Skip to main content

VM-1 & VM-2 Resource Guide: Finding Articles

Library resources for first- and second-year veterinary students.

What Is a Database?

A database is an online index to magazine and journal articles, book chapters, etc. Databases often provide access to full-text of articles.

Why Use a Database?

Save Time; Find Quality Information

You would otherwise have to look through each issue of a journal for articles on your topic, or wade through millions of off-target citations. 

A database like PubMed indexes selected biomedical journals to find articles that match your topic. The FindIt@MU button will let you know the availability of the article.

 

Databases

Use a database to find article information on your topic. After retrieving article citations, use Findit@MU to determine whether the article(s) is available fulltext online or in print.  Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles from other libraries.

For veterinary medicine, the big databases to use are PubMed, Scopus, and CAB. There are lots more databases to pursue depending on your topic and species. Check out more databases in the Veterinary Medicine Subject Guide.

Search Google Scholar

Looking for a Specific Journal?

If you have an article or journal citation, use this link to find the full-text online or information about the print copy.

Finding the Full Text

Databases will lead you to article citations. If you do not see the html or pdf full-text of the article in the database, click the FindIt@MU button next to the article citation. 

The article will display if available electronically.  If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.

If the article is not available online or in print, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan.