Skip to main content

Alerts: Table of Contents

Table of Contents

What table of contents alerts are:

These are RSS feeds or emails that deliver you the table of contents of a journal as soon as it is published.

How to get table of content alerts:

There are several ways that you may be able to receive table of contents updates from journals. Not every way will work for every journal.

One:

Use a Google search to find the journal's home page. Many journal home pages will have an RSS feed or email alert. An example of this is the Journal of Mathematical Physics.

If you are having a hard time finding information about the journal, search Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. It will tell you the publisher of the journal as well as tell you under "online availability" the url of the RSS feed if available.

Two:

Go to the publisher's homepage and look for the relevant alerts. Some publishers combine multiple journals into one alert and others allow you to select individual journals (e.g. American Society of Civil Engineers).

Three:

For some journals, you can use a website to create a free online account to subscribe to many table of contents alerts. 

Four:

If you have tried the three methods outlined above, and they do not work, then you can try this method. This is not the recommended method to subscribe to table of content alerts. (If you need assistance, please refer to the box with contact information on the right side of your screen.)

First, use the Journal Finder to see if the library has an electronic subscription to the journal you need. If you see "Full Text" followed by two dates, these are the years that MU has online access to.

For this method to work, we MUST have full text access to the present. (Example below.)

If we have online access and if we have access to the present, you will see one of two types of screens (listed below). Pick the one that matches your results and follow the instructions.

Result A: "available in __________"

In this case you will need the name of the database - the information after the "in." "Science Direct" is what you will need to remember. (The "Freedom Collection" part is just additional subscription information.)

Search the Database Search Alerts guide for information about the database and to see if it has table of contents alerts. (Not every database does.) If the database does have table of contents alerts, follow the instructions.

Result B: "available from __________ in ___________"

In this case you will need the name of the company that we buy the database from - the information before the "from." "EBSCO Host" is what you will need to remember. (The "Academic Search" part is the name of the database.)

Search the Database Search Alerts guide for information about the company/publisher and to see if it provides table of contents alerts in its databases. (Not every company does.)  If the company does have table of contents alerts, follow the instructions.

Contact for Assistance

Ellis Library Reference
(573) 882-4581
Ask a Librarian