Library Guides: RELST/WGST 4750/7750 Women, Religion, and Culture: Books

Reference Works (Online and Print)

Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Call Number: N7793.W65 A66 1998
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Print and Online
Print available in Ellis Library Ready Reference, BL31 .E46 2005
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Call Number: HQ1170 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
Call Number: REFERENCE BL458 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife
Call Number: Online
Women In Scripture
Call Number: REFERENCE BS575 .W593 2000

Search Tips

Quickly finding what you want in Discover@MU can sometimes be challenging. Here are some search tips and links to help you find the information that you are looking for.

Biographies (type the name of the person you are looking for followed by biography)

Use Subject Heading searches to focus your results

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Digital Library
Older books available online; all books full-text searchable

Search in full text of books or just in catalog (Advanced searches available for both options)
"Full View" results include the whole book online (mostly pre-1923 books)
Find In Library links give library locations of books
Full text is searchable even when it is not viewable

Google Books

Search tips:

"sexuality * religion" - will look for phrases and insert 0-4 words in the place of the asterisk. There must be a space on either side of the asterisk.
Look for the Advanced Search link after you get initial results. This lets you look for books with, say, Islam in the book title and the phrase gender roles in the text.