Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
8 reel(s)
Sixty-nine special studies commissioned by the federal government from various extra-governmental “think tanks”, such as the Institute for Defense Analysis, the Rand Corporation, Army War College, and Research Analysis Corporation are in this collection. The first part of the collection is devoted to China while the second section is concerned with Taiwan. Included in the Chinese section are papers on land reform, military strategy, the cultural revolution, Chinese foreign policy, Sino-Soviet relations (including material on the 1969 border disputes), the Chinese economy, United States-Chinese relations, the Chinese air force, the Chinese nuclear weapons program, the Kuomintang and the Sino-Soviet War, and collected works of Mao Tse-Tung. The shorter section on Taiwan features papers on the political environment in the Republic and its prospects for future independence. One should note that the title dates refer to the dates of publication of the studies rather than to the periods with which the studies deal.
FILM BOOK 0088 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
China : special studies, 1970-1980 [guide] 
The guide contains a complete annotated listing of the records and a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliation are provided. Also available under call number DS777.55 .C44856 1981.
Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)
This collection contains Central Intelligence Agency reports for China (1947-1976), India (1961-1974), and Pakistan (1961-1965). The topics covered include agriculture, balance of payments, the Chinese Communist Party, the Cultural Revolution, dissidence, economics, foreign policy, the India-Pakistan War, Indochina, military issues, and threat evaluations. Individuals referred to include: Mao Tse-tung, Lin Piao, Indira Gandhi, Chou En-lai, and Chiang Kai-shek.
FILM BOOK 0095 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
CIA research reports : China, 1946-1976 [guide]
The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS777.55 .C22 1982.
Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)
In addition to Japan and Korea, these Central Intelligence Agency records also concern Australia, Burma, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The records are mainly in the form of intelligence memos and there are a number of biographical reports. In the Far East section, memos from 1949 on Communist methods and vulnerabilities contain information on Indochina and the Malaysian Insurgency. The Indonesia section contains information on the confrontation between Indonesia and Malaysia from June 1950 to April 1951. Also concerning the Korean War are memos on the use of the atomic bomb and on the probability of direct Chinese intervention. The latter memos chart the Chinese build-up in Manchuria and suggest, before the event, that some form of Chinese intervention was likely.
FILM BOOK 0065 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
CIA research reports : Japan, Korea and the security of Asia, 1946-1976 ; [guide]
The collection is arranged by country and then chronologically. Also available under call number DS518.8 .C2 1983.
Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)
Progress reports from 1948 to 1960 refer to the implementation of United States foreign policy toward specific nations. Topics include export-control policies toward the Soviet Bloc, economic and military aid, communism, military bases, civil defense, colonialism, mobilization, the Organization of American States, resources, trade, stockpiling, the United Nations, and global war. Areas receiving major attention include Southeast Asia, China, Eastern Europe, Israel, Latin America, the Phillippines, the Soviet Union and its satellites, and the United Kingdom.
FILM BOOK 0097 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to documents of the National Security Council. First supplement
The guide lists the topic of each paper filmed in the collection. A brief subject index gives references to the appropriate reel and frame. Also available under call number UA23 .G85 1980 Suppl. 1.
London: Public Record Office, 1967
33 reel(s)
By 1848, when this collection of official correspondence begins, Britain had established a sphere of influence in China at Canton. She continued to extend that sphere in the face of competition from other European nations and Japan. Britain also faced considerable hostility from Chinese nationalists. This hostility resulted in the "Arrow" War, the Taiping Rebellion, and the Boxer Rebellion. By 1922, the nationalist Kuomintang party under Sun Yat-sen had overthrown the Manchu dynasty, established the Republic of China, and faced rebellions from local warlords and the Chinese Communists under Mao Tse-tung. The correspondence differs in focus, from specific incidents, such as an attack on British subjects, or specific subjects, such as railways in China, to general correspondence for a stated period.
The correspondence is grouped by subject. A list of correspondence appears at the beginning of each group.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM 10:12-13 - Request access
Washington, D.C: University Publications of America, 1978
13 reel(s)
The collection consists of studies written for the United States government in the years 1976-1978. The studies cover a wide range of American domestic and international issues. Domestic topics include racial and sexual discrimination, unemployment, welfare reform, crime, prison reform, trade union legislation, alcohol and drug abuse, veteran assistance, social security, food assistance programs, anti-trust regulations, traffic safety, regulations of elections and political campaigns, the functions of the Federal Reserve System, inflation, agricultural policy, and wage-price policy. Among the international issues covered are relations within the United States-Soviet Union-China triangle, American grain exports, American relations with Western Europe, the Arab-Israeli settlement, detente, international terrorism, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Cyprus crisis, the Panama Canal Treaty renegotiation, and reports on the situations in individual countries (Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia, China, Cuba).
Each title is cataloged in the UM LIBRARIES CATALOG.
FILM BOOK 0311 1976-78 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1979
11 reel(s)
This collection contains studies prepared for the United States government on international relations as well as social, constitutional, legal, and economic issues. Among the international subjects covered are Soviet-American competition in space, terrorism, Strategic Arms Limitations Treaties (SALT I and SALT II), American-Soviet and American-Chinese relations, American arms sales, Soviet economic growth, the conflict in the Horn of Africa, Soviet and Cuban involvement in Africa, the Sadat-Begin negotiations, atomic weapons proliferation, and the situation in South Africa. Domestic issues include: the energy problem, air and water pollution, nuclear safety and waste, civil rights, affirmative action, wage-price policy, social security, education, drug abuse, the impact of imports on the American industries, American balance of payments, and export subsidies.
FILM BOOK 0311 1978-79 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1980
10 reel(s)
This collection contains studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1979-1980. The studies fall into the following categories: legal and constitutional issues, governmental and political affairs, environmental affairs, transportation and communications, foreign relations and defense, social and health issues, and economy and labor. The studies in the first two categories deal with topics such as the electoral system and its reforms, areas of competence of different branches of government, church/state relations, Indian affairs, race and sex discrimination, affirmative action, legal aspects of corporate mergers and of lobbying. Environmental studies concern oil production, nuclear power safety (reports on the Three Mile Island accident), and water pollution. The studies on communication and transportation deal with mass transit problems, airline deregulation, the highway system, and American space policy. Foreign relations and defense topics include American relations with the Soviet Union and China, Soviet and Cuban involvement in Africa, the Egypt-Israeli peace treaty, the Morocco and Western Sahara conflict, American interests in Korea and Turkey, the situations in Ulster and Namibia, nuclear proliferation, and the Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT) process. The last two categories covered include information on social security, public housing, education, national health insurance, exchange rates, labor laws, taxation, labor-management, unemployment, inflation, prices and wages, and foreign investment in the United States.
FILM BOOK 0311 1979-80 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982
11 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.
FILM BOOK 0311 1981-82 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
12 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.
FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
13 reel(s)
This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.
FILM BOOK 0311 1983-84 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress Photoduplication Service,
20 reel(s)
This publication reprints translations of articles published in mainland China magazines. The topics range from fashion to agricultural production, from the nationality problem to religion, from birth control to United States "atrocities" in Taiwan. Each issue has a table of contents of articles.
A separate microfilm index to magazine selections entitled Index to China Mainland Press, Extracts from China Mainland Magazines and Current Background is available in Special Collections. The guide contains reference to specific articles by periodical, number, date, and page, with a short description of the subject of the article for the years 1958 to 1966.
FILM 16:3 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress Photoduplication Service,
84 reel(s)
Beginning in 1950, the United States Consulate General in Hong-Kong initiated regular translations of articles coming from the Chinese Communist news agency. The reviews were based primarily on news releases from the New China News Agency in Peking since that agency was the only official source of news for periodicals throughout China. Topics range from the domestic policies of the new Communist regime under Mao Tse-tung to foreign relations.
A separate microfilm index to the press summaries in this collection are contained in Index to China Mainland Press, Extracts from China Mainland Magazines and Current Background, located in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains references to articles by periodical, number, date, and page, with a short description of the subject of the article for the years 1958 to 1966.
FILM 16:1-3 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 329; v. National Archives record group 59.
227 reel(s)
Internal political affairs discussed in this Department of State decimal file include the Revolution of 1911, the formation of the Republic of China, the power struggle that involved the Manchus, Sun Yat-sen, and Yuan Shih-K'ai, the overthrow of the Peking government, the restoration of the Nationalist government of Chiang Kai-shek, and the development of the Communist movement. Other documents pertain to the role of the United States, Japan, and western European countries in the economic affairs of China, importation and exportation of arms and ammunition, regulation and control of narcotics, provincial colleges, and universities, institutions operated by the United States government and religious organizations, and competition among foreign powers for railroad concessions.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of China, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents filmed comprise reels 1-8. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 3:8-3:10 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 341; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)
A Department of State compilation of treaties and agreements with or concerning China precedes other documents in this decimal file. The documents relate to Chinese proposals for post-war readjustments of treaties with foreign powers, the issue of unequal treaties, the Washington Conference on Extraterritoriality, the Conference on Limitation of Armament, Sino-Japanese relations in Manchuria, Japan's seizure of German possessions in Shantung, and the Chinese Eastern Railway. Most of these subjects were debated over a period of several years and are extensively documented in this collection.
A list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 4:1-4:2 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 339. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
Most of the records reproduced in this Department of State decimal file relate to problems concerning extraterritorial rights in China and the negotiation for the relinquishment of these rights by the United States. Some records relate to the recognition of the Nationalist Government of China, the 1880 treaty to bring Chinese workers to California, China's wish to limit Japan's sphere of commercial and political control in China, mediation by the United States in the Russo-Chinese crisis over the Chinese Eastern Railway, and a speech by the Chinese legation to the Round Table Club of St. Louis suggesting that the United States give complete tariff authority to China. Other documents concerning negotiations for treaties on commerce, arbitration, navigation, and renunciation of war are in the collection.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and China, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 4:1 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)
These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.
A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.
Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.
FILM 11:6-12:6 - Request access
Guides:
