Library Guides: Systematic Reviews: Databases and Grey Literature

Databases

There are thousands of databases. The databases you choose to include will depend on the topic of your systematic review. Below are just a few of the databases you have access to. Consult with your librarian to figure out which ones you should look at.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines.
Included is CINAHL which covers both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such
as:Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology and Respiratory Therapy.

Date Coverage: 1982-present
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Contains references to articles in periodicals, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Date Coverage: 1872-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/PsychInfo

Grey Literature (unpublished research)

Cochrane: (6.2.1.8 Grey literature databases)
Grey Literature information from the Cochrane Handbook.
MedNar
Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine.
New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) Grey Literature Collection
Grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
OAIster
Provides access to digital primary source materials from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural heritage organizations worldwide.
OpenGrey Repository
Succeeds OpenSIGLE. Includes conference preprints, research data, and post-publication data.
Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Clinical Trials

CenterWatch (Drugs in Clinical Trials)
Provides access to information about drugs in trials that have yet to be approved.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Eli Lilly and Company Clinical Trial Registry
Clinical Trials from Eli Lilly and Company
European Clinical Trials Register
Registered randomised controlled trials and other studies designed to assess the efficacy of health-care interventions worldwide.
GlaxoSmithKline Clinical Study Register
Provides an easily accessible repository of data and information from GSK studies, supplementing communication in journals, at scientific meetings, in letters to healthcare professionals, and in approved prescribing information.
WHO ICTRP
Access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries listed on the right. It also provides links to the full original records.

Research Registries

National Reasearch Register (NRR) Archive
The National Research Register (NRR) is a register of ongoing and recently completed research projects funded by, or of interest to, the United Kingdom's National Health Service.
NIH Reporter
A central point of access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research.

Conferences and Meetings

BIOSIS
Information from reports, reviews, and meetings including ocnference paper and poster abstracts.
Meeting and Conferences, HSRIC (Health Services Research Information Central)
Meetings and conferences for health services in federal agencies and professional associations and organizations.
Proceedings (access available vis Olin Library)
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest (Access available via Olin Library)
The world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
International organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
EThOS
Theses from the United Kingdom

Reviews and Reports

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)
Evidence-based information to health care leaders about the effectiveness and efficiency of health technologies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), other published and unpublished sources, and all Review Groups' Specialised Registers and the handsearch results register.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
Systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions, the delivery and organisation of health services, and wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.
*As of 2015, this is no longer updated.
Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database
Includes completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.
PROSPERO
Prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care.

Professional Organizations

Cochrane Collaboration
Center for Outcomes Research and Education
McMasters Evidence-based Practice Center
PRESS (Peer Reviewed Electronic Search Strategies)
Online collaboration space for librarians.
Cochrane Review Groups
Cochrane Review Groups focus their reviewing activities on specific subjects with in medicine. They often have search strategies that cover their topic available for others to use.
Cochrane Methods group
There are 16 Cochrane Methods Groups. Each group is focused on creating methods for handling issues particular to various issues.
Joanna Briggs Institute
JBI offers classes on systematic reviews and books on evidence synthesis.