Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Faith and Order Paper

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Service and Sales Company, 1960 
10 reel(s)

The General Convention of the Episcopal Church made the suggestion, in 1910, that a world conference be held to decide matters of faith and order. A Joint Commission was formed to invite all churches to join and Robert H. Gardiner was appointed Secretary of the project. The publications in this series were published in four series, from 1910 to 1974. See entry for World Council of Churches for Gardiner's correspondence and minutes of the Commission.

FILM

Guides:

DeGroot, A. T. (Alfred Thomas), 1903- Check list, Faith and Order Commission, official, numbered publications: series I, 1910-1948; series II, 1948-to date (1962)

The Guide contains a bibliography of publications by the Faith and Order Commission, and a brief explanatory note.

Fawcett and Lister Papers from the Shibden Hall Folk Museum, Halifax.

Wakefield, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1967 
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

Letters and papers accumulated by the Lister family, who occupied Shibden Hall from 1614 to 1923, record the business and personal activities of the family. James Lister (1673?-1729) was an apothecary of Halifax and the owner of Shibden Hall. The papers include references to his wife, Mary, and their children and grandchildren. Their eldest child, Martha, married William, the son of Robert Fawcett (or Faucitt), a merchant and minor landowner of Bull Close, Halifax. The papers of their son William, later General Sir William Fawcett, cover various military matters, with references to the War for Independence including an account of the Battle of Lexington. Also included are manuscripts that relate to the trading careers in Virginia in the 1730s of several Lister brothers.

A description of the collection and its arrangement, including a list of correspondents, appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:6 - Request access

FBI File on Huey Long.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2000 
2 reel(s)

Huey Pierce Long (1893-1935), elected Governor of Louisiana in 1928 and U.S. Senator in 1930, won wide support as a Populist candidate from workers and farmers. Ruthless and ambitious, Long, nicknamed "Kingfish," built a powerful organization in Louisiana that practically eliminated any opposition and controlled virtually every aspect of the Louisiana political system. While in the Senate, he proposed an economic plan called the "Share Our Wealth" program, which would have established heavy estate and income taxes and allowed the government to support a large public works program and subsidies to education. Expected to run for President in 1936, Long was assassinated in 1935.
The documents in this collection detail the FBI's investigation of Long, primarily in the 1920s and 1930s. Topics include voting fraud and crime in New Orleans, corruption in the Louisiana government, the "Share Our Wealth Society" Program, and Long's assassination. Also included are speeches by Long, radio addresses by Shirley G. Wimberly, and materials relating to the investigations of James Monroe Smith and Seymour Weiss. A large number of memos from FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover are also reproduced.

FILM BOOK 0329

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI File on Huey Long.

FBI File on John L. Lewis.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2000 
2 reel(s)

John Llewellyn Lewis (1880-1969), born in central Iowa to immigrant Welsh parents, was a major figure in the American labor movement during the twentieth century. As president of the United Mine Workers (UMW) of America (1920-1960), he worked to organize unskilled industrial workers and to provide basic human rights to poor whites and African Americans. In 1935 he organized the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) in response to the American Federation of Labor's (AFL) refusal to organize unskilled labor. Because of Lewis's critique of President Franklin Roosevelt's toleration of racists views of southern supporters and his anti-war criticism, Lewis was considered a Communist sympathizer and came under the FBI's investigations.
The documents in this collection include newspaper articles, interviews, investigation materials, and trial material that detail the FBI's investigation of Lewis primarily during the 1930s, concentrating on Lewis's efforts to control a splinter mining union. Topics also include information on the FBI's use of phone tapping and Lewis's work on civil rights and domestic violence.

FILM BOOK 0328

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on John L. Lewis.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Confidential Files: FBI Wiretaps, Bugs, and Break-Ins: The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File and Surreptitious Entries File.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1988
4 reel(s)

Contains card files of FBI surreptitious activity from 1942 to 1975 for organizations investigated by the FBI, including wire taps, bugs, and break-ins.

FILM BOOK 0274

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm edition of Federal Bureau of Investigation confidential files. FBI wiretaps, bugs, and break-ins PDF

Guide contains an introduction to the collection and a reel index. Also available under call number JK468.I6 G8 1988.

Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925): The First World War, the Red Scare, and the Garvey Movement.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1985
Black studies research sources
25 reel(s)

The collection consists of materials gathered by the Justice Department’s Bureau of Investigation (renamed the Federal Bureau of Investigation in 1935), military and naval intelligence, the Department of State, and the Post Office Department on the activities of black radicals from 1917 to 1925. The information concerns black communists and socialists, Marcus Garvey’s Universal Negro Improvement Association, radical black publications (such as The Crusader, The Defender, and The Messenger), the Pan African movement, the race riots of 1919, the draft evasions during the First World War, the attitudes and the morale of the black military units, the African Blood Brotherhood, and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

FILM BOOK 0042

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Federal surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925) : guide : the First World War, the Red scare, and the Garvey movement PDF

The guide lists all the documents and includes a subject index. Also available under call numberKF4764 .S35 1986.

Federal Writers’ Project. Slave Narratives, A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1941 
11 reel(s)

(Also, New York: Andronicus; 1970?; 168 microfiche cards).
In 1937 and early 1938, workers of the Federal Writers' Project interviewed former slaves. Some 2000 narratives were gathered from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. The generally untrained interviewers were given questionnaires to use as guides. They recorded the narratives as nearly as possible in the words and dialect of the speaker without alteration. In addition, they collected photographs, transcripts of laws, advertisements, and records of sale, transfer, and manumission of slaves. They also interviewed white people regarding slavery. Narratives are arranged by state and then alphabetically by informant. There is no subject or personal name index.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Guides:

Yetman, Norman R., 1938- Life under the “peculiar institution”; selections from the Slave Narrative Collection

This book, published under two different titles, includes an excellent chapter by Norman R. Yetman on the background of this slave narrative collection. The book also contains selected narratives. In addition, Benjamin A. Botkin’s Lay My Burden Down (326.973 F317l) provides selections from the narratives.

Ferrar, Nicholas. Ferrar Papers, 1590 to 1790: in Magdalene College, Cambridge.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Academic Microform Publishers, 1992
British Records Relating to America
14 reel(s)

Over 3,000 letters and business papers of the family of Nicholas Ferrar (died 1620) make up this collection, The business archive of the Virginia Company of London and its subordinate, the Somer Islands Company, formed the beginning of the collection. In 1625 the family moved from London to their Huntingdonshire manor, Little Gidding, and family correspondence from Mrs. Ferrar and her two sons, Nicholas and John make up the bulk of the collection. The letters continue with correspondence of various Ferrar descendents, including Susanna Collett and her five eldest daughters. In addition to correspondence, the collection includes prints purchased in Nicholas Ferrar’s travels from 1613 to 1617. Correspondence includes the Woodnoth, Brooke, Fielding, Barridge, and Cave families.

FILM 22:6 - Request access

Guides:

The Ferrar papers, 1590-1790, in Magdalene College, Cambridge.

The guide consists of an introduction and finding list by David Ransome, in addition to genealogical charts of the Ferrar family.

Fielding, Henry. Champion: Containing a Series of Papers, Humorous, Moral, Political, and Critical.

London: 1739 
1 reel(s)

Fielding (1707-1754), a writer, lawyer, and dramatist, was an outspoken champion of English political and religious liberty and railed against Jacobite absolutism. This periodical covered various political subjects of the day, including Robert Walpole, Earl of Orford.

On microfilm reel labeled “True Patriot.”
Note: This periodical was published tri-weekly from Nov. 15, 1739 to March, 1742, which was conducted at first by Henry Fielding under various pseudonyms, such as Capt. Hercules Vinegar, Timothy Vinegar, Tom Coffee, and Paul Serious. He withdrew in June 1740, and the paper was continued by James Ralph. Articles signed C. and L. are supposed to be Fielding's. The issues on this reel are from Nov. 15, 1739 to June 9, 1740.

FILM MISC - Request access

Fielding, Henry. Jacobite’s Journal

London: W. Strahan, 1747
1 reel(s)

Fielding (1707-1754), a writer, lawyer, and dramatist, was an outspoken champion of English political and religious liberty and railed against Jacobite absolutism. This periodical was a biting satire that ridiculed the Jacobites and Tories.

On microfilm reel labeled “True Patriot.”
Note: Author listed as John Trott-Plaid, a silly, English, “Protestant Jacobite,” a pseudonym for Fielding.

FILM MISC - Request access

Fielding, Henry. True Patriot: and the History of Our Own Times.

London: 1745
1 reel(s)

Fielding (1707-1754), a writer, lawyer, and dramatist, was an outspoken champion of English political and religious liberty and railed against Jacobite absolutism. “The True Patriot” was both a literary periodical and a newspaper. Each issue contained an opening essay, foreign and domestic news, political letters, writings on special topics, and advertising.

On microfilm reel labeled “True Patriot.”
Note: Reel contains numbers 1-32, Nov. 5, 1745 through June 17, 1746.

FILM MISC - Request access

Fleming, Henry. Papers of Henry Fleming, 1772-1795: in the Cumbria Record Office.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: EP Microform Limited;, 1978
British Records Relating to America
1 reel(s)

This collection consists of a letterbook of Fleming’s outgoing letters from Norfolk, Virginia, April 1772 to October 1775, and from Whitehaven, Cumberland, April 1783 to October 1788; and an account book from 1776 to 1795 of debts owed to Fleming in America. In Virginia, Fleming traded tobacco, tar, and other colonial commodities for European goods. The letterbook discusses the impending revolution, and touches on indentured servitude and slavery.

FILM 22:6 - Request access

Guides:

The papers of Henry Fleming, 1772-1795 : in the Cumbria Record Office, Carlisle PDF

The guide includes a description and bibliography of the collection. The guide is also reproduced at the beginning of the reel. Also available under call number DA690.W58 F53.

Folliott, George. Diary of George Folliott, 1765-1766

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1962 
British records relating to America
1 reel(s)

George Folliott, a general merchant in New York, wrote a diary of his visit to England. He spent most of his time in London. While there, he frequented the Exchange, the New York Coffeehouse, and the Antwerp Club. He discussed American affairs, particularly the question of a molasses tax, with Lord Rockingham. He arranged contracts for the supply in London of hogs and oxen and in New York of beer, bread, pork, and other like items. He discussed with Mr. Evory a contract for supplying warships at New York. His expenditures on laundry and travel are noted in some detail. Extensive lists of books bought and sent to New York are included.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:6 - Request access

The Forster and Dyce Collections from the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London

Brighton: Harvester Microform, 1987
Britain’s literary heritage.
2 reel(s)

The library has Pt.2, reels 15-17.
An uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections reading room.

FILM BOOK 0349

Four Centuries of Spanish Drama.

FOUR CENTURIES OF SPANISH DRAMA.

8000 plays.

Each play is cataloged.

MICF 862

Guides:

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney, 1916- A bibliography of Spanish plays on microcards, by Lawrence S. Thompson.

Fox, George Townsend, 1810-1886. George Townsend Fox. American Journals. 4 Vols, 1831-1868.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1961 
British records relating to America
1 reel(s)

The journals of George Townsend Fox, a merchant of Liverpool, cover four separate visits to the United States, 1831-32, 1834, 1841, and 1868. Fox, a perceptive British liberal, is quite conservative in tone as he discusses American social customs and politics. On his journeys he visited the Northeast, the southern seaboard (including Charlestown and New Orleans), New York, and Columbus, Ohio. He describes rifts between merchants and the aristocracy, a slave sale, the extreme poverty of rural Georgia, the oil well at Oil City, and the wonders of the Great Lakes and Niagara Falls.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:6 - Request access

France. Journal Officiel De La Republique Francaise. Edition Des Lois Et Decrets.

Paris: Editions sur Microfiches des Journaux Officiels,

This is the official daily publication of the French government that prints all laws, decrees, administrative orders, instructions, circulars, and other documents issued by all branches of the French government. These include the president, the Council of Ministers, individual ministries, the National Assembly, the Senate, and other governmental agencies. The journal also includes the official announcements about registration and dissolution of public organizations. The chronological and alphabetical indexes to all the material are published monthly and semi-annually as additional supplements.

Earlier issues of this publication, starting with the year 1870, may be found under the call number 328.44 J82.

MICF 340.0944

France. Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres. Rapport Sur La Situation De La Syrie Et Du Liban 1922-1938.

New York, N.Y.: Library of Congress, 1973
2 reel(s)

After Turkey's defeat in World War I, the League of Nations awarded France a mandate over Syria and Lebanon. Although Nationalist revolts began early in the twentieth century, French troops did not leave until 1946. While France occupied the country, the Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres issued annual reports. The subjects covered in the reports include the general organization of the countries and their affairs, the political situation, security, the administration of justice, education, public assistance, the economic situation, and the budget.

A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report. We have reports for 1922 through 1938.

FILM MISC - Request access

France. Ministere des Colonies. Rapport Du Gouvernement Francais A L’ Assemblee Generale Des Nations Unies Sur L’ Administration Du Cameroun Place Sous La Tutelle De La France, 1921-1938.

New York: Andronicus, 1972
2 reel(s)

In World War I, French and British troops occupied the Cameroons. After the war the territory ceded in 1911 was rejoined to French Equatorial Africa, and in 1919 the remainder of the Cameroons was divided into French and British zones, which became mandates under the League of Nations. While France occupied the country, the Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres issued annual reports. Subjects include slavery, travel, arms and munitions, demographics, maps, and more.

Title varies. A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report.

FILM MISC - Request access

France. Ministere des Colonies. Rapport Du Gouvernement Francais A L’ Assemblee Generale Des Nations Unies Sur L’Administration Du Togo, 1920-1938.

New York, N.Y.: Andronicus, 1963
2 reel(s)

At the outset of World War I, the Germans surrendered their colony in Togoland (part of Ghana and the Republic of Togo) to British and French colonial troops. After the war, the League of Nations awarded France and Great Britain a mandate over the former colony, with the eastern two-thirds under the control of the French. French Togo was administered by a commissioner assisted by a consultative executive council of officers. The annual reports of the French administration discuss such matters as slavery, legislation, economic measures, public hygiene, native peoples, financial matters, and demographic statistics.

Title varies. A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report for 1921 to 1938.

FILM MISC - Request access

Franck, Caspar. Catalogus Reticorum, Das Ist, Warhafftige Erzelung Der Namhafften Irrtumb Und Ketzer…

Franck, Caspar. CATALOGUS HæRETICORUM, DAS IST, WARHAFFTIGE ERZELUNG DER NAMHAFFTEN IRRTUMB UND KETZER…

Ingolstat: Bey David Schneider, 1576

FILM BOOK 0480

Franklin, James L. The Architectonics of the Epyllion in Ovid’s Metamorphoses.

French Revolutionary Pamphlets

Louisville, Ky.: Falls City Microcards, 1961
5100 fiche

Pamphlets from the Sarick and Hayden bibliographies and from other collections have been reproduced. The collection includes pamphlets, serious and satirical, and official publications issued from 1787 to 1800. The period of the National Constituent Assembly is especially well represented. The legislative bodies issued resolutions, laws, committee reports, and discourses or opinions. Pamphlet topics include the financial crisis, the calling of the Estates General, the disorders in Brittany, the fall of the Bastille, the formation of the new government of Paris, and the disorders in Paris during the summer of 1789. The titles in the microform collection were issued first on microcards; later shipments were issued on microfiche. The researcher with a specific author or pamphlet in mind should check both the microcard and microfiche storage locations, where the pamphlets are in order by author.

MICF 944.04

Guides:

New York Public Library. French revolutionary pamphlets : a check list of the Talleyrand & other collections

Saricks, Ambrose. A bibliography of the Frank E. Melvin collection of pamphlets of the French Revolution in the University of Kansas Libraries.