Library Guides: Daoism: Journal Articles

More Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Contains indexes published annually by the American Theological Library Association focusing on theological studies. Also provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Date Coverage: 1949-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Atla
Ethnographic Video Online
Provides access to films ;with an emphasis on culture and related areas. Covers regions around the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, interviews with filmmakers, contemporaneous footage and photographs and more.
Thematic areas include: language and culture, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, political organization, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
All videos are transcribed and fully searchable.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Maximum Users: Unlimited

Help: https://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/help
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Date Coverage: 1995-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*

Google Scholar & MU

To get the FindIt@MU button or link while using Google Scholar:

Go to http://scholar.google.com
Select the Settings link from the three-bar menu in the upper left corner.
Choose Library Links from the menu at left.
Type University of Missouri Columbia into the search box that appears.
Check the box for University of Missouri Columbia - FindIt@MU
Click the blue Save button. You will be returned to the Google Scholar search screen.

Database Search Tips

The humble asterisk (*) is your friend when searching databases.

Ex. buddhis* - finds buddhist, buddhism, buddhists.

When looking for words with varient spellings, OR is your friend. It works like "any of these words" in an advanced search.

Ex. daodejing OR dao de jing OR tao te ching

When narrowing your search, AND is your friend. It works like "all the words" in an advanced search.

Ex. daois* and gender*

If your search is complex, parentheses often work.

Ex. (daois* OR taois*) AND (gender* OR female OR women OR femini*)