Skip to main content

International Student Guide to MU Libraries: MU Libraries
System

MU Libraries System

The MU Libraries System includes Ellis Library, which is the main library on campus, six branch libraries, UM Depositories, and the University Archives. The MU Libraries system includes a collection of over three million books, journals, videos, CDs (and other audio recordings), scripts, dissertations, archival materials, etc. It is an "open stack" library, which means that after you find an item's call number in the online catalog, (MERLIN), you need to go into the stacks (or aisles where the books are shelved) to get the book yourself. Everything in the MU library system is yours to use!

Exterior of Ellis Library Ellis Library
Ellis Library is the main library on the MU campus.  It is located on Lowry Mall across from McDonalds. It includes collections in the Social Sciences, Humanities, and basic Sciences. Ellis Library has four floors. Be sure to check the floor plans to find out where the resources are located in Ellis Library.
  Branch Libraries
Like many universities, MU has several branch libraries across campus. This map shows their locations. Branch libraries include books, journals, and other materials geared to a specific subject area. The branch libraries include Engineering, Geological Sciences, Health Sciences, Journalism, Law, Mathematics, and Veterinary Medical Library. All MU branch libraries are open to all students; however hours and services vary. Check the list of libraries and collections for individual hours of operation.
  University Archives
University Archives is a keeper of official records of the University of Missouri at Columbia as well as of the administrative records of the University of Missouri System. It also houses and preserves private papers, organizational records, and manuscripts that relate to the history of the University, the University community, and the University System.
 Depository storage UM Depositories
Depositories are off-campus storage facilities for infrequently used library materials. The two depositories are known as UMLD and U2. Both depositories store older books and journals. You can request books and journals from off-site storage.
 Daniel Boone Regional Library Public Library
The Daniel Boone Regional Library is Columbia's public library. You can eligible for a free library card if you live in Columbia or Boone County. It is a good place to take the family. They offer books, magazines, videos and events for all ages.