral mined and location, including market prices, railway and canal distribution, and manufacturing and mills.

Guides:

Mineral statistics of the United Kingdom 1853-1881 : in the British Library, London. PDF

The guide includes an introduction and history of the collection, a detailed reel list, and a bibliography. Also available under call number TN57 .M5 1985.

Mira de Amescua, Antonio. Plays

53 reel(s)

81 titles.

Consult MERLIN for holdings. See also: Spanish Drama of the Golden Age and Four Centuries of Spanish Drama.

FILM 4D21: 24:1 – 24:3 - Request access

Mississippi Valley Trading Company Papers.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1964 
British Records Relating to America in Microform
2 reel(s)

The Mississippi Valley Trading Company was an attempt to organize direct trade between British and American cooperatives. The company intended to stimulate markets in England for the foodstuff produced in the Mississippi Valley and, in turn, open markets for English manufactures in middle America. Eventually, the company hoped to lower the costs of transportation and distribution with bulk shipments and sales through cooperative stores. This collection contains documents relating to operations of the company from 1875 to 1878. They are arranged chronologically in six groups: 1) business documents, 2) out-letters (1875-78), 3) in-letters (1875-1876), 4) business documents and correspondence relating to the United States (1874-77), 5) press notices in England, and 6) press notices in the United States and Canada.

An introduction on the first reel provides background on the material, information on the Mississippi Valley Trading Company from 1875 to 1878, a guide to further reading, and a list of contents of each reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:8 - Request access

Missouri. General Assembly. House of Representatives. House Bills and House Joint Resolutions.

Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Microfilm Operations, 1982

This collection contains all House bills and House joint resolutions introduced in the Missouri General Assembly beginning with the 81st session. All amendments as well as the passed bills and resolutions are filmed at the end of each legislative session.

FILM 24:5-6 - Request access

Guides:

Special legislative report service.

Index [of] House and Senate bills and joint resolutions.

Missouri. General Assembly. Senate. Senate Bills and Senate Joint Resolutions.

Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Microfilm Operations, 1982

This collection contains all Senate bills and Senate joint resolutions introduced in the Missouri General Assembly beginning with the 81st session. All amendments as well as passed bills and resolutions are filmed at the end of each legislative session.

FILM 24:5-6 - Request access

Guides:

Special legislative report service.

Index [of] House and Senate bills and joint resolutions.

Modern Language Association. Reproductions of Manuscripts and Rare Printed Books.

New York: Modern Language Association, 
14 reel(s)

The Library has selected titles only. Each title is listed in the card catalog.

FILM 4D21:14:5 - Request access

Guides:

Modern Language Association of America. Reproductions of manuscripts and rare printed books.

Molina, Tirso de. Various Plays

7 reel(s)

100 titles.

Consult MERLIN for holdings. See also: Spanish Drama of the Golden Age.

FILM MISC - Request access

Monroe, James, 1758-1831. James Monroe Papers.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1960
Presidential papers microfilm
11 reel(s)

Documents collected by James Monroe and covering the period from 1758 to 1839 are included in this collection. The first and second series contain correspondence concerning the Louisiana Purchase, the Monroe-Pinkney Treaty, the War of 1812, the Florida Purchase, South American independence, and Virginia politics. The third series contains two letter books and an account book that relate to Monroe's years as Minister to England and his mission to France from 1794 to 1796. Where possible, the material is arranged chronologically on each reel.

FILM 21:4-5 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the James Monroe papers

The guide contains the provenance of the collection, a selected bibliography, a reel list, an index, and a description of the papers in each of the four series.

Monroe, James, 1758-1831. James Monroe Papers in Virginia Repositories.

Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia Library, 1969
13 reel(s)

Prior to becoming president in 1817, James Monroe served a long and distinguished career in Virginia politics. The material in this collection is particularly rich in information about his terms as councilman and as governor. The collection has some additional documents from his personal and business life, but these are incomplete and spotty.

An uncataloged guide, Guide to the Microfilm Edition of James Monroe Papers in Virginia Repositories edited by Curtis W. Garrison, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection, a list of closely related materials elsewhere, bibliographical aids, a chronology of Monroe's life, a genealogy of his family, notes on each reel, and an index for the entire collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 21:5 - Request access

Morgan, Gertrude. Gertrude Morgan, or, Life and Adventures Among the Indians of the Far West.

Philadelphia: Barclay & Co., 1866
1 reel(s)

This book details the events of Mrs. Morgan’s 11 years with American Indians who captured her in 1855 on her way to California. Contains illustrations.

FILM MISC - Request access

Morgenthau, Henry. Presidential Diaries Of Henry Morgenthau, Jr. (1938-1945).

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Presidential Documents Series
2 reel(s)

Henry Morgenthau served as Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Secretary of the Treasury from 1934 to 1945. The diaries consist primarily of memos of conversations with FDR, in addition to some letters and newspaper clippings.

FILM BOOK 0210

Guides:

Gibson, Joan. A guide to Map Room messages of President Roosevelt (1939-1945) : The presidential diaries of Henry Morgenthau, Jr. (1938-1945) PDF

The guide contains an item by item list of each reel, which are arranged chronologically, and a subject index. Also available under call number J82 .D61 1981.

Morphy, E.M. York Pioneer’s Recollections of Youthful Days in the Emerald Isle.

Toronto: 1893
1 reel(s)

Morphy was a diamond merchant and jeweler in Toronto, Canada, for about 50 years when this account was written. He grew up in Monaghan, Ireland, and immigrated to Canada in 1835 when he was 15 years old. This work also contains poems by the author as well as advertisements for Toronto businesses.

Title continues “ . . . also of his emigration and first impressions of Canada, especially Toronto (late York): and its inhabitants when the city was only one year old and its population 9,000.” With the author's: “A York pioneer looking back, 1834-1884 . . .” [Toronto: n.p., 1890].

FILM MISC - Request access

Morris, Gouverneur. Diary and Letters of Gouverneur Morris, Minister of the United States to France: Member of the Constitutional Convention, Etc.

New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1888
1 reel(s)

Morris (1752-1816), a Philadelphia lawyer fluent in French, was influential in the relations between the United States and France during the American and French revolutions. This two volume collection of his writings was edited by his granddaughter, Anne Cary Morris. Volume I covers his early life to 1792. Volume II covers 1792 to his death in 1816.

Contains a subject index at the end of the second volume.

FILM MISC - Request access

Munro, Innes. Narrative of the Military Operations, on the Coromandel Coast, Against the Combined Forces of the French, Dutch, and Hyder Ally Cawn, from the Year 1780 to the Peace in 1784; in a Series of Letters.

London: T. Bensley, 1789
1 reel(s)

The author was a Captain in the late 73rd or Lord Macleod’s Regiment of Highlanders. These 18 letters from 1779 to 1784 cover the British Army’s operations in India. Also included are maps of the Battle of Porto Nova, the Battle of Arne, camps, the Battle of Cuddalore, several illustrations of the Isle of France, and charts.

FILM MISC - Request access

Murdin, Cornelius. Three Sermons.

Southampton: T. Baker (Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago; 1966.), 1779
1 reel(s)

The author was a vicar and preached these anti-American independence sermons in the parish churches of Twyford and Ouzlebury, Hampshire.

Title continues “I. Liberty When Used as a Cloke [sic] of Maliciousness, the Worst of Evils. II. The Evil of Rebellion, as Applicable to American Conduct, Considered. III. Great Britain Oppressing America, A Groundless Charge.” ON THE REEL ENTITLED “A LETTER TO THE WHIGS.”
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Murrow, Edward R., 1908-1965. Edward R. Murrow Papers, 1927-1973.

Sandford, NC: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1982
50 reel(s)

Edward R. Murrow's career in journalism spanned the period from the 1930s to the 1960s. He became famous for his broadcasts from London during World War II. After the war, as a reporter and executive with CBS News, he introduced many innovations into television broadcasting. He had a significant impact in challenging and stopping Senator Joseph McCarthy's communist witch hunt. In 1961, President Kennedy appointed him as Director of the United States Information Agency. He resigned from that position in 1964 and died the following year. The items dated after Murrow's death relate to honors awarded posthumously and to a compilation of his radio and television broadcasts.

FILM 24:3 - Request access

Guides:

Edward R. Murrow papers, 1927-1965 : a guide to the microfilm edition.

The guide contains a chronology of Murrow’s life, a biographical sketch, a description of the arrangement of the collection, and a brief reel list.