Skip to main content

Journalism - Resources for Journalism Graduate Students

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles and documents followed by a descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation.  The annotation is to inform the reader about the quality, relevance and accuracy of the cited source.

Why do I need to create an annotated bibliography?

Not only does a bibliography provide a list of citations to the sources (books, articles, documents, etc.) used, the annotations provide descriptive and critical analysis of each cited resource.

What is a citation manager?

A citation manager allows you to import, store, organize, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you use (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more). They allow you to save citations, organize them into folders or libraries, and generate bibliographies and citations as you write.  Scholars may cite the same articles in many different publications.  Having them organized, in the appropriate style is a major time saver.

Citation Managers:

Citation Styles:

Create an annotated bibliography

Create Bibliographies Using EndNote

Overview:
EndNote is a powerful program for storing citation data and producing in-text citations and bibliographies in a plethora of formats. Learn how to put this tool to work for your academic writing.

For more information on Endnote, please visit the EndNote Help and Classes page.

Video Tutorial:

Recorded: March 20th, 2015 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Duration: 1 h
PresentersMichael Muchow

Creating Annotated Bibliographies with Zotero

Overview:
Zotero is a free, simple, open-source tool for organizing, managing and formatting bibliographic citations. Learn to extract citations from PDFs and web pages at the click of a button, and create in-text references and bibliographies.

For more information on Endnote, please visit the Zotero page.

Video Tutorial:

Recorded: April 3rdh, 2015 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Duration: 1 h
PresentersRachel Brekhus