Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Jackson, Andrew 1767-1845. Andrew Jackson Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1961 
Presidential papers microfilm
78 reel(s)

This collection offers a wealth of information on both the military and political careers of Jackson. The documents include his military papers with accounts of the campaigns against the Creeks during the War of 1812 and the Battle of New Orleans. His campaign against the Seminoles in Florida and the transfer of Florida to the United States are also covered. The papers document Jackson's campaigns for the presidency beginning in 1824 and his two terms as president from 1829 to 1837. Specifically included are his Bank of the United States veto and the Maysville Road veto with other documents pertaining to the nullification controversy with South Carolina.

FILM 20:12-13 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Andrew Jackson papers

The guide contains the provenance of the Jackson papers, a description of each of the eleven series in the collection, a reel list indicating the time period covered in each reel, and an index by writer or recipient.

Jacob, Giles. General Laws of Estates; or, Freeholder’s Companion.

In the Savoy [London]: E. and R. Nutt, and R. Gosling, 1740 
1 reel(s)

Jacob (1686-1744) wrote many books on English law, most notably “A New-Law Dictionary.” In this present work, his only major book on estate law, he covers most subjects including the right to kill game, land tenure, inheritance, and succession.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “Containing the laws, statutes, and customs relating to Freehold and other estates, whereby all country gentlemen and freeholders may know their rights thereto, and qualifications to be members of Parliament, electors, justices of peace, and jurymen; and to kill game, erect dovecotes, &c.” There is an index labeled “A Table” at the end of the work.

FILM MISC - Request access

Jacob, S. S. (Samuel Swinton), Sir. Jeypore Portfolio of Architectural Details.

London: Bernard Quaritch; Photo-lithographed by W. Griggs and Sons, Ltd., 1890 
1 reel(s)

Prepared under the supervision of then-colonel S.S. Jacob, an engineer to the Jeypore state of India, this is not an exhaustive collection but contains works in or near Delhi, Agra, and parts of Rajputana. Part I: Copings and Bases. Part II: Pillars – Caps and Bases. Part III: Carved Doors. Part IV: Brackets. Part V: Arches. Part VI: Balustrades. There are 573 plates in this collection.

"Issued under the patronage of His Highness Maharaja Sawai Madhu Singh, G.C.S.I. of Jeypore."
Also available in hard copy as NA1507.J6 J2 1977.
FILM NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Janmabhumi.

Masulipatam, India: Microfilmed by the University of Missouri, 1970 
2 reel(s)

This weekly publication was edited by B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya and later published in Masulipatam, India. Its contents include: Notes and Comments; Public Affairs; Foreign Affairs; New Currents of Life; Reviews; Communications; and Letters to the Editor.

“A Weekly published from the Andhradesa and devoted to Problems of National Reconstruction.” Ellis has volumes 1-5 and 7. 1919-1922, 1924-1926.

FILM

Janszen, Royce Henry. Organization and Administration of Off-Campus Student Teaching in Music at Selected Institutions.

Japan. Gaimusho. IMT Series: International Military Tribunal.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
3 reel(s)

The IMT series is a selection of titles from the complete file of documentary evidence at the International Prosecution Section, General Headquarters, Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers (General D. McArthur). The selection was made with the object of showing both the internal and external conditions and personalities that brought Japan into her disastrous war for the control of Asia. Holdings at Ellis include the Prince Konoye memoirs, the corporation law of the Central China Development Company, regulations of the South Seas Development Company, circumstances surrounding the Tripartite Alliance, principal reasons for the commencement of hostilities against the United States and Great Britain, a directive from the Vice-Minister of War, Kimura Hyotaro, concerning the disposal of enemy property in China, circumstances surrounding the establishment of the Wang Ching-Wei government, and Privy Council Proceedings dealing with the Manchurian incident and Bulgarian participation in the Tripartite Alliance. Most of the documents are accompanied by an English translation.

Selected microfilm reels (no. 6, 15, and 27).
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 10:10 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Japan. Gaimusho MT Series: Meiji-Taisho Documents

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
123 reel(s)

This series contains documents of the Meiji and Taisho periods (1868-1912 and 1912-1926). It contains day-to-day correspondence and communications between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and its officials. Official despatches, additions, and confidential opinions reveal the Japanese perceptions and reactions to world events. They also illustrate the process of Japanese policy-making. Documents in Ellis Library's holdings relate to the balance of power of the East Asian countries, Korea after the Sino-Japanese War, a severance of formal negotiations with China as a result of the abdication of the Emperor at the time of the Chinese Revolution, negotiations between Japanese consuls and the British government from 1902 to 1905, diplomatic relations between China and Korea, United States and British relations, Russo-British negotiations, declarations of Russia regarding Manchuria (1898-1901), political conditions in Europe, the neutrality of Manchurian railways, a Sino-Japanese peace treaty in 1895, and maneuvers of the United States Navy in the Pacific (1923-1926).

FILM 10:6-8 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

Japan. Gaimusho. P Series: Papers of the Parliamentary Vice-Minister, Tadao Matsumoto.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
11 reel(s)

Matsumoto Tadao, who served several times as Parliamentary Vice-Minister, ordered copies made of important documents for his own use during his term of office in the Meiji and Taisho period. Ellis Library's holdings include documents on the supplementary Sino-Japanese treaty of commerce and navigation, attitudes of various countries toward China at the time of the Chinese Revolution, new agreements between China and Russia concerning Manchuria, neutrality problems of the Manchurian railways, neutrality of various countries during the Russo-Japanese War, Japanese-British relations, and the Chinese Eastern Railway problem.

Reels 5-14 and 43

FILM 10:9 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Japan. Gaimusho. SP Series: Special Studies

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
12 reel(s)

This series consists mainly of printed and mimeographed studies prepared by members of the Ministry for desk use. Although secondary studies, they contribute to an understanding of the development of Japanese policy. In some cases they contain quoted material no longer available in archival form. Subjects in Ellis Library's holdings include a history of Japanese-American relations up to 1924, a history of Russo-Chinese negotiations relating to the restitution of Manchuria, problems of the international control of Chinese railways, the consolidation of an anti-Japanese front by the Communist Party in Manchuria based on Russian sources, an account of political parties and groups in China, and a directory of Japanese people employed by the Chinese government.

(no. 1-12 of a series of 185 reels)

FILM 10:9 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Japan. Gaimusho. TEL Series: Telegrams 1873-1926

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951

The telegrams are communiques between Foreign Service officers in the field and the Minister in Tokyo. With only a few breaks, they present a continuous record of Japanese diplomacy from 1873 to 1917. In the earlier period the telegrams were written in English longhand. Later, they were written in code, and finally they were typewritten in Japanese characters. Ellis Library has reels covering the period from 1909 to 1912.

Reels 113-158

FILM 10:9-10 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Japan. Gaimusho. TR Series: Treaties

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
13 reel(s)

The Treaty Series consists of reproductions of the original treaties. The series contains four subdivisions: Russo-Japanese treaties, Manchoukuoan-Japanese treaties, Sino-Japanese treaties, and a miscellaneous collection. The various documents include the agreement of 1898 between Japan and Russia concerning the Korean problem, a memorandum concerning hydro-electric enterprises on the Yalu and Tumen Rivers, a treaty of commerce and navigation concluded in 1903 between Japan and China, notes concerning Manchurian railway loans, and a protocol between French Indo-China and Thailand establishing the border.

FILM 10:10 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Japan, Korea, and the Security of Asia, Special Studies, 1970-1980.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
4 reel(s)

Forty special studies commissioned by the federal government from extra-governmental “think tanks” comprise the collection of studies. The papers discuss political, economic, and military matters regarding Japan, Korea, and East Asia in general. The papers were all written between 1970 and 1980, but a few are concerned with the implications of prior events. The papers are divided into three discrete sections: East Asia, Japan, and Korea. Topics covered include the Japanese economy, Japanese nuclear weapons, Korean reunification, and security issues within the region.

FILM BOOK 0086

Guides:

Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia, special studies, 1970- 1980 [guide] PDF

The annotated guide provides author, title, author’s institutional affiliation, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS518.1 .J35 1981.

Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826. Thomas Jefferson Papers

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1974 
Presidential papers microfilm
65 reel(s)

These papers relate primarily to Jefferson's political and legal concerns. They include general correspondence, including drafts of state papers, copies of letters made by Jefferson from General Horatio Gates' Revolutionary-War letter book, and correspondence with officials. Also included are account books, court cases and readings on law, Randolph family manuscripts, Virginia law and historical records, collected letters, and miscellaneous bound volumes and clippings. Principal correspondents include John Adams, William Claiborne, Henry Dearborn, Albert Gallatin, Horatio Gates, Marquis de Lafayette, Benjamin Latrobe, James Madison, James Monroe, Thomas Randolph, William Short, Robert Smith, and George Washington. Ellis Library also has the earlier filming of the Jefferson papers. While not as comprehensive as the 1974 edition, the earlier filming has useful internal finding aids that do not appear in the later edition.

FILM 21:10-13 - Request access

Guides:

Index to the Thomas Jefferson papers

The guide provides an index by writer or recipient.

Johnson, Andrew, 1808-1875. Andrew Johnson Papers

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1960 
Presidential papers microfilm
55 reel(s)

Andrew Johnson, a radical Jacksonian active in Tennessee politics, became the seventeenth president after the assassination of Abraham Lincoln on April 15, 1865. These papers contain letters he received, copies of letters he sent, his messages and speeches, and court-martial and amnesty records. They includes diaries (with typed transcripts of the shorthand volumes) of William G. Moore (Johnson's secretary), business records of Johnson's tailor shop and other businesses (1829-1860), and records of Johnson's activities as military governor of Tennessee. Correspondents include Ulysses S. Grant, Winfield S. Hancock, Andrew Humphreys, Andrew Johnson, Robert Johnson, Abraham Lincoln, Hugh McCulloch, George Meade, William Moore, Robert Morrow, Reuben Mussey, William H. Seward, Edwin Stanton, George Thomas, and Seth Williams.

FILM 20:13-14 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Andrew Johnson papers

The guide provides an index by writer or recipient.

Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973. Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Johnson, 1963-1969.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982 
17 reel(s)

The administration of Lyndon Johnson saw profoundly important changes in both foreign and domestic policy. This collection contains agendas, memos, and other documents generated from the Cabinet meetings, as well as Cabinet and Agency Reviews and Departmental Weekly Reports from late 1963 until 1969. The Cabinet meetings tackled such domestic issues as the War on Poverty, civil rights legislation, agricultural problems, and aid to education and cities. Foreign policy discussions came to be dominated by detente with the Soviets, aid to the Third World countries, controls on nuclear testing, and the growing involvement in Vietnam.

FILM BOOK 0109

Guides:

A Guide to Minutes and documents of the cabinet meetings of President Johnson

The guide contains a table of contents and reel index.