Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

Hamilton, Alexander 1757-1804. Papers

Washington, D.C.: 1955
46 reel(s)

Alexander Hamilton, first secretary of the treasury, placed the new nation on a firm financial footing. His advocacy of a strong national government brought him into bitter conflict with Thomas Jefferson. However his political philosophy was ultimately adopted in the development of the governmental structures. He was killed in a duel with Aaron Burr in 1804. The papers are arranged in two series in chronological order (1760-1830 and 1749-1804) and also include reports to Congress (1790-1792), papers of the New York Artillery Company, and cash books.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 19:14-20:1 - Request access

Guides:

The works of Alexander Hamilton; containing his correspondence, and his political and official writings, exclusive of the Federalist, civil and military

Hamilton, Alexander. Farmer Refuted: Or, a More Impartial and Comprehensive View of the Dispute Between Great-Britain and the Colonies, Intended as a Further Vindication of the Congress.

New York: James Rivington, 1774
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet is Hamilton’s defense of the Continental Congress against Samuel Seabury’s Loyalist attacks in A View of the Controversy Between Great-Britain and her Colonies. Available on the web at http://opac.newsbank.com/select/evans/14096.

At the end of microfilm reel of Seabury, Samuel. (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “In answer to a letter from A.W. Farmer, intitled [sic] A View of the Controversy Between Great-Britain and her Colonies: Iincluding, a Mode of Determining the Present Disputes Finally and Effectually, etc.” Signed “A sincere friend to America.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Hamilton, Alexander. Full Vindication of the Measures of Congress, from the Calumnies of Their Enemies.

New York: James Rivington, 1774
1 reel(s)

Hamilton (1757-1804) was a lawyer, a captain in the Revolutionary War, George Washington’s personal secretary and confidential aide, a member of the first Continental Congress, a delegate to the Continental Convention, and the first Secretary of the Treasury. He was one of the authors of The Federalist, a commentary on the principles of government and American constitutional law, and was a leader in the Federalist Party after the death of Washington. He wrote this pamphlet at age 17 to defend the members of the Continental Congress against the attacks in Samuel Seabury’s Loyalist work Free Thoughts . . . Available on the web at http://opac.newsbank.com/select/evans/13313.

At end of Seabury, Samuel reel.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Title continues “In answer to a letter, under the signature of A.W. Farmer. Whereby his sophistry is exposed, his cavils confuted, his artifices detected, and his wit ridiculed; in a general address to the inhabitants of America, and a particular address to the farmers of the province of New-York.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Harper and Brothers Archives 1817-1914.

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healy, 1982 
58 reel(s)

A general catalog of the collection is on reel 1 and an index is at the beginning of each major section.

FILM 4D21: 16:5-16:6 - Request access

Guides:

Index to the archives of Harper and Brothers, 1817-1914

Harper, Robert Goodloe, 1765-1825. Robert Goodloe Harper Family Papers, Ms. 431 in the Maryland Historical Society.

Baltimore, Md.: Maryland Historical Society, 1970
5 reel(s)

Robert Goodloe Harper was a congressman and Baltimore lawyer. He served briefly in the North Carolina state legislature and soon was elected to the United States Congress. He served as chair of the Ways and Means Committee from 1747 to 1801. In 1799 he moved to Baltimore and was chosen to represent Maryland in the Senate in 1816. While in the Senate he ran for vice-president as a Federalist. Much of the correspondence concerns political topics. However, a significant amount deals with Harper's role in efforts to establish colonies for blacks in Ohio and Africa. He was an influential member of the Maryland State Colonization Society and proposed the name "Liberia" for the settlement in Africa.

An uncataloged guide, Marks, Bayly Ellen. Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Robert Goodloe Harper Papers, is in the Special Collections Office provide a description of the contents for each reel, a biographical sketch, a bibliography of Harper's published works, and information in the provenance of the collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Harrington, John Peabody, 1884-1961. The Photograph Collection of John Peabody Harrington in the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution.

Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian National Anthropological Archives, 1994
10 reel(s)

John Peabody Harrington studied classical languages at Stanford University, and linguistics at the universities at Leipzig and Berlin. After studying the languages of several Native American tribes, he was appointed to the staff of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology in 1915, and continued to be involved in its research until his death. The photographs in this collection were taken by Harrington from 1912 to the mid 1950's, with the majority of them dated between 1917 and 1933. He concentrated upon the cultures of native Americans in California, the Southwest, Alaska, the Northwest Coast, and Mexico. Harrington's photographs capture much about these societies that has been otherwise altered or lost over the years. There are also personal photos of Harrington, his family, and friends, as well as linguistic materials.

FILM BOOK 0297

Guides:

The photograph collection of John Peabody Harrington in the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution : a catalog to the microfilm

Besides a description of the scope and content of the Harrington photographs, the guide also traces the history of the collection’s acquisition and processing. It then lists the contents of each reel.

Harris, C. M.; Preston, Daniel, compilers and editors. Papers Relating to the U.S. Patent Office During the Superintendency of William Thornton, 1802-1828.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Administration, 1986
Federal Documentary Microfilm Editions
5 reel(s)

The first patent law in the United States was established in 1790, and the first patent office opened in 1802 under the supervision of Dr. William Thornton. The original records were destroyed by fire in 1836 and a de facto archives was recreated from public and private records to replace them. Dr. Thornton believed the patent office should serve as a repository of invention for the United States and this is reflected in this collection.

FILM BOOK 0238

Guides:

Harris, C. M. (C. Max), 1934- Papers relating to the administration of the U.S. Patent Office : during the superintendency of William Thornton, 1802-1828 : a guide to accompany Federal documentary microfilm edition no. 1

The guide gives a brief history of the patent office, an item by item list on each reel, and an index of names and subjects.

Harrison, Benjamin 1833-1901. Benjamin Harrison Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1960
Presidential papers microfilm
151 reel(s)

This collection contains correspondence, legal papers, financial records, notebooks, memorials, printed materials, and memorabilia of the life of President Benjamin Harrison. The material covers Harrison's experiences in the Civil War as a brigadier general of Indiana volunteers, his career as an Indiana lawyer and politician, his term as president from 1889 to 1893, and important documents relating to the Venezuelan boundary dispute with British Guiana.

Series 1. General correspondence and related material, 1787-1912 (reels 1-43)–Series 2. Additional correspondence and related items, 1853-1909 (reels 43-97)–Series 3. Letter Press copy book, 1880-1892 (reels 97-98)–Series 4. Telegrams, 1888-1896 (reels 98-99)–Series 5. Social, 1889-1892 (reels 99-100)–Series 6. Shorthand notebooks, 1884-1901 (reels 100-116)–Series 7. Record of letters received at the White House, 1889-1893 (reels 116-117)–Series 8. Speeches, 1878-1901 (reels 117-121)–Series 9. Writing, 1895-1897 (reels 121-122)–Series 10.Legal instruments, 1852-1898 (reels 122-123)–Series 11. Legal cases and Firm Letter Press copy books, ca. 1855-1900 (reels 123-135)–Series 12. Financial, 1836-1900 (reels 135-140)–Series 13. Venezuela boundary dispute, 1895-1899 (reels 140-143)–Series 14. Miscellaneous manuscripts, 1814-1901 (reels 143-144)–Series 15. Volwiler collection of Harrisoniana, 1850-1938 (reel 145)–Series 16. Scrapbooks, 1853-1908 (reels 145-151)–Series 17. Certificates memorials, and printed invitations–Series 18. Pamphlets–Series 19. Photographs and drawings–Series 20. Miscellaneous printed matter.

MU Ellis Special Collections Microfilm 4D21  FILM  - Request access

Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841. William Henry Harrison Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1958
Presidential papers microfilm
3 reel(s)

William Henry Harrison made his military and political reputation as conqueror of Tecumseh's Shawnee at the Battle of Tippecanoe Creek in 1811 and subsequently, as the governor of Indiana Territory. He was elected president in the "log cabin" campaign of 1840 with the slogan "Tippecanoe and Tyler, too!" He died shortly after his inauguration in 1841. Correspondence and military papers (largely for the period 1796-1841) emphasize Indian campaigns and affairs. A letter book describes events of the War of 1812 in the West during 1812 to 1813. Other correspondence concerns Harrison's unsuccessful campaign for president in 1836. There are few papers covering the 1840 campaign or his short period in office. Some posthumous papers and a chronology of Harrison's life are included.

FILM 20:12 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the William H. Harrison papers

This index describes the contents of each of the twenty series in the set.

Hartley, David, 1732-1813. Papers of American Interest Among the Hartley Russell Archives in the Berkshire Record Office, Shire Hall, Reading.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1966 
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

David Hartley entered Parliament in 1774. His career in the House of Commons lasted until 1784. Hartley advocated conciliation with the American colonists before and during the Revolution. He accepted American independence and believed the political separation need not involve complete commercial and spiritual separation. The papers contain much material on Hartley's activities before and during the war and at the peace conferences. Topics include notes on the conflict between Britain and France in North America (1749-1756) and subsequent peace negotiations. The papers also focus on American prisoners-of-war since Hartley acted as Great Britain's agent in negotiations with Benjamin Franklin for the exchange of prisoners.

A description of the collection is at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:7 - Request access

Harvey, Jacob, 1797-1848. Harvey Papers, 1816-1846: The Letters of Jacob Harvey, an Irish Merchant in New York, 1816-1846, in the National Library of Ireland, Dublin.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1970 
British records relating to America
1 reel(s)

Letters from Jacob Harvey to Mary Leadbeater from 1816 to 1826 describe America and discuss literary matters. Harvey refers to his friendship with John Randolph of Roanoke and to conversations with the United Irish exiles, Thomas Emmet and William MacNeven. On one occasion, he provides an introduction for the Quaker educator, John Griscom. Letters to Thomas Spring-Rice, first Baron Monteagle, brief Monteagle on American affairs. The letters deal with nullification, the Bank of the United States, the 1837 financial crisis, Canada, Texas, and the Maine boundary question. Harvey comments as a Whig, yet with a pragmatic and liberal viewpoint. Letters to Gulian C. Verplanck deal with politics, patronage, and reforms such as educational opportunities for immigrant children.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:7 - Request access

Henry Francis DuPont Winterthur Museum. Rade Catalogues at Winterthur: 1750-1980.

New York: Clearwater Publishing, 1984 
313 fiche

Trade catalogs are a useful primary source for scholars in many fields of American history. This collection consists of a number of trade catalogs published between 1750 and 1980, though the majority date from 1870 to 1910. It should be noted that in this case "trade catalogue" refers to broadsides, broadsheets, pamphlets, manuscripts, and books issued by businesses and individuals to entice the public to buy their products. Winterthur Library's trade catalog collection contains approximately two thousand examples of the genre from all over the United States and from various other countries. However, at the present time Ellis Library holds only those catalogues from Missouri and Illinois. Examples of subject categories include agricultural implements and machinery, ceramics and glassware, department and dry goods stores, ecclesiastical and funerary supplies, furniture, hardware, cutlery, utensils and hand tools, iron and steel goods, jewelry, clocks and watches, lighting fixtures and electrical supplies, medical and health supplies, photography, and silver goods.

MICF 1582

Guides:

Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum. Trade catalogues at Winterthur : a guide to the literature of merchandising, 1750 to 1980

The guide contains an introduction to the catalogs and an annotated listing of the complete Winterthur collection. The listing is divided into thirty subject categories arranged in alphabetical order. Chronological, geographical, and alphabetical indexes are also provided.

Hewitt, William. William Hewitt Papers, 1756-1790, in the University of London Library.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1985
British Records Relating to America in Microform
6 reel(s)

In 1767, William Hewitt was appointed commissioner for the sale and disposal of lands in the West Indian islands ceded by France to Britain in the Peace of Paris in 1763. He remained in the West Indies from 1767 to 1772. After returning to England, he was again appointed commissioner to deal with land disputes and returned to the islands in 1777 and remained until he died of injuries received in the hurricane of 1781. He traveled throughout the islands and was twice captured by the French. This collection consists of financial records, personal and official correspondence sent and received during the period, and a variety of legal documents, again both personal and official, many of which deal with land transactions in the islands.

FILM BOOK 0013

Guides:

William Hewitt papers (Ms. 522) 1756-1790 in the University of London Library [guide] PDF

This guide gives information on the provenance of the papers, a table of contents for the collection, an annotated list of reel contents, a bibliography of related works, and an index of persons mentioned in the papers.

Also available under call number F1620.5.H4 A4 1985.

Hey, Richard. Observations on the Nature of Civil Liberty, and the Principles of Government.

London: (Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago; 1966.), 1776 
1 reel(s)

The author was a Fellow of Sidney Suffex [sic] College, Cambridge, and Barrister at Law of the Middle Temple. The contents of this pamphlet include: “Part I. On the Nature of Liberty in General. Part II. Of Civil Liberty and the Principles of Government. Part III. Of the Authority of One Country Over Another.”

ON THE REEL ENTITLED “A LETTER TO THE WHIGS.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Historic American Buildings Survey.

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healy, 1980
1567 fiche

45,000 photographs and 35,000 pages of text

The collection is arranged geographically. The data relating to each Building is arranged in alphabetical order by the nearest significant place name within each county, within each state. A short uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.

MICF 1824

History of the Office of Censorship.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1977
3 reel(s)

This is an official history of the Office of Censorship which was established on December 19, 1941, to conduct surveillance of the media and postal, telephone, and cable communications during the Second World War. The history has been written by the agency itself and illustrates its development, organizational structure, and internal rules. It contains the histories of individual departments, such as the press and broadcasting divisions, the postal censor office, the liaison and digest office, and the administrative division. Also included in the collection are the manual of rules issued during the war to newspapers, broadcasting stations, and other media.

FILM BOOK 0044

Guides:

A Guide to History of the Office of Censorship PDF

The guide provides a table of contents. Also available under call number D631 .K4 1977.

History of the West; Private Library of Michael Harrison. Library Catalog and Supplement.

Fort Worth, TX: Amon Carter Museum of Western Art, 1965
46 reel(s)

FILM 4D21: 10:6 - Request access

Hobhouse (Isaac) and Co., Bristol Eng. Hobhouse Letters, 1722-1755, Letters and Other Papers of Isaac Hobhouse & Co., Bristol Merchants.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

The collection consists of about 150 letters written to Isaac Hobhouse, a leading merchant of Bristol, and his partners by ship captains and agents in the American colonies and the West Indies. The letters describe trade between West Africa and the southern colonies and relations between New England and the West Indies from 1722 to 1736. They give details of the commodities carried, methods of payment, and the difficulties of the trade. A few letters relate to the colonial shipbuilding industry in Boston and Philadelphia, including the costs involved during the 1730s.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:7 - Request access

Guides:

The Hobhouse Papers, 1722-1755 PDF

Hoyt, Dolly E. Memoirs of Dolly E. Hoyt, a Member of the Union Missionary Family: Who Died on the Arkansas River, While Ascending the Same, on Her Passage to the Osage Nation, the Place of Her Destination, Aged 23.

Danbury, CT: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., 1828 
1 reel(s)

This memoir contains Dolly Hoyt’s letters, diary, and pieces on particular subjects as well as an extract from a reverend’s letter giving an account of her sickness and death, and her father’s letter requesting her writings. She was a school teacher who joined the Cherokee Mission to alleviate “the miserable conditions of the American natives.” Miss Hoyt joined in 1820 under the direction of the United Foreign Missionary Society of New York. She died July 20, 1820, while ascending the Arkansas River. Her writings cover Dec. 31, 1714 to July 1, 1820.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Hughes, Charles Evans. Charles Evans Hughes Papers.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress Microfilming Service, 1959 
7 reel(s)

This material covers Hughes’ role as Secretary of State from 1921 to 1925 under President Warren G. Harding. Reels 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6 contain correspondence, manuscripts, documents, reports, and printed material from the Department of State during his tenure. Reel 5 contains newspaper clippings from New York, Washington, DC, and Springfield, IL, from February 19, 1921 (the formal announcement of Hughes’ designation as Secretary of State) to March 5, 1921 (his assumption of the office of Secretary of State). Reel 7 contains naval correspondence.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Human Relations Area Files.

Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968 
Human Relations Area Files

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.

An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection. 
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 300.2

Guides:

Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).

Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

HRAF Source Bibliography

Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.

Index to the Human Relations Area Files

The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.

Humboldt, Alexander von. Political Essays on the Kingdom of New Spain Containing Researches Relative to the Military Defense of New Spain: with Physical Sections and Maps.

London: Longman (and others), 1811 
2 reel(s)

These volumes contain research “relative to the geography of Mexico, the extent of its surface and its political division into intendancies, the physical aspect of the country, the population, the state of agriculture and manufacturing and commercial industry, the canals projected between the South Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, the Crown revenues, the quantity of the precious metals which have flowed from Mexico into Europe and Asia since the discovery of the new continent, and the military defense of New Spain.” Reel 1 contains volumes 1-2. Reel 2 contains volumes 3-4.

Note: Translation of "Essai politique sur le royaume de la Nouvelle Espagne" which forms pt. 3 of "Voyage de Humboldt et Bonpland." Translated by John Black.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Humphrey, Heman. Indian Rights and Our Duties: An Address Delivered at Amherst, Hartford, Etc., December 1829.

Amherst: Published by J. S. & C. Adams and Co., 1830 
1 reel(s)

Humphrey was president of Amherst College at the time of this address regarding the history of white interaction with the American Indians in New England and New York. Denouncing the near extinction of several tribes (Pequots, the Mohegans, and the Mohawks), Humphrey urged his audience to proceed with care in future relations with the Native Americans, specifically the Cherokees and Choctaws.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC  - Request access

Humphrey, Laurence. Nobles, or of Nobilitye.

London: Imprinted by Thomas Marshe, 1563 
1 reel(s)

Humphrey was president of Magdaleine College in Oxford and wrote this book of instructions for the nobility.

Also in Early English Books, FILM BOOK 0003 249:3.

FILM MISC - Request access