Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

B.F. Stevens’ Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783

Benjamin Franklin Stevens, a bookman and antiquarian, directed the reproduction, by photographic methods, of civil, diplomatic, political, and naval documents in private collections and archives in Europe. The documents cover secret intelligence work of the British and French government, Lord North’s two Conciliatory Bills of 1778, the Commission of 1778 to restore peace, Deane’s letters and memoirs to the French government in reference to French aid to America, letters of Chief Justice William Smith, a loyalist, to Mr. Eden, the capture and imprisonment of Henry Laurens, the negotiation and signing of the Treaty of Peace in Paris, and correspondence of the Marquis de Lafayette, Richard Oswald, and Lord Viscount Stormont, British Ambassador in Paris.

An index on the sixth reel (volume 25) provides numerical, chronological, author, recipient, and subject access. Also, a list of contents is at the beginning of each volume.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Bach, Johann S. Werke Jahrg. 1-46 and Supp. 47, 1851-1899.

New York: New York Public Library, 1944
12 reel(s)

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 4D21: 15:9 - Request access

Baroda (India : State). Administration Report

New York: New York Public Library, 1968 
7 reel(s)

The administration reports date from 1875 when the Maharaji Sayajirao was placed at the head of the Baroda (now incorporated into Gujarant state) state government as a boy of twelve, under the educational guidance of the British. The reports extend through his reign up to the time of his death in 1939, and cover the events and social conditions of the state up to 1945. Under Sayajirao, most of modern Baroda was built, including the Pratap Vilas palace, Baroda college, and Sayaji hospital. The reports summarize political, legislative, and judicial affairs, revenue, settlements, self-government, finance, education, medical institutions, public works, police, jails, and famine relief. Each report begins with a table of contents. Later reports contain a summary of the important activities of the year and an index.

FILM MISC - Request access

Bayard, James Asheton , 1767-1815. Papers of the Bayard Family.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1973 
4 reel(s)

Papers of the Bayard family in the manuscript division of the Library of Congress include 1000 items, chiefly the papers of James Asheton Bayard and Richard Henry Bayard, United States senators from Delaware. The papers pertain to United States and Delaware politics from 1797 to 1885. They include correspondence, diaries, financial material, diplomatic documents, congressional material, newspapers and newspaper clippings, and printed matter. Topics include Federalist politics, the repeal of the Judiciary Act of 1800, the Bank of the United States, the War of 1812, the Delaware State Militia, and in foreign affairs, chiefly the Treaty of Ghent (1815) and diplomatic relations with Belgium.

The first reel contains notes on scope and reel contents, and also includes an index of correspondents.

FILM BOOK 0312

Bhatnagar, Gulshan Rai. Reflections on a few Political Punjab Problems.

Lahore: Mercantile Electric Press, 1920

The author of this pamphlet was a Special Prizeman in Muhammadan Law at Punjab University. It is a collection of his letters written over nine years covering life and politics in Punjab.

At the end of the microfilm reel of Punjab (India). MEMORANDUM SUBMITTED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF THE PUNJAB TO THE INDIAN STATUTORY COMMISSION, VOLUME X. (Microfilmed by the India Office Library, London.)

FILM MISC - Request access

Bibliography of American Hymnals.

New York: University Music Editions, 1983
27 fiche

Guide: The eye-readable contents-guides that accompanied the collection (and that is mentioned in MERLIN) is in the Special Collections office.

MICF 2036

Biblioteca Palatina. Druckschriften -Stampati Palatini -Printed Books

Munich : New York: K.G. Saur, 1989 
21,103 fiche

Collection of 8,000 Greek, Latin, oriental and Humanist works reproduced in microform. Considered the foremost collection of the 15th, 16th and 17th century texts, the Palatina Collection originated in Heidelberg at the bequest of Prince Elector Ludwig III. It was transferred to the Vatican in 1623, where it currently resides. The fiche is labeled according to the original library’s shelf arrangement by size (i.e. Stamp. Pal. S., Stam. Pal. I-VI, and so on). Items are chiefly in Latin. Fiches are numbered alphanumerically in right corner of header.

MICF 6698

Guides:

Mittler, Elmar Bibliotheca Palatina : Druckschriften = stampati Palatini = printed books : Katalog zur Mikrofiche-Ausgabe

In German

Vorl?â?ñufiger alphabetischer Index

Temporary alphabetical index on 32 microfiches (chiefly in Latin)

This short pamphlet is a printed introduction in German with English on inverted pages.

Billy Sunday in Philadelphia, 1915 [Microform]

9 reel(s)

William Ashley “Billy” Sunday (1862-1935) was an American Christian evangelist. Sunday played professional baseball for 8 years (1883-1891). After retiring from baseball, he became well known for his preaching at large rallies. Sunday was also active in the Prohibition movement. These reels contain articles from the (Philadelphia) Evening Telegraph, the North American, and the Press (Philadelphia) covering Billy Sunday’s Philadelphia campaign from January 3 to March 20, 1915.

FILM BOOK 0488

Birmingham Female Society for the Relief of Negro Slaves. Records Relating to the Birmingham Ladies Society for the Relief of British Negro Slaves.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1970
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

In the early nineteenth century, Birmingham was an important center of anti-slavery activity. Birmingham itself was a prosperous manufacturing town engaged in some cotton trading. Joseph Sturge, one of the leaders in the British anti-slavery movement, was secretary of the Birmingham anti-slavery society and active in several national anti-slavery organizations. On April 8, 1825, Lucy Townsend and Mary Lloyd founded the Birmingham Ladies Society, which published several pamphlets, compiled annual reports, and recorded minutes relating to their activities. Members wrote letters and petitions urging others to support their cause. They supported education as a means of solving the problem of freed slaves, focusing on aid to blacks in British territories. They were reluctant to deal with the problem of American slavery for fear of inflaming the issue.

A description of the contents and their arrangement is on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:3 - Request access

Black Panthers. FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1986
2 reel(s)

The Black Panthers were a radical, sometimes violent, political organization. They were founded in 1966 by Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seal. At first, they advocated arming the black populace so they could protect themselves from politicians, law enforcement authorities, and business owners whom they considered to be oppressive. The Black Panthers believed that economic unfairness was the basic problem for blacks, not racial discrimination. So in the late 1960's, they began working with white revolutionary groups with whom they shared goals. By the early 1970's, the Black Panthers changed their methods by stressing community service within established political and social groups.

FILM BOOK 0292

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina

It contains an introduction that describes the origin and philosophy of the Black Panther Party and a summary of the provided FBI material. Each reel’s contents is divided into sections and the date of the first and last documents in each section is also listed. This same information is also found at the beginning of the first reel.

Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1925.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
Black Studies Research Sources
25 reel(s)

With the booming economy in northern cities during World War I, approximately one-half million blacks left the South and headed north in pursuit of work. This collection consists of federal documents that pertain to the changing patterns of both labor and migration during the decade after the war. Specifically, these documents refer to agricultural and industrial labor, unionism, housing, race relations, veteran employment, and the processes of migration.

FILM BOOK 0041

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Black workers in the era of the great migration, 1916-1925 : guide PDF

The guide contains historical background on the Great Migration, the sources of this collection, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E185.8 .S35 1985.

Blaine, Ephraim, 1741-1804. Papers of Ephraim Blaine.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1968 
5 reel(s)

Ephraim Blaine, a merchant of Carlisle, Pennsylvania, became deputy commissary general and later commissary general of purchases for the Continental Army from 1777 to 1783. His papers cover the years 1763 to 1805 and number approximately 3,500 items. The papers include correspondence, memoranda of accounts, cash books, and abstracts of accounts. Blaine corresponded with the president of Congress, the superintendent of finance, various military officers, members of the Board of War, and men serving in the supply departments.

A description of the contents and arrangement is on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Blathwayt, William, 1649?-1717. Index of Correspondents, William Blathwayt Papers 1674 (1680-1770) 1715.

Williamsburg, Va.: Colonial Williamsburg Archives, 1965 
6 reel(s)

The collection includes the correspondence of William Blathwayt as well as an index. As an English colonial administrator, William Blathwayt enjoyed the favor of three successive kings during his career of almost forty years. He was known among both high officials and lesser public servants in England and the colonies. Blathwayt's correspondence is a source of material on British imperial policy, commercial regulation, and colonial administration. The British imperial-mercantilist point of view is represented by Blathwayt's correspondents almost to the exclusion of the colonial position.

An index of correspondents is at the beginning of reel one.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Blathwayt, William 1649?-1717. Sir Thomas Phillips Collection of American Colonial Papers, 1645-1741.

San Marino, Calif.: Henry E. Huntington Library, 1968 
1 reel(s)

William Blathwayt, as secretary of the Committee of Trade and Plantations, initiated the collection of American colonial papers (later known as the Sir Thomas Phillips collection) which includes papers from 1645 to 1741. This microfilm reel is an index to that collection, which was first contained in ten folio volumes but is now broken up. The index describes the contents of the original volumes, which were divided geographically. The contents of each paper is briefly summarized. The papers for the most part consist of the correspondence sent to the Committee of Trade by colonial officials. The subjects covered include taxation and revenue, relations with Indians and French and Spanish colonies, piracy, military forces and fortifications, trade and shipping, unrest and uprisings among colonists, and administration of justice.

There is an introduction at the beginning of the reel. The papers are arranged geographically into the following categories: America (papers concerning more that one American colony), New York, New England, Virginia, Maryland and Newfoundland, Canada, Darien and Hudson Bay, Jamaica, Antigua, Bermuda, Barbados, and the Caribbean Islands.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Bombay Sanskrit Series

Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation Company,
52 fiche

An uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room. Each title is catalogued separately in MERLIN.

MICF 2992

Bourne, Hugh, 1772-1852. Journal of Hugh Bourne, American Mission, 1844-1846, in the Library of the Hartley Victoria Theological College, Manchester.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Hugh Bourne was an English preacher and founder of the Primitive Methodist movement, whose followers believed the camp-meeting to be an appropriate form of open-air evangelism. In 1848 Bourne agreed to oversee the Canadian mission. This extract from his journal records his experiences and observations while in America. His journal is preoccupied with religion. It is the record of a man with only one object, the salvation of human souls. Often only a catalogue of places visited, the journal gives an occasional glimpse of things he saw: a new type of threshing machine, the structure of a log-house, his impressions of Niagara and of the Passaic Falls, his first ride on a sleigh, a Canadian saw-mill, and the boiling of maple syrup. The journal as a whole is a chronicle of the emergence and expansion of Primitive Methodism, and the extract is a significant addition to the story of the American mission fifteen years after its beginnings.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:3 - Request access

Boyd-Bowman, Peter. Lexico Hispanoamericanos Del Siglo XVII.

Madison, WI: Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies Ltd., 1983
8 fiche

MICF 2585

Guides:

Boyd-Bowman, Peter. L?â??xico hispanoamericano del siglo XVI

Bragg, John. Diary of John Bragg, in the Whitehaven Public Library and Museum, Cumberland.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng: Micro Methods, 1968
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

John Bragg was the proprietor of a successful shoe-making business in Whitehaven (Cumbria, N.W. England) during the second half of the eighteenth century. He was a deeply religious member of the Quaker faith. He married Margaret Hadwen in 1749, and it was through his wife’s brother, John Hadwen, a resident of Rhode Island, that he had an interest in America and the War of Independence. The diary, which begins in 1771, contains medical recipes, references to historical dates, selected newspaper articles, family notations, and a number of letters from Bragg’s relatives in America. It lists significant events in Whitehaven and in the Bragg family, and contains a number of references to the War of Independence. For example, it records news of events leading up to the war, battles during the war, and the arrival of Henry Fleming from Virginia.

A description of the contents is at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:3 - Request access

Bragg, Thomas 1810 -1862. Thomas Bragg Diary, 1861-1862, in the Southern Historical Collection of the University of North Carolina Library.

Chapel Hill, N.C.: University of North Carolina Library, 1968 
1 reel(s)

After two terms as governor of North Carolina, Thomas Bragg was elected to the Senate in 1859. The first portion of his diary covers January 3, to March 1, 1861. It deals with political activities and difficulties related to sectional differences and secession. Plans for a provisional government, the problems of federal forts in the South, the Kansas question, and the financial problems of both the northern and southern governments are covered. During the next portion of the diary from November 15, 1861 to April 9, 1862, Bragg was attorney general of the Confederate States. He reports on conversations with Jefferson Davis and cabinet members, discussions at cabinet meetings, war news, relation of the central government with state governments, and financial problems. He also discusses the loyalty of states such as Kentucky, Tennessee, and Missouri to the Confederacy, military topics such as the re-enlistment of volunteers, manufacture of gunpowder, naval warfare, and prisoner exchanges, and battles including the clash between the Monitor and Merrimac and the Battle of Shiloh. In the remainder of the diary he mentions rumors of war, prices of store goods, and political activities in Virginia and North Carolina.

An uncataloged guide, Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Bragg Diary, is available in the Special Collections Office. It contains a partial list of people mentioned in the diary.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Brethren in Christ Church. General Conference. Minutes, 1871-1970.

Dallas, Texas: Microfilm Center,
American Church Records, ser. 2
6 reel(s)

This collection contains the Brethren in Christ Church General Conference Minutes for 1871 to 1970. The minutes were published in condensed form and are concerned with such subjects as missions within the United States, marriage outside the church, church finance, and education.

This collection is on reels 1-4 of a six reel series. Reels 5 and 6 cover the Brethren in Christ Handbooks of Mission for 1918-1970. See separate entry.

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Brethren in Christ Church. Handbook of Missions, 1918-1970.

Dallas, TX: Microfilm Center,
American Church Records. Series 2
6 reel(s)

The Brethren in Christ Handbooks of Missions for 1918 to 1970 are reproduced in this collection. The handbooks were published annually and deal with both home and foreign missions. They include reports on miscellaneous mission affairs, finance, and education. Brethren in Christ foreign missions were situated in Africa and India.

This collection is on reels 5-6 of the series that begins with the Brethren in Christ General Conference Minutes for 1871-1970. See separate entry.

FILM 15:8 - Request access

Bristol Presentments, 1801-1917: From the Central Library, College Green, Bristol.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform, Ltd, 1984
British records relating to America in microform
29 reel(s)

The Bristol Presentments from 1801 to 1917 are a continuation of the microform collection, Bristol Presentments from the Central Library, College Green, Bristol, which covers the period of 1770 to 1800. Principally export and import lists, they begin in 1770 and are almost complete for 1791 to 1794 and 1797 to 1800. They provide information on trade during this period, give the date of entrance of a vessel, its name and the name of its master, as well as the names of merchants and the consignments in which they were concerned.

FILM 22:3 - Request access

Guides:

Bristol presentments, 1770-1917 PDF

The guide provides a discussion of the provenance of the collection, an introduction to the documents, facsimile samples of bills of entry, a listing of the contents, and a reel guide. Also available in the MERLIN catalog.

Britain and Europe Since 1945.

Brighton, Eng.: Harvester, 1973 
Harvester / Primary social sources

The basic collection brings together source material from sixty-seven pressure groups involved in Britain's campaign to join the European Economic Community. The thirty-one single-interest pressure groups and the thirty-six multi-interest groups represent virtually the full range of postwar pressure groups in this field. Annual updates carry the file on established groups forward and add material from new participants in the continuing debate.

MICF 382.9142

Guides:

Britain and Europe since 1945: a bibliographical guide.

The guide provides chronological, author, and title access. Supplements arrive with each annual update.

Britain’s Literary Heritage: Nineteenth Century Theatre Periodicals Parts One and Two from the British Library.

Brighton: Harvester Microform Publications, 1986
41 items

19 titles.

Each title fully cataloged in MERLIN and shelved with the microfilmed periodical collection, FILM PER. Consult MERLIN for call number for each title. A list of the titles in the collection is available in the Special Collections office or search the series title in MERLIN.

British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution.

Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilm International, 1953
16 reel(s)

An uncataloged guide, British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution, is available in the Special Collections office. The titles included in the collection are also listed in SPEC-R Z1033 .M5 I53 Niles, Ann. An Index to Microform Collections, pp 84-89.

FILM BOOK 0254

Guides:

An Index to microform collections

British Army Lists, 1740-1784.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publications, 1984
British Records Relating to America in Microform
81 fiche

The Lists specifically cover the years 1740, 1743-44, 1747, 1753, 1757-58, 1762, and 1764-84. The Army Lists are concerned with listing all officers holding regimental appointments. At most times, the regimental establishment consisted of a commanding colonel, a lieutenant-colonel, a major, several captains and lieutenants, either ensigns or cornets, and a few other miscellaneous officers. This collection serves an invaluable function in tracing specific biographical information about individuals listed

MICF 1334

Guides:

The annual British Army lists, 1740-1784 PDF

The guide contains background information on the origins of the Army Lists, the regiment of establishment, the contents of the Army Lists, the uses of the Lists, a table of contents of the fiches, and a bibliographical note on related works. The Lists are indexed by name in each volume. Also available in Special Collections: UB415.G7 A5 1984.

British Library Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (Estc).

London: British Library,
113 fiche

An uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections office.

MICF 1163

British Literary Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library. Series One. The Medieval Age, C.1150-1500 Parts 1-3.

Brighton: Harvester Microform Publication, 1984
Brighton Library Heritage
49 reel(s)

191 titles. A short uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.

FILM BOOK 0019

Guides:

British literary manuscripts from Cambridge University Library.

British Literary Manuscripts from the British Library. Series One. The English Renaissance, C. 1500 -1700.

British Museum Department of Manuscripts English Stage After the Restoration: Archive of the 18th and 19th Century British Theatre Royal from the British Library, Part I.

Brighton: Harvester,
16 reel(s)

Catalogue of Additional Manuscripts 1854-1887 contains Additional Mss. 23156-23167, 25915, 29631-29643, 29709-29711, 29945-29958, 31972-31977, 33488. 61997. Each play is individually cataloged but the records do not appear in MERLIN with a description of the contents.

FILM BOOK 0216

Guides:

British Museum. Dept. of Manuscripts. Catalogue of additions to the manuscripts in the British Museum

British Pamphlets Relating to the American Revolution, 1763-1783.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Microform Limited, 1982
British records relating to America in microform
49 reel(s)

This collection reproduces every available British and Irish pamphlet relating to the American Revolution published between January 1, 1764, and December 31, 1783, over 1100 pamphlets in all. As a counterpart to the Early American Imprints series, it provides a British view of the collapse of the first British Empire and the birth of the United States. The pamphlets were selected from Thomas R. Adams’ The American Controversy. Topics addressed include political analysis, imperial organization, grand strategy, civil and political liberty, morality, ecclesiastical organization, economics, diplomacy, and the defense of personal reputations.

FILM 22:3-4 - Request access

NOT IN MERLIN

Guides:

Bonwick, Colin. British pamphlets relating to the American Revolution, 1764-1783 PDF

The guide provides an index by title and author and a list of contents for each reel. Available under call number Z1238 .B45.

British Records Relating to America in Microform.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Microform Limited (Formerly EP Microform),

This series of microfilm collections, published in conjunction with the British Association for American Studies, ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The collections relate to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture, immigration, the anti-slavery movement, politics, and military affairs. Located in various British archival collections, the papers selected contribute to the understanding of American history usually through the business and personal affairs of British subjects. Introductions at the beginning of each filmed collection explain the provenance and the historical background for each collection. Collections in Ellis Library are further described under their individual authors or titles in this guide.

FILM 22:2-13 - Request access

Guides:

A Guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland : a revision of the guide edited in 1961 by B. R. Crick and Miriam Alman. Available under call number Z1236 .C74 1979.

The guide briefly describes various collections in this series. Each collection in Ellis Library is listed in this database and/or MERLIN, the online catalog.

Brown, George Alexander, 1803-1870. Diaries and Memoirs of George Alexander Brown in the Liverpool Library.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: EP Microform Limited, 1972 
1 reel(s)

George Alexander Brown, a Liverpool merchant and banker, spent his boyhood days in Baltimore. His uncle, a linen merchant, employed him in his firm, Alexander Brown & Sons of Baltimore. Brown regarded himself as an American, even though half his life was spent in England. His diaries date from his days in Baltimore. They include comments on the decline of the linen trade after 1817, his partnership in a merchant firm in Tampico, Mexico, in 1825, and his establishment in Liverpool in 1829. The diaries thereafter concern political, family, and business affairs, including notes on the arrival of American ships and reactions to events in America. Most of his knowledge of these events was drawn from the newspapers of the day.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the reel.

FILM 22:4 - Request access

Bryce, James Bryce , Viscount, 1838-1922. James Bryce, Viscount Bryce of Dechmont, American Correspondence, 1871-1922.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microform
7 reel(s)

James Bryce, jurist, historian, and politician, was a member of Parliament from 1880 to 1906 and a member of three cabinets. He first visited the United States in 1871 and last in 1921. His knowledge of the United States is reflected in his book, The American Commonwealth, published in 1888. As British ambassador to the United States from 1907 to 1913, he singled out as his most important task the furtherance of good relations between Britain and the United States. Topics discussed in his papers include various presidential campaigns and elections, tariffs, the Negro problem, civil service reform, Canadian-American relations, international copyright legislation, American city government, the Armenian question, the Irish question, women’s suffrage, the Venezuela crisis, German propaganda, maritime disputes, and the League of Nations.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Buckley-Mathew, George Benvenuto. Buckley-Mathew Collection.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1967
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

These ninety-one letters were mainly addressed to Sir George Buckley-Matthew (1807-1879), a British diplomat. Of particular interest is the period during which he served as British consul in Charleston, South Carolina (1850-1853), and Philadelphia (1853-1856). A number of the letters discuss the capture of free West Indian Negro seamen and their sale in the southern United States. Many of the letters were written by British and American statesmen and diplomats. One from William Gladstone concerns Mathew’s resignation of his consular post at the request of the United States government after he attempted to recruit Americans for service in the Crimean War.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:5 - Request access

Burke, Thomas ca 1747-1783. Thomas Burke Papers in the Southern Historical Collection of the University of North Carolina Library.

Burke, Thomas ca 1747-1783. THOMAS BURKE PAPERS IN THE SOUTHERN HISTORICAL COLLECTION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA LIBRARY.

Chapel Hill, N.C: University of North Carolina Library, 1967 
5 reel(s)

Thomas Burke emigrated to America from Ireland, settling in Accomac County, Virginia. By 1769 he was a practicing attorney in Williamsburg. In 1772, he moved to Hillsborough, North Carolina. Active in politics, he was governor of North Carolina during one of the most critical periods in the state's history, 1781-1782. He actively resisted the British and Tory domination of the state. A raid by the Tory forces under David Fanning led to his capture and parole to James Island. He later escaped to North Carolina and resumed his duties as governor of the state. The papers are primarily concerned with business and personal matters until the mid-1770s. Increasing concern with political affairs from 1776 to 1781 stem from Burke's position as a member of the North Carolina General Assembly and as a delegate to the Continental Congress. Later papers discuss military affairs, his violation of parole, and the settlement of his estate.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Burr, Aaron 1756 -1836. Papers of Aaron Burr, 1756-1836.

Glen Rock, N.J.: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1978 
27 reel(s)

The correspondence, books, journals, and legal papers vividly portray Burr's early years in the military, his work as a New York lawyer, his major role in the formation of the Jeffersonian party, and his subsequent rise to the position of vice president of the United States. The collection also depicts his fall from power and provides valuable insight into the duel with Alexander Hamilton which destroyed his career. This collection serves as a source for the study of New York state and local history, territorial expansion in the new republic, and women's history. Burr's journals for the years 1808 to 1812 offer a record of the intellectual and social life in Great Britain and Europe during the Napoleonic era.

FILM 19:2 - Request access

Guides:

Kline, Mary-Jo The guide and index to the microfilm edition of The papers of Aaron Burr 1756-1836

The guide provides an index to persons and legal actions in the papers and provides limited subject access to Aaron Burr’s private journal.