University of Missouri Libraries
Technical Services Procedure No. 2
Bibliographic Control Department Procedures on Cataloging and Classification for Monographs
- Scope of Procedure
- This document describes the general policy followed by the Monographic Cataloging Teams in the Bibliographic Control Department in Ellis Library for the cataloging and classification of monographs. This policy affects monographs for UMC Libraries exclusive of the Law, Health Sciences, and Veterinary Medical Libraries. Specific topics relating to cataloging, such as monographic series, microforms, etc., are covered in separate policy documents.
- Key to Abbreviations
- AACR2: Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2nd edition.
- CSB: Cataloging Service Bulletin, a quarterly publication of the Library of Congress, containing its practices and interpretations of cataloging rules and classification schedules.
- DLC: Symbol used in MARC records in the OCLC database to identify records created or modified by the Library of Congress.
- LC: Library of Congress
- LCNAF: Library of Congress Name Authority File
- LCRI: Library of Congress Rule Interpretations (contained in CSB but also separately published in cumulated form)
- LUMIN: Libraries of the University of Missouri Information Network, the online catalog for UMC Libraries.
- MARC: MAchine Readable Cataloging. Specifically, a communications format for the purpose of transmitting bibliographic data in machine-readable form.
- OCLC: Online Computer Library Center. The bibliographic utility in Dublin, Ohio to which UMC has terminals connected for online access to the OCLC bibliographic database.
- Definitions
- A monograph is a non-serial item; that is, an item either complete in a single physical volume or intended to be complete in a specific number of physical volumes (the latter is known as a multi-volume monograph).
- Cataloging is the process of creating a bibliographic description for a work and selecting subject headings to describe the subject content of a work. A bibliographic record is the product of this process and is the means by which access is provided to the monographs in the UMC Libraries’ collections.
- Classification is the process of assigning a call number to uniquely identify each physical volume, to place it on the shelves with materials of a similar subject, and to provide a means of locating and retrieving the item.
- General Policy
- At present there are three Monographic Cataloging Teams: Humanities, Social Science, and Science. The staff on each team search the OCLC database and select bibliographic records for all monographs, update incomplete copy, or create original cataloging for titles not in the OCLC database in order to provide library users with access to these materials. All bibliographic data selected from the OCLC database is subsequently loaded into LUMIN, the online catalog of the University of Missouri.
- Specifications and Exceptions
- Cataloging Standards The Monographic Cataloging Teams follows accepted national and local standards and rules in cataloging and classification practices.
- AACR2 is used in the creation of bibliographic descriptions and form and choice of access points in the cataloging of each monograph.
- LCRI’s are consulted and applied when using AACR2.
- OCLC/MARC standards are used when assigning content designation (such as field tags, indicators, subfield codes, etc.) For UMC original cataloging which is created in machine-readable form and input to the OCLC database.
- Protocols and standards for LUMIN which are established by the LUMIN Quality Control Committee, and other LUMIN committees, are followed for bibliographic and holdings data included in the LUMIN database.
- The latest edition of the Library of Congress Subject Headings, its supplements, and CSB updates are used in assigning subject headings to all monographs (exception: UMC theses and dissertations).
- Various other standard cataloging tools are used, such as Webster’s Third International Dictionary for spelling, and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names Gazetteer for establishing place names.
- The LCNAF is used to establish forms for all personal, corporate, and geographic names used as access points. When a specific name is not found in the LCNAF, it is created by the cataloger using AACR2 and LCRI.
- Classification Standards
- Monographs are classified according to the LC Classification Schedules, with the addition of a locally-assigned book (cutter) number which identifies a work uniquely.
- For classification of microforms, refer to UMC Libraries’ General Policy Manual, Policy No. 23.
- UMC theses and dissertations in hard copy are classified with broad LC classification numbers with some local adaption of LC.
- Completeness of Cataloging
- Monographs are cataloged according to AACR2 level 2. Machine-readable records for monographs are created according to OCLC encoding level “I”, the fullest cataloging level.
- Exceptions to the above include the following:
- UMC theses and dissertations are cataloged less completely and are input to OCLC as level “k” records (they lack LC subject headings and LC classification numbers).
- Cataloging of Rare books is specified in UMC Libraries’ General Policy Manual, Policy no. 22, section 3.
- Materials Not Cataloged
- Ephemeral materials, such as those placed in vertical files are not cataloged.
- Generally, the Monographic Cataloging Teams do not catalog federal or state government documents.
- Cataloging Priorities
- Cataloging priorities have been created in order to provide access to materials in a timely fashion and to organize the workflow in the Monograph Cataloging Teams. The established priorities attempt to create a balance between responsiveness to user demands and the need to operate efficiently through accepted routines.
- Priorities
- RUSH materials, including items for reserve, research, or other circumstances in which timeliness is important. RUSH materials are to be cataloged within 24 hours of receipt by the cataloger and streamers must contain the name of the person requesting the item.
- Reference materials (identified by “-R” in the call number prefix)
- Items purchased for specific courses or research, identified by the requesting faculty or librarian’s name.
- Current acquisitions and standing orders (for monographic series). These are generally cataloged within a short time of receipt in order of receipt.
- Gifts and exchanges. If an item is received as a gift or exchange, a request may be submitted to process the item as RUSH, reference or as specifically required for current course/research, which changes the item’s cataloging priority.
- Reclassifications. When a record with a Dewey call number is converted to machine-readable form, the call number is reclassified using the LC classification schedules.
- Factors Affecting Cataloging Priorities
- Cataloging priorities must be reevaluated when exceptional circumstances demand, such as large expenditures of funds for materials over a short period of time
- Other factors may affect cataloging order, such as:
- Availability of cataloging on the OCLC database.
- Size of the work: space considerations may require catalogers to catalog large multi-volume sets or oversize items out of order.
- Value of the work: valuable/rare materials may be cataloged out of priority order to move them to a more secure area as soon as possible.
- Special conditions attached to gifts may require expeditious cataloging.
- Factors Not Affecting Cataloging Priorities
- Format of material
- Country of publication
- Political, religious, ethnic, or other such characteristics of the material
- Personal preferences of the library staff or others
Sponsored by Bibliographic Control/Technical Services
Approved by Library Council: December 1, 1983
Approved by Director of Libraries: December 5, 1983
Revision Approved by Technical Services Department Heads: April 2, 1987
Revision Approved by Library Council: April 24, 1987
Revision Approved by Director of Libraries: April 24, 1987
