Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Ladies of Llangollen. Letters and Journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Wales.

Marlborough, Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications, 1997 
5 reel(s)

Against the wishes of their families, Eleanor Butler and Sarah Ponsonby fled their homes in Ireland in 1778 to establish a new life together in Llangollen Vale. There the "Ladies of Llangollen," as they came to be known, set up a lively correspondence network that included many of the leading writers and intellectuals of their day. William Wordsworth, Madame de Genlis, Edmund Burke, and Anna Seward were all part of the Ladies' circle of friends and visited their home.
The collection includes correspondence, accounts of visits, diaries and journals, poems, notes, and personal papers. They provide valuable accounts for research in Romantic friendship and lesbianism, eighteenth century literary circles, the Gothic pastoral ideal, and the Romantic movement.

Reel 1. Account of a journey in Wales / Sarah Ponsonby (1778) ; Diary / Eleanor Butler (1784) ; Commonplace book / Sarah Ponsonby (1785-1789) ; Geometry / Sarah Ponsonby (1785) — reel 2. Journal / Eleanor Butler (1788-1791) — reel 3. Journal / Eleanor Butler (1791, 1799, 1802, 1807, 1821) ; Letters (1778-1831) ; Letters to Sarah Ponsonby (1798) ; Poetry ; Plasnewydd Library catalogue (1792) — reel 4. Letters from a traveller (1804-1806) ; Album Camilla (1800-1835) ; Caroline Hamilton album (1803-1859) ; Psyche / Mary Tighe (1804) — Disparition de Buonaparte (1814) — Medical recipes (1790s) — reel 5. Heraldry (1801) ; Histoire tragique d'un Père de la Trappe (1823) ; Executor's accounts (1832-1870s) ; Eva Mary Bell correspondence (1929-1947) ; Hamwood papers / Eva Mary Bell (1920s) ; Journal / Elinor Goddard (1774-1778, 1782-1788). An online guide is available at http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ladies_of_llangollen_letters/.

FILM BOOK 0327

Guides:

Ladies of Llangollen : letters and journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Wales : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.

Lambeth Palace Library. Medieval Manuscripts Section I: Old English, French. Etc.

London: World Microfilm Publication, 1974 
17 reel(s)

51 titles. The publisher's brief title listing is available in the Special Collections office. Full description of each manuscript is available in Z6621 .L82J 1932. Descriptive Catalog of Manuscripts in the Library of Lambeth Palace.

FILM BOOK 0008

Guides:

Lambeth Palace Library. A descriptive catalogue of the manuscripts in the library of Lambeth Palace : the mediaeval manuscripts

Lambeth Palace Library. Mediaeval Manuscripts. Section IV: Humanistic Studies.

London: World Microfilm Publication, 1976 
39 reel(s)

112 titles. The publisher`s brief title listing is available in the Special Collections office. Full description of each manuscript is available in Z6621 .L82J 1932 Descriptive Catalogue of Manuscripts in the Library of Lambeth Palace.

FILM BOOK 0009

Guides:

Lambeth Palace Library. A descriptive catalogue of the manuscripts in the library of Lambeth Palace : the mediaeval manuscripts

Latin America, Special Studies, 1962-1980.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982 
Special Studies Series
10 reel(s)

This collection contains one hundred and ten studies and analyses on a wide variety of topics about Latin America in general, and about the specific countries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, British Honduras, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The material includes such topics as agriculture, balance of payments, drugs, revolution, economic development, land reform, the military, political problems, poverty, terrorism, technical aid, and urban growth. These studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental "think tanks" such as Joint Publication Research Service, Rand Corporation, the Army War College, the Department of State and the Naval Postgraduate School.

MERLIN lists studies separately.

FILM BOOK 0078

Guides:

Latin America, special studies, 1962-1980 [guide]

The annotated guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliations are also indicated.

Latin America, Special Studies, 1980-82, Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special studies series
3 reel(s)

This collection continues the studies and analyses of Latin America in general and of the particular countries of Bolivia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico and Panama. The subjects include topics like agriculture, balance of trade, economic development, energy development, foreign relations, government, labor, migrants, military intervention, communism, and national security. These studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as MITRE Corporation, the Army War College, the Department of State, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Thirty-three studies are included.

MERLIN lists studies separately.

Latin America :FILM BOOK 0079

Guides:

 special studies, 1980-1982 supplement PDF

The annotated guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. The authors of the studies and their institutional affiliations are indicated. Also available under call numberF1414.2 .L37 1983 Suppl.

Laws of the Colonial and State Governments Relating to Indians and Indian Affairs from 1633 to 1831.

Washington, DC: Thompson and Homans, 1832 
1 reel(s)

This book contains listings of laws by state: Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Maine, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Mississippi, Alabama, and Missouri.

Title continues “Inclusive with an Appendix Containing the Proceedings of the Congress of the Confederation, and the Laws of Congress, from 1800 to 1830 on the Same Subject.”
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Lee, Edmund Jennings. Lee of Virginia, 1642-1892; Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of the Descendants of Colonel Richard Lee.

Philadelphia: Franklin Printing Co., 1895 
1 reel(s)

Col. Richard Henry Lee (1618?-1664) was a merchant and trader who owned two ships and became a wealthy planter. He came to America in 1641 as Secretary of the King's Privy Council. In 1642, he received a land grant of 1000 acres called Indian Springs, which he claimed as Headright land for transport of his wife Anna. By 1648, he had patented other large tracts of land in York, Gloucester, and in upper Norfolk Counties. He served as Attorney General of the Virginia colony in 1643, Secretary of the Colony in 1651, and Burgess of York in 1663. In 1663, Richard returned to England to settle his English estate and arrange for the education of his children. These records contain plates, a map, and coats of arms.

Title continues “with Brief Notices of the related Families of Allerton, Armistead, Ashton, Aylett, Bedinger, Beverly, Bland, Bolling, Carroll, Carter, Chambers, Corbin, Custis, Diggs, Fairfax, Fitzhugh, Gardner, Grymes, Hanson, Jenings, Jones, Ludwell, Marshall, Mason, Page, Randolph, Shepherd, Shipen, Tabb, Taylor, Turberville, Washington, and others.”
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Lee Family Papers, 1742-1795.

Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia Library, 1966 
8 reel(s)

In 1640, Richard Lee came to Virginia from England and became the progenitor of one of this nation's most distinguished families. Many of the papers in this collection relate to his descendants, Arthur and Richard Henry Lee, both sons of Thomas Lee. Arthur was a delegate to the Continental Congress and diplomatic agent with Benjamin Franklin in England and France. With Franklin and Silas Deane, he negotiated the treaty with France in 1776. Richard was a delegate to the Continental Congress and a signer of the Declaration of Independence. He served as senator from Virginia from 1789 to 1792. This collection is an excellent source for the study of the American Revolution, particularly the climate of opinion which preceded it. The papers also shed light on the history of Great Britain and other European countries, for the Lees were truly cosmopolitan, well-connected abroad, and perceptive in their observations. Within this collection, major correspondents include John Adams, Silas Deane, Ralph Izard, Thomas Jefferson, Henry Laurens, Robert Morris, Edmund Pendleton, John Ross, and George Washington.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of The Lee family papers, 1742-1795.

The guide provides background, reel notes, and a list of major correspondents.

Letter to the Rev. Dr. Cooper, on the Origin of Civil Government.

London: 1777 
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet is critical of a sermon given by Cooper at Oxford University.

Note: Located on the reel labeled “Ramsay, Allan.”

Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago, IL.

FILM MISC - Request access

Letter to the Whigs.

London: Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago; 1966, 1779 
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet condemning the political party system was written anonymously by “an Englishman.”

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Letters of Marque, Declarations Against France, Spain and the United Provinces, 1777-1783, in the Public Record Office.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1985
British Records Relating to America in Microform
8 reel(s)

During the War for American Independence, the British Admiralty issued the letters of marque to private shipowners authorizing them to raid the shipping of France, Spain, and the Netherlands, in addition to raiding that of the rebellious colonies. To obtain a letter of marque, a ship owner had to supply detailed information including an exact description of the vessel, as well as the port of origin and name of owners. With these letters of marque, shipowners could then seize enemy ships and bring them to any British port to be condemned and sold, with prize money going to the owner, captain, and crew.

FILM BOOK 0114

Guides:

Minchinton, Walter E. Letters of marque, declarations against France, Spain, and United Provinces, 1777-1783 (HCA 26/33-59) in the Public Record Office, London [guide]  PDF

The guide contains information on the provenance of the collection, historical background on letters of marque, and the use of letters of marque against France, Spain, and the Netherlands, a table of contents for the film, and a bibliography of related works.

Also available under call number  HF3505.6 .M484 1985.

Letters of Marque for the American War of Independence, from the Public Records Office, London.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Limited, 1980 
British Records Relating to America in Microfilm
4 reel(s)

FILM 22:7 - Request access

Guides:

Minchinton, Walter E. Letters of marque, declarations against America 1777-1783 : in the Public Record Office, London

The guide contains the provenance of the letters, background information on letters of marque, the use of letters of marque during the America War for Independence, a list of reel contents, and a bibliography of related works.

Lewis, Hannah. Narrative of the Captivity and Suffereings of Mrs. Hannah Lewis and Her Three Children

Boston: Henry Trumbell (Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX.), 1817 
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet tells the story of Mrs. Lewis, whose husband was killed at the hands of Indians. She and their three children were taken to an Indian settlement where they were kept captive and abused until she and her son escaped 11 months later.

Title continues “who were taken prisoners by the Indians near St. Louis, on the 25th May, 1815, and among whom they experienced all the cruel treatment which savage brutality could inflict. Mrs. Lewis and her eldest son fortunately made their escape on the 3d April last, leaving her two youngest children in the hands of the unmerciful barbarians.”
Also MICPT 810.8 ser.2 41253

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Catalog of Works by and About Giuseppe Tartini Held in the Library of Congress.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1964 
1 reel(s)

Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770) was an Italian musician who composed more than 130 concerti for violin, two concerti for flute and two cello concerti as well as over 170 sonatas for violin, with or without continuo, some 50 sonatas a tre and 4 sonatas a quatre. Only some 20 conerti and 50 sonatas were ever published, so the remainders exist only in the forms of manuscripts. In 1721 he became first violin and maestro de cappella at the Cappella del Santo, which was a posting he held for the rest of his life.

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Census Library Project. Census and Vital Statistics of India and Pakistan Contained in Official Publications and Famine Documents.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1950 
1 reel(s)

This annotated bibliography by Henry J. Dubester, Chief of the Census Library Project, contains provincial censuses prior to 1881, censuses of 1872, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1911, 1921, 1931, 1941, village statistics, other official publications, administration reports, public health reports, and famine documents. There is a geographical index at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Division of Bibliography. Spanish-American War: A List of References.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1942 
1 reel(s)

Compiled by Florence S. Hellman, Chief Bibliographer, there are 152 sources as of 1942.

Supplementary to “A list of books on the Spanish-American War,” December 24, 1900.

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Legislative Reference Service. Checklist of Hearings Before Congression Comittees Through the 67th Congress.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1941
1 reel(s)

Compiled by Harold Ordell Thomen, this is a compilation of all the hearings found in printed catalogs of the Government Publishing Office, the Union Catalog of the Library of Congress, and the catalogs of libraries in the District of Columbia (except hearings which my have been printed as parts of reports on bills or resolutions under consideration).

Special Collections has only Part I – House Committee on Agriculture, Preliminary Edition, 50th to 67th Congresses. The Prefatory Note gives instructions for reading the checklist.

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Papers Index.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 
4 reel(s)

{There is also a 96 (+ 1 odd) reel collection of Thomas Jefferson papers entitled “Jefferson Papers” with indexes at the beginning of each volume. These appear to be the same as the “Library of Congress Jefferson Papers.” There is no date of the set’s production.}

Contains an alphabetical listing by writer or recipient of the Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Papers.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM

Library of Congress. Records of the States of the United States of America.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1941 
1870 reel(s)

Records of colonies, territories, and states document the early administrative and judicial developments in the United States. There are six main classes of material: legislative records, statutory laws, constitutional records, administrative records, executive records, and court records. Coverage usually begins with the earliest records obtainable. Termination dates vary depending on the importance of the geographic unit and the availability of material. Generally the early colonies and their subsequent statehoods receive the most thorough treatment, with legislative materials forming the largest category of materials. Included are journals, debates, reports, hearings, and papers.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 16:7-18:14 - Request access

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm collection of early state records

The guide provides an outline of the contents of this collection.

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865. Abraham Lincoln Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1957 
97 reel(s)

These papers, some 40,000 items, contain correspondence and other papers, mainly letters, addressed to Lincoln during his presidency. The collection includes some 1200 items preserved by John G. Nicoloy in his capacity as Lincoln's secretary and editor. Two drafts of the Gettysburg Address and the letter of condolence from Queen Victoria to Mary Todd Lincoln are included. Correspondents include Nathaniel Banks, Edward Bates, Montgomery Blair, Benjamin Brewster, Salmon P. Chase, Schuyler Colfax, David Davis, Ulysses S. Grant, John Hay, Andrew Johnson, Reverdy Johnson, George B. McClellan, George G. Meade, Edwin D. Morgan, William Rosecrans, William H. Seward, Horatio Seymour, Caleb B. Smith, James Speed, Edwin M. Stanton, Charles Sumner, Lyman Trumbull, Lew Wallace, Elihu B. Washburn, and Gideon Welles.

FILM 20:14-21:12 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Abraham Lincoln papers

The guide provides an index to writers or recipients.

Lincoln, Benjamin, 1733-1810. Benjamin Lincoln Papers

Boston, MA: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1967 
Massachusetts Historical Society. Microfilm publication no. 3
13 reel(s)

Benjamin Lincoln was appointed major general in the Continental Army in 1776. He, in conjunction with Artemas Ward, commander of the forces in Massachusetts, provided the leadership that broke the blockade of Boston. He also won distinction in operations in New York and during the Saratoga campaign of 1777. Lincoln was later given command of the American army in the South, and was forced to surrender to the British in 1780. Following a prisoner exchange, he became Secretary of War. In 1787 he commanded the Massachusetts forces that suppressed Shay's rebellion. Washington described him as "having prov'd himself on all occasions an active, spirited, sensible Man." Lincoln began saving his papers systematically early in his life, particularly after his appointment as major general in the spring of 1776. His papers provide insight into the military history of the Revolution and the problems encountered in the establishment of the government during the 1780s and 1790s, like delineating the border between Maine and Canada, settling relations with Indians, getting the Constitution ratified in individual states, and dealing with Shay's rebellion.

"Massachusetts Historical Society. Microfilm publication no. 3
An uncataloged guide, Allis, Frederick S. Jr. (ed.). Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Benjamin Lincoln Papers, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide provides background, a description of the contents of each reel, and a list of correspondents."
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Lincoln Cathedral Library. Mediaeval Manuscript Collection Sections 1-6.

London: World Microfilms Publications, 1976 
83 reel(s)

The publisher's brief title listing is available in the Special Collection office. It is also filmed on the last reel of the collection along with Reginald Woolley's Catalogue of the Manuscripts of Lincoln Cathedral Library (Oxford University Press, 1927).

FILM BOOK 0007

Lind, John. Three Letters to Dr. Price Containing Remarks on His Observations on the Nature of Civil Liberty, the Principles of Government, and the Justice and Policy of the War with America.

London: 1776 
1 reel(s)

Dr. Richard Price was a Welch moral and political philosopher who was strongly opposed to the war with the American colonies. In 1776, he published a pamphlet entitled Observations on Civil Liberty and the Justice and Policy of the War with America. John Lind was a young lawyer and pamphleteer who opined that the Americans were treacherous individuals rather than states. He also mocked the colonists for failing to free their slaves while supposedly believing in the equality of all mankind. He also wrote Answer to the Declaration of the American Congress in 1776.

FILM MISC - Request access

Lindsay, William Schaw. American Papers of W.S. Lindsay, 1861-1866

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987 
British Records Relating to America in Microform
1 reel(s)

William Schaw Lindsay, a member of the British Parliament during the Civil War, supported the Confederacy's bid for recognition and spoke on their behalf before Parliament. This manuscript, entitled The United States of America, 1860-1867: Various Letters Respecting the War Between the Northern and Southern States for the Independence of the South, with Notes by W.S. Lindsay, compiled June, 1867, includes his correspondence with Disraeli, later British Prime Minister, and two Confederate diplomats, John Slidell and James M. Mason. In addition to correspondence, the manuscript contains a dialogue of Lindsay's trip to America, his impressions of America, and newspaper clippings.

FILM BOOK 0275

Linkugal, Wilmer Albert. Speeches of Anna Howard Shaw

Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin, 1960 
1 reel(s)

Anna Howard Shaw (1847–1919) was the first female Methodist minister in the United States, a medical doctor, suffragist, civil rights advocate, and great orator. Born in Scotland and raised in Massachusetts and Michigan, she attended Boston University Theological School and Medical School, receiving her M.D. in 1886. She was close friends with Susan B. Anthony and was the first woman to receive the Distinguished Service Medal for her efforts running the Women’s Committee of the National Council of Defense. This biographical dissertation contains her sermons, suffrage speeches, temperance speeches, WWI and League of Nations speeches, characteristics of her speeches (style, argument, refutation, and critical commontary), and texts of her sermons and speeches.

Note: Dissertation for the doctor of philosophy degree. Bibliography at end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Lissagaray, Hippolyte Prosper Oliver. History of the Commune of 1871.

New York: International Publication, Co., 1898 
1 reel(s)

The Paris Commune (March – May, 1871) was the first workers government ever created in France. Lissagaray was a soldier in the Commune who witnessed first-hand the massacre of its members by the French government. The establishment and purpose of the Commune was the abolishment all class rule, and it was considered the greatest Socialist movement of the century. This edition of the book was banned by the French government. Translator Eleanor Marx Aveling was Karl Marx’s youngest daughter.

This is a second edition; translated by Eleanor Marx Aveling. This book is also online athttp://www.marxists.org/history/france/archive/lissagaray/.

FILM MISC - Request access

Liston Papers.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1990
British Records Relating to America in Microform
4 reel(s)

This collection consists of the papers of Sir Robert Liston (1742-1836), diplomat, and owner of Millburn Tower, Gogar, Edinburgh, and his wife Henrietta (1752-1826). A self-made man, Richard became a diplomat because of his linguistic skills. In 1796 he became the British Minister to the United States and that same year married Henrietta Marchant. In the United States Richard dealt with Presidents George Washington and John Adams to implement the Jay Treaty, promote trade, secure repayment of debt, and discourage impressment of British soldiers. The papers include dispatches to Lord Grenville, discussions of the Indian chief Joseph Brant, and the journals of Henrietta which cover their travels throughout the United States.

FILM BOOK 0256

Guides:

The Liston papers, 1796-1800, in the National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh : [guide] PDF

The guide includes an introduction to the collection, a bibliography, and a reel-by-reel description. Also available under call number DA512.L5 A4 1990.

Liverpool. American Chamber of Commerce in Liverpool. Minute Books of the American Chamber of Commerce at the Port of Liverpool, 1801-1908.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
3 reel(s)

The American Chamber of Commerce was an organization of Liverpool merchants interested in the American trade. Four volumes of minute books include the annual survey of the Chamber's work, the annual financial statement of the treasurer, and the minutes of the general committee, subcommittees, and financial council. Important letters and newspaper clippings of events in which the Chamber took part are also included. The American Chamber of Commerce attempted to improve communications between the United States and England, encourage the rapid transport of goods, improve dock facilities at Liverpool, reduce theft from ships and storage locations, reduce duties, organize dock labor, and monitor trade practices.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:7-8 - Request access

Liverpool Papers, a Selection of Material Relating to the American Colonies and the United States from fhe Liverpool Papers in the British Museum, London.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1965 
British records relating to America in microfilm
3 reel(s)

Charles Jenkinson, created first Earl of Liverpool in 1796, held a number of offices in the British government that were central to relations with America before, during, and after the War for Independence. He served in the Treasury from 1763 to 1765 and from 1767 to 1773. He served as a Lord of the Admiralty from 1765 to 1767. He sat on the Privy Council from 1773 and, during the war, Lord North appointed him Secretary-at-War. After the war he served on the Board of Trade and played a major role in setting British commercial policy toward the United States. His son, Robert, second Earl of Liverpool, served on the Privy Council from 1799, was Foreign Secretary, 1801-1804, Home Secretary, 1804-6 and 1807-9, and Prime Minister, 1812-1827. This collection contains the official papers from their tenures in office.

At the beginning of each reel, there is a brief biography of the first and second Lords of Liverpool, a list of items on the three reels, and a guide to further reading.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:8 - Request access

Guides:

A Guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland : a revision of the guide edited in 1961 by B. R. Crick and Miriam Alman

The guide briefly describes various collections in this series. Each collection in Ellis Library is listed in the card catalog and/or MERLIN, the online catalog.

Liverpool Record Office. Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 2002
British records relating to America in microform
142 reel(s)

From the Liverpool Record Office and the Liverpool Maritime Museum, detailed lists of shipping registers, and maritime trading lists of ships docking in to the port of Liverpool. These provide a comprehensive overview of the goods passed inwards and outwards of the port, along with numbers of personnel, Captain, name of ship and other important information.

FILM BOOK 0399

Guides:

Morgan, Kenneth The Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry (1820-1939): A Brief Introduction to the Microform Edition of the Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry. PDF

Also available under call number HE558.L5 L5.

This series of microfilms which includes over 100 titles covers many aspects of American History. Material ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The series includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics and military affairs. There are personal papers and diaries as well as state documents and the records of industrial and commercial concerns. This series of microfilms which includes over 100 titles covers many aspects of American History. Material ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The series includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics and military affairs. There are personal papers and diaries as well as state documents and the records of industrial and commercial concerns. This series fo microfilms which includes over 100 titles covers many aspects of American History. Material ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The series includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics and military affairs. There are personal papers and diaries as well as state documents and the records of industrial and commercial concerns. This series fo microfilms which includes over 100 titles covers many aspects of American History. Material ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The series includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics and military affairs. There are personal papers and diaries as well as state documents and the records of industrial and commercial concerns. This series fo microfilms which includes over 100 titles covers many aspects of American History. Material ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The series includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics and military affairs. There are personal papers and diaries as well as state documents and the records of industrial and commercial concerns.

Lloyd (Ship). Journals of the Ship Lloyd, Nicholas Pocock, Master, 1767-1772.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

The journals provide information on the day-to-day operation of a Bristol merchant ship engaged in the colonial trade. The journals record several voyages from Bristol to Charleston, South Carolina, and back from 1767 through 1769. They also record round-trip voyages to Dominica during 1771-72. This information includes muster rolls, weather, and other sailing information. Each page is also illustrated with drawings of the Lloyd by Captain Pocock.

Notes at the beginning of the reel provide background information on Nicholas Pocock, Richard Champion (the ship's owner), the ship Lloyd, and the journals.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:7 - Request access

Locke, John. Game Laws, Comprising the Whole of the Law Now in Force on the Subject, Brought Down to the Present Time.

London: Shaw and Sons, 1856 
1 reel(s)

Locke (1805-1880) was a barrister-at-law of the Inner Temple. This work lists game statutes, sections, schedules, and a table of cases relating to game law.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Contains an introduction, explanatory notes, cases, and an index. Fourth edition.

FILM MISC - Request access

Long, Edward. Candid Reflections Upon the Judgment Lately Awarded by the Court of King’s Bench, in Westminster-Hall, on What is Commonly Called the Negroe-Cause, by a Planter.

Long, Edward.

London: 1772 
1 reel(s)

This pro-slavery pamphlet argues that slaves from the West Indies should not be emancipated when brought into Great Britain.

FILM MISC - Request access

Lucas, Christopher. Annals of the Voyages of the Brothers Nicolo and Antonio Zeno, in the North Atlantic About the End of the Fourteenth Century, and the Claim Founded Thereon to a Venetian Discovery of America; a Criticism and an Indictment.

London: H. Stevens Sons, 1898 
1 reel(s)

The story of the travels of brothers Antonio and Nicolo Zeno in the North Atlantic at the end of the fourteenth century was published anonymously (actually by Nicolo) in Venice, Italy, in 1558. The narrative and map of the North Atlantic were at first accepted as truth; however, doubts soon arose, and the author of this book investigated and reconsidered their authenticity. It contains a translation of the Zeno book, its controversies, the history of the Zeno family, as well as many plates, illustrations, and maps.

The title page states that Lucas is also the author of “Appendiculae Historicae” and part editor of “The New Laws of the Indies,” and that this book is illustrated by facsimiles.

FILM MISC - Request access