Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General"

Calef and Chuter (Firm) Calef and Chuter Letter Book, 1783-96, Manuscript Volume in Rhodes House Library, Oxford

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

Robert Calef, in partnership with John Chuter, was a registered ship-broker in London. They dealt in various commodities, including tobacco, cordage, firearms, potash, pearls, and timbers. They also dealt in insurance for ships and cargoes, undertook commissions for the collection of debts, and appeared before the Admiralty prize courts when American vessels were concerned. Most of the 1,030 letters in the letter book are addressed to American firms. Although the letters are mostly concerned with cargo-rates, commodity prices, and exchange discounts, they also comment on the political and economic consequences of British foreign policy.

A description of the contents and an index of correspondents precedes the letter book.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Calendar of Probate and Administration Acts 1407-1541 and Abstracts of Wills 1541-1581 in the Court Books of the Bishop of Hereford.

London, England: British Record Society, 1989
Index Library–British Record Society Microfiche
7 fiche

This collection is composed of a calendar of the existing acts in the record books of the diocese of Hereford from 1407 to 1541, and a calendar of will abstracts from 1541 to 1581, along with an index to these calendars. These records comprise the oldest spiritual administrative business of the diocese, created when the court made its circuit every year. Each of these circuits lasted several weeks, and made a one day court stop in each parish church in every deanery within Hereford.

MICF 3119

Guides:

Calendar of probate and administration acts 1407-1541 and abstracts of wills 1541-1581 in the court books of the Bishop of Hereford

The guide consists of an introduction to the collection, a map of the diocese and a chronological list of records.

Calendar of Virginia State Papers and Other Manuscripts 1652-1869, Preserved in the Capitol at Richmond, Vol. I. Virginia

Dallas, Texas: Southwestern Microfilm, 1976
1 reel(s)

The papers include abstracts of land patents, foreign and colonial official communications, petitions, legislation, incomplete proceedings of councils, and public and private correspondence of prominent individuals. The documents reveal the habits and customs of the people and discuss the important events in Virginia colonial history through the Revolutionary period. Topics include Indian affairs, ships and shipping, William and Mary College, relationships with the mother country, crops, slaves, debtors, privateers, land grants, and army affairs.

This is volume I of a set. Another copy is available in printed form (F221.V5 1968). In this volume, transcribed Virginia state papers, arranged in chronological order, date from 1652 to 1781. An index is at the end of the reel.
FILED UNDER VIRGINIA IN FILM MISC
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

California. Governor’s Commission on the Los Angeles Riots. Transcripts, Depositions, Consultant Reports, and Selected Documents of the Governor’s Commission on the Los Angeles Riots.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress (for Microcard Editions), 1966 
5 reel(s)

In 1965 the arrest of a twenty-one year old black suspected of drunken driving touched off a series of riots in the Watts district of south-central Los Angeles. The riots lasted for five days, resulting in thirty-four deaths and about $40 million in property damage. Governor Edmund Brown set up a commission to make an objective study of the riots. The commission was charged with determining why the arrest set off the riots, why the riots continued to spread, what efforts were made by police to control the riots, what actions were taken by private individuals, and what effect looting had in the spread of the riots. The documents in the collection are the result of sixty-four meetings of the governor's commission. They include testimony and statements from administrators, law enforcement officers, members of the state, county, and local governments, representatives of business and labor, residents of the area, spokesmen for minorities, social workers, consultants, and other experts.

A table of contents and bibliographies appear at the beginning of the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Canadian Records of the United Society of the Propagation of the Gospel ‘E’ Series, 1901-1951

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1986
14 reel(s)

This collection discusses the work of the Society in Canada from 1901-1951, and is arranged on the reels chronologically.

FILM BOOK 0219

Candid Thoughts; Or, an Enquiry into the Causes of National Discontents and Misfortunes Since the Commencement of the Present Reign.

1781
1 reel(s)

This pamphlet is critical of the reigning monarch at the time, King George III.

Note: Located on the reel labeled “Ramsay, Allan.”

Microfilmed by the Newberry Library, Chicago, IL.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Caner, Henry, 1700-1792. Letterbook of the Reverend Henry Caner, 1728-1778.

East Ardsley, UK: Microform Academic Publishers, 2000
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

Henry Caner (c.1700-1792), born near Bristol, soon emigrated with his family to the New England colonies. After graduating from Yale University, Caner was ordained in 1727 in the Church of Engand and appointed as a missionary for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG). He returned to the colonies as a missionary to Connecticut and Massachusetts, becoming a leading Church of England clergyman. In 1747 he was named rector of King’s Chapel in Boston, the most important Anglican Church in New England. A staunch Tory Loyalist, Caner criticized the British government for its handling of the colonies. As many Loyalists did, Caner left for London in 1776 during the early part of the War for Independence and remained in England, living in Cardiff, South Wales and Bristol until he died in 1792. Although he enjoyed financial success in America, much of his assets were lost when he returned to England.

This microfilm reproduces the letterbook of Caner, one of the very few surviving letterbooks of an American Anglican clergy. Included are both official correspondence and personal letters from Caner dating from 1728 to 1778. Topics include family relations and kinship, personal reaction to events leading to the American Revolution, and life as a refugee Loyalist American in England after 1776. These topics reflect the social, economic, political, and religious life of the period. Also included are Caner’s view of George Whitefield, the Great Awakening, the Sons of Liberty, and Governor Thomas Hutchinson.

FILM BOOK 0323

Guides:

Simmons, R. C. The letterbook of the Rev. Henry Caner, 1728-1778 : from the Special Collections Department, Bristol University Library : a brief introduction to the microfilm edition. PDF  Guide also available under call number BX5885 .S56 2000.

Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South 1927-1943.

Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healy, Inc, 1985
124 fiche

Images of exteriors, interiors, furnishings and garden of properties in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia between 1927 and 1943 are included. The collection is arranged geographically.

800 images. A short uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.

MICF 2034

Carr, Ralph 1711 -1807. American Papers of Ralph Carr.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, Eng: EP Microform Limited, 1978
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

Ralph Carr was a merchant in Newcastle-on-Tyne who conducted an extensive trade with the American colonies during the middle of the eighteenth century. This collection contains correspondence and papers relating to that trade from 1741 to 1778. Most of the correspondence is to merchants in Boston and New York, with additional items to merchants in North Carolina, Philadelphia, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, and the West Indies.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Guides:

Minchinton, Walter E. The American papers of Ralph Carr : merchant of Newcastle-upon-Tyne 1741-1778 : in the Northumberland Record Office, Newcastle-upon-Tyne PDF

The guide contains the provenance of the collection, biographical information on Ralph Carr, a description of Carr’s American trade, a list of contents of the film, an index of American correspondents, and a bibliography of related works. The guide is filmed at the beginning of the reel and is also available under call number HF3505.4 .M5 1977.

Carroll, Charles 1737 -1832. Charles Carroll Papers

Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1971
3 reel(s)

The microfilm includes a list of Carroll's correspondence in chronological order.
Charles Carroll's grandfather, Daniel Carroll, came to America from Ireland around 1670 and became the owner of large estates in Maryland. Charles took over the development of the 10,000-acre tract, known as Carrollton Manor, in Carroll County, Maryland. He was legally barred from political life because of his Catholicism. However, he was active in a series of debates about the Maryland government in 1770. He participated in the abortive attempt to form a union between Canada and the colonies. In 1776 he was elected a delegate to the Continental Congress and signed the Declaration of Independence. He represented Maryland as a senator in the first Federal Congress. As a Federalist, he was opposed to the War of 1812. These papers are based largely on the collection of the Maryland Historical Society. Material from thirteen other repositories was incorporated into the collection.

An uncataloged guide, Hanley, Thomas O'Brien (ed.). The Charles Carroll Papers, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Carter Family Papers, 1659-1767, in the Sabine Hall Collection.

Charlottesville, Va: University of Virginia Library, 1967
4 reel(s)

This collection includes land documents, correspondence, and diaries of Landon Carter and of his son, Robert Wormley Carter, in the Sabine Hall Collection of the University of Virginia. Landon Carter, son of Robert ("King") Carter, was a successful Virginia planter and politician. For twenty years, he was a member of the House of Burgesses from Richmond County and was among the first to protest the commercial policy of the mother country. His son, Robert, was an important official in the life of the country. He was also elected to the House of Burgesses and served from 1769 to 1776. The papers of both men present a picture of that small, aristocratic class which controlled the life of the colony. The papers are divided into two series and arranged chronologically according to physical type: the first type, correspondence and land documents, is followed by the second, bound diaries, on reels two through four. Correspondence in the Sabine Hall Collection has been supplemented with copies of Landon Carter's correspondence from other institutions.

An uncataloged guide, The Carter Family Papers, 1659-1767, in the Sabine Hall Collection, is available in the Special Collections Office. It contains extensive notes on the content of each reel and a list of correspondents.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Catalogue of the Great Exhibition, 1851.

London: World Microfilms, 1978
5 reel(s)

reel 1,2, first part of 3. London. Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, 1851. Official descriptive and illustrated catalogue. London, 1851 –reel 3, last part. London. Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, 1851. Reports by the juries on the subjects in the thirty classes into which the exhibition was divided (v. 1). London, 1852–reel 4. London. Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, 1851. Reports by the juries … (v. 2, 3). London, 1852 –reel 5. London. Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, 1851. Reports by the juries … (v. 4). London, 1852; Great Britain. Commissioners for the Exhibition of 1851. Report of the Commissioners for the exhibition of 1851. London, 1852; Its supplement, 1853.

FILM BOOK 0033

Catholic Church. Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas. Microfilm Edition of the Records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803.

Notre Dame, Indiana: University of Notre Dame Archives, 1967
12 reel(s)

Records of the Catholic Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas show the close connection between the church and state during the French and Spanish colonial period. Arranged chronologically, the records deal with ecclesiastical affairs, including marriages, funerals, dispensation records, the assignment and transfer of priests, finances, and census reports.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:7 - Request access

Guides:

Catholic Church. Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas. Guide to microfilm edition of the records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803.

The guide provides a detailed description of the contents of each reel and an alphabetical index by author, person, or place.

Champigny, Jean Bochart, chevalier de. Present State of the Country and Inhabitants, Europeans and Indians, of Louisiana, on the North Continent of America.

London: Printed for J. Millan, 1744
1 reel(s)

Jean Chevalier de Champigny was an officer at New Orleans when he wrote this “to his friend at Paris.” It gives a short history of Louisiana, an account of the soldier’s life there, prices of provisions, letters from the governor of Louisiana on trade of the French and English with the Indians, and more.

FILM MISC - Request access

Champion, Richard 1743-1791. Letterbooks of Richard Champion, 1760-1775 in the Bristol Record Office and New York Public Library.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1986
British records relating to America in microform
2 reel(s)

The five letterbooks of Richard Champion contain drafts or contemporary copies of the correspondence of Richard Champion from 1760-1775. A resident of Bristol most of his life, he married Judith Lloyd of Winterbourne there in 1764. A member of the Society of Friends (Quakers), Richard became a Bristol merchant with several ships and varied commercial interests, including holding the patent for “transparent” china. In addition he owned a number of playhouses. In the 1770s he became sympathetic to the American colonists protests of the Stamp Act and supported them throughout the Revolutionary War. In the parliamentary elections he supported Edmund Burke, and had a great deal of correspondence with him.

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Guides:

The letterbooks of Richard Champion, 1760-1775 in the Bristol Record Office and New York Public Library PDF

The guide contains a description of each letterbook, with a discussion of its most useful and interesting letters and a bibliography of sources on Richard Champion’s life. Available under call number DA512.C43 L37 1986.

Cherokee Almanac [For the Year of Our Lord 1844].

Dallas, TX: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc, 1843

This almanac lists the usual items found in almanacs: seasons, phases of the moon, eclipses, stars, days of the week, sunrise and sunset day-by-day, and gives advice on living. It also lists the government of the Cherokee Nation, its judiciary, the times and places of holding Cherokee courts, a list of Cherokee books, and a Pledge of the Cherokee Temperance Society.

Note: In Cherokee and English on opposite pages; title also in Cherokee.

FILM MISC - Request access

Cherokee Indians.

Dallas, TX: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., 1831
1 reel(s)

This Presbyterian Mission Tract contains excerpts and translations of letters from Cherokee Indians given to missionaries of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, the Rev. L.S. Williams and the Rev. Alfred Wright. The letters are in support of missionaries accompanying the Cherokees and preaching to them on their exile out West.

FILM MISC - Request access

China, Special Studies, 1970-1980.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
8 reel(s)

Sixty-nine special studies commissioned by the federal government from various extra-governmental “think tanks”, such as the Institute for Defense Analysis, the Rand Corporation, Army War College, and Research Analysis Corporation are in this collection. The first part of the collection is devoted to China while the second section is concerned with Taiwan. Included in the Chinese section are papers on land reform, military strategy, the cultural revolution, Chinese foreign policy, Sino-Soviet relations (including material on the 1969 border disputes), the Chinese economy, United States-Chinese relations, the Chinese air force, the Chinese nuclear weapons program, the Kuomintang and the Sino-Soviet War, and collected works of Mao Tse-Tung. The shorter section on Taiwan features papers on the political environment in the Republic and its prospects for future independence. One should note that the title dates refer to the dates of publication of the studies rather than to the periods with which the studies deal.

FILM BOOK 0088

Guides:

China : special studies, 1970-1980 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a complete annotated listing of the records and a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliation are provided. Also available under call number DS777.55 .C44856 1981.

Christian Churches (Disciples of Christ). Yearbook of the Christian Churches (Disciples of Christ), 1867-1964

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Service and Sales, 1969
Library of American Church Records, ser. 1
17 reel(s)

This collection consists of yearbooks of the Church of the Christian Churches (Disciples of Christ) for the years 1849, 1869, 1885, 1888, 1892, 1895, 1897-1907, and 1909-1964. The yearbooks contain material from the yearly convention of the Disciples of Christ. Included are the reports from the committees, financial statements listing revenues and expenses, lists of preachers, data on local churches, and reports from the missions. The titles vary: Christian Almanac, Yearbook of Disciples of Christ, Yearbook of the Churches of Christ (Disciples), and Yearbook of Christian Churches.

FILM 15:7 - Request access

Church Missionary Society West Indies Mission Records, 1819-1861

London: Church Missionary Society, 1967
14 reel(s)

Mission work in the West Indies was begun in Antigua in 1813 when William Dawes offered to act as a Church Missionary Society agent. A mission was established in Barbados in 1820, British Guiana (Guyana) in 1827 and Trinidad in 1836. The Church Missionary Society was turned over to the Anglican Church after a financial crisis in 1839. In addition to the Barbados, British Guiana and Antigua mission records, there are documents in the West Indies collection relating to Anguilla, Bahamas, Dominica, Honduras, Jamaica, Nevis, Trinidad, St. Kitts, and St. Vincent. Letterbooks from 1829 to 1861, containing copies of outgoing correspondence from secretaries at headquarters, and mission books, containing incoming papers for the same dates, are filmed. Contemporary name indexes are included for each mission and letter book. The last and largest grouping of records is Original Papers. These papers consist mainly of letters, journals and reports but minutes of local Church Missionary Society committees are also included. The bulk of these papers are sorted by the individual who wrote them and arranged alphabetically. They are concerned with appointment of clergy, mission schools, emancipation of slaves, and local disasters.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 15:1 - Request access

Guides:

Church Missionary Society. Africa (Group 3) Committee. Catalogue of the papers of the missions of the Africa (Group 3) Committee

The guide provides a description of the letter books, the reprints, and the correspondence in the collection.

Churches of Christ. Directory of Preachers, 1906-1942, 1942-46, 1949-50, 1958.

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Service and Sales, 1969 
Library of American Church Records, ser. 1
3 reel(s)

This collection consists of directories of the Churches of Christ published between 1906 and 1963. The directories include the lists of preachers arranged by name and by state and the lists of the affiliated churches.

FILM 15:6-8 - Request access

CIA Research Reports: Africa, 1946-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
3 reel(s)

The Central Intelligence Agency reports in this collection are arranged with general reports on continental Africa first, then alphabetically by country, and finally chronologically within each country. The countries include Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Congo (Zaire), Djibouti, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Malagasy Republic, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Zambia, Union of South Africa, Sudan, and Tanzania. Subjects covered include colonialism, communist activities, economics, food crises, nationalism, sanctions, petroleum, foreign relations, and government and politics.

FILM BOOK 0093

Guides:

CIA research reports : Africa, 1946-1976 PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DT29 .C2 1983.

CIA Research Reports: China, 1946-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)

This collection contains Central Intelligence Agency reports for China (1947-1976), India (1961-1974), and Pakistan (1961-1965). The topics covered include agriculture, balance of payments, the Chinese Communist Party, the Cultural Revolution, dissidence, economics, foreign policy, the India-Pakistan War, Indochina, military issues, and threat evaluations. Individuals referred to include: Mao Tse-tung, Lin Piao, Indira Gandhi, Chou En-lai, and Chiang Kai-shek.

FILM BOOK 0095

Guides:

CIA research reports : China, 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS777.55 .C22 1982.

CIA Research Reports: Europe, 1946-1976

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
4 reel(s)

Central Intelligence Agency reports from Europe are concerned primarily with internal political situations in individual European countries and deal with topics such as activities of political groups (especially Communists and Socialists), electoral analyses, and the Greek Civil War. There are numerous biographical reports on political figures, among them British Prime Ministers Harold Wilson and Harold MacMillan, French President Charles de Gaulle, and the Belgium royal couple Queen Fabiola and King Badouin. The reports on foreign relations deal with the attitudes toward the NATO alliance, relations with the Soviet Union, and attitudes toward the Indochina conflict.

FILM BOOK 0091

Guides:

CIA research reports : Europe 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The guide lists all the reports, which are arranged geographically and chronologically. It also includes a subject index. Also available under call number D242 .E8 1983.

CIA Research Reports: Japan, Korea and the Security of Asia, 1946-1976.

Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)

In addition to Japan and Korea, these Central Intelligence Agency records also concern Australia, Burma, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The records are mainly in the form of intelligence memos and there are a number of biographical reports. In the Far East section, memos from 1949 on Communist methods and vulnerabilities contain information on Indochina and the Malaysian Insurgency. The Indonesia section contains information on the confrontation between Indonesia and Malaysia from June 1950 to April 1951. Also concerning the Korean War are memos on the use of the atomic bomb and on the probability of direct Chinese intervention. The latter memos chart the Chinese build-up in Manchuria and suggest, before the event, that some form of Chinese intervention was likely.

FILM BOOK 0065

Guides:

CIA research reports : Japan, Korea and the security of Asia, 1946-1976 ; [guide] PDF

The collection is arranged by country and then chronologically. Also available under call number DS518.8 .C2 1983.

CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)

In these initially classified research reports, the Central Intelligence Agency examines Latin American domestic politics, foreign relations, and economic issues. Specifically, the reports include an evaluation of Soviet objectives in Latin America, as well as reports on Cuban training of subversives, political instability, and clerical involvement in politics. The material then proceeds to evaluate each of eighteen countries in South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. There is a disproportionate amount of material on Cuba after the Revolution of 1959, and the Dominican Republic around the time of American intervention in 1965.

FILM BOOK 0066

Guides:

CIA research reports : Latin America, 1946-1976 guide PDF

The guide provides a list of all documents included and a subject index. Also available under call number F1415 .C2 1982.

CIA Research Reports: Middle East, 1946-1976.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
3 reel(s)

Central Intelligence Agency reports from the Middle East are concerned primarily with internal political situations in individual Middle Eastern countries and in the region as a whole. The subjects include internal political developments, Arab-Israeli relations, the 1956 Suez Canal crisis, the Kurdish national problem, oil production and exploration, the involvement of the Soviet Union, China, France, and Britain in Middle Eastern politics, the Soviet threat to Iran and Turkey, and the Azerbaijani Crisis in 1947. The collection also includes biographical reports on political and military leaders in the region.

FILM BOOK 0092

Guides:

CIA research reports : Middle East, 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The guide lists all the reports, which are arranged geographically and chronologically. It also includes a subject index. Also available under call number DS62.4 .C2 1983.

CIA Research Reports: The Soviet Union 1946-1976.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)

Microfilmed in this collection are reports and memos on the Soviet Union prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency between 1946 and 1976. The reports deal with foreign policy, the economy, the internal political situation, and the military policy of the Soviet Union. Foreign policy issues include the Soviet tightening of control over Eastern Europe in the 1950s, the break of relations with Tito in 1948, the Soviet intentions and policy objectives in Korea, Western Europe, the Middle East, and Latin America, the Berlin and Cuban missile crises, Soviet involvement in Vietnam, the invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968, and relations with China. Economic reports cover subjects like the prospects of the Soviet economy, economic plans, foreign trade and the balance of payments, natural resources (especially oil), nuclear energy, agriculture and the grain problem, and Soviet banking activities abroad. The reports on the internal political situation deal with the succession after Stalin, the downfall of Khrushchev, Brezhnev’s management of the Communist party, and control techniques of the Communist police. The subjects of military reports include Soviet military capabilities, intentions and activities, military spending, the East-West balance of forces, the arms industry, biological warfare, and Soviet military presence in Cuba and Vietnam. Other subjects include the activities of the KGB in Asia and Central America.

FILM BOOK 0094

Guides:

CIA research reports : the Soviet Union, 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The guide provides a reel and a subject index. Also available under call number DK274.A3 C53 1982.

CIA Research Reports: Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
7 reel(s)

This is a collection of Central Intelligence Agency material which was intended to provide the president and his advisers with accurate information upon which to base strategic decisions. Beginning in 1946 with records from the CIA’s predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, the collection provides examples of cables, memos, biographical reports, and situation reports covering the period from the final years of French colonial rule in Indochina through the end of United States military involvement in the region. Sample titles within the collection are “Consequences of Communist Control of French Indochina” (1949), “Threat of a Chinese Communist Invasion of Indochina” (1950), “Analysis of the Strategic Hamlets Program and the Montagnard Situation in South Vietnam” (1965), “An Appraisal of the Bombing of North Vietnam” (1965), and “An Analysis of Viet Cong Tet Offensive: Military Defeat, Psychological Victory” (1968).

FILM BOOK 0090

Guides:

CIA research reports : Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The records are arranged geographically and chronologically. Guide also available under call number DS557.7 .C3 1983.

Cicognara Library.

Urbana, IL: Undergraduate Library, University Library, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana.,

An uncataloged guide Catalogo Ragionato dei libri D'Arte e Antichita Posseduti del Conte Cicognara, vol. 1 (Pisa, Presso Niccolo Capurro, 1821) is available in the Special Collections office.

MICF 3117

Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
21 reel(s)

The administration of Lyndon Johnson saw extensive activity in government and society in the area of civil rights. This collection is divided into three sections. Part 1 is titled “The White House Central Files;” part 2, “Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Administrative History;” and part 3, “Oral Histories.” The material focuses on the legislative and administrative actions of the government to enact and enforce civil rights legislation.

FILM BOOK 0036

Guides:

Civil rights during the Johnson administration, 1963-1969 : [reel guide] PDF

The guide contains historical background on civil rights activities during the Johnson administration, information on sources for the documents in this collection, a table of contents, and a subject index. Also available under call number KF4749 .C5 1984.

Clarendon, George William Frederick Villiers. American Material in the Clarendon Papers, 1853-1870: The Private and Confidential Correspondence of George William Frederick Villiers, 4th Earl of Clarendon and 4th Baron Hyde.

Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
15 reel(s)

George William Frederick Villiers (1800-1870) served as Foreign Secretary in four administrations, intermittently from 1853 to 1870. His correspondence during his time in Washington covered a sensitive period in Anglo-American relations. The United States and Great Britain were partners in a profitable transatlantic trade, but Britain began to have concerns about American expansionism, especially American filibusters in Nicaragua and other areas throughout South and Central America. Clarendon did not serve during the Civil War, but believed Southern independence was assured. After the Northern Victory, it became clear the United States was going to dominate the rest of North America. For related material see the Crampton Papers.

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Guides:

American material in the Clarendon papers, 1853-1870 : [guide] the private and confidential correspondence of George William Frederick Villiers, 4th Earl of Clarendon and 4th Baron Hyde : from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Public Record Office, London PDF

The guide contains a brief introduction to the collection, a biography of Clarendon, a bibliography, and a reel index. Available under call number DA538.C5 A3 1994.

Clark, Grenville 1887 -1967. Microfiche Inventory of the Papers of Grenville Clark.

Hanover, NH: Dartmouth College, 1974
15 fiche

This is an inventory of the papers of Grenville Clark (1882-1967) held at Dartmouth College, New Hampshire. Clark was a Harvard-trained lawyer of inherited wealth who became influential in public affairs. After the sinking of the Lusitania in 1915, Clark and a number of friends approached General Leonard Wood thereby setting into motion a practical campaign to prepare the United States for entry into the war. One of the results of this campaign was the Officer Training Camp at Plattsburgh, New York. Microfiche 1 describes the contents of the eighteen boxes in the collection on this subject. Clark considered himself a conservative and helped to establish the National Economy League to work for a balanced federal budget. As director of this league Clark helped draft the Economy Act of 1933 which was part of Roosevelt's "Hundred Days" legislation. As a member of the Harvard Corporation, the governing body of the university, he became a specialist on academic freedom. Clark was chairman of the American Bar Association Committee on the Bill of Rights from 1938 to 1940. Prior to World War II Clark provided much of the impetus for the passage of the Selective Service Act. Microfiches 4-6 describe the contents of the thirty-five boxes in the collection on this topic. By the end of the war Clark became involved in fostering world government and became the leader of the United World Federalists. After the war he was an outspoken critic of Senator Joseph McCarthy. The inventory delineates the significant holdings and correspondents featured in the collection.

An uncataloged guide, A Microfiche Inventory of the Papers of Grenville Clark, is available in the Special Collections Office. This guide provides a brief biographical sketch of Grenville Clark and a table of contents of the inventory. This guide is reproduced on the first microfiche in the series.
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 973.9

Claude A. Barnett Papers. Part Three: Subject Files on Black Americans, 1918-1967, Series B.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1985 
Black Studies Research Sources
16 reel(s)

We own Series B: Colleges and Universities, 1918-1966.
Claude Barnett founded the Associated Negro Press (ANP) in March 1919 and remained director during a time of great social change, retiring in 1964. After his retirement the ANP ceased to exist. The ANP provided information of interest to black readers including news, opinion columns, reviews of books, movies, and records as a wire service to black newspapers. In addition to his work with the ANP, Barnett served as special assistant to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, participated in Republican Party Campaigns, the National Negro Business League, and the United Negro College Fund. In addition, he served on the boards of the Tuskegee Institute, American National Red Cross, Provident Hospital, and other organizations. In 1934 he married the well-known concert singer and actress, Etta Moten. The Claude Barnett Papers are arranged by subject in eleven series. The collection includes correspondence, memos, reports, and clippings on agriculture, colleges and universities, economic conditions, entertainers, artists and authors, medicine, military, philanthropic and social organizations, politics and law, race, religions, and personal files.

FILM BOOK 0278

Guides:

The Claude A. Barnett papers : the Associated Negro Press 1918-1967. part three, subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967

The guide contains a brief biography of Claude A. Barnett and a short history of the Associated Negro Press, along with a description of each subject filmed on the reel and a detailed reel list. It includes an index of major subjects covered.

Cleveland, Grover 1837-1908. Grover Cleveland Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1958
Presidential papers microfilm
164 reel(s)

Grover Cleveland was the only United States president to serve nonconsecutive terms (1885-1889 and 1893-1897). A lawyer in western New York, he served as mayor of Buffalo from 1881 to 1882 and governor of New York from 1883 to 1884. During his presidential years, he worked to remove federal jobs from political influence and used his veto power to block pension bills. He opposed protective tariffs, but could not get the necessary support from Congress. After his re-election he forced the repeal of the Sherman Silver Purchase Act, and in another controversial move, broke up the Pullman railroad strike with federal troops. Few of the documents in the collection date from the period before he became president. The papers are arranged in ten series as follows: diaries, general correspondence (1828-1910), additional correspondence (1828-1945), letter press copy books, speeches, messages, and Cleveland writings (1884-1907), notes made by Richard Gilder (biographer), miscellany, and printed matter.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 20:1-4  - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Grover Cleveland papers

The guide provides access to the collection by writer or recipient.

Cleveland, Grover, 1837-1908. Principles and Purposes of Our Form of Government.

New York: George G. Peck, 1892
1 reel(s)

This collection contains President Cleveland’s Letter of Acceptance of the Nomination for President (1884), his Inaugural Address (1885); Annual Messages (1885 and 1887), the Rights of Settlers (1887), vetoes, and other various communications.

Note: Compiled by Francis Gottsberger.

FILM MISC - Request access

Colección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de américa y oceania.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress Photoduplication, 1978
7 reel(s)

These documents from the Royal Indian Archives and other royal archives, covering the period from the thirteenth to the eighteenth century, relate to the discovery, conquest, and settlement of former Spanish possession in the Americas and East Indies. The collection includes forty-two separate volumes. Although there is no systematic arrangement for the documents, an index is included at the end of each volume and volume 33 includes a retrospective, chronological index covering the years 1474-1660.

FILM BOOK 0346

Collins, Doctor, a.k.a. “A Professional Planter.” Practical Rules for Management and Medical Treatment of Negro Slaves in the Sugar Colonies.

London: J. Barfield, 1811 
1 reel(s)

There are two parts to this book of advice for slaveholders in the British sugar colonies. Part 1 deals with the general management of slaves. Part 2 deals with how to treat various illnesses and diseases that may affect them. There is an appendix at the end with lists of drugs, medical instruments, weights and measures, and prepared compositions.

(Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX.)

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Colonial Discourses Series One: Women, Travel and Empire, 1660-1914. Part 1: Early Travel Accounts by Women, and Womens’ Experiences in India, Africa, Australasia and Canada.

Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications,
25 reel(s)

This collection reproduced ninety-seven rare printed volumes of travel writing and novels by forty-one women writers from 1660-1914. Topics include the development of women's travel writing, evolution of the female aesthetic sensibility, ideologies and narratives of Empire and Anti-Empire, and gender and colonialism.
Reel 1. Katharine Evans, d. 1692 — Celia Fiennes, 1662-1741 — Elizabeth Justice, 1703-1752. Reel 2. Lady Mary Wortley Montagu, 1689-1762 — Elizabeth Anspac, Baroness Craven, 1750-1828. Reel 3. Sarah Aust (Murray), 1744-1811. Reel 4. Ann Radcliffe, 1764-1823 — Mariana Starke, 1762?-1838. Reel 5. Mariana Starke, 1762?-1838 (cont'd) — Charlotte Eaton, 1788-1859. India: Reel 6. Eliza Fay, 1756-1816 — Maria, Lady Calcott, 1785-1842. Reel 7. Anne Katharine Elwood, 1800's — Emily Eden, 1797-1869. Reel 8. Emily Eden, 1797-1869 (cont'd). Reel 9. SPFEE (Society for Promoting Female Education in the East) — Mrs. R.M. Coopland — Charlotte Maria Tucker, 1821-1893. Reel 10-12. Flora Annie Steel, 1847-1929. Reel 13. Anon — Bithia May Croker, 1849-1920 — Sara Jeanette Cotes (Duncan), 1861-1922. Reel 14. Sara Jeanette Cotes (Duncan), 1861-1922 (cont'd). Africa: Reel 15. Anna Maria Falconbridge, 1700's — Hannah Kilham, 1774-1832 — Anon — Barbara Hofland, 1770-1844. Reel 16. Elizabeth Broughton, 1800's — Lucie Duff Gordon, 1831-1892. Reel 17. Amelia Edwards, 1831-1892. Reel 18. Amelia Edwards, 1831-1892 (cont'd) –Mary Anne Barker, Lady Broome, 1831-1911 — Florence Dixie, 1855-1905. Reel 19. Mary Kingsley, 1862-1900. Reel 20. Mary Kingsley, 1862-1900 (cont'd) — Mary French Sheldon, 1800's — Anon — Reel 21. Agnes Herbert — Anon. Australasia: Reel 22. Caroline Chisholm, 1808-1877 — Mary Ann Barker, Lady Broome, 1831-1911 — Canada: Reel 23. Anna Brownwell Jameson, 1794-1860. Reel 24. Catharine Traill, 1802-1899 — Adeline Teskey, 1850's-1924. Reel 25. Marianne North, 1830-1880 — Grace Mary Ellison — Antonia Zimmern — Agnes Baden Powell.

An online guide is available at http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/colonial_discourses_series_one/.

FILM BOOK 0325

Guides:

Colonial discourses. Series one: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914. Part 1: Early travel accounts by women, and women’s experiences in India, Africa, Australasia and Canada.

Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies. Darien Papers, 1696-1707: Records of the Company of Scotland from the Archives of the Royal Bank of Scotland, Edinburgh.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: E.P. Microform Limited, 1980
British Records Relating to America in Microform
3 reel(s)

Though not known as the Darien Scheme at the time, English and Scottish merchants invested in a plan to improve its economy by trading and establishing colonies outside of Europe to avoid the mercantilist policies of England. The plan would also have the effect of breaking the monopoly of the British East India Company. The company became most famous for its attempts at the colonization of the Isthmus of Darien in Central America. The Company of Scotland was approved by the Scottish Parliament on June 26, 1695. The area would be colonized as an international free port. The plan ended in disaster due to disease, attack by the Spanish, and the failure of ships to arrive with trade goods. Only one of the company’s voyages was profitable and several crew members were executed for piracy. The lack of cooperation by the English government were important to the Parliamentary Union of 1707.

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Guides:

Simpson, John The papers of the Company of Scotland trading to Africa and the Indies (The Darien Company) 1696-1707 : in the possession of the Royal Bank of Scotland, Edinburgh PDF

The guide includes the provenance of the collection and a history of the Darien Company, a list of the reel contents, and a bibliography. Available under call number HF3520 .S45 1981.  In addition the Scottish Historical Society published a selection of letters and account books, in Papers Relating to the Ships and Voyages of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1696-1707, edited by George Pratt Insh (DA750 .S25 SER.3 #6). This guide also contains an index and a brief history of the Company of Scotland.

Concordances and Texts of the Fourteenth Century Aragonese Manuscripts of Juan Fernandez De Heredia.

Madison, WI: Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies, 1982
110 fiche

Contains 17 titles.

Brief guide at the beginning of the collection. See also contents note in MERLIN.

MICF 1679

Confederate States Almanac, and Repository of Useful Knowledge. Vols 1-4, 1862-1865.

Mobile, Alabama: H.E. Clark;, 1862 
1 reel(s)

Published yearly from 1862 to 1865, the almanac contains much useful information about the Confederate States. Population, manufacturing, production of crops such as cotton and tobacco, descriptions of individual state governments, the history of secession, and accounts of important battles of the war are all included. In the first volume there is a short history of the formation of the Confederate States.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Confederate States of America. Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men.

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 331; v. National Archives record group 109
275 reel(s)

These service records pertain to Confederate officers and enlisted men who did not belong to a particular regiment or unit. They include records of general officers and officers and enlisted men in staff departments such as the Adjutant and Inspector General, Quartermaster, Commissary, Medical, and Ordnance. They also include members of army corps, division and brigade staffs, and special appointees such as aides-de-camp, military judges, chaplains, agents, and drillmasters. The records consist of jackets (envelopes) for each soldier, labeled with his name, rank, and capacity. The papers include abstracts of original appointment registers, lists of officers, registers of medical personnel, and other papers relating to a particular soldier.

An uncataloged guide, Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 3:10-3:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Confederate Papers Relating to Citizens or Business Firms.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 346; v. National Archives record group 109.
1158 reel(s)

Vouchers, receipts, and correspondence from citizens or business firms relate to payments for materials purchased by, or services performed for, the army and navy. Also, contracts, warrants, and receipts for salary payments are included. The documents concern banks, businesses such as railroads and mining companies, claims for lost property, and claims by survivors of deceased military personnel.

FILM 4:4-4:13 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Engineer Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Engineer Bureau of the Confederate War Department, 1861-1864.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 628; v. National Archives record group 109.
5 reel(s)

This is a collection of five bound volumes of letters and telegrams sent by the chief of engineers to army officers, government officials, and civilians in the Confederacy. The Engineer Bureau was involved in activities such as the construction of permanent and field fortifications, fording of rivers, and reconnaissance and survey operations. Copybooks containing telegrams and letters covering the period from 1861 to 1864, are arranged in chronological order. The collection is incomplete since some material was probably destroyed during the Confederate retreat.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 499; v. National Archives record group 365.
57 reel(s)

On February 21, 1861, President Davis appointed Christopher Memminger secretary of the treasury. He served in that post until June 15, 1864, and was succeeded by George Trenholm. Besides the secretary, the Treasury Department included a comptroller, an auditor, a register, a treasurer, and an assistant secretary. The department was composed of the following offices or bureaus: Second and Third Auditors, Commissioner of Taxes, Produce Loan Bureau, Treasury Note Bureau, Lighthouse Bureau, and Office of Deposit. Also under the direction of the secretary were the Offices of the Collectors of Customs, Assistant Treasurers, Depositories, Directors of Mints, and the Trans-Mississippi Department. The general arrangement of the letters is alphabetical by the author (or his office or title) or by the person to whom the letter chiefly pertains.

FILM 6:7-6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 500; v. National Archives record group 56.
1 reel(s)

Addressed to other officials in the Confederate government, the letters were written by Secretary Christopher Memminger, appointed in 1861, and Secretary George Trenholm, appointed in 1864. Among the subjects discussed are the financial difficulties of the Confederacy, removal of the seat of government to Richmond, appointments of custom officials, customs regulations, the establishment of lighthouse districts and the appointments of lighthouse inspectors, and the mints in Charlotte, Dahlonega, and New Orleans. The letters are arranged chronologically, but there are no indexes to the collection.

FILM 6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers Who Served in Organizations Raised Directly by the Confederate Government.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 193 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 258; v. National Archives record group 109.
123 reel(s)

Soldiers raised directly by the Confederate government were not identified with any one state. Several organizations were raised among native Indians and foreigners recruited from Union prisoners of war. The records consist of a jacket-envelope for each soldier with his name, rank, and unit. It contains entries from the time of enlistment, including all the information on his service career. Most of the records are arranged according to an organizational breakdown by regiment, battalion, or company. Within a unit, the records are arranged alphabetically by the soldier's name.

FILM 3:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. General Orders of the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 782; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

General orders were used to disseminate instructions and to publish acts of Congress, presidential proclamations, results of courts-martial and military courts, rolls of honor, price schedules for supplies, lists of officers promoted, administrative changes, and notices of prisoner exchanges. The orders were intended as a guide for officers in the field regarding the established regulations and procedures of the War Department.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General and the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 410; v. National Archives record group 109.
41 reel(s)

This microfilmed alphabetical card index provides access to the microfilm collections, Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 474) and Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 469). The index contains the names not only of signers of letters but also some persons mentioned in the letters. The registers of claims relate to service performed for the Confederate Army and to supplies sold to or seized by it. Each entry shows the claim number, name of claimant, nature of claim, amount, and action taken by the Quartermaster.

FILM 5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 409; v. National Archives record group 109.
34 reel(s)

The index contains names not only of signers of the letters but also of persons mentioned in the letters. The index card gives the name of the person, sometimes his rank in the army, and the file numbers where the letters may be found. For a variety of reasons, many of the letters indexed are no longer in the series of letters received, some are in other collections, or were lost or destroyed.

FILM 5:11-5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 627; v. National Archives record group 109.
6 reel(s)

Letters and telegrams sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General between March 1861 and April 1865 were copied into books according to the practice of the time. The Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office was responsible to the secretary of war for carrying out the details of army administration. It prepared and issued orders, made appointments, kept records on commissions, and decided questions regarding ranks of officers. It was in charge of inspections, recruitment, and the enforcement of laws and regulation. The letters and telegrams are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 474; v. National Archives record group 109.
164 reel(s)

Responsible to the secretary of war, the staff of the Adjutant and Inspector Generals Department carried out the details of army administration. They issued orders and regulations for the army, inspected staff departments and armies in the field, enforced regulations, dealt with nominations, appointments, and commissions, and took action on court-martials. In 1865, they took on the responsibility for military conscription. Letters covering the period from April 1861 to April 1865, are arranged first by year, then alphabetically by surname or office. They are then arranged numerically in order of their entry in the register of letters received.

FILM 6:3-6:5 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 469; v. National Archives record group 109.
14 reel(s)

Letters from April 1861, to April 1865, document activities of the Quartermaster Generals Department, whose duties included the provision of quarters and transportation for the army. The Quartermaster Department purchased, stored, transported, and distributed army supplies, including army clothing, equipment, horses, food, and fuel.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 437; v. National Archives record group 109.
151 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and with Indian tribes within the limits of the Confederacy. The collection spans the period from February 1861, to May 1865, and is arranged in chronological order. Letters that were immediately referred to other officers are not included.

FILM 5:14-6:2 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 523; v. National Archives record group 109.
2 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letters, organized in two series, are those sent to the president relating to all subjects (November 20, 1861 – April 24, 1865) and letters concerning nominations for appointments and promotions in the Confederate Army (March 1, 1861 – March 17, 1865). An index to the second series is on the second reel. The intended arrangement of the letters within each letterbook was chronological, but sometimes clerks were not able to copy precisely in that order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 522; v. National Archives record group 109.
10 reel(s)

This collection includes letters sent by the Office of the Secretary of War from February 21, 1861, to May 22, 1862, and September 13, 1862, to January 23, 1865. Some additional letters were added, dated February 9, to April 22, 1865. The secretary of war was the chief officer in the Confederate War Department. Under the direction and control of the president, the secretary had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letterbooks in this collection originally contained correspondence sent from the Office of the Secretary of War to all permanent officials, including the president. For letters to the president, a separate series of letters was started in November 1861, but some letters continued to be copied in this series through April 1862. There are two letters written to the president in 1865. The remainder can be found in the microfilm collection, Letters sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 523). The letters are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 618; v. National Archives record group 109.
19 reel(s)

Under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the Office of the Secretary of War had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams received by the secretary of war from February 1861, to April 1865, were recorded in registers with accompanying name indexes. Telegrams originally received by the adjutant and inspector general, by President Jefferson Davis, and by various heads of War Department bureaus in Richmond are also included.

FILM 7:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 524; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

Chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war was in charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams from February 21, 1861, to April 1, 1865, were copied in chronological order into letterbooks. A few of the telegrams were sent by the adjutant and inspector general and by chiefs of War Department bureaus. The first volume contains an index to names of addressees and names of persons mentioned in the telegrams. The second two volumes also have an index to names of addressees.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. War Department Collection of Confederate Records, Chapter V: Quartermaster Department, Letters and Telegrams Sent, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1957
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 131; v. National Archives record group 109.
9 reel(s)

The staff of the Quartermaster Department obtained supplies and arranged for transportation of supplies and personnel. They constructed buildings and army installations, served as paymasters, and kept extensive accounts and records. Letters and telegrams to business firms, government officials, and individuals concern supplies, appointments, and estimates for services needed.

FILM 8:14 - Request access

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Japan, Part 1, 1914-1918.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
11 reel(s)

Dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports originating in the various United States diplomatic posts in Japan are included in this collection. The documents are arranged first by year, then chronologically under subject headings for that year. The subjects include commercial relations, relations of state, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics covered include: trade policies between Japan and other countries, German interests in China, neutral rights, financial conditions in Japan, agriculture, industry and transportation development in Japan, Japanese seizure of German possessions, and Japanese relations with China and Russia. These records are part of the National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-1929 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).

FILM BOOK 0067

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 1, 1914-1918 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents and a list of documents filmed. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C6 1983.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Japan Part 2, 1919-1929.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
50 reel(s)

The material in this collection is arranged by year and subject. Subject headings include relations of state, internal affairs, congresses and conferences, and commercial relations. Specific topics include agriculture and animal husbandry, Kellogg-Briand Peace proposal, relations with China, economic and financial conditions, relations with Canada, France, Germany, and the Soviet Union, and railroad development in Manchuria. The documents originated in the various diplomatic posts in Japan. These records are part of National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-29 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).

FILM BOOK 0068

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 2, 1919-1929 [guide] PDF

This guide contains a table of contents, a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C62 1983.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Japan, Part 3, 1930-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
80 reel(s)

This collection contains dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports generated by United States diplomatic posts in Japan and on file in the United States Embassy in Tokyo. The material is arranged by year and then under the following subject headings: congresses and conferences, commercial relations, relations of state, protection of interests, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics include: agriculture and animal husbandry, financial conditions, foreign relations with Australia, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Mexico, the Philippines, the United States, and the Soviet Union, the Kellogg Pact, the Four Power Pact, Manchuko, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, railways, trade relations, and the Washington Naval conference. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0069

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 3, 1930-1941 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C63 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Middle East, Aden, 1925-1941.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
9 reel(s)

Documents from the United States diplomatic post at Aden are arranged first by year and then under the following subject headings: commerce and commercial relations, relations of state, and internal affairs of state. Reel 7 contains confidential files for 1925 through 1935. Specific topics include: Abyssinia (Ethiopia), agriculture, the Anglo-Italian accord, financial conditions, Italy, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, petroleum, political affairs, transportation, and communication. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0077

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Aden [guide] PDF

This guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.A2 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Beirut. 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D: University Publications of America, 1984
21 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Beirut between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of French Syria. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the region. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics of socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include Lebanese independence, British-Vichy French hostilities in 1941, and the refueling and provisioning of merchant ships. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0075

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Beirut [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.L4 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iran. Part 1, 1925-1941.

Washington D.C. Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
39 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Iran between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social and economic development of Iran and its relationship with other countries. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the area. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socio-economic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Among the events documented are the founding of the Pahlevi Dynasty, assumption of the role of hereditary Shah in 1925 by Reza Khan, Reza Shah Pahlevi’s cancellation of treaties with Britain and other powers, uprisings by Kurds, Bolshevik agitation, the Anglo-Persian oil company, industry, education, the occupation of Iran by British and Soviet forces in August, 1941, and the transfer of power to the Shah’s son, Muhammed Reza Shah Pahlevi, in September 1941. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

The library also has Part 2 of this collection, which covers the years 1942-1944.

FILM BOOK 0073

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iran [guide] PDF

The records are in chronological order. The guide contains a list of the records in the order they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.I55 C6 1984 1.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iran, Part II.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
15 reel(s)

Part II covers the years 1942-1944; for complete abstract see record for Part I.

FILM BOOK 0073

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iran [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I55 C6 1984 2.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iraq. Part 1, 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
24 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Iraq between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of Iran and its relationship with other countries. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the area. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include United States embassy and legation administration, Anglo-Iraq relations, and Bolshevist activities.

The library also has Part II of this collection, which covers the years 1942-1944.

FILM BOOK 0074

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iraq [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I57 C6 1984 1.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iraq, Part II.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
9 reel(s)

Part II covers the years 1942-1944; for complete abstract see record for Part I.

FILM BOOK 0074

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iraq [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I57 C6 1984 2.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Jerusalem, Part 1, 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
12 reel(s)

Papers from American diplomats stationed in Jerusalem between 1925 and 1941 are filmed in this collection. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of Palestine under the British Mandate. They cover the period when many of the political, religious, and military conflicts relating to modern Israel were emerging. The documents also provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the region. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics of socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include immigration, the Mandate treaty, the problem of holy places, and racial disturbances. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0076

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Jerusalem [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I7 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Lebanon. 1942-1944.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
7 reel(s)

The materials in this collection are from the Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Consulate General (1942-1944) and Legation (1944), Beirut, Lebanon. The materials are from Federal Record Group #84.

Special Collections also has the Diplomatic Post Records for Beirut, 1925-1941.

FILM BOOK 0075

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Lebanon [guide]PDF

The records are in chronological order. The guide contains a list of the records in the order they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.L4 C6 1984 2.

Abstract taken from the guide.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Part 1, Russia from Czar to Commissars, 1914-1918.

Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
10 reel(s)

This collection contains American diplomatic reports from Russia. The reports deal with numerous subjects: the political and economic consequences of World War I, the military situation, the collapse of the Czarist regime and the establishment of the Provisional Government in the February Revolution, conflict between the Provisional Government and General Kornilov, the Russo-Japanese Entente, the Bolshevik coup d’etat in the October Revolution, activities of the Polish Provisional Government, the political situation in Romania, the Causasus, Estonia, Latvia, and the Ukraine, the question of recognition of the Soviet government by the Allies, the first meeting of the Soviet Congress, Soviet foreign policy, Trotsky, the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk, the arrival of Allied forces into Russia and the Russian response to them, the YMCA and the Red Cross relief activities, and the beginnings of the Soviet Political Police (the Cheka). The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 1

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides] PDF

The guide provides a reel index. Also available under call number E183.8.R9 C58 1982.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Part 2: The Soviet Union, 1919-1933.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
75 reel(s)

The documents in this collection come from the American Legation in Riga, Latvia. The reports of the legation are based largely on the Soviet press and Soviet official publications. They cover almost every aspect of life in the Soviet Union. Among the subjects covered are the formation of the Communist International, anti-bolshevik organizations during the Civil War, the functioning of the Soviet government, the Kronstadt uprising, the introduction of the New Economic Policy, the internal struggle in the Communist Party, Soviet-German relations, the anti-church campaign, collectivization, the Five Year plan, foreign workers in the Soviet Union, and the organization of the economy. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 2

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]

The guide provides a reel index.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia And The Soviet Union. Part 3: The Soviet Union, 1934-1941.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
60 reel(s)

Documents from the American Embassy in Moscow from 1934 until 1941 are filmed in this collection. Apart from the reports and recommendations sent by the Embassy to the State Department, the material includes the dispatches from American diplomatic posts in other countries concerning Soviet affairs. The reports cover all aspects of Soviet life and Soviet politics. In the area of foreign policy, there is a considerable amount of material on Soviet diplomatic activity before the outbreak of the Second World War, the German-Soviet Non-Aggression Pact of 1939, the Soviet attack on Finland, and the Anglo-Soviet Alliance after the German attack on the Soviet Union. The reports on the interval situation in the Soviet Union focus on the mass political trials of 1937 and 1938, the 1937-38 purges in the Red Army, economic performance, discontent among the peasantry, and conditions after the German attack in 1941. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 3

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]

The guide provides a reel index.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Germany, Internal Affairs, 1930-1941.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1984
59 reel(s)

The confidential files in this Department of State decimal file on Germany (National Archive record group 59) include reports on the domestic political situation in Germany, military and naval affairs, the police organization, the functioning of the juridical system, the economy, social matters (such as sports, customs, manners, and dress), finance, the communications system, the press, communist activities, government organization and personnel. Most of the information comes from American diplomatic representatives in Germany. With the outbreak of the Second World War the reports deal increasingly with the development of military situations in continental Europe and with naval warfare.

FILM BOOK 0015

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central files : Germany internal affairs, 1930-1941 PDF

The documents are arranged chronologically. The guide provides a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number Z2240 .C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Indochina: Internal Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1985
10 reel(s)

The material in this collection is arranged topically. The first seven reels are devoted to political affairs. The remaining information is arranged under such headings as public order, military and naval affairs, social and economic matters, industrial matters, communication and transportation, navigation, public press, and the sciences. Topics include agriculture, aviation, China, education, race problems, entertainment, and labor unions. The documents are from National Archives record group 59, records of the Department of State decimal files.

FILM BOOK 0039

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department central files, Indochina internal affairs, 1945-1949 PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS550 .C6 1985.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Indochina Internal Affairs, 1950-1954.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
44 reel(s)

The majority of documents in this Department of State decimal file relates to internal political and national defense affairs in Indochina, Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Other records are concerned with economic, industrial, and social affairs including agriculture, manufacturing, public order and safety, communication, and transportation. Specific topics documented are the Economic Cooperation Administration Program in Indochina, Communism in Indochina, the Mutual Security Program in Laos, Indochina, and Cambodia, the growing of rice and alkaloidal plants, and the mining of atomic minerals. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59.

FILM BOOK 0118

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Indochina, internal affairs 1950-1954

The guide provides a reel table of contents and a subject index.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
10 reel(s)

The Soviet Union's policies toward Eastern Bloc and Central European countries after World War II are emphasized on reels 1, 2, and 3. Stalin planned to concentrate on establishing his power apparatus in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, the Balkans, and Italy. These reports in the form of notes, letters, memos, and formal papers were sent from United States embassy officials to the secretary of state. Concerns were expressed over Soviet oppression. Reels 3 through 6 review Soviet bilateral relations with various nations. Treaties with these countries were primarily concerned with trade and navigation. Translations of these treaties are included. Reels 7 through 10 recount the relations between the United States and the Soviet Union from 1945 to 1949. There were at least forty-five meetings in regard to a treaty between the United States and the Soviet Union to consider "friendship, commerce, and navigation." These files were taken from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State decimal file and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.

FILM BOOK 0072

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Internal Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
39 reel(s)

This comprehensive collection mirrors specific episodes which occurred within the Soviet Union during the period of 1945 to 1949. Special reports from United States embassy officials sent to the secretary of state include descriptions of Russian political figures, military leaders, social events, economic conditions, and agricultural matters. Documents may be memorandums, air grams, translations of foreign newspapers and journal articles, transcripts of meetings, research reports, and speeches. Reviews of current books on life in Russia are provided to give the president a better idea of "soviet psychology". Clips from Russian news articles include one directed at youth in the Soviet Union on what it means to be a communist. The Soviet press as an instrument of agitation spreads anti-American propaganda in the form of anecdotes and cartoons using the president of the United States as the subject. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.

FILM BOOK 0071

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Congregational Yearbook, 1854-1928.

Dallas, TX: Microfilm Service and Sales, 1969 
Library of American Church Records. Series 1.
11 reel(s)

This collection contains the yearbooks of the Congregational Church from the period of 1882 to 1960. The yearbooks provide information about the church including lists of the affiliated churches and their membership in each state, a directory of ministers, financial reports of the central committee listing contributors and expenses reports about the missionary activities at home and abroad, lists of church publications, and statistics concerning the colleges and seminaries operated by the church.

The yearbooks for the years 1854 to 1859 and 1879 to 1881 are within the same microfilm series and are entitled the Congregational Quarterly. The yearbook suspended publication between 1860 and 1878. During this period one issue per year of the Congregational Quarterly served as a yearbook of the church.

FILM 15:7 - Request access

Congress of Racial Equality. Congress of Racial Equality (Core) Papers, 1959-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
80 reel(s)

This collection covers the period of intense civil rights activity by CORE during the early 1960s. Parts 1 and 2 cover field projects conducted in the South and West during this period. Part 3 covers the educational and legal aspects of CORE’s work from 1960 to 1976. This latter section is organized into Administrative Files, Leadership Development Files and Legal Department Files. Parts 1 and 2 have introductions at the beginning of the first reels that give a history and the functions of the western and southern regional offices. The series on the Legal Department Files in Part 3 has a list of contents of the files and the legal cases CORE was interested in.

FILM BOOK 0020

Guides:

Congress of Racial Equality. Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) papers : [guide]

Each volume contains background on the collection, a table of contents and a reel index.

Cooke, William. Life of Samuel Johnson, Ll.D., with Occastional Remarks on his Writings, an Authenic Copy of His Will, and a Catalogue of His Works.

London: 1785 
1 reel(s)

This biography of Johnson (1709-1784) also contains a list of his work.

On microfilm reel labeled “Tindal, William.”
Note: Title continues “To which are added, some papers written by Dr. Johnson, in behalf of a late unfortunate character, never before published.” "Postscript", p. 128-140, contains several letters and pieces written by Dr. Johnson on behalf of William Dodd, sentenced to death for the crime of forgery.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933. Calvin Coolidge Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1959 
Presidential papers microfilm
190 reel(s)

Calvin Coolidge, governor of Massachusetts and vice president of the United States, became president after the death of Warren G. Harding in 1923. Coolidge was best known for his adherence to the conservative Republican policy of government. The Coolidge era was distinguished by an absence of crises, the lack of spectacular political leadership, and the expansion of apparent prosperity. Coolidge opposed farm relief proposals and bonuses for World War I veterans. The Coolidge papers in the Library of Congress are largely files of correspondence in the White House when Coolidge left office on March 4, 1929. The evidence is quite strong that Coolidge destroyed a large part of his personal papers. The papers are organized in three series: Executive Office correspondence (1923-1929), additional correspondence (1921-1929), and reception lists (1925-1927).

FILM 20:4-8 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Calvin Coolidge papers

The guide provides access by subject or case, and, to some extent, by writer or recipient.

Cosenza, Mario Emilio. Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary of the Italian Humanists

New York: Graphic Microfilm Corporation, 1955
29 reel(s)

FILM 4D21:14:3 - Request access

Courtenay, John. Poetical Review of the Literary and Moral Character of the Late Samuel Johnson, Ll.D. With Notes.

London: 1786 
1 reel(s)

Johnson (1709-1784) was an English author, scholar, and literary critic who helped shape and define the Augustan Age. At the beginning of his career, he wrote prose and poetry for Gentleman’s Magazine on political and literary subjects. In 1755, he published the first comprehensive lexicographical tome on English, A Dictionary of the English Language. Courtenay (1741-1816) was an Irish politician and friend to Johnson.

On microfilm reel labeled “Tindal, William.”

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE (text only)

Coxe, Tench 1755-1824. Papers of Tench Coxe in the Coxe Family Papers at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, 1776-1824

Philadelphia, Pa: Atlas Microfilming Service, 1978 
122 reel(s)

The son of a Philadelphia merchant, Tench Coxe was influential in the early development of United States economic policies. He became assistant secretary of the treasury in 1789, commissioner of revenue from 1792 to 1797, and purveyor of public supplies from 1803 to 1812. Coxe was one of the economic nationalists who, with Alexander Hamilton, believed in the need for a strong central government and the development of manufacturing. His papers reflect his interests in land development, expository writing, commercial enterprise, and public service. They are divided into four series: volumes and printed materials, correspondence, essays and addresses, and bills and receipts.

FILM 15:3-6 - Request access

Guides:

West, Lucy Fisher. Guide to the microfilm of the papers of Tench Coxe in the Coxe family papers at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania

The guide provides extensive background information and notations on the contents of each reel.

Crampton, John Fiennes Twistleton. American Material in the Crampton Papers, 1844-1856: The Private and Confidential Correspondence of Sir John Fiennes Twistleon Crampton, Bart, Kcb.

Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
17 reel(s)

Sir John Fiennes Twistleton Crampton was born in Ireland on August 12, 1805. He began his role in Washington when he was appointed Foreign Secretary on July 3, 1845. Eventually he served under two Ministers before he became Charge d’Affaires in 1851. In January 1852 he was appointed Minister to the United States, and served until May 28, 1856, when President Franklin Pierce broke off diplomatic relations with him because of his attempts to recruit American volunteers for service in the British Army during the Crimean War. His correspondence as a member of the British Legation in Washington covered many of the important issues in Anglo-American relations including disputes over fisheries in Canadian waters, the need for Canadian-American trade, and attempts by Americans to acquire naval bases in Cuba. In addition, major problems, such as American filibustering in Nicaragua, and clashes over possible canal routes across the American Isthmus caused disagreements. For related material see the Clarendon Papers.

FILM 22:5-6 - Request access

Guides:

American material in the Crampton papers, 1844-1856 : [guide] the private and confidential correspondence of Sir John Fiennes Twisleton Crampton, Bart, KCB : from the Bodleian Library, Oxford PDF

The guide contains an introduction to the collection, a brief biography of Crampton, a bibliography, and an index to the microfilm. Also available under call number DA565.C79 A4 1994.

Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic: National Security Files and NSC Histories (1963-1969).

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
Presidential documents series
8 reel(s)

In 1964, rioting erupted in Panama directed largely against United States’ control of the Panama Canal. During the next four years, the United States and Panama renegotiated treaties concerning the Canal. In 1965, the United States feared the possibility of a communist insurgency in the Dominican Republic. This fear led to the military intervention of the United States in that country. This collection contains the documents in the files of the National Security Council that pertain to these events.

FILM BOOK 0037

Guides:

A Guide to Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic : national security files and NSC histories PDF

The guide contains a table of contents and a reel index. Also available under call number E183.8.P2 G7 1982.

Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Minutes, 1810-1966.

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Service and Sales, 1966 
Library of American Church Records, ser. 1
10 reel(s)

This collection contains the minutes for the Cumberland Presbytery (1810-1813), the minutes for Cumberland Synod (1813-1828,) and the minutes of the Cumberland Presbyterian General Assembly after 1829. This denomination represented an important cultural institution in the trans-Allegheny region during and after the War of 1812. The minutes record who attended the gathering, their home Presbytery, and organizational matters that arose as the church expanded its operations.

The volumes for 1959-1966 are filmed with the Assembly's Yearbook for 1958-1966.

FILM 15:7 - Request access

Cunningham, Timothy. New Treatise on the Laws for Preservation of the Game.

London: H. Woodfall and W. Strahan, 1764

Although the author is listed as “A gentleman of the Middle-Temple,” it is actually Cunningham (d. 1789) who was famous for writing dictionaries of English laws.

On microfilm reel labeled “Game Laws.” (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)

Title continues “Containing all the statutes, cases at large, arguments, resolutions, and judgments concerning it; equally useful to the gentleman and farmer; as the gentleman may learn how far his privilege extends, and the farmer may be enabled to know when the gentleman exceeds the limits prescribed by law, and the proper methods of redress.”

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Currie, James. Journal of James Currie, 1776. Journal of a Voyage from Nixonton, North Carolina to the Island of St. Martin’s 19 September to 29 October 1776.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

James Currie of Scotland came to America in 1771 to work in the tobacco trade. When the War for Independence began, the actions of the Continental Convention and privateers continually disrupted Currie’s business and personal affairs. In September 1776, he left for the West Indies, keeping a journal of his voyage. During the voyage, he almost drowned, the vessel was fired upon and chased by an unknown vessel, and they heard of the defeat of the American troops on Long Island. Included with this journal is the autographed draft of a letter he sent to Pinckney’s Gazette of Philadelphia, in 1775. The letter defends the actions of Scottish tobacco merchants who refused to advance credit to planters following the failure of the Ayr Bank in 1772.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:6 - Request access

Cyrillic Union Catalog.

New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation, 1963
1244 card(s)

This is a dictionary catalog of the Russian, Ukrainian, Byelorussian, Bulgarian, and Serbian holdings of the Library of Congress and 185 other American libraries.

A guide is included at the beginning of reel 1 and an uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.

MICPT 016.891