Skip to main content

Alerts: Newly
Published

Newly Published

clipart  Publisher alerts:

What is a publisher alert?
Many publishers allow you to sign up for email or RSS alerts when books and/or journals are published. With these alerts, you will receive information faster than a database alert, but the alerts will be narrower in scope and cover less new titles. Some alerts will also include items still "in press" that are not yet published. Some publishers have Twitter feeds you can subscribe to.

Do I have to have a subscription to their journal(s)?
You do not need to personally have a subscription to the journal to receive journal email alerts. (To see if the library has a subscription to a specific journal, use the Journal Finder. Remember that you can request PDFs of articles we don't have access to through Interlibrary Loan.)

What if I just want alerts about an author?
If you are interested in being alerted when an author has a new book published, you can look at the author's site for a newsletter to subscribe to or you can use the Track New Book website to be alerted when a new item of theirs is added to Amazon. (This site only pulls information from Amazon.) Some publishers and databases also let you set up author alerts too, but, again, the scope is narrower.

I've subscribed to alerts but can't get to the articles. They want me to pay. Go to the Get Free Access guide.

What is this list?
Here is a list of academic publishers where you can sign up for alerts. These are for journals and articles unless noted as a book alert. (For a list of database alerts, go to the Database Alerts tab.)
This is NOT a complete list. If you don't see the publisher you want, you can type the name of the publisher you are interested in into this custom search box, and their RSS or email alert service should open in another window or tab and appear in the list of results.

Loading

Alexander Street Press (electronic collections)

  • electronically publishes collections in Humanities and Social Sciences, including black literature, performing arts, and women's history

American Chemical Society

American Geophysical Union
American Institute of Physics 
American Library Association

American Mathematical Society  
American Medical Association
American Meteorological Society (books and journals)  
American Physical Society

American Psychological Association  

  • scroll down the page

American Society for Microbiology
American Society of Civil Engineers  

American Society of Mechanical Engineers
American Psychiatric Publishing
Association for Computing Machinery

BioMed Central

  • open source science, technology and medicine

BioOne

  • bioscience research journals

Blackwell Publishing (books and journals)

  • scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly publishing
  • for table of contents alerts, register here

Cambridge University Press (books)

  • academic and professional books

Cambridge Journals
Cell Press Journals

Chemical Abstracts Society

  • scroll down the page

CSIRO Publishing (books and journals)

  • science and technology publisher

Duke University Journals

Emerald Publishing (books and journals)

  • click on the title, then on the RSS button

Geological Society of America
Highwire Press
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
InformaWorld (books and journals)

  • covers education research

Institute of Physics
Inter-Research
Karger (books and journals)

  • biomedical sciences  

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW)

  • after you click on a journal, click "subscribe to eTOC" or create an account
  • Health Sciences

Maney Publishing

  • archaeology & heritage; language, literature & culture; health sciences; materials science & engineering; history

MIT Press

National Academies Press (books and journals)

  • look in the right hand toolbar

National Academy of Sciences (books and journals)

  • look at the links to the left

National Bureau of Economic Research  

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information
National Institutes of Health

  • look for the RSS button in the top left

National Science Foundation  

National Technological Reports (books and journals) Nature Publishing

Oxford University Press

Penguin Press (books)
Portland Press

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Project MUSE

Royal Society of Chemistry

Sage Publications (books and journals)

Science (AAAS)

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) 
Springer
(books and journals)
SpringerLink  
Stanford University Press (books)
Taylor & Francis (books and journals)
University of California Press (books)
University of Chicago Press (books)
Wiley  (books)
Wiley Interscience

Contact for Assistance

Ellis Library Reference
(573) 882-4581
Ask a Librarian